| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Protege

Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2015 19:49 · For: The Demonstration
Oh, had to listen to Lisa Gerrard while Reading this Chapter, and it fitted perfectly. She is one of my favorites by the way, a Heavenly otherwordly voice. Great Chapter too, i really admire the way you describe the different cultures and the differences between them, and it is so well done.

Author's Response: Thank you, Nuredhel - it does fit, doesn't it? That strange, outlandish tone of hers is simply unique. Glad you are enjoying The Protege!


Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2014 23:37 · For: The Noldor
@Alpha I had read this series a couple months ago, but hadn't registered at the time to comment. I was blown away by your universe and your fey/feral Legolas. It is a wonderful story of love/lust/sex. Your pairings are believable and even the OCs have a fulfilled characterization to them rather than just filling in space. And your Mirkwood! I am afraid now when I read other stories I am inserting parts of your stories into theirs to round out some of the descriptions. You have really thought out this universe and I have to say it is one of my favorite slash stories.

Author's Response: It's lovely that you came back to review, very thoughtful and it is much appreciated. I love that you love this universe! I do have a very vivid idea of what The Greenwood would be like, something that is devoloped in Arcane Land, which I am assuming you have read. I hope you continue to read through the arc, and tell me your thoughts!! Thanks for the great review :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2013 22:41 · For: The Smiling Eyes of Elros
“You mean orgies!” blurted Erestor, wide eyed

Bwahaha. Brilliant. Just what they need in Imladris - liven things up a bit ;)

“You shine with the light of the Valar,” he whispered. “Your light speaks of nature and its part in the future, it speaks of.... of trees, and... two trees, – the catalyst...” his voice dropped off as Elrond remained distant, as if listening.

“Legolas’ eyes were wide in surprise, for he had witnessed something of Elrond’s legendary foresight, he was sure of it, and what he had said made his soul tremble, for some of the missing parts suddenly and violently had clicked into place...


Ooh. This is so skilfully done; you hint and tease at what's to come, while still focussing on the development of the characters in the present moment. Love it.

I also love the detail you put into describing Legolas's robes. It's all so beautiful and fey and exotic!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2013 21:51 · For: The Proteges
I'm really enjoying this. You depict the various relationships so deftly, and I love the explorations of cultural difference between Imladris and the Greenwood :)

Author's Response: Goodness, I am afraid I will be keeping you up all night. Not that I am complaining of course!!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2013 21:13 · For: The Greenwood
I love how military Glorfindel and co. are in this. Tolkien did a decent job with noble, powerful, Black-Rider-defeating Glorfindel, but you've written in elements of the soldier and tactician, which I really like :)

Stay close by, and on my command ...we may need to use the Forest Chant, so be alert, warriors.

Ooh! :) I'm even more intrigued now. I love it when writers develop and play around with the culture of the wood Elves, as Tolkien didn't give us much to go on.

I like the way you cut between the different groups of characters; I feel like I'm watching a film. It builds the tension really effectively.

I really liked the greeting between Legolas and Glorfindel, too. It felt ancient and powerful, somehow. Really interesting stuff.

I wonder which Vala is involved with Legolas's unusual gift?

Author's Response: Ah, that is exactly what I set out to do, although I will admit that over time, I have developed that aspect of my writing. The fact that the narrative flows well for you is great. This was my first story and I remember fretting over whether I was actually going to be able to tell any kind of story. Which Vala indeed, coming soon! Thank you so much for making my day!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2013 20:57 · For: The Noldor
I've been meaning to read this for some time, and I finally have a quiet evening with time to myself, so I decided to make a start :)

All our citizens, of both genders, are throwing wobblies at the prospect of this woodland sprite.

*Snorts* I love the idea of Elves having wobblies - genius!

And we're straight into the action - excellent. You have my full attention...on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Wow. It is just great to get a review for the mother story of the series! I am thrilled that you are enjoying it, and from what I can see, you are having somewhat of a thematic evening !!!


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2013 20:00 · For: Herald to the Forest Lord
"Glorfindel and Llyn were the object of much chatter as they made their entrance in the gardens below. They were stunning together, the Gondolin warrior attire never ceased to amaze the citizens of Imladris, albeit he had perhaps worn it but two or three times. Llyn wore a beautiful light purple dress, a simple circlet holding her long locks at bay to the side of her lovely face."


You know, I was re-reading the chapter to find some inspiration for the next illustration, and when I reached that part I was just thinking 'oh, crap - was Alpha already thinking about what happens in Horizon back then?' Hehe :)

Author's Response: Hehehe, well I did have plans for Llyn yes!! Oh I do wonder what you are going to concoct...


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 22, 2012 16:54 · For: Acceptance
I am looking forward to The Harvest - and Legolas coming to term with that sword - and learning how to do his hair on his own too :)

I do think it is a shame that he is always in the more submissive role in their sexual encounters - considering his background as someone of power, and his new role as a ruler, I think it would be a good idea if he turned the tables on Glorfindel, and the others, and was the penetrator not the penetrated, the beater not the beaten, the biter not the bitten, at least some of the time! Perhaps this is because I am naturally about 50:50 dom to sub!

Author's Response: You know, that was always my intention, but when I come to writing the scenes, I get side-tracked. I do, however, have him quite the dominant one in all the het scenes, especially in Arcane Land, and then with other lovers - it is just with the Imladris circle that this happens. It is, however, sound advice and I believe another reader also mentioned this. Regarding Harvest, I am re-editing it and should be posting chapter one tomorrow. You could also go straight to Arcane Land, it wouldn't really matter one way or the other.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2012 22:17 · For: The Noldor
Sorry - I meant it would be as confusing as hell for the rest of those in the story who heard it - Elladan, Elrohir and Haldir - and Glorfindel, when he found out - as it certainly would imply they were destined for each other - I thought it was very cleverly done by you.

Author's Response: Ah, ok, I thought you were talking about readers! Absolutely, indeed there will be a few comments on that one, not only in The Protege but in Arcane Land too, because whatever they have understood by their words, what is clear to them is that there was something important going on, some kind of foresight. This point is actually very important, not for this story or iindeed the next, but the third, as yet unwritten story - so if I ever get round to it, and if you are still reading, you will see the significance!! I am so glad you are still reading.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2012 21:21 · For: Good Politics
Good politics indeed! I would most certainly concur.

And we, of course, have the foresight to understand that moment between Legolas and Arwen - but it would be as confusing as hell for the rest... :)

Author's Response: You know, I actually went to take a look at that scene, just in case it was in some way confusing. It did not seem so to me, but I was a little unsure about how to interpret your words. I had asumed that it would be clear to those reading LOTR fanfic, and as you say, probably confusing to those that have no idea of LOTR - is that what you mean, or do you think the scene should be expanded in some way, made clearer?


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 20, 2012 20:12 · For: Aftermath
Hmm - I can see the extra curls might draw the eye, but his hair can't be that much longer can it? In chapter six you said it 'reaching down to the waistline of his spectacular skirts'. And I would say the small of his back is the back of his waist - actually, most males wear their lower garments below the level of the small of their back... I'm sorry - it's my compulsive beta coming out!

Author's Response: Hehehe, you DO sound like Mindirith, just the kind of thing she picks me up on! It is a tad longer, but it is more the thickness of it and the raster like weaves that Yavanna has so kindly woven into the top layer of it. It would now be somewhere around his bum - if that makes it any clearer :DD LOL


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 19, 2012 23:27 · For: The Visitation
The image of the newly raised King is beautiful. Out of curiosity, who was the third figure with him and Yavanna?

(You can see where my pen-name comes from!)

Author's Response: You are, indeed, a curious wombat :D You know, originally I had that as Est


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2012 19:07 · For: Protect and Defend
And now I am well into part two...

I do love the idea of kilt-wearing elves doing a haka - I'd always thought of it as a dwarf thing - but I can certainly enjoy the mental visuals...

And the developing relationships are fascinating - including the one between Legolas and Mithrandir. The battle-scene in the woods was very believable and easy to 'see' - and the consequences likewise.

Now to squeeze in another chapter whilst dinner cooks!

Author's Response: Good! I do like my elves in skirts, I just can't help it, and if they are doing a haka while they wear them, then I am a happy woman!! Legolas' relationship with his fellow protege will be an ongoing aspect of the whole series, as you will see, and I am glad the battle scene worked for you. It was one of the early ones, back when I was just starting out. Hope you don't burn your dinner!!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2012 21:23 · For: The Turning of the Tide
And an excellent end to Part One it is too - just enough information to satisfy us, as well as Elrond and Glorfindel, and enough to make us happy to get straight into Part Two. The advantage of so many of us posting stories already complete, so no need to wait for that next section.

As for your comment about 'Princely Legolas' or 'I am an ordinary elf, really,' Legolas - I think the latter comes, in part, from canon. Although he is clearly described as King Thranduil's son the very first time he is mentioned in 'The Fellowship of the Ring', the title 'prince' is never attached to him and he seems happy to simply describe himself as 'a messenger'.

For myself - in a story a long way further on in my time-line than is currently here on Faerie, Galanthir says "Our Lord’s royalty comes naturally to him even if he sometimes casts it off for a while." I certainly think he is perfectly good at 'Lording and Princing' to use Tind


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 12, 2012 23:48 · For: The Nightcap
I do rather like this picture of Legolas with his piercings and his long green skirts...

One hopes he isn't going to unsettle the balance of power in this long-term triumvirate too much!

Author's Response: It is a different take on the traditionally rustic Sylvan look he is so often given. It often strikes me as unreasonable that Legolas should always be the 'reluctant prince', always hating the pomp and circumstance, hating his crown, etc. I would assume all those things would be well engrained upon a young prince - and so my character is fully at peace with his lot in life, moreover - he tends to revel in it!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 11, 2012 22:29 · For: The Smiling Eyes of Elros
Ah - when I said it was good to read outside my usual zone it was in part that I try not to absorb too much of other people's ideas, if they write in the same general area that I do, as much as anything... It is fascinating, then to read your elves preparations for a spring festival - when 'mine' have most certainly got some similarities in the way that they celebrate their own festivities. But we both came up with our own celebrations long enough ago to know that neither has in any way influenced the other!
As for reading slash - I do sometimes, as long as there is, as there clearly is here, a story to go with it. But I find it can so easily get boring and repetitive as, no matter how you look at it, the options are always fewer if there are only males available...
'My' elves tend to be pretty much ambisextrous!

Author's Response: Good!!! and so are mine. There is a little het in The Protege and Arcane Land. It just seems logical to me that living so long means that boredom is a major danger - plus, more time means less moral distractions - I think they would be a lot more natural and tolerant than mortals could ever be - you live and learn, as they say! So whereas your universe is het with a hint of slash, mine is slash with a hint of het -M'kay!!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2012 22:18 · For: The Greenwood
I too am reading slightly outside my usual area - and enjoying already the speculation, gossip and anticipation about this Legolas.

I like the hint of his strange and 'magical' powers both over and from nature, as well as his care for his people - and look forward to finding out more about him. Also I am looking forward to reading more about the relationships between Elrond, his family, friends, and his in-laws.

Sadly I will have to limit myself to a couple of chapters a night at the moment - I have beta-ing, Brit-picking, writing and even work to fit in :(

Author's Response: It's great to see you reading The Protege! I am currently re-editing it, as it had a few bugs, plus - even though I wrote it about two years ago, I look back on it now and find myself wanting to rewrite it. I still like it, but I am so reminded of how much I have learned over those two years when I compare it to Arcane Land. Re-editing is already around chapter 20 so it won't affect your reading. I am guessing you are not a big slash reader, and I must warn you that there are some pretty explicit slash and het scenes in the story - and even more in Arcane Land, but I hope that doesn't put you off too much :D Thanks for taking the time to review.


Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: March 02, 2012 17:34 · For: The Noldor
Hello my friend! I sat and read this awesome story in one ago, all 14 chapters and now, I really no longer know what to say.

This story was gorgeous! Not only the character depiction but also the raw sensuality that oozes from every line. I absolutely love Legolas in this! And your descriptions of him raised the room temperature by more than a few degrees!! He is very much the self assured, beguilingly handsome and lovable character that we see in the first few chapters of Arcane Land. Glorfindel is magnificent. Apart from the physical descriptions, the way you portrayed his first steps in his relationship with Legolas was lovely. I am not even going to comment on Elrond and Erestor!

Of all the aspects of this story, I find Mithrandir connection with Legolas absolutely wonderful. But my personal favorite - the revival of Celebrian gardens. The mood you created for the incident, the gorgeous visuals and the sentries, it was lively. Almost heartbreaking so.

If I have any complaints, it is that once you read Arcane Land, it really spoils this story for you:)

But I love it nonetheless!

Author's Response: Wow, what a marathon! There are still some chapters to come. The story is finished but I am putting together the original 5 separate stories to make one, longer Protege. So there are still more than 10 chapters to post. I am taking advantage and reediting. The Protege is the first book in the series, so no wonder it's a spoiler - you jumped straight to Arcane Land, and it's actually quite interesting to see that it wasn't absolutely necessary to read The Protege to be able to understand the goings on of Arcane Land. However, I am sure the Protege has shed some light on a few things you may not have understood from AL. I am glad you are enjoying it, and I hope you will continue reading the following, re-edited chapters, and of course let me know what you think!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 15:33 · For: The Turning of the Tide

 I must apologise for the shocking spelling in my last review- even for me! I never read back reviews, always feel they shoudl express the immediate emotional response. But this new version is very polished and you are right to say how much you have learned about writing. I know the feeling too- now I am on my last chapter, maybe two, I am looking forward to polishing Sons and posting it here. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 15:33 · For: The Turning of the Tide

 I must apologise for the shocking spelling in my last review- even for me! I never read back reviews, always feel they shoudl express the immediate emotional response. But this new version is very polished and you are right to say how much you have learned about writing. I know the feeling too- now I am on my last chapter, maybe two, I am looking forward to polishing Sons and posting it here. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 9:23 · For: The Turning of the Tide

I have njoyed refreshing my memroy of this part of the stroy but I do  like th enext part with Glorfindel and Legoals growing closer. Looking forward to your psoting it soon.



Author's Response: As I said, this was such a treat! I will be editing Training Day today, and then the rest of the series throughout the following month, if Arcane Land permits. And now, if you will excuse me, I have The Sons of Thunder to read today - I have been told there is a new chapter out... Thank you for your generosity :))


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 9:15 · For: The Opening Ceremony

A gorgeous visual feast.



Author's Response: Thank you. Sometimes I wish I could draw what I imagine, but I do not have the slightest skill, so I try to describe it - I know that this chapter could have been better, but when I reread it myself, I admit to a little self satisfaction because I have learned so much about writing in this past year. Thank you once more!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 9:12 · For: The Smiling Eyes of Elros

gulp. Yep- Erestor pretty much sums it up. I admit I have never read such sumptuous descriptions of Legolas, written with such pure enjoyment of his physicality. Love it.



Author's Response: OH thank you. I did want to make this story as visual as possible and I am glad that came across. This was actually one of those paragraphs that I was sorely tempted to change - and then I remembered that Veveco had drawn a lovely picture of his entrance at the Opening Ceremony together with Henian and Galdithion which you can see on the story page for Arcane Land. This paragraph accompanies the illustration on DA, so I thought I would leave it as is - so I am glad that it worked for you. Thank you!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 9:07 · For: The Proteges

I had forgotten this part- there is such a poignncy in this bit with Celebrian's garden. Lovely idea of the sentinels, and I like te detail you give to Imladris- it seems opulent.



Author's Response: This was a really important part of the story, in that it begins to unravel and set the scene for future stories, including Arcane Land. I remember struggling to show the magic, but at the same time keep it believeable. I remember a comment to Mindirith, my beta, saying 'it sounds too fantastic, too supernatural', to which she (obviously) laughed, reminding me that this is Tolkien's universe (almost), where trees and eagles talk, and Gods exist!! I was promptly quieted, of course. Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 9:03 · For: The Truth of the Matter

Yes, I'm with Glorfindel in this one. I love that arousal and lust in our three noble lords!!



Author's Response: Is there anything better than sheer, unashamed, hot and lusty sex? Um...I think that is doubtful. I am glad you enjoyed these portents of nature, as indeed Legolas himself will be doing a little later on!! Thank you!


You must login () to review.