| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...
Night Terrors by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Aragorn and Faramir learn all is not well with Sam
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.
I will Lift mine Eyes by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A series of events after his return from Gondor leaves Aragorn's spirits at an all-time low.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1634
Chapters: 8384
Word count: 25392429
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15515
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Narya
04/18/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday for tomorrow, Gabriel! (I am travelling for work and likely to be stuck on trains, so might not have chance to say it on the day.)
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 23, 2018 7:41 · For: Chapter 20
Hey there Encairion!

I'm with Feanor on this. I think its frightening that Melkor has intimate knowledge of the inner workings of Elven bodies. Really creepy. What does a Vala hope to do with that sort of information? I must have missed that part.

but I like what Feanor decides to do with the knowledge Melkor gleaned by publishing the book. Little does he realize how immensely important this information will be in future.

Oh my gosh! Encairion. Every time you put Feanor and Melkor in a room together its like adding fuel to a fire. These scenes are so fantastic that I can't help but want more. lol

Even though Feanor seems to come away from those meetings unscathed, a little rattled maybe, but unscathed. I can't help but wonder what's really behind these meetings. I tend to think that maybe Melkor has not only attempted to manipulate Feanor on an outer level but is somehow subtly manipulating his mind as well. Hard to believe I know. The great and powerful Feanor and all that. That's the way it seems to me anyway.

I don't think there's a writer yet who hasn't made Celegorm absolutely delectable. He is quite smitten isn't he. Even with the banter between them, Celegorm treats Aredhel with respect. Probably because as he said she understands him like no other outside his immediate family. But he's not holding his breath waiting for a commitment from his cousin, just enjoying what this is for now.

Your Aredhel is quite a strong young woman too, who knows exactly what she wants and at the moment that's Celegorm. Its pretty sad that her moods depict want she wants from one moment to the next. But I must say, you write their intimate moment together, so sensually. You have such a knack for that. :)

Such an enjoyable chapter.

Author's Response:
"I'm with Feanor on this. I think its frightening that Melkor has intimate knowledge of the inner workings of Elven bodies. Really creepy. What does a Vala hope to do with that sort of information? I must have missed that part."


It is creepy, and worse, he got it from his experimentations on the Elves back when they first awoke.  He literally dissected their bodies!  He used his knowledge to turn them into Orcs.  Feanor has every right to be suspicious!

"but I like what Feanor decides to do with the knowledge Melkor gleaned by publishing the book. Little does he realize how immensely important this information will be in future."


Yeah, they are going to need that knowledge when the war starts!

"Every time you put Feanor and Melkor in a room together its like adding fuel to a fire. These scenes are so fantastic that I can't help but want more. lol"


I had WAY too much fun writing those scenes lol  there is so much loathing on Feanor's part, and so much lust on Melkor's!

"I tend to think that maybe Melkor has not only attempted to manipulate Feanor on an outer level but is somehow subtly manipulating his mind as well. Hard to believe I know. The great and powerful Feanor and all that. That's the way it seems to me anyway."


Ha!  I love that you started thinking mind-manipulation!  Feanor does seem like he's coming away mostly unscathed, but is he?????  We shall see!

"I don't think there's a writer yet who hasn't made Celegorm absolutely delectable. He is quite smitten isn't he. Even with the banter between them, Celegorm treats Aredhel with respect. Probably because as he said she understands him like no other outside his immediate family. But he's not holding his breath waiting for a commitment from his cousin, just enjoying what this is for now."


They were good friends who got each other, and I think their relationship worked so well because Celegrorm wasn't trying to tie Aredhel down.  I think Aredhel just enjoyed his company as a friend with benefits.  Celegorm tho would have liked more (I think he always wanted kids, and she was the only woman he seriously considered having them with, but he understood she didn't want that).

"Your Aredhel is quite a strong young woman too, who knows exactly what she wants and at the moment that's Celegorm. Its pretty sad that her moods depict want she wants from one moment to the next."

I am glad she comes across as a strong woman, I do think she was...but an independent woman who suffered from mental health issues that turned her mind into a battleground with herself 

"But I must say, you write their intimate moment together, so sensually. You have such a knack for that. "

Thank you!  I feel I should blush over this, but I am grinning lol

Thank you so much for the review!  It means so much to me to know you are still enjoying the stories :hugs:



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2018 8:35 · For: Chapter 19
Oh my gosh! Encairion!

Their family get togethers are more akin to a train wreck. The only ones who seem completely unaffected by the chaos are Fingon and Maedhros.

And how sad and lonely is Fingolfin. I really felt for him when he tried to catch Maedhros' attention from across the table and Maedhros would only give him a cool glance, nothing more.

I had to smile a little at the heated exchange between Caranthir and Irime. Secretly I was championing Caranthir because Irime should have known better than to attack Curufin's parenting skills and then try and argue the point with Caranthir the king of arguments himself.

I love the Feanorions. Their fire, their complete honesty when their character and actions are called into question.

And the icing on this wonderful evening had to go to Finwe. Need I say more. :)

Great cantakerous chapter! :D

Author's Response:
"Their family get togethers are more akin to a train wreck."

Lol this exactly!  It's a disaster even before the Feanorions show up!  And Finwe, gods, this guy is like completely oblivious to how much HE is the problem (or at least one of the main ones.  There is so much dysfunction in their family it cannot all be traced to one source).

"And how sad and lonely is Fingolfin. I really felt for him when he tried to catch Maedhros' attention from across the table and Maedhros would only give him a cool glance, nothing more."

The loss of Fingolfin and Maedhros' friendship is such a blow to Fingolfin.  He's so terribly lonely, and I attribute a lot of his later recklessness in dealing with Feanor to the bleak loneliness of his life.  He has his kids, but no real friends outside of them.  But I don't think there is anyway that Maedhros and he could have still been friends when Melkor really starts stirring up rumors and paranoia, because then Fingolfin would have had a direct connection to Feanor to defuse the situation.

"I had to smile a little at the heated exchange between Caranthir and Irime. Secretly I was championing Caranthir because Irime should have known better than to attack Curufin's parenting skills and then try and argue the point with Caranthir the king of arguments himself."

Caranthir the king of arguments lol yup, that's him!

"I love the Feanorions. Their fire, their complete honesty when their character and actions are called into question."

I know!  They are so honesty and upfront about who they are.  They get that from their father 

Thank you so, so much for the review!!!


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2018 11:38 · For: Chapter 18
Hi Encairion!

I hope you don't mind, I thought I'd continue reviewing *Revolutionary and the Usurper* I would love to read your latest postings but to be fair I think I should start at the beginning of your series.

So Fingolfin's considering all that has transpired since his brother returned to Tirion with his family in tow and although Fingolfin agrees with some of the things Feanor has written about and still hangs off every word of Feanor's discoveries, No matter how much I love Feanor I'm glad Fingolfin has the sense to think for himself, to make up his own mind on the things Feanor's passionate about. In fact that's one of the reasons, Or I think it is, anyway, that Feanor despises Fingolfin in the first place. Because Fingolfin doesn't follow Feanor around like a puppy any more, apart from the fact they're grown men, nor appears to hang off every word Feanor utters, although we know Fingolfin does this secretly.

And although Fuinnith and her colleagues asked of Feanor something that seemed innocent enough, when Feanor stood before his people to rally support for these Elves it turned into something far far worse. More about the Noldor and Feanor's own beliefs about the Valar than just simply asking to be reunited with kin across the sea.

I guess this is where we start to see the change happening with Feanor. So sad! I mean its been building and building to eventually reach fever pitch. It would not surprise me if Melkor actually managed to breach Feanor's mind and stay subtly connected to him so he could amplify his influence and play on Feanor's fears. :(

The scene with Maedhros and Fingolfin a perfect example of Feanor giving into his fears, losing control and reading more into the situation than there is. Its also heartwrenching for Maedhros who's torn between the friendship and comradeship of his uncle and the love of his father feeling like he has to choose and Feanor feeling guilty about putting him in that situation. And I also feel for Fingolfin who is so lonely, that the one true friendship he has, is about to be lost. Heartbreaking.

I must say Encairion you are adept at writing very emotional scenes. :)

Such a powerful chapter! :D

Author's Response:

I hope you don't mind, I thought I'd continue reviewing *Revolutionary and the Usurper* I would love to read your latest postings but to be fair I think I should start at the beginning of your series.

It will probably make more sense that way :)  Even tho I did write things out of order lol

“No matter how much I love Feanor I'm glad Fingolfin has the sense to think for himself, to make up his own mind on the things Feanor's passionate about. In fact that's one of the reasons, Or I think it is, anyway, that Feanor despises Fingolfin in the first place. Because Fingolfin doesn't follow Feanor around like a puppy any more, apart from the fact they're grown men, nor appears to hang off every word Feanor utters, although we know Fingolfin does this secretly.

Yes, I agree that it’s good Fingolfin has his own mind!  As to Feanor…well, I think he would be bored if Fingolfin did exactly as he said.  I rather think his problem with Fingolfin is not so much that Fingolfin no longer follows him around (tho he defiantly liked having Fingolfin’s full attention!), but that he thinks Fingolfin doesn’t have passion about anything.  He doesn’t see under Fingolfin’s masks, so he thinks Fingolfin is a far cry from the boy he once was who had passion and spunk, and when that boy made up his mind to do something he did it.  Feanor thinks Fingolfin is being a coward, and rolling over rather than standing up for what he believes in.

“Feanor stood before his people to rally support for these Elves it turned into something far far worse. More about the Noldor and Feanor's own beliefs about the Valar than just simply asking to be reunited with kin across the sea.

I guess this is where we start to see the change happening with Feanor. So sad! I mean its been building and building to eventually reach fever pitch.”

Yeah, I think Feanor still had some hope of making changes to Valinor.  I don’t think the idea to leave had been running around his head much.  Valinor was his home and all he’d ever known.  It took the Valar forbidding the Elves from leaving that really lit the match.  The idea of being trapped, and caged is one Feanor could not abide.  Any hope of being able to work inside the system died.

“It would not surprise me if Melkor actually managed to breach Feanor's mind and stay subtly connected to him so he could amplify his influence and play on Feanor's fears. :(

Hah!  I don’t want to say too much, but I love that your mind went there!

The breaking of Maedhros and Fingolfin’s friendship is so sad, especially for Fingolfin who needed a friend, desperately.  I think it is also showing us that Feanor’s growing more and more insecure.  Nerdanel has left him, and he feels like Finwe has long slipped away, and now he’s terrified that he’s going to loose his sons too because, deep down, he doesn’t have as high of an opinion of himself as he lets on.  He’s constantly worried that his sons will one day see something in him that will drive them away (the seeds for this fear were planted in his childhood when his mother died, the Valar called Feanor tainted, and Finwe did nothing to challenge those words).

“I must say Encairion you are adept at writing very emotional scenes. :)

Thank you! :blushes:

 

And thank you so much for this review!  It got me thinking about this story again.  Gods, I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed writing anything as much as I did this story.  The only piece of writing that can come close is when I was writing Maeglin’s story in Vengeance.  And surprise, surprise, these are all my favorite characters lol



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2017 20:47 · For: Chapter 17
Oh! My dear Encairion!

This was the best Christmas present! Thank you!

Happy holidays to you as well my friend.


Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

Author's Response:

Thank you for the warm welcome back!!!

 

I hope you had a lovely Christmas and holidays!  I was able to spend it with family, traveling out to see my parents and brother, so that was special.  I hope yours were safe and happy as well :hugs:



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2017 12:53 · For: Chapter 17
This has got to be one of most wonderfully written chapters.

Little Curufinwe is absolutely gorgeous!

His relationship with his grandfather, beautifully described in the scene where he runs to Feanor, yelling 'Papa, Papa!' and is lifted up on Feanor's boot, then tossed into the air squealing with joy and excitement.
I have to feel sorry for Curufin at this point; Feanor is such a natural with children. Whereas Curufin lacks a huge amount of confidence born of his mother's abandonment.

When Caranthir enters the scene a little toward the end, he brings a whole new dimension to this section of the chapter, not to mention a new set of dynamics in relation to Curufinwe. Curufinwe is not sure how to take Caranthir, I guess because of his explosive nature and is a little frightened of his Uncle in that regard. But their interaction is priceless, as if little Curufinwe has come to understand his abrupt uncle a little.

I love Caranthir and you write him beautifully!

An awesome chapter full of fantastic imagery! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you for the reviews you gifted me.  I am sorry for this terribly late reply, but I wanted you to know that I read and treasured them when you gave them, and found encouragement in your words.  

Thank you again for your lovely words, and I hope that this finds you healthy and happy in the holidays :hugs:

“Reading this chapter made me wish Feanor was my father. So perfect, so loving, so understanding so protective and everything in between. Especially when helping Curufin with baby Curufinwe.

This makes me happy!  I feel the same way about Feanor’s parenting.  Yes, it is flawed because he is flawed, but man, to have a father like him would be incredible :)

 

Thank you again for these wonderful reviews, your words are so kind and uplifting.  Reading them again is like getting an encouraging hug, so thank you!  I hope that this finds you healthy and happy in the holidays :hugs:



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2017 7:39 · For: Chapter 16
I really enjoyed this chapter.

Reading this chapter made me wish Feanor was my father. So perfect, so loving, so understanding so protective and everything in between. Especially when helping Curufin with baby Curufinwe.

Oh my god, the imagery in that part of the chapter, so beautiful, it is beyond words, Encairion. You truly are quite a master at writing, conveying the message and the emotion. You have this ability to make a character so real.

I am lost for words. :D


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2017 4:11 · For: Chapter 15
I love your Feanor, Encairion, never lets anything pass him by without the proper scrutiny. Including Irime; no lost love there.

Finarfin, now I'm starting to understand the earlier story on him.
An extremely sensitive person who is verbally and emotionally abused by his mother. Yet he and Feanor have struck up a tentative friendship under the foundations of common ground. It was so different to see Feanor being civil if not friendly with his youngest brother. So refreshing.

I felt particularly saddened by Maedhros though, still at Fingon's side, hoping, praying, Fingon might turn around and say, "I love you," does not look promising. And so Maedhros' heart is slowly being broken. I had a few tears over this because I could really feel the emotion in this part. Sniff!

I have to say, I sit on the edge of my seat when Feanor and Fingolfin have any interaction. Riveting and so beautiful to see, underneath all the animosity, they're still in love with each other and lusting after each other.

The Melkor scene, so awesome! Especially adding the part where Melkor drops his glass and no one in the room seems to notice just to show Feanor they're wrapped in an enchantment, locking everyone else out that he, {Melkor} is in control of the situation and Feanor and hoping it would make Feanor uneasy. Love it!

A great read! :D


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 03, 2017 11:43 · For: Chapter 14
Wow! Curufin needs a lot of reassurance. Such a sensitive child.
It is so interesting to read how Curufin goes from being a vulnerable 12yo in this chapter to the cold, calculating contemptuous Elf he becomes by the end of 'Secret language brother.' Of course we know why. Sniff.

In the part where Nerdanel comes home after a month with her father-I felt very disheartened and uncomfortable for Feanor.
I understand where Nerdanel is coming from; Feanor is exhausting to be around and the inflamatory remarks about the Valar and their laws can't be helping. But Feanor is Feanor, he knows no other way to be, but himself. What you see is what you get.

It's all so heartbreaking when Nerdanel leaves. The part when they are camping with their people, they all seem so lost and abandoned. Feanor in particular is quite shocked and hurt by it. I don't think he quite believed Nerdanel would leave him and their sons - he wouldn't!

Caranthir's confession to Feanor of his feelings toward Curufin, must be so agonizing for him. In 'Secret language brother' it was such a shock to him to suddenly feel desire for his little brother, that he balked at himself and thought himself a sick, twisted, pervert and therefore pushed Curufin away. It is so sad that he is tormented by this for the rest of his days - this war that goes on within him. He loves Curufin, but not dare put his hands on him, considering that part of him, disgusting.
Such an awesome read, Encairion, and you go so deep into the characters, fantastic! :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2017 13:33 · For: Chapter 13
Oh dear! Nerdanel and Feanor, their marriage well and truly on the rocks. They used to be such a team; Nerdanel the quiet strength and champion at Feanor's back and Feanor himself, the doting husband and father-a fire of dependability and protection at her side.They only appear now, to be together for their sons.
The whole scene of preparing for Celegorm's Birthing Day celebrations is so beautifully written, you could almost be forgiven for thinking Feanor and his family are just normal everyday folk having a barbecue and some beers with friends-not a crown Prince with his sons.
There are so many parts I loved in this chapter, but my overall favorite was Maedhros and Fingon standing underneath the Oaks together-Fingon in awe of his cousin and Maedhros in love with his. Feanor watching them both and deciding he should meet the son of Fingolfin for himself. Then later in Maedhros' room revealing he knows he's 'in love'and disclosing his own proclivities toward men, to allay Maedhros' fears of Feanor's acceptance.
Yay! Feanor is still in love with Fingolfin, otherwise why would he fantasize about Fingolfin, when taking himself in hand.
Oh, I wish Fingolfin would remember what happened so long ago in the library. So much misunderstanding, its torture!
Such a great read! :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2017 13:23 · For: Chapter 12
I really felt for Fingolfin in this chapter.
With his mother constantly on his back nagging him about every little thing he's not doing right, in her eyes, to further her ambitions for him.
Oh my god! So not only do we have Finwe in one corner, lending no support or encouragement or even affection toward him, we also have Indis in the other, being overbearing and controlling. Poor Fingolfin!
To make matters worse she's now nagging him about his behaviour when in the company of Maedhros. Like Maedhros is a bad influence or something. He can't even have a bit of fun without his mother interfering

And when he wanted to drown himself in some male company, he still seemed lonely even in Maedhros and Maglors' presence, where they had the ease of brotherhood, which is something Fingolfin has never had. He seemed awkward almost, because of that. Like he just didn't fit in or was a third wheel, so to speak.
And yet even with all that is going on with him, he still manages to carry himself with a great deal of strength.
:)

Author's Response:

“With his mother constantly on his back nagging him about every little thing he's not doing right, in her eyes, to further her ambitions for him.
Oh my god! So not only do we have Finwe in one corner, lending no support or encouragement or even affection toward him, we also have Indis in the other, being overbearing and controlling. Poor Fingolfin!
To make matters worse she's now nagging him about his behaviour when in the company of Maedhros. Like Maedhros is a bad influence or something. He can't even have a bit of fun without his mother interfering “

Yes, his mother was every bit as bad of a parent to him as Finwe, just in a different way.  Where Finwe didn’t pay enough attention to Fingolfin, Indis paid too much.  I remember reading in another story, or maybe someone’s headcannon somewhere a while ago about the idea that Indis felt insecure in her place as queen of the Noldor, as she was not a Noldo, and always felt like she was being measured against Míriel and being found to fall short by a lot of the Noldor’s measurement.  I liked that idea.  So Fingolfin, being such a typical Noldor, is like her ticket to proving she has every right to the queenship of the Noldor, and that Finwe made the right choice in marry her, see what a strong Noldo prince their marriage produced?  Fingolfin is not only her pride, her shinning jewel, he is also the evidence of her marriage to Finwe being justified, even though Míriel could never be reborn because of it, and Indis was not a Noldo queen.

“And yet even with all that is going on with him, he still manages to carry himself with a great deal of strength.

Yes, that is exactly who Fingolfin is.  He may be lonely and depressed inside, but he is always going to be the rock those around him can depended on……until his end when he cannot stand strong any longer, and has no more strength to give.

 

Thank you, thank you for this review!!!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2017 6:50 · For: Chapter 11
The first thing I would like to bring attention to is that, I would really like to be the pastry and the sugar, that Fingolfin finds so much more interesting than the Keeper of the Keys. :D giggle.
This chapter, I feel a little for Finwe, in his attempt to make Finarfin feel at home or welcome in Tirion. I know I shouldn't, but there it is.
And so Finarfin's living in Alqualonde, for reasons that aren't quite clear yet, really shows how fractured the relationships are between Finwe and his sons. Pretty sad.
Oh but Maedhros! He would have made a great King if the oath hadn't of gotten in the way. But if he had, Fingolfin would not have been High King in Endor/Ennor, and he made such a great King also.
Anyway getting off the subject; It is so good to see Fingolfin having someone to share court politics with, because he seems so very very lonely for adult companionship and Maedhros is so his equal.
Awesome! :)

Author's Response:

“The first thing I would like to bring attention to is that, I would really like to be the pastry and the sugar, that Fingolfin finds so much more interesting than the Keeper of the Keys. :D giggle.

Wouldn’t we all? :dreamy sigh:  lol

“This chapter, I feel a little for Finwe, in his attempt to make Finarfin feel at home or welcome in Tirion. I know I shouldn't, but there it is.

I was writing more of Finwe’s background recently in another story in this series, and I started feeling for his character like I hadn’t for a while….and then I remembered again how things went down with his parenting, and I felt torn.  He was such a terrible father, and caused so many life-long issues in his children, and yet, knowing what I know now about him (I will try not to spoil anything!) I can understand how he came to be the way he is in Usurper.  He still frustrated me, but I have compassion for his character, something I hadn’t had for a while!

“And so Finarfin's living in Alqualonde, for reasons that aren't quite clear yet, really shows how fractured the relationships are between Finwe and his sons. Pretty sad.

I can’t remember what chapter you will learn more about Finarfin and why he went to Alqualonde, but it is coming, and I would love to hear what your thoughts are on Finwe and everything after!

“Oh but Maedhros! He would have made a great King if the oath hadn't of gotten in the way. But if he had, Fingolfin would not have been High King in Endor/Ennor, and he made such a great King also.
Anyway getting off the subject; It is so good to see Fingolfin having someone to share court politics with, because he seems so very very lonely for adult companionship and Maedhros is so his equal. 
Awesome! :)”

Yes, Maedhros was born to be a king, but so too was Fingolfin.  I don’t think Maedhros will have much desire to lead tho when he is reborn.  He will have so much pain/regrets he has to work through, and the scars of where his leadership of the House of Feanor led them. 

Fingolfin needs a friend so baldy, you are right!  And Maedhros and he were good for each other….I have to stop here or I will spoil future things in the story :zips mouth:

 

Thank you so much for the review!  I love hearing what you think of the story.  It’s such a treat to receive your reviews :hugs:



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 12, 2017 5:31 · For: Chapter 10
Another very sad state of affairs with Feanor and Fingolfin. I mean they can't even sit in a room together without acting like strangers instead of brothers or without pulling each other to pieces.

Just like Feanor, Fingolfin is also an exceptional Dad, well, except that Fingolfin does not have the underlining fear of losing his family that Feanor has.
Fingon and Fingolfin get on so well. Once again, you can't help but want to be a part of their family dynamics.
Fingolfin absolutely adores his eldest and Fingon makes it sooo easy to love him.
I especially like Fingon's first encounter with Maedhros. Fingon is all excitement and awe and larger than life itself and his cousin can't keep his eyes off him, so beautiful.
Maedhros seems to regard Fingon with the belief that Fingon is someone special and should be treated as such.
So fantastic!
I just wish the other two could sort themselves out.
:)

Author's Response:

Just like Feanor, Fingolfin is also an exceptional Dad, well, except that Fingolfin does not have the underlining fear of losing his family that Feanor has. Fingon and Fingolfin get on so well. Once again, you can't help but want to be a part of their family dynamics. ”

Yes, I love dad Fingolfin :)  And Fingon and Fingolfin’s relationship is really special, especially when they are in Beleriand.  After all, Fingon is the only child that stays at Fingolfin’s side.

I am so pleased to hear you liked Fingon and Maedhros’ first encounter!  And yep, Maedhros knew right away there was something special about Fingon :)

 

Thank you so much for the review!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 03, 2017 13:46 · For: Chapter 9
I really like the home life Feanor and his family have, although if you read between the lines, it's a bit sad. That Feanor feels he has to shelter his sons from life in Tirion.
On the plus side though, they have a very close knit relationship, and Feanor is such a hands on Dad, it just makes him so much more of a man in my eyes, even if a lot of it is borne of fear.

Melkor, what a slimy piece of work he is, thinking he can just invade the Feanorion family home and play mind games with Feanor. The audacity he has, likening himself to Feanor is laughable. The difference; Feanor has integrity, he does not.
Melkor's ploy to coerce Feanor into trusting his word via the situation between Orome and Celegorm, what a slime ball, {hello! Dark Lord}.
I love the awkward conversation Celegorm has with his father and just the little moments at the end where Feanor is changing nappies and talking to his two eldest sons, it just makes the story.

Love it! :)

Author's Response:

I really like the home life Feanor and his family have, although if you read between the lines, it's a bit sad. That Feanor feels he has to shelter his sons from life in Tirion.

I am glad you liked it!  But yes, you are right, he does feel he has to shelter them.  I think he had such bad experiences growing up there, he wants to spare his son’s that.  And really, court life can be brutal.  Some of this sons wound have suffered badly growing up there (of course there would have been some other benefits tho too).

On the plus side though, they have a very close knit relationship, and Feanor is such a hands on Dad, it just makes him so much more of a man in my eyes, even if a lot of it is borne of fear. 

I love writing the Feanorian family unit, there is just so much love between them :)  And I think Feanor must have been a fantastic father, after all, his sons displayed the ultimate loyalty to him (even if in the end they regretted swearing the Oath, and Feanor regretted bitterly ever letting them or swearing it himself).

I love the awkward conversation Celegorm has with his father...

Haha that was one real awkward conversation.  I just went back and reread it because I couldn’t remember how it went.  Gods, Orome deserved the pitchfork and so much worse! 

 

Thank you so much for the review!  It’s fantastic to hear you are still enjoying the story :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 22, 2017 11:31 · For: Chapter 8
This looks to me like the slow downward spiral of Feanor and Nerdanel's marriage. :(
Oh, Feanor! He just cannot see anyone else's point of view. Only he is right, only his views are valid.
There are other freedoms his people have a right to {other then same sex relationships and the like}, that is the freedom to form their own beliefs and opinions for themselves. Surely Feanor would want that for his people too?

Finwe, what are you doing? Not discussing Feanor's duties as Crown Prince with Feanor, because you can't bear to deal with the consequences that discussion could render. As a result putting Fingolfin in the firing line for something that is not his fault. Fingolfin must think he has scapegoat tatooed upon his forehead.
All Fingolfin wanted to do was support his father in the Council of Lords and yet Finwe does not return the favor. Tut! tut! Finwe.
A great read Encairion! :D

Author's Response:

“Oh, Feanor! He just cannot see anyone else's point of view. Only he is right, only his views are valid.
There are other freedoms his people have a right to {other then same sex relationships and the like}, that is the freedom to form their own beliefs and opinions for themselves. Surely Feanor would want that for his people too?”

Ah, yes, this is probably Feanor’s greatest character flaw.  Right now, he still believes that only his views are the right ones, and he has so much trouble understanding other view points,  He especially cannot understand those Elves who are ‘blind’ as he calls it, and do not see Valinor/the Valar as he does.  I think he lacked adults growing up who treated his opinions as something worth taking seriously and debating over with him, showing him that while he had good points, others had good points too.  Instead he was brushed aside as a child and forever treated like one, never taken seriously, and so what he learned from that was that people didn’t listen to him even though he was right (and he is still convinced he is always right because he was always the cleverest child in the room and far clever than most adults, and so he learned that he was right as a child even if no one listened to him). 

He has a lot to learn still about other people and allowing them to have their own opinions even when those opinions clash with his own.  It is going to take failure for him to learn this, and he doesn’t truly fail until the events of the Oath and what happened after, does he?  He is still the most skilled in his craft and cleverest in the room, and has not yet learned that when a person has greatness they are the ones that can make the greatest mistakes.

Ugh, Finwe!  He never stops making parenting mistakes, does he?   I think by this point he is hiding his head in the sand from his mistakes and trying to pretend that everything is just perfect, yes everything is perfect, his family, Valinor, and Valar, all perfect.

 

Thank you for the review!  It is always great to hear you are still enjoying the story :grins:



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 17, 2017 11:53 · For: Chapter 7
I felt sorry for Feanor in the Great Square. Pouring out his heart and mind to his people, full of passion for what he believes, only to have his Dad, intervene, embarrassing Feanor, if that is possible, at the least irritating his son for not letting him finish, which only inflames the doubts within Feanor that Finwe does not understand him or takes him seriously. Tut tut, Finwe.
I loved the sketchbook Fingolfin found with a naked and delectable Feanor within, great touch, or in Fingolfin's case, many touches.

My favourite part was the only thing to soothe Feanor's fire, was his son, Maedhros. Just the way you described him interacting with his son was so beautiful, it makes Feanor come across as a very loving father, I guess he is trying to make up for the mistakes his own father has made.
I wish Finwe would allow Feanor to blow off some steam now and again, does he not realise the implications of his namesake, then maybe their wouldn't be so many arguements.
Yay! To Feanor for coming out!
That fear is rearing its ugly head again, the one where he believes no one loves him, that he will ultimately lose everyone he loves, which we all know stems from his mother's death and Father's remarrying. Poor Feanor!
Still riveted! :D

Author's Response:

“which only inflames the doubts within Feanor that Finwe does not understand him or takes him seriously.

Yes, this exactly!  Finwe interfering like that, cutting Feanor off, and then chiding him about something he’s passionate about not understanding Feanor at all, just plants more and more fears in Feanor of losing his father/his father never really understand/loving him for him in the first place.

“I loved the sketchbook Fingolfin found with a naked and delectable Feanor within, great touch, or in Fingolfin's case, many touches.

:snorts: naughty, naughty Fingolfin :D

“My favourite part was the only thing to soothe Feanor's fire, was his son, Maedhros. Just the way you described him interacting with his son was so beautiful, it makes Feanor come across as a very loving father, I guess he is trying to make up for the mistakes his own father has made.

I love Feanor’s relationship with all his sons, they are all unique in their own way.  Maedhros is special because as he gets older, we see how much he meets Feanor as an equal, until he’s as much Feanor’s friend and partner (in their goals and in raising the other boys) as he is his son.  And yes, Feanor is determined not to be the kind of father his own was!

“I wish Finwe would allow Feanor to blow off some steam now and again, does he not realise the implications of his namesake, then maybe their wouldn't be so many arguements.

Well, I think Feanor is actually not so off in his fears: Finwe doesn’t understand Feanor at all.  He never really has.  That’s not to say he doesn’t love him, because he does, but he does not understand him, and does not see what Feanor needs from him, or how his actions are plowing all these insecurities in Feanor.

Yay! To Feanor for coming out!

Yes!  In some ways I wish he’d come out to everyone, but it wouldn’t have been safe.  The Valar really would have used it as a weapon against him/to silence him.

 

Thank you so much for the review!  I love getting them from you, and hearing what you are thinking about the chapters :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2017 10:18 · For: Chapter 1
Oh my gosh! Encairion, this is torture!
Just when I think something wonderful is about to happen,{sitting there, big smile on my face, anticipation riding high}, it all falls apart.
These two seriously need an intervention or something.


No matter how much Fingolfin wants Feanor, he seems very uncomfortable under Feanor's attention, thinks his brother is playing with him and making a play for power over him. So sad.

What's even sadder still is Fingolfin's belief that the attraction and desire only runs one way.
{Let's just blame Finwe}

Loved it! :D

Author's Response:

Oh my gosh! Encairion, this is torture!
Just when I think something wonderful is about to happen,{sitting there, big smile on my face, anticipation riding high}, it all falls apart.
These two seriously need an intervention or something.”

That pretty much sums up this entire fic lol  Yep, they are in serious need of an intervention.  I have no idea how I held myself back from writing one!  I had a constant craving to just sit them down and TALK (and then have sex lol), but I couldn’t see how cannon events could have worked out like they did if these two didn’t have a big problem with communication :sighs: They make me want to butt their heads together!  But I have never had as much fun writing as story as this one :)

What's even sadder still is Fingolfin's belief that the attraction and desire only runs one way.
{Let's just blame Finwe}”

Lol on blaming Finwe.  It is true tho that between him and Indis they messes this generation up pretty bad :(

Poor Fingolfin tho!  He cannot see that Feanor wants him back!  These 2, seriously! Lol

 

Thank you ever so much for the review!  It is always such a pleasure to hear you are still enjoying the story :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 31, 2017 11:08 · For: Chapter 1
Wow! There is always so much to talk about in your chapters, Encairion.
Firstly, Dear sweet Fingolfin, who can't keep still, who gets bored very easily, who desperately wants to be counted an equal beside his brother, who fears being left behind and who believes Feanor has his father's favor.There's a heck of a lot for Fingolfin to live up to.
What's truly heartbreaking, is Fingolfin forgetting the promises they made to each other. Now as
both of these characters grow older, cracks in their friendship and relationship begins to show as misunderstandings sow hurt and animosity. And so the downward spiral begins. So sad :(
I did love how you made Feanor quite naive about romance and some aspects of love, probably because he's so obsessed with learning about everything there is to know about the world that other areas of life he has never touched on before.
That scenario with him and Fingolfin in the library, so beautifully done. I just hope that somewhere down the line their love endures and they get it together, but the way things look now, is not good.
Love it. :)
Did that all make sense? I'm writing this late at night.

Author's Response:

“Firstly, Dear sweet Fingolfin, who can't keep still, who gets bored very easily, who desperately wants to be counted an equal beside his brother, who fears being left behind and who believes Feanor has his father's favor.There's a heck of a lot for Fingolfin to live up to.

Ah, little Fingolfin, I am so glad you like him, he’s a darling :)  But man, oh man are you right, he has so much he thinks he has to live up to.  Feanor casts a huge shadow, and all the more so with Finwe drawing attention to every little thing Feanor does.  How can Fingolfin possibly feel adequate?  (Rrrrg Finwe!  I seriously think this is him trying to make up for all his mistakes with Feanor (not that he isn’t proud of him too), but it is making a host of new mistakes with Fingolfin!  That’s Finwe for you, planning issues in his kids that will follow them for the rest of their lives :sighs: )

“I did love how you made Feanor quite naive about romance and some aspects of love, probably because he's so obsessed with learning about everything there is to know about the world that other areas of life he has never touched on before.

Yes, this.  I see him as pretty socially awkward in a lot of ways, he’s just so much more intelligent than the people around him and has little patience, that he doesn’t spend enough time with other people and thus never learned a lot of social clues.  At this point in time he pretty innocent, which is not helping anything, because in his innocence and ignorance, he gets upset with Fingolfin for not remembering!  Oh the miscommunications!

“That scenario with him and Fingolfin in the library, so beautifully done. I just hope that somewhere down the line their love endures and they get it together, but the way things look now, is not good.
Love it. :)”

I am not giving anything away :zips mouth:  you will have to read and find out!

 

Thank you ever so much for the review!  It’s always wonderful to hear you are still enjoying the story :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2017 10:38 · For: Chapter 1
Poor Feanor, its almost as if Finwe has forgotten he has a son at all. Although Feanor loves his father, they don't seem to have much of a relationship, and now Feanor feels abandoned and replaced.
Little Fingolfin so sweet yet very bold, I like how he is not intimidated by Feanor at all, which shows how mentally and emotionally strong Fingolfin is even at a young age, {telltale signs of a great leader}. He loves life,{fun-loving} which is in great contrast to Feanor's view of everything. Does that make sense?
I love the evolution of Feanor and Fingolfin's brotherly relationship.
They need each other so much; Fingolfin hanging off every word Feanor spills from his mind and mouth, loving every word and wanting to be a part of his brother's world and Feanor loving every minute of sharing his passions with someone.
I also love how you haven't sacrificed Fingolfin's character against Feanor's, making them equals in vastly different ways.
Fantastic story! :)

Author's Response:

"Poor Feanor, its almost as if Finwe has forgotten he has a son at all. Although Feanor loves his father, they don't seem to have much of a relationship, and now Feanor feels abandoned and replaced."

 

You are quite right.  I am afraid Feanor and Finwe's relationship has really deteriorated :(  Finwe should have waited to re-marry.  He really should have...and yet, Fingolfin was a companion for Feanor in their childhood for a time, and Feanor really needed that.

 

"Little Fingolfin so sweet yet very bold, I like how he is not intimidated by Feanor at all, which shows how mentally and emotionally strong Fingolfin is even at a young age, {telltale signs of a great leader}. He loves life,{fun-loving} which is in great contrast to Feanor's view of everything. Does that make sense? "

 

Yes, this exactly!  Fingolfin has a strong spirit that will not be easily trampled and will not bend, and he is such a natural leader.  He thinks about his people and how best to help them.

 

I am glad to hear you enjoyed Feanor and Fingolfin's brothers relationship!  And yes, they are equals.  Feanor may have a genius intellect and be the greatest craftsman the Elves ever knew, but Fingolfin has his own strengths that Feanor never did.  They complement each other, and really, I think they could have moved mountains if they had ruled the Noldor TOGETHER, each providing what the other lacked and their strengths complementing the other's weaknesses.  If only....how everything could have been different.

 

THank you so much for the reivew!  It's fantistic to hear you are still enjoying the story :)

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2017 6:26 · For: Chapter 1
I really do love the father son dynamics in this story. Especially when Feanor refused to go to the Begetting Day Party. I loved and laughed my way through all his little manoeuvres to get out of going and Finwe's typical parental responses to them. Absolutely classic.
I think you've captured the true essence of Feanor, how most people see him so wonderfully, you just can't help but love him as a character.
I also like how you've portrayed Indis in this; the interfering controlling second wife. Inevitably leads to Feanor's abhorrence of her.
Awesome! :D

Author's Response:

“I really do love the father son dynamics in this story. Especially when Feanor refused to go to the Begetting Day Party. I loved and laughed my way through all his little manoeuvres to get out of going and Finwe's typical parental responses to them. Absolutely classic.

I am glad you liked that part!  I admit I lifted quite a bit of that scene from what I remember of my little brother when he was that age.  He was a highly intelligent child that was socially awkward which led to him hating leaving the house.  He used to hide when it was time to go all the time.

Right now, Feanor and Finwe’s relationship isn’t too bad (though Feanor defiantly picks up on Finwe’s struggle to understand him or have patience with him.  Feanor is a gifted child with a lot of insecurities, and Finwe struggled as a father to such a child.  But he does love Feanor).  I still think Finwe never should have remarried while Feanor was young unless Feanor expressed acceptance of the idea.  But in Finwe’s defense, I don’t think he realized how much damage doing so could do to Feanor.  After all, there weren’t any other re-married couples to learn from.

I am interested to see if you will continue to love Feanor as he grows into adulthood.  It seems to be about a 50/50 split between readers whether or not they like him.  I love hearing everyone’s opinion :)

 

Thanks again so much for the reviews!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 11:42 · For: Chapter 1
I absolutely adore your young Feanor. I love how you've written his genius, where he is side tracked by the inner workings of something or wondering how this or that came to to be and how his attention span is zilch unless its something he's passionate about.
His relationship with his Mother; so beautifully conveyed and the fear Feanor has of losing his Father because he has lost his Mother is so sad.
You are so good at describing a scene that the images they conjure are fantastic right down to the tiniest detail.
Really enjoyed this. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for these reviews!  It’s always a treat to see that this story is still being enjoyed (it was my favorite one to write). 

Aww, I am glad to hear you liked young Feanor so much!  I confess, I have a soft spot for him :)  And I will never forgive the Valar for their cruelty (whether intentioned or not) that had them planting the idea in Feanor’s head that there was something wrong with him and that he essentially killed his mother.  My god, that is enough to mess any kid up!  I have major protective instincts towards young Feanor lol

 

Thanks again for the review!  It was a joy to receive :D



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 23:43 · For: Chapter 20

Are you ready for the most heartbreaking chapter EVER because seriously I am not.

Chapter 28!

Melkor's whispers is a touch I really like. If Fëanor put some of his spirit into the Silmarils, then Morgoth should have a litteral phone line to try and mess with him. Though with the state your Fëanor is in, that may well be his own mind playing games.

What I wonder is how Fëanor's followers can still follow him given his sorry state, unless Maedhros is *really* good at hiding this... and how much do his others sons know?

This chapter is very hard to comment because, I mean, what can I say? Fëanor and Maedhros are just perfect. This is one of the most painful, beautifully written scene I red in any fanfic. It's like you have been waiting to write this forever. Those last chapters are really, really good!

Did you do some researches about mental illnesses for this? If so, can you tell me what is Fëanor problem's?

The Palantir

Who in Mandos left that here, I mean a palantir is probably the worst thing Fëanor can touch now. Or anyone with severe depression (headcanon: Fingolfin died by palantir far more than by Morgoth).

Fingolfin

I hate this guy, I spent 20 chapters reading him being in denial and refusing that fantastic love story he could have had and he just decides to have it once it's not possible anymore. And now I'm sad. I'm really sad. He's even worse than Melkor not trying seriously for some Fëanope and I'm not even a fan of Fingolfin/Fëanor.

That being said this is a fantastic ending. Awesome ending sentence, a feeling that the story is closed, yet not really, and this is how a good fanfic should be (since we can go back to the Silm, or to the Price for the next acts!).

 



Author's Response:

Melkor's whispers is a touch I really like”

I am glad you liked it!  I totally think Melkor did it.  Feanor was his greatest fear (and desires lol).  I think he would have taken means to eliminate the threat Feanor posed when he struck Valinor.  He would have loved to have met Feanor in person, but I 100% believe he was strong enough to have lain a shadow over Feanor’s mind when ungoliant spread her darkness….or maybe he’d planted the seeds in Feanor’s mind long before in one of their meetings, and Feanor hadn’t even realized it?

“What I wonder is how Fëanor's followers can still follow him given his sorry state, unless Maedhros is *really* good at hiding this... and how much do his others sons know?

Yes, this is exactly what I think happened.  Also, while Feanor has these periods of really obvious madness, I think most of the time it wasn’t as obvious.  It was all going on in his head, and grew worse and worse over time.  But Morgoth was already messing with his head from the moment he killed the Trees/stole the Silmarils, and yet Fingolfin didn’t know quite how bad it was for Feanor until that moment in the tent.  I think Feanor’s followers who were closest to him knew that something was wrong, and were concerned.  But for those people they were the ones who loved Feanor best, and so they would choose to follow him out of love in the hope that he would get better (they probably thought it was his grief over Finwe, and hoped that time would heal the wound).  For the rest, Maedhros and his brothers ran interference between Feanor and his people towards the end there, so the common people didn’t know how bad a state their king was in.  Though they too loved him and his sons a great deal.  I think this generation/s that came with Feanor out of Valinor shared a link between lord and people that has probably never been seen again.  He had spent all those years with them in the wild, and they followed him into exhile in the North when it seemed like all the world was turned against them and no one was listening to their voices and their sorrows but Feanor.  They adored him.  And admiered him and respected him so much.  They followed him after the kinslaying and after the ship burning (though they were not mindless puppets.  I do think there were doubts and worries amoungst them, but they made a conscious choice to trust in their lord and his sons).  A lot of them (in this series) swore the Oath alongside Feanor and his sons in Valinor.  Their fates were bound together at that point.

In later years/generations, the bond between the Feanorions and their people started to fray, especially after Doriath.  (I don’t know if you’ve read The Price of Duty before, but it’s a look inside the Feanorions and their people’s decline, and you can really see how things start to fall apart).

“Fëanor and Maedhros are just perfect. This is one of the most painful, beautifully written scene I red in any fanfic. It's like you have been waiting to write this forever. Those last chapters are really, really good!

Thank you so much!!!  Writing that chapter….it took me a long time.  It was so emotional, and I felt this strong pressure to capture what I saw in my head (I had some really clear ideas of what happened), I am just so happy to hear how much you enjoyed it!  Often times what we want for a scene/what we see in our mind’s eye does not translate to paper, so it’s wonderful to hear how well this did :)

“Did you do some researches about mental illnesses for this? If so, can you tell me what is Fëanor problem's?

I didn’t really do any research specifically for Feanor.  But I would actually say that he has less issues then one would think.  He has his two main ones that seem to overpower everything else: his abandonment issues that he never really healed from as a child, and his paranoia.   The reason these were able to take overthrow his mind after he learned of Finwe’s death, is because of Melkor.   It was like Melkor took Feanor’s grief, paranoia, and fear of abandonment and blew them out of proportion.  It’s kind of like he put Feanor’s issues on drugs inside Feanor’s mind.  I kind of see it like they ballooned inside there, they dilated, expanding and consuming his mind….Like you know how a tumor in the brain puts pressure on the brain?  And what starts out as headaches and trouble focusing gets worse and worse and worse?  It was something like that.  It wasn’t a physical tumor on the brain, it was inside Feanor’s mind, tangling up with his thought-process and messing up his ability to think logically and his deductive reasoning skills, until everything was pure emotion, an those were a hurricane inside him from all the issues he had that Melkor was making a 1000x worse.

“Who in Mandos left that here, I mean a palantir is probably the worst thing Fëanor can touch now. Or anyone with severe depression (headcanon: Fingolfin died by palantir far more than by Morgoth).

Hahaha it is a bad combo :(  I really like the idea that Fingolfin’s death also had to do with the palantir.  I actually wrote in Vengeance that during the Battle of Sudden Flames Morgoth had found a way to mess with the Palantir, so no one knew what was going on, and Fingolfin was convinced Maedhros and all Feanor’s sons were dead because he couldn’t get through to them on the Palantir, and Turgon wasn’t answering, so he though Turgon and everyone in Gondolin had fallen too.  He pretty much believed this was the end, and he’d done this to his people.  He’d killed them.   (I need to stop now!  This is the second time today I’ve nearly been driven to tears thinking about Fingolfin’s death and how much despair he was feeling as he rode to his suicide!)

That being said this is a fantastic ending. Awesome ending sentence, a feeling that the story is closed, yet not really, and this is how a good fanfic should be (since we can go back to the Silm, or to the Price for the next acts!).

Awww, thank you!!!!  Can I admit I am kinda proud of how that ending turned out?  Not to sound arrogant :) Ah, I wish all stories could tie up so nicely!  (why do story endings give me such headaches? :shakes fists at rebellious stories that refuse to just END:)

 

Thank you so so so much for these many lovely and encouraging and challenging reviews.  I have appreciated your support so much.  Thank you thank you :::hugs:::



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2016 23:01 · For: Chapter 27

Chapter 27!

Hmmmmm Fëanor with fur. *purrs*

“My lord, are you well?”

They froze at the voice from just outside the tent flap.

Anyone who LARPed one day knows that tents are 100% unreliable, you could hear someone sneeze 100meters away with all the flaps closed. Look like whatever happens next Fëanor will NOT be able to "howl like a wolf" (sorry for making fun of Fingolfin's fantasies XD).

But somehow, somehow Fingolfin had had the power to hurt Fëanor, and had done so without even aiming to. He’d been furious with Fëanor, so humiliated and done with him, but he’d never thought anything he did had the power to do more than stir up Fëanor’s wrath.

Fingolfin I am 100% sure usurping someone's crown is going to hurt his feelings. This guy is so far in denial regarding himself and his brother, it would be heartbreaking if I wasn't already facepalming.

One thing I wonder is if Fingolfin made a mistake by leaving the tent, even if it was to get Fëanor's sons, because when he comes back Fëanor is "himself" again and he can't reach him. Perhaps if he had just said "I love you" at that moment, it would have changed everything.

But Fingolfin could not unspin time, he could only pull the tent flap back and step into the ruin of this darkened world.

Don't worry Fingolfin, you will have you fluffly AU fanfic with Fëanor all for yourself.

Fëanor swung his leg over his horse’s back, finding his seat with grace and power. The cloak spilled over the horse’s hunches, draping with the majesty of a ceremonial robe over a throne. The light of the golden jewel in the crown’s center flashed defiance of the darkness. Its light washed over Fëanor’s skin, setting it aglow and turning his cheeks rosy with health and his lips into temptation herself.

I can't believe Fingolfin's guards didn't see him. Fëanor and stealth are just so unexpected XD (and guards what were you doing his horse is just parked behind the tent dudes, did Fingolfin recruit Fëanor's invisible caretakers?).

Ok so Finarfin

Of all the reasons Finarfin had for leaving, I believe he did so because it was the only choice not to condone the Kinslaying, and Finrod is wrong:

“No, Father.” Finrod spoke up. “We had no part in the slaying of Mother’s people. We are innocent. We have a common goal with Fëanor, that is why we go to Endor with him, but we are not a part of him or his crimes.”

“But we are, Finrod. We became so the moment we silenced ourselves and followed him from Alqualondë.”

100% with Finarfin on this one. The ONLY way the Noldor have of "not being a part": choosing to cross the Helcaraxë while the ships are still available. As long as any of them still considers the ship, then they take advantage of the kinslaying.

Galadriel drew her eyes down the length of her father’s body, before settling on his face, her own holding her thoughts secret. “You would ask this of me? You, who I have spoken my heart to and know how it hungers for all that which is denied me here in Aman? You, who know even the lust for vengeance birthed in me as I walked between the bodies of my mother’s people?”

“Yes.” Finarfin’s voice found a patch of calm waves to ride upon. “Out of all my children, it is you I fear for most. Not because you lack any fortitude of spirit or strength of body, but because of that dark impulse you cradle and nurse like righteousness in your breast. I fear for the path your desire for vengeance will take you down. Return with me now, Galadriel, cast your ambitions and vengeance aside! I beg of you!”

I love Galadriel most when she is like this. Fëanor/Galadriel hateship is my fav with Fëanor/Melkor, because those two have such potential! It's like Galadriel went to sulk in Doriath because Fëanor died before she could murder him.

A bit puzzled by how Fingolfin blames Finarfin for leaving his children. I mean, they are adults, and they are the one leaving him since he should be the head of their family. He could have commanded them but he didn't. Are elves really able to let go of their parents, unless they are wrenched from them by life?

 



Author's Response:

“Fingolfin I am 100% sure usurping someone's crown is going to hurt his feelings. This guy is so far in denial regarding himself and his brother, it would be heartbreaking if I wasn't already facepalming.”

Oh Fingolfin.  He truly believes at this point that Feanor despises him and that Feanor thinks Fingolfin so far below him, that nothing Fingolfin does can truly touch him.  I wonder, for as much as Feanor can’t see who Fingolfin truly is anymore, if Fingolfin can’t see Feanor.  I think this false image of Feanor has built itself up in Fingolfin’s mind over the years to such a point, where Fingolfin now sees Feanor as something larger than life.  Not in the sense that Feanor is above reproach and is perfect, but that Feanor cannot be hurt by anything Fingolfin could do.  Feanor is unreachable in this way.

“One thing I wonder is if Fingolfin made a mistake by leaving the tent, even if it was to get Fëanor's sons, because when he comes back Fëanor is "himself" again and he can't reach him. Perhaps if he had just said "I love you" at that moment, it would have changed everything.”

Yes, I can see what your saying.  What would have happened if he’d stayed?  How much would have been different?  And yet….I am glad he went to get Feanor help.  For once he saw Feanor as a human being again.  I deeply hurt human being who needed his sons, and I think it was the right thing to do for Fingolfin to do whatever he could to help Feanor.  I don’t think Fingolfin believed anything he had to say would matter to Feanor.  He really had no idea :( 

Sometimes I just want to rage at these two or lock them in a room together until they actually communicate!!!!

“Don't worry Fingolfin, you will have you fluffly AU fanfic with Fëanor all for yourself.”

He needs it so bad after this!

“I can't believe Fingolfin's guards didn't see him. Fëanor and stealth are just so unexpected XD (and guards what were you doing his horse is just parked behind the tent dudes, did Fingolfin recruit Fëanor's invisible caretakers?).”

Sorry!  That was my bad in explaining the camp set up/guard rotations :(  I think, maybe, the guards were not stationed in front of Fingolfin’s tent, but rather the had a patrol they walked (I image Fingolfin and his family’s tents all being set up in a ring together).  So they paused at Fingolfin’s tent went they heard stuff going on inside, but Feanor was able to slip in when they were on patrol elsewhere…..I kind of think Elves don’t know much about warfare or guarding people at this point.  I think the guards were more a ceremonial thing/they were almost used more like errand runners or were there to stop an upset citizen from barging into the royal’s tents, but I don’t think the concept of like an assassin was something they’d ever thought of before?

AS for the horse…sorry again for bad explaining!  I didn’t think Feanor left his house outside the tent flap, that would have been too obvious like you said!  I imagined he left it in the horse corral a bit of a walk away, which was part of the reason Feanor had pulled himself together by the time Fingolfin got back (I think I explained a little bit better about the Noldor’s camp during this time in Vengeance?  Maybe not.  Either way, it was me being a lazy writer lol  sometimes I feel like I don’t do a good job with descriptions like this because when I’m reading I can be an impatient reader and want to get too the good stuff lol so I write with such a reader in mind a lot of the time).

Of all the reasons Finarfin had for leaving, I believe he did so because it was the only choice not to condone the Kinslaying, and Finrod is wrong:

“No, Father.” Finrod spoke up. “We had no part in the slaying of Mother’s people. We are innocent. We have a common goal with Fëanor, that is why we go to Endor with him, but we are not a part of him or his crimes.”

“But we are, Finrod. We became so the moment we silenced ourselves and followed him from Alqualondë.”

100% with Finarfin on this one. The ONLY way the Noldor have of "not being a part": choosing to cross the Helcaraxë while the ships are still available. As long as any of them still considers the ship, then they take advantage of the kinslaying.”

I agree with you.  This is actually a thing in Finrod’s story later in Nargothrond.  He has to confront the truth he’d been running away from for years: when he followed Feanor out of Alqualonde with the intention of using the ships too, he because a party to what happened there.

A bit puzzled by how Fingolfin blames Finarfin for leaving his children. I mean, they are adults, and they are the one leaving him since he should be the head of their family. He could have commanded them but he didn't. Are elves really able to let go of their parents, unless they are wrenched from them by life?”

Well, I think even after a person’s kids are grown, that doesn’t mean they stop being your kids and probably the most important people in your life.  You are right that Finarfin’s children are grown ups, and yes, in a sense they were abandoning their father (though I would see it more as abandonment if they had left Finarfin in Tirion.  Finarfin had started on this path.  He is the one who turned aside, I think.  But you do make a good point about him being the head of house, so, technically, according to Nodlorin culture, his children should have followed him when he changed his course).  But while they are grown-ups, they have just lived through the worst experiences of their lives, and are marching to war.  Fingolfin cannot imagine leaving his children at a time when they will need him most.

I think it comes down to Fingolfin and Finarfin having different priorities in life/a different way of viewing the world.  Fingolfin will always pick family first, even if that means abandoning his morals (I think he avoided thinking about the Kinslaying altogether.  It was done and could not be undone.  He had killed people.  His children had killed people.  But turning away now would be leaving his children, the rest of his family, Feanor, he could never do that).  But for Finarfin he will always pick what he believes to be right first, even if that means forsaking his family, friends, everything he’s worked for all his life.  He will always follow his conscious.  I don’t think either of them were right or wrong in their choice.  They made two separate decisions based on the way they view the world and their own morality.  They did what they both believed they had to do.  And I think that while Fingolfin clings to the belief that Finarfin abandoned him, them, until his death, I don’t know if he truly believes that deep down, or if he was so filled with grief and regret at the way they parted (believing he will never see Finarfin again) that he made himself believe that because he just couldn’t bear to face the fact that the last words he spoke to Finarfin were cruelty and not love.  He was Finarfin’s big brother, and he’d never, ever, been there for Finarfin when Finarfin needed him.  He hadn’t even told Finarfin that he forgave him, that he loved him, that he wished him happiness, at their last parting.

 

Oh gods, I am making myself cry over here over these two!  I need Fingofin reborn asap and these two reunited!



Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2016 22:39 · For: Chapter 26

I am taking a little break from writing for Sultry in September! A bit tired, a warm cup of brew and let's go for chapter 26!

"Maedhros turned a glance back at Fëanor. His father caught it and communicated without need of words with his eldest. Maedhros nodded, and called his brothers to follow him out of the corridor with a flick of his wrist."

After I checked on Oromë, I reread the Fëanor/Maedhros scene in the Price of Vengeance. Creepy as it was, I felt Maedhros was really fleshed out as a character, THE character guarding Fëanor from everything. I don't know for how long he has known that Fëanor needs this, nor how much he really knows, but thorough the Revolutionary and the beginning of the Price, there always this one constant about him: Maedhros will give up everything if he can protect his father. I never go this feeling with Maglor or Celegorm; perhaps a bit with Curufin, though Curufin is too enamoured to try to talk against some shits Fëanor does, and much younger than Maedhros.

"How dare Fëanor? Fingolfin had damn well meant his words (in his own way) but how dare Fëanor dismiss him like some sort of liar, like something so unworthy of his trust?"

Ah ah (no I'm not going to bash Fingolfin I know the chapter doesn't end well for him).

Though at this point, *perhaps* someone should think about, I don't know, not having Fëanor as a king. It's so sad that Maedhros won't take this decision, because that could have saved his father if he had not been in charge at this point. I would vote for Maedhros as the new High King since he is the only choice Fëanor would approve of, but Finarfin may have been good as well.

"He stood above Fëanor, and his sex grew impossible tight with the shifted power in their positions. He looked down on Fëanor now."

I don't know why, but I always pictured Fingolfin/Fëanor with Fingolfin being quite the dom, and Fëanor kind of letting him do it because "whatever, sex is fun either way".

I bet Melkor is so very sad to be missing this, incestuous mad hatesex must be his favorite kink.

"He had fought against this moment of discovery all his adult life, for it would be the work of a touch, a turned wrist, a single look, to have him under Fëanor’s control."

Yay says the one who gets a boner from looking down at said Fëanor.

"Fëanor would not have used that power to cherish him, this moment proved the truth of his every fear: Fëanor sought to humiliate him."

Fingolfin is so amazing. Just how can someone with so much desire be so ashamed of sex? If he was Irimë I would get it, she is 100% of a problem AND acts on this with others, but Fingolfin always had somewhat good counsels for his sons... how can he be so cockblocked inside and not at all for his kids?

I am facepalming SO HARD! Because obviously, if Fëanor is hard, he must have started to getting hard long before Fingolfin ended up with his back on the table. Come on, Fingolfin, stop being stupid!

Fëanor is 100% creepy though. What I would give to know what he is thinking right now.

"Fëanor’s nails scratched Fingolfin’s back, Fingolfin’s fists pulled Fëanor’s hair, but little real violence was inflicted. No fists connected with faces or wrists twisted to the breaking point."

As a role-play game-master, I have a special name for this kind of fighting: mastery of cat-fighting. You have to have painted nails to be able to use this and 0 experience in combat.

Anyway this looks oddly like two people who don't know if they want to fight or fuck.

"Fingolfin would not admit how deeply the cut of that rejection sunk into his heart. Fëanor didn’t want him."

Alright Fëanor isn't fit to be a king, but seriously Fingolfin is almost as nut as he is. Anyway, Fingolfin, pulling someone's hair is a low blow, you did not deserve the kiss!

"Fëanor released him, rising to his feet without another word, and walked away."

Alright first no Fëanope and now that, you are crualty incarnated!

"(he would be vocal, Fingolfin was sure; but would he howl like a wolf, shout out in triumph, growl what Fingolfin felt like around him, or whisper that Fingolfin was perfect and beautiful and Fëanor couldn’t breathe without Fingolfin in his arms?"

I swear to you this is going to happen in the Formenos AU fic as a revenge, Fëanor is going to be the fluffiest lover ever AND howl like a wolf, it's going to be to terrible and Melkor will die from fluff indigestion.

I love the end's paragraphe because my personnal is headcanon is 100% this: Fingolfin did try to usurp the crown at the end. I think that in the light of Losgar and everything that happens after, this is something that will forever haunt him: Did my people die on the Ice because I tried to grab the crown? Is this my fault? Was I wrong?

And Maedhros handing him the crown, like: "Ok you wanted this, just take this, HERE and be happy with it and all the corpses it contains."

 



Author's Response:

“THE character guarding Fëanor from everything. I don't know for how long he has known that Fëanor needs this, nor how much he really knows, but thorough the Revolutionary and the beginning of the Price, there always this one constant about him: Maedhros will give up everything if he can protect his father. I never go this feeling with Maglor or Celegorm; perhaps a bit with Curufin, though Curufin is too enamoured to try to talk against some shits Fëanor does, and much younger than Maedhros.”

I am so happy that you felt this through the writing!  Yes :fist pump:  This is exactly how I envision their relationship.  Maedhros is very much the protector.  He can also getter really protective of his father when someone else is critizisuming Feanor.  He will total tear that person to shreds (with his words though!  I don’t see him as a violent person outside the battlefield).  It’s almost like the age between the shifted.  Maehros is the father and Feanor the son needing both Maedhros’ love and protection as well as his wisdom and at times chastisement.

Though at this point, *perhaps* someone should think about, I don't know, not having Fëanor as a king. It's so sad that Maedhros won't take this decision, because that could have saved his father if he had not been in charge at this point. I would vote for Maedhros as the new High King since he is the only choice Fëanor would approve of, but Finarfin may have been good as well.”

You’re right, that it would have been better if Maedhros had been king.  But unless Feanor offer him the crown, I can’t see him ever making the suggestion to Feanor aloud when Feanor is in such a dangerous place (not because Maedhros is afraid Feanor will harm him or something, but because he is afraid of what Feanor might do to himself).

“I don't know why, but I always pictured Fingolfin/Fëanor with Fingolfin being quite the dom, and Fëanor kind of letting him do it because "whatever, sex is fun either way".”

Oh, yes, I could totally see it going this way!  Especially with the issues Fingolfin has about control and sex.  I think that once they get to a healthy place they will be able to interchange with no problem, and I can see them both being in-control from the bottom as well.  I want them to have healthy sex, damn it!

Fingolfin is so amazing. Just how can someone with so much desire be so ashamed of sex? If he was Irimë I would get it, she is 100% of a problem AND acts on this with others, but Fingolfin always had somewhat good counsels for his sons... how can he be so cockblocked inside and not at all for his kids?”

I think you really picked up on something here.  Fingolfin does have serious issues with sex and control.  It is ironic that he can give good advice to others though.  But that’s so often the way of it, isn’t it?  Like, you can tell others not to be so hard on themselves, all the while while practicing self-deprecating thoughts ourselves.

Fëanor is 100% creepy though. What I would give to know what he is thinking right now.”

I am actually gal to hear he came off this way!  Cause this is not normal for him at all.  Sure, Fingolfin and him fought before, but never like this (and I don’t just mean because it never got as physical as this.  But rather that it had never been a GAME to Feanor before, yet it feels like he’s playing with Fingolfin in the scene, doesn’t it?  The Feanor we’ve seen all throughout the story up till now HATES games and doesn’t play them with anyone.  In fact, it’s his believe that Fingolfin is always playing games with him and everyone else that he hates so much about Fingolfin).

“As a role-play game-master, I have a special name for this kind of fighting: mastery of cat-fighting. You have to have painted nails to be able to use this and 0 experience in combat.”

Lol!  That imagine! 

“Anyway this looks oddly like two people who don't know if they want to fight or fuck.”

Yes, this, exactly!  I am so glad this came through in the writing!

“Alright first no Fëanope and now that, you are crualty incarnated!”

I am truly evil :cackles:  You realize they never had sex in this entire story?  This whole story is 100,000’s of words of UST between these two.  :evil laughs:

“I swear to you this is going to happen in the Formenos AU fic as a revenge, Fëanor is going to be the fluffiest lover ever AND howl like a wolf, it's going to be to terrible and Melkor will die from fluff indigestion.”

OMG< the howling like a wolf thing!  I am dying of laughter!  And it would be awesome if you made this a thing!   I can 100% see Feanor howl during sex :snorts:  But I also think he’s unpredictable, and if he howled once, Fingolfin will never get to hear it again lol!

“I love the end's paragraphe because my personnal is headcanon is 100% this: Fingolfin did try to usurp the crown at the end. I think that in the light of Losgar and everything that happens after, this is something that will forever haunt him: Did my people die on the Ice because I tried to grab the crown? Is this my fault? Was I wrong?”

Oh the self-blame!  Yes, I completely see Fingolfin blaming himself for this, and the Ice, for the rest of his life.  In fact, I think that self-blame, that inability to forgive himself, were major players in his suicide (as were the grief he never, ever got over for Feanor’s death).

 

Thank you so much for the review!  It had me smiling :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2016 18:44 · For: Chapter 28
As you can probably tell from my lack of posting lately, I’m not feeling very confident in my writing skills at the moment, so it really means a lot to me to hear you say these nice things.

I want to tell you truthfully that you should worry about nothing on that score. Nothing.

A good quote I read about writing was that you should write as if it's just for one person that's going to read it because no write can hope to write for every possible reader. Just one person. So I imagine I'm writing for some-one who understands my characters and knows where they (and I) are coming from. We can't afford to second-guess everyone's reaction to our writing and write in the hope to please every single person. When I read that quote I realized how very true it was. I can't write what every-one wants and I'll never try to again. It has made it a lot easier.

However, you have a power within you hen it comes to write, so much passion and pain, that you're absolutely tailor-made to write what you are writing!

Author's Response:

A good quote I read about writing was that you should write as if it's just for one person that's going to read it because no write can hope to write for every possible reader. Just one person. So I imagine I'm writing for some-one who understands my characters and knows where they (and I) are coming from. We can't afford to second-guess everyone's reaction to our writing and write in the hope to please every single person. When I read that quote I realized how very true it was. I can't write what every-one wants and I'll never try to again. It has made it a lot easier.

I’d never heard this before, but it’s really good advise!  I think I do struggle with thinking too much sometimes about my audience (though when I am writing fan fiction it’s not nearly so bad as when I am trying to write O-fics.  Then I get writing blocks because it’s so bad lol).  I am going to take it to heart.  I am determined! 

Thank you for these words of encouragement!  I feel like they are already helping me (I started editing the next chapter for one of my stories, so that’s the first step!)

 

:::hugs::::



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2016 16:23 · For: Chapter 28
It was Fanfic Writers Appreciation Day yesterday, but I was away for the weekend, and didn't have time to do much, so I am going to use this week to do it :)

First of all. I suppose I felt that you really spread your wings and launched with fire when you started Vengeance I. In that story you laid a truly remarkable groundwork for -- everything. It is one of those stories that makes me love and hate people, which I need as a reader, because I like to feel every story is an adventure, with the good and bad parts.

Your writing develops in such powerful ways in that story. It's spellbinding. You're dealing with some of the most famous and intense characters in Tolkien's legendarium and it feels as if it is completely effortless.

I will forever thank you for the writing you have done, the writing I hope you will do, as I so want to see these wonderful, tragic characters reunited, even though it's almost bound to be just as traumatic and chaotic as before they died.

There is something so incredible about reading stories you've always wanted to read; nothing comes close. So thank you so, so much

Author's Response:

I felt that you really spread your wings and launched with fire when you started Vengeance I. In that story you laid a truly remarkable groundwork for -- everything. It is one of those stories that makes me love and hate people, which I need as a reader, because I like to feel every story is an adventure, with the good and bad parts. 

Awe, thank you!  Vengeance 1….there are so many things I would do differently if I re-wrote it, but at the same time I am glad I did write it.  I feel like I was just dipping my toe into all these epic characters for the first time, and I missed a lot of the times when trying to capture them, and I experiment with some things that didn’t always work out, but I am so glad I tackled them anyway (I used to be SO intimidated by Feanor and Maedhros.  I didn’t think I’d ever be able to write them!).

I will forever thank you for the writing you have done, the writing I hope you will do, as I so want to see these wonderful, tragic characters reunited, even though it's almost bound to be just as traumatic and chaotic as before they died. 

I want this too.  So bad.  There is so much writing ahead before we get there, but I hope by that time we do that I will a stronger writer and will be able to truly tackle their re-births and make it good for you and the other readers (and have it be an enjoyable time while doing it!)

 

Thank you so much for this review :)  It cheered me up!  As you can probably tell from my lack of posting lately, I’m not feeling very confident in my writing skills at the moment, so it really means a lot to me to hear you say these nice things.  And even more: thank you for always being such a support; even when I am not around, you reach out to me.  Thank you, my dear friend ::::hugs::::



You must login () to review.