| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive



Name: jennieross (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2015 3:29 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
Oh! I loved loved this. Sorry, but I loved it.

Author's Response: I love that you love it, and that you took the time to tell me!! thank you :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2015 20:04 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
Oh wow. This popped up on my random story box, and I had to check it out; I felt that PJ & Co. didn't do justice to this story arc in BOFA at all, but you've filled it out beautifully. Love it.

Author's Response: LOL, that random story feature has led me to read stories I would not normally have read, really glad you enjoyed it. I just had to write about that scene because I cannot understand why PJ would be so cryptic when there are no more films to clear it up, I mean what was the purpose? thanks for commenting;)


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2014 23:57 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
So... I gave in and read this before seeing the movie. I enjoyed it though, and I guess when I get to see botfa, I will think of this as an extended version of the scene.

Author's Response: OOps so sorry for not answering this before!! In hindsight though, what did you think?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 28, 2014 13:24 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar

I am glad you wrote this, Aplha. It so needed more than we got- and the jewels -yes. I think that too- it's not in the films but I havent seen the dvds so dont know if PJ hinted at that a bit more. Anyway- makes perfect sense to me. I like the sense of loss and emptiness in this- it fits well with what we saw of Thranduil.



Author's Response: Oh damn, I never realized I hadnt answered people, I hate that. i am glad that made sense. I understand this was always going to be a side story for Jackson, but if you are going to include it, make it whole rather than half-hearted!! thanks for commenting, and sorry for being so remiss!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2014 13:50 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar

Wonderful, Alpha. Thanks for expanding this moment - it was just too short in the film. You've continued the pair's inability to express their feelings to one another. For me the thing that stood out in their brief scene in the film was Legolas's inability to look Thranduil in the eye. At least here Legolas was able to admit You will see me again. Sobs!

Now I've kicked the family out for the day, leaving me alone with my laptop so I can continue my own fic.



Author's Response: Definitely too short, and far too enigmatic. What was the point of including allusions to Legolas' mother if we aren't going to get the story? You're right about Legolas avoiding his father's eyes - there is obviously some deep hurt there that Jackson portrays well, but then inexplicably - does not explain. Go with your story Naledi, I will be right here waiting for it!!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: December 27, 2014 1:47 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
The format works for me. I found it easy to keep track of what was Thranduil and what was narration.

You captured a lot of the underlying emotions I imagined were behind this scene. Thranduil seemed to be so afraid to me. Not afraid of war or injury but afraid of loss and grief, afraid of "Feeling" .like he had lost so much already he couldn't bare to lose one single elf more. You really portrayed that for me in this story.

It is quite frustrating the two of them here can't connect and it is quite obvious how they struggle to and fail. When I saw the movie I felt that Tranduils line about Aragorn and Arathorn.. " he was a good man, his son may be a great man" was also Thranduil referring to Legolas and himself but why he could not just come out and say things without being abstract goodness knows!

I really enjoyed this, thanks for posting it.

Author's Response: I am glad that the awkwardness comes across. For me it is not only Thranduil that is at fault, as it were, but Legolas too. He briefly mentions his mother died in Angmar to Tauriel, and though she looks to him for clarification, he offers no more. It seems that simply too much has passed between them without having had the opportunity, or perhaps ability, to talk it through, and this is where it has led them. the obvious continuation of their story for me, would be for Legolas to go on the quest. That would change his perspective so much that perhaps he would, finally be able to draw his father out of his safety cocoon. there would also be the possibility that Thranduil, by finally saying goodbye and thus accepting the loss of his queen, would also be able to finally speak of what happened, and thus, regain his son. thanks for the comments, Cheakybeak!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: December 26, 2014 23:54 · For: The Barren Lands of Angmar
Oh, I would have loved it had this been in the film, Alpha!

Author's Response: Well, it would certainly have made for some much needed characterization! I hope the formatting worked out. thanks for reading :)


You must login () to review.