| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: jennieross (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2015 3:29 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
Oh! I loved loved this. Sorry, but I loved it.

Author's Response: I love that you love it, and that you took the time to tell me!! thank you :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2015 20:04 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
Oh wow. This popped up on my random story box, and I had to check it out; I felt that PJ & Co. didn't do justice to this story arc in BOFA at all, but you've filled it out beautifully. Love it.

Author's Response: LOL, that random story feature has led me to read stories I would not normally have read, really glad you enjoyed it. I just had to write about that scene because I cannot understand why PJ would be so cryptic when there are no more films to clear it up, I mean what was the purpose? thanks for commenting;)


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2014 23:57 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
So... I gave in and read this before seeing the movie. I enjoyed it though, and I guess when I get to see botfa, I will think of this as an extended version of the scene.

Author's Response: OOps so sorry for not answering this before!! In hindsight though, what did you think?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2014 13:24 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar

I am glad you wrote this, Aplha. It so needed more than we got- and the jewels -yes. I think that too- it's not in the films but I havent seen the dvds so dont know if PJ hinted at that a bit more. Anyway- makes perfect sense to me. I like the sense of loss and emptiness in this- it fits well with what we saw of Thranduil.



Author's Response: Oh damn, I never realized I hadnt answered people, I hate that. i am glad that made sense. I understand this was always going to be a side story for Jackson, but if you are going to include it, make it whole rather than half-hearted!! thanks for commenting, and sorry for being so remiss!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2014 13:50 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar

Wonderful, Alpha. Thanks for expanding this moment - it was just too short in the film. You've continued the pair's inability to express their feelings to one another. For me the thing that stood out in their brief scene in the film was Legolas's inability to look Thranduil in the eye. At least here Legolas was able to admit You will see me again. Sobs!

Now I've kicked the family out for the day, leaving me alone with my laptop so I can continue my own fic.



Author's Response: Definitely too short, and far too enigmatic. What was the point of including allusions to Legolas' mother if we aren't going to get the story? You're right about Legolas avoiding his father's eyes - there is obviously some deep hurt there that Jackson portrays well, but then inexplicably - does not explain. Go with your story Naledi, I will be right here waiting for it!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2014 1:47 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
The format works for me. I found it easy to keep track of what was Thranduil and what was narration.

You captured a lot of the underlying emotions I imagined were behind this scene. Thranduil seemed to be so afraid to me. Not afraid of war or injury but afraid of loss and grief, afraid of "Feeling" .like he had lost so much already he couldn't bare to lose one single elf more. You really portrayed that for me in this story.

It is quite frustrating the two of them here can't connect and it is quite obvious how they struggle to and fail. When I saw the movie I felt that Tranduils line about Aragorn and Arathorn.. " he was a good man, his son may be a great man" was also Thranduil referring to Legolas and himself but why he could not just come out and say things without being abstract goodness knows!

I really enjoyed this, thanks for posting it.

Author's Response: I am glad that the awkwardness comes across. For me it is not only Thranduil that is at fault, as it were, but Legolas too. He briefly mentions his mother died in Angmar to Tauriel, and though she looks to him for clarification, he offers no more. It seems that simply too much has passed between them without having had the opportunity, or perhaps ability, to talk it through, and this is where it has led them. the obvious continuation of their story for me, would be for Legolas to go on the quest. That would change his perspective so much that perhaps he would, finally be able to draw his father out of his safety cocoon. there would also be the possibility that Thranduil, by finally saying goodbye and thus accepting the loss of his queen, would also be able to finally speak of what happened, and thus, regain his son. thanks for the comments, Cheakybeak!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2014 23:54 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
Oh, I would have loved it had this been in the film, Alpha!

Author's Response: Well, it would certainly have made for some much needed characterization! I hope the formatting worked out. thanks for reading :)


You must login () to review.