| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The McDannagh Banshee by Nuredhel Teen
Rory is a guide working at a famous old castle, it is renowned for its colourful past. He isnt superstitious, that is...until...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
Winter's Cold by Starfox General Audiences
Returning from a hunting trip, Legolas comes across an animal in need and makes a serious mistake.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1683
Chapters: 8589
Word count: 26190000
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16110
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/21/18 12:08 am
She does sound like a force of nature.
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 10:32 pm
Oh, bless her, she sounds like an amazing person.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:24 pm
until the end, still driving herself, living independently, going to choir practice and her church groups. It was sad to lose her, of course, but TBH it sounds like a good way to go.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:23 pm
my MIL's birthday, so we're spending most of the day with her. I'm also just back from the funeral of a member of our choir where we sang. She had a stroke at 92 but hat been fit and activ
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:21 pm
I hope your brother arrives safe and sound, Spiced, and you have a lovely time together! I'm busy catching up with housework before going back up the ladder for painting, and tomorrow it's m
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 12:13 pm
That sounds lovely :) Yes, same with my family, now, Narya, all over the place here and abroad
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 3:48 · For: Chapter 2
Wow! Caunedhiel! That was a huge surprise Evelyn ending up in Angband.

Morgoth was exactly the way I've always envisioned him. Terrifying beyond belief and nauseatingly pleasant.

Another surprise is Evelyn being Mairon's daughter! Did not see that coming! She must be absolutely horrified. I know I would be.

Great story so far! Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very glad you are enjoying it !! It does get a little darker as the story goes on but I won't spoil the surprise !! I always believed Morgoth was a little mad especially after spending so long in isolation as a prisoner of the valar. He is very unbalanced and very powerful I'm glad that he comes across so strongly I wanted him to seem scary :) Evelyn being Marion's daughter does have a purpose which will be revealed later on xx


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 3:18 · For: Chapter 1
Hi Caunedhiel, so lovely to hear from you. I've snatched a few moments to read this wonderful story.

"Oh Maedhros!" I had tears in my eyes when Evelyn watched as Maedhros fought to reach the place where Fingon had fallen, tears on his face and defeat in his eyes and others were pulling him back making him retreat. It must have torn him up inside not being able to help Fingon. Tissue time. :(

Author's Response: Fingon and Meadhros's relationship has always seemed so deep and enduring to me and I wanted to show that here . I'm glad that it has moved you so much!! Thank you so much for reviewing it really means a lot xx


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2017 23:00 · For: Chapter 2

Great start, Caunedhiel! I think your battle scene was very well written with lots of actions and kept the plot moving. I like the snippets you put in for credibility like Fingo's death and Maedhros fighting his way towards him. And this feels really rather scary.



Author's Response: Thanks ziggy! I'm hoping I can keep the momentum up with this as I struggle to complete longer stories!! Your stories , spiced and encairons really inspired me with this so I'm hoping it ends up being at least interesting :) I wanted to make sure events of the silm were shown as I think ofc stories sometimes end up very self centred and I wanted to make sure it didn't happen here !! Thank you so much for reviewing it really means a lot xx


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2011 15:50 · For: Chapter 1
I love your descriptions! So vivid, so real - detailed but not boring. And what an excellent idea to throw in a modern OC so long before LOTR!

Author's Response: Thanks very much *blushes* I'm surprised loads of people haven't written more OCs into the earlier ages, so much more to play with :) I really appreciate your review, thanks :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2011 21:50 · For: Chapter 1

I am going to pull my reviews from LOTRFF, sweetie, and then carry on..

I really like the way you've begun this. The sequence with Círdan and Evelyn communicate like this while she is unconcious, is a nice effect.
I am not sure why this genre of fic is not more popular than those set in the time of the War of the Ring, since the Silmarillion is so epic, but I'm happy to see some-one writing one! It's also unusual to see the first chapter focused also on Círdan and his thoughts, as modern-person-in-Middle-earth stories can tend to be very 'me-me-me,' but this is far more balanced; it's a good way to begin.
Take care,

Siân



You must login () to review.