| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
A Man of Constant Sorrow by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
Summary:Modern AU where Maglor lives and works in New York City as a bartender and musician. He fills his days with work...
Gentle yearning of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
"Then the waves hunted us like living things filled with malice, and the lightnings smote us; and when we were broken down...
What We May Become by Narya Mature
"Love is begun by time And time qualifies the spark and fire of it..."  - Hamlet, William Shakespeare. * The story...
Sugar And Spice by Narya General Audiences
Modern AU. Elfhild is at the Arda Games in Dol Amroth as Rohan's reserve for the equestrian cross country event - though...

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1841
Chapters: 9301
Word count: 28462775
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17203
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 24
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/18/20 04:51 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:14 pm
So if you copy that link and paste it in a browser it takes you to the image, (lovely!) but it doesn’t look like a link from a host site due to the http
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:13 pm
wait a sec
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:08 pm
this tinyMCE WYSWYG option is the rich text
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:07 pm
It depends if you’re using HTML links or rich text — which do you post in on here?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:13 pm
The links don’t actually link or show anything. They just clog the note up with text ????
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:06 pm
@Spiced Wine—I tried to add a link to hosting site last night but it didn’t work. I added a link to Narya’s tumblr post in the fic notes but not sure that’s working either
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 09:58 am
@Nelya — did you work it out? I can do it, if you like. You need to upload it to a hosting site and then get the link and post that
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:23 am
I've just posted my first story in a year for TRSB with Narya as my art partner! I couldn't figure out how to post the art link here :(
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:22 am
Hi everyone! Just logged back in after an extremely long absence. Hope all are well.
Shout Archive



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 10:50 · For: Glorfindel

There are SO many characters in the Silmarillion that hardly get any screentime... *sigh* There is more about Glorfindel and Ecthelion in the Unfinished Tales, I think. 

And yes, once again the Eagles! *deep, heartfelt sigh* It's just because elves can't fly. 



Author's Response: Why didn't Tolkien give them wings?? Then ditch the eagles all together! I agree, the Silmarillion is full of people I want to know more about. Really it could easily have been a LOTR size book!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2015 22:41 · For: Moody Maeglin

Yes, Maeglin's only crime was to love Idril. And okay, they were cousins, but I don't get why her only other alternative was Tuor. What is it with elf women that they were so attracted to men? I don't understand that at all. And you're quite right about the way Turgon washed his hands of Maeglin. Not the world's best uncle...



Author's Response: Yeah, what gives Elf women? Your guys are all totally gorgeous and incredible and you choose the smelly unwashed humans?? Talk about the grass always being greener on the other side. They had so much perfection I guess it got boring.......they wanted the interesting guy from the wrong side of the tracks.......... Who died after a short while,( elf speaking) so they could then trade up.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2015 4:23 · For: Moody Maeglin

Oh- as usual this is a wonderful way of popping the ballon of Gondolin and all the high-faluting (however you spell that) High Elves as opposed to the Dark (and by implication, creepy thick elves who stayed behind). I Hate Turgon too. And Tuor. I htink Tolkien was just going through the T part of the alphabet by this time- having dotted around the Ms earlier he had to go back and quite liking the Mae combination, added MAeglin to Maedhros.

 

And yes- Maedhros- my hero (sigh). Thank you for the nod to him.

Great chapter as always. Your gift is amazing. :)



Author's Response: Thanks! How could I not mention Maedhros, I would write him in every chapter if I could!! And rename this the Maedhros files....or something!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 22, 2015 0:53 · For: Moody Maeglin

YES! Maedhros totally set impossible standards for torture resistance! I personally think there is little reason to really hate Maeglin. His dad cursed him pretty harshly, and we all know what Doom does to people in the Tolkienverse. Add to that an impossible crush he couldn't help, and being tortured beyond belief by Morgoth and co? I think if anything, poor Maeglin deserves pity, not hatred.

Also, I'm pretty sure Lack of Finrod is a medical condition. Poor Turgon. 



Author's Response: Yeah Maeglin gets dumped on so unjustifiably. He had a shit life. If Lack of Finrod is a medical condition I think I would probably suffer from it too if I had met him. I totally sympathise with Turgon on that one!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2015 23:08 · For: Moody Maeglin
Maeglin should have started a band -- Idril would never have noticed Tuor then. (Unless of course *he* joined the band too...) There should be a club too -- Gondolin's Goth Garage or something (that's bad I know but I'm not very good with naming places, sorry.)

Author's Response: Tuor being Tuor would of course have gatecrashed the band and taken over being lead singer. He was such a show off!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 21, 2015 23:03 · For: So Now It's Gondolin's Turn
Responding to your comment (because there is no other way to respond here, sorry): Maybe Maiar/Valar have an immunity to pheromones (especially Elven ones) since they can build the cities etc. practically on top of the Enemy's stronghold and yet they are never noticed *at all* until Men show up. (I've been around a lot of construction sites and believe me, they are noisy, dirty, smelly and did I mention loud? Maybe it's the Man smell that draws the Enemy to the Elves.)

Author's Response: From that we can deduce Morgoth is probably deaf...or at least hard of hearing! And very unobservant. Maybe men were a secret weapon planted by him solely to help him find the elves??

Author's Response: From that we can deduce Morgoth is probably deaf...or at least hard of hearing! And very unobservant. Maybe men were a secret weapon planted by him solely to help him find the elves??


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 19, 2015 19:03 · For: So Now It's Gondolin's Turn
I wonder if Elves produce pheromones that act as a magnet to Men. I mean seriously, how else can they hide from practically everyone/thing else *except* for Men?

Author's Response: Oh thats true! Morgoth couldn't find Nargothrond or Gondolin for ages but the men went straight to them! Maybe Elves wear an Eau de Man pefume........maybe they just need to wash more?!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 19:44 · For: Run For the Hills, Beren and Luthien Are Back.

The title of this chapter was perfect xD



Author's Response: Those two drive me mad. I cant stand the sight of them! I seriously would run if I ever saw them.

Author's Response: Those two drive me mad. I cant stand the sight of them! I seriously would run if I ever saw them.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 19:42 · For: Thank Eru, The Sons of Feanor are Back!

Oh Celegorm... poor, dear, deluded Celegorm. *sigh* 

"Maedhros was in desperate need of some grief counselling. They had searched far and wide for a dragon to help him but to no avail." => I LAUGHED MY ASS OFF xD



Author's Response: I know, so sad to see Celegorm go. He was such a sweetie. I really didn't want to kill him off, he so didn't deserve it.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 19:40 · For: So Now It's Gondolin's Turn

"The Man Effect"... This is so true. I never thougt about it like that, but it's really true. Maybe it was some kind of reference to the mortal nature of men. Elves -and their stuff, and their kingdoms- are untouched by time, yet when they let mortals in, they expose themselves to the decay that is inherent to mortals and inevitably end. 

Or, to remember Ulmo's "love not too well the works of thy hands and the devices of thy heart", (which I think goes for all th Noldor kingdoms, not just Gondolin) who is a better herald of doom and decay than a being doomed to decay himself? 



Author's Response: Oh thats deep! But true, so true. No wonder most of the elves retreat to Valinor where the mortals cant reach them. They are not good with change, Elves. And what else are mortals but ever changing. You know actually I think a Valar giving people a lecture on coveting the works of their hands is the height of hypocrisy! Ulmo could do with talking to his fellow Valar about this issue!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 12:20 · For: So Now It's Gondolin's Turn

 the rather obviously named Uldor the Accursed.

 

Speaking of conversations that SHOULD have happened:

 

Maedhros: An odd name, don't you think, Fingon my beloved.

Fingon: mm? sorry, I was distracted. What was that?

M: uurgh...just... there. ahh. odd name...accursed...ooh yes.

F: shhh. who cares what he's called. Just let me...

 

I think maybe they were distracted:) But that did make me laugh. Thank you for the quick update and now for the next one??? xxx

Promise I will write the sulky half elf baby wot becomes a teenager and messes with both the twins.



Author's Response: Ha, ha, Maedhros and Fingon distracting each other.....oh yes definitely.....maybe I will let them off falling victim to the Man Affect then if that is what they were up to. Right I will await sulky half elf baby teenager then. I actually thought maybe he would be better as a young adult so then when Elrohir works up the courage to confess all to Legolas and finally introduce them Legolas realises to his horror that in the recent past sulky half elf baby has been one of his many conquests. Poor Elrohir is all "Im so sorry, I have stuffed up and ended up with this child" and all Legolas can think is "Oh my god I slept with him!"


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 11:48 · For: So Now It's Gondolin's Turn

Yup - I refer you to my previous comment about the stupidity of Elves! But hey, at least it gives Legolas his chance to shine when the few survivors are fleeing the smoking ruins. Not the right Legolas, I know, but it's a good name, and doesn't have 'Fin' or 'El' in it :)



Author's Response: And you know what I Found when I came to write about Gondolin.......there was no Legolas mentioned at all! He is just not there. I have still managed to lever him in to it though!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2015 22:59 · For: Thank Eru, The Sons of Feanor are Back!
Glad to see the Feanorions again, although it's a shame about the circumstances...I will miss Celegorm the innocent puppy!

Author's Response: I know...sob... I will miss him too. I really wanted to try and find a way to keep him around but it wouldn't work.....I had some ideas but in the end they were all too different from the original. Celegorm loved his big brother so much. He was a sweetie........if slightly slow! Innocent puppy is a really good description of him.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2015 22:59 · For: Thank Eru, The Sons of Feanor are Back!
Glad to see the Feanorions again, although it's a shame about the circumstances...I will miss Celegorm the innocent puppy!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2015 10:32 · For: Thank Eru, The Sons of Feanor are Back!

A wonderful wonderful chapter - but you have been really skilful in blending humour- (these bits below were absolutley my favourite and the funniest) with the tragic loss of the sons of Feanor. And as always anyhting with Maedhros is never really funny becuase you cannot get away from the absolute tragedy of his life - so the last line is perfect.

 

But the letter had me giggling- so briliant. So courteous- did you just forget by the way, Dior?

Dear Dior,

 

Hope all is well, Our condolences about your parents, ( not that we liked them all that much........especially Celegorm,) Anyway I am sure you are most eager to return our Silmaril to us and it has just slipped your mind with the funeral arrangements. 

That's quite ok, we look forward to receiving it in return mail.

 

Yours Maedhros........and the others.

 

That- -'and the others', is like a threat.

 

But this idea the brothers hav about Maedhros needing a trip to Doriath is sooooo funny- I snorted (again). Brilliant- of course, a good kinslaying, that's what he needs!

 

"It will be good for him to get out more, a trip to Doriath is just what he needs!"

 

They had a point Celegorm thought. Maedhros was in desperate need of some grief counselling. They had searched far and wide for a dragon to help him but to no avail. Perhaps another kinslaying was just what he needed?

 

Yeah- where's a dragon when you need it!!

 

So good this chapter.



Author's Response: Oh I am glad because that's just what I wanted.....with the last line. For it to portray all of Maedhros's misery. And the Maedhros .......and the others bit. It is a threat, it's like saying it is me, reasonable Maedhros and the bunch of increasingly insane brothers I can't control anymore. Poor Maedhros he is so tragic as you say. It is all so unfair.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2015 18:30 · For: Run For the Hills, Beren and Luthien Are Back.

Aargh! Not Beren and Luthien again! Now I know things are going to fall apart!

yup, the Els are pretty confusing, too, and that's before Elrond, Elros etc turn up!



Author's Response: Don't forget Elladan, Elrohir and Eldarion! I was so annoyed to see Beren and Luthien back. Could they not just stop bothering me?? Tolkien writes some wonderful characters but gosh he can write really irritating ones as well!!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 15:30 · For: Run For the Hills, Beren and Luthien Are Back.
You know, for as smart as Elves are supposed to be (being the Firstborn and all), there are times when they really need to buy a clue or ten or so. *sigh*

Author's Response: They seem so much smarter in the Lord of the Rings. Something happens between here and then to increase their brain power. What that could be I have no idea! Maybe it is because they finally get clued up about the fact they need to stay far, far away from Men.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:38 · For: Thingol Learns His Lesson. ( or does he?)
Dwarven skin ailment....lol! And yes, Melian is definitely a bit of a drip.

Author's Response: Melian is a total waste of space here. Talk about "poor me" she needed a kick up the bakside. I have to say I wasnt really upset to see the back of Thingol.........or Melian


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:34 · For: Hurin is in Denial
Finrod obviously just has excellent taste in jewellery :-D

Sorry for Thingol? Hmm...nope, not quite!

Author's Response: Finrod really does! I think he was really more than a little bit dwarvish in his love for gold and jewels and expensive stuff. He did drag the families precious expensive items all the way across the Helcaraxe!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:32 · For: Hurin
Poor old Thorondor...Turgon should just buy him a decent clock!

Sorry for vanishing for two weeks; I've been on holiday in France, and there was very little WiFi where we were staying.

Author's Response: Oh lucky you! I am so jealous. Hope you had a great time! As for Thorondor, I think he does it on purpose you know. Secretly I think he really doesn't like the elves.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2015 3:34 · For: Thingol Learns His Lesson. ( or does he?)

To answer your question about the fic that features Melian, it's called "An Unlikely Visitor", a Harry Potter and LOTR crossover in which Sauron ends up with one of the Hogwarts professors. (It's less lame than it sounds, trust me...) Melian only makes a cameo, but her reaction to the loss of Thingol is used as example of Ainur grief to clarify Sauron's reactions in the story. (It makes sense in context, really!)

It was my first fic dipping toes in the Silmarillion fandom. If you'd be interested in reading it, the full(est) version of the story can be found on FFN. (I have a version of it uploaded here, but it doesn't have all the extra drabbles and minifics I added later.)



Author's Response: I will go and search it out on FFN. I know less than nothing about Harry Potter tho so it will be a test to see if I can work it out!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2015 22:29 · For: Thingol Learns His Lesson. ( or does he?)

Oh Thingol... Doriath would definitely have been better off if Thingol had been tied up and gagged in a closet at certain key points in time xD 

I find Melian's abandonment extremely telling of the attitude of the Ainur towards the world. They really only cared about things when they had some vested interest of their own in it. (I have a fic in which Melian's abandonment is caused by the inherent inability of Ainur to deal with grief and loss, but still.)



Author's Response: Yip, I really dont like Thingol. He was his own worst enemy. As for Melian , shame on her! Which one is your fic about her? Is it here? I will have to go look!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2015 9:47 · For: Thingol Learns His Lesson. ( or does he?)

Oh YEAH!!!!! THat is EXACTLY what she does- I always thought she was a git. THere is great wisdom in your sayings oh wise cheekybeak, and truth.

 

This bit made me actually snort with laughter:

A rampaging, vicious dwarven skin ailment perhaps? 

 

xxx



Author's Response: Glad you agree! I thought she was a total lowlife here. Perhaps if she had managed to get over her self pity and stay around for a bit her grandson may have survived as she could have stopped him being such a total idiot! Although she never managed to stop Thingol being that. She gives Maias a bad name!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2015 19:19 · For: Stand by Your Man

It's unbelievable that in Lord of the Rings, Tolkien's elves are farseeing and wise beyond the ken of mortals. A huge jump from the Silm's Too Stupid to Live bunch of muppets! It's a miracle the race survived into the Third Age!



Author's Response: I know! What do you think happened between the Silm and the LOTR? Maybe the elves who managed to survive that long were the only ones with any brains. Survival of the fittest or something.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2015 13:47 · For: Stand by Your Man

Have just had a writing binge on this so I have a few chapters up my sleeve now.

 

Taps watch, taps foot. Well? Whre is it?

 

 

Still waiting.

 

xxx



Author's Response: Patience, patience, I don't want you to get sick of it......


You must login () to review.