| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/14/18 10:32 am
Aww, thank you, Narya :)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 3:48 · For: Chapter 2
Wow! Caunedhiel! That was a huge surprise Evelyn ending up in Angband.

Morgoth was exactly the way I've always envisioned him. Terrifying beyond belief and nauseatingly pleasant.

Another surprise is Evelyn being Mairon's daughter! Did not see that coming! She must be absolutely horrified. I know I would be.

Great story so far! Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very glad you are enjoying it !! It does get a little darker as the story goes on but I won't spoil the surprise !! I always believed Morgoth was a little mad especially after spending so long in isolation as a prisoner of the valar. He is very unbalanced and very powerful I'm glad that he comes across so strongly I wanted him to seem scary :) Evelyn being Marion's daughter does have a purpose which will be revealed later on xx


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 3:18 · For: Chapter 1
Hi Caunedhiel, so lovely to hear from you. I've snatched a few moments to read this wonderful story.

"Oh Maedhros!" I had tears in my eyes when Evelyn watched as Maedhros fought to reach the place where Fingon had fallen, tears on his face and defeat in his eyes and others were pulling him back making him retreat. It must have torn him up inside not being able to help Fingon. Tissue time. :(

Author's Response: Fingon and Meadhros's relationship has always seemed so deep and enduring to me and I wanted to show that here . I'm glad that it has moved you so much!! Thank you so much for reviewing it really means a lot xx


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2017 23:00 · For: Chapter 2

Great start, Caunedhiel! I think your battle scene was very well written with lots of actions and kept the plot moving. I like the snippets you put in for credibility like Fingo's death and Maedhros fighting his way towards him. And this feels really rather scary.



Author's Response: Thanks ziggy! I'm hoping I can keep the momentum up with this as I struggle to complete longer stories!! Your stories , spiced and encairons really inspired me with this so I'm hoping it ends up being at least interesting :) I wanted to make sure events of the silm were shown as I think ofc stories sometimes end up very self centred and I wanted to make sure it didn't happen here !! Thank you so much for reviewing it really means a lot xx


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2011 15:50 · For: Chapter 1
I love your descriptions! So vivid, so real - detailed but not boring. And what an excellent idea to throw in a modern OC so long before LOTR!

Author's Response: Thanks very much *blushes* I'm surprised loads of people haven't written more OCs into the earlier ages, so much more to play with :) I really appreciate your review, thanks :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2011 21:50 · For: Chapter 1

I am going to pull my reviews from LOTRFF, sweetie, and then carry on..

I really like the way you've begun this. The sequence with Círdan and Evelyn communicate like this while she is unconcious, is a nice effect.
I am not sure why this genre of fic is not more popular than those set in the time of the War of the Ring, since the Silmarillion is so epic, but I'm happy to see some-one writing one! It's also unusual to see the first chapter focused also on Círdan and his thoughts, as modern-person-in-Middle-earth stories can tend to be very 'me-me-me,' but this is far more balanced; it's a good way to begin.
Take care,

Siân



You must login () to review.