| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
~ A Crown of Ash ~ by Spiced Wine General Audiences
Set directly after A Throne of Shadows, with the Clouds now gutted by fire, events move to the north-west of Scotland. The...
Half-brothers in heart, full brothers in blood by FirstAmazon Mature
My (rather optimistic) view on the complicated relationship between Fëanor & Fingolfin. A romance.
A Man of Constant Sorrow by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
Summary:Modern AU where Maglor lives and works in New York City as a bartender and musician. He fills his days with work...
Gentle yearning of the heart by FirstAmazon General Audiences
"Then the waves hunted us like living things filled with malice, and the lightnings smote us; and when we were broken down...
What We May Become by Narya Mature
"Love is begun by time And time qualifies the spark and fire of it..."  - Hamlet, William Shakespeare. * The story...
Sugar And Spice by Narya General Audiences
Modern AU. Elfhild is at the Arda Games in Dol Amroth as Rohan's reserve for the equestrian cross country event - though...

Site Info

Members: 516
Series: 98
Stories: 1841
Chapters: 9301
Word count: 28462775
Authors: 144
Reviews: 17201
Reviewers: 229
Newest Member: Caranor
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 54
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
09/18/20 04:51 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:14 pm
So if you copy that link and paste it in a browser it takes you to the image, (lovely!) but it doesn’t look like a link from a host site due to the http
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:13 pm
wait a sec
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:08 pm
this tinyMCE WYSWYG option is the rich text
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 06:07 pm
It depends if you’re using HTML links or rich text — which do you post in on here?
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:13 pm
The links don’t actually link or show anything. They just clog the note up with text ????
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 04:06 pm
@Spiced Wine—I tried to add a link to hosting site last night but it didn’t work. I added a link to Narya’s tumblr post in the fic notes but not sure that’s working either
Spiced Wine
09/13/20 09:58 am
@Nelya — did you work it out? I can do it, if you like. You need to upload it to a hosting site and then get the link and post that
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:23 am
I've just posted my first story in a year for TRSB with Narya as my art partner! I couldn't figure out how to post the art link here :(
NelyafinweFeanorion
09/13/20 05:22 am
Hi everyone! Just logged back in after an extremely long absence. Hope all are well.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2017 4:43 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
What is it with Elves? As soon as they acquire a bit of jewellery they seem to lose the ability to all reason and to think intelligently. Even Turgon, who seemed very up there on the wise scale, {Maybe a little bit too much}, slowly lost his ability to think straight, when handed the crown. It probably didn't help having the shining light that was Tuor ever present or stealing his attention.Poor Turgon.
I think the only man who didn't destroy an Elven realm was Aragorn, mind you he was brought up in Imladris by his very wise Step-dad.
Keeps me entertained and laughing.
Love it Cheekybeak. :D

Author's Response:

Ah, but when you think about it Aragorn DID steal Arwen—the Evenstar, most beautiful of all— and doom her to mortality thus seriously annoying her Dad in the process...So he kind of did stick two fingers up at Imladris. Not really the best way to repay Elrond for all that care and protection. 

 

As as for the jewels....yes serious, serious, elven weakness there. Every single one of them caves when faced with sparkly glittering things. And they say the dwarves are the ones who lust after gold............



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2017 4:34 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
Oh Cheekybeak!, my sides hurt so much. I didn't realise how many times Turin did not think things through and ended up accidentally killing someone.
I really like the inappropriately placed chasm poor Saeros fell into while Turin chased him naked, {a suspect eyebrow arched}.
What's going on with Thingol and his suspect way of weighing the severity of certain actions in his mind.
Maybe Tolkien lost the thread of where he was going with the storyline at times especially with Luthien and Beren, I think I've had enough of them to last a lifetime.
Love it. :D

Author's Response:

Hi! Sorry it has taken me ages to respond. Turin...poor Turin, such a clumsy disaster area. Why anyone got near him I do not know. And Thingol...or imposter Thingol...who has a random personality change whenever it suits the plotline.

glad to meet someone else fatigued by Beren and Luthien. Why Aragorn was so obsessed with them I'll never know! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2017 10:33 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
Oh, Cheekybeak! It had me in fits of laughter. I'm another who does not know the super intricate details of the Silmars, but I'm learning. Love it! :)

Author's Response:

Thank you! So good to get a review on this older story. :-) I am glad it made you laugh! It's always so hard to tell...sometimes I know I think things are funny, but does everybody else?



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2016 23:36 · For: The End

Sorry Cheekybeak- I ain't interested in Men. Love elves.

Love your deadpan style, the cynical throw away comments aobut the Telri, the Valar, Galadreil- getting it all to hersef! Who canblame her for not sharing??? And Gil-Galad just knwing he aint gonna be all sparkly High King is he goes! But most of all I love your deapan cynicism about the world without Feanorians! 

Love this whole idea, whole fic. Write another please. Soon.



Author's Response: I know. I am not interested in Men either. I didn't know when I started reading the Silmarillian there was a whole segment just about the boring Numenorians with their stupid names and their grandiose ideas. Thing is I have to write their bit if I am going to get to the rings. And Celebrimbor. I REALLY want to write that. I guess I could just be very sarcastic....and make it very short.... "The Numenorians thought they were important. They weren't. They tried to get immortality......it didn't go well." Surely I don't need to write any more than that! I really want to write Sauron, Celebrimbor, Galadriel and the rings so I think I am going to have to suck it up and write the Men so I can get there.


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2016 22:12 · For: The End
And worst of all it is a world with no more Feanorians. All those spirited, beautiful, glorious Feanorians written into dust.
--I know, I know! ::sobs::

Do I carry on to the Akallab


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 17, 2016 8:56 · For: The War of Wrath

I am sooo looking forward to the next chapter! I love your deadpan sarky tone in this, and your HEAVY cynicism about the Valar. You do rather expose Tolkien's weaknesses in terms of the plot! WOnderfu comment about the eagles!!!



Author's Response: How can you be looking forward to the next chapter???? You know what happens and it's tragic!! I have to say by now the Valar are totally pissing me off...hence the cynicism. I have had a guts full of the Valar and maybe that's because I know what lies in wait for my beautiful Feanorians. Sob :(


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 13, 2016 13:09 · For: Here Come the Valar

They had sewn beautiful white banners for them to march under just so everyone would know they were the goodies. They convinced the Vanyar to come along. I am not sure how they did that.......told them they were the prettiest or something probably. The Vanyar I rather think were vain but dumb. The dumb blondes of middle earth.

 

I have missed this!!

They did send people and ships to sail the army over this time. They said it was because Elwing was a distant relation but I think it was probably more that they remembered what happened to them last time when they refused to send ships......and who could ever trust those dratted Noldor.

Made me laugh and laugh- you have such great comic abilty.

 




Author's Response: Yeah sorry it has been so long since I updated this. I got spooked by Maedhros and Maglor's deaths.....I just didn't want to write them. Anyway I have finally forced myself to confront it....have three more chapters written and I will post them quite quickly to make up for the wait! Glad you still like it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 23, 2015 2:02 · For: Manwë is the Boss. Don't you forget it!

And this is where it gets really odd because Tolkien now wants us to believe that Maedhros, beautiful, honourable, broken Maedhros driven to insanity by the oath forcing him to reclaim all the Silmarils, on seeing his precious Silmaril which he has killed his own kin for sailing across the sky says,

 

"Fair one guys, now everyone can see it, I'm really happy about about that."

 

Said no Feanorian EVER!!! 

Let alone Maedhros.

 

As if we would ever believe that.

 

Just fabulous! Yet agian, you have completely burst the Valar/Tolkien bubble!! Love this so much:)



Author's Response: Sometimes Tolkien does my head in. He spends all this time building characters, outlining their motivations and then does this!! Because......why?? How did he ever think it would be believable Maglor and Maedhros would just sit down and have a chat about how happy they are the Valar are messing with their Dad's Silmaril. If he wanted us to like the Valar maybe he should have just written them as nicer in the first place instead of messing with my favourite Feanorians. . End of Meltdown.......sorry about that!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 21, 2015 22:47 · For: Manwë is the Boss. Don't you forget it!

Lol! I think you've got Mandos sussed - the brighter and shinier the elf, the more likely they are to end up with Mandos :)

"Fair one guys, now everyone can see it, I'm really happy about about that."

Said no Feanorian EVER!!!
Let alone Maedhros.

LOL!! So true!

And finally, spot on about the cruelty of Manwe, forcing Elrond to remember every time he looks at the stars just how useless his dad is.



Author's Response: Poor Mandos, someone else pointed out the only elves he ever gets to keep for extended lengths of time are the broken, damaged ones. The bright shiny ones slip right through his fingers as back to Valinor.....(Finrod and Glorfindel!) I don't get Tolkien sometimes. He spends all this time building up how obsessive the Feanorians are about the Silmarils then has Maedhros quite happy to share Eatendils silmaril with the rest of the world. It makes no sense Tolkien. No sense at all! As for Manw


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2015 15:00 · For: In which Eárendil shows his true colours

Poor Elrond and Elros indeed. If Earendil and Elwing were around now I think their children would have been taken into care.

I love your opinion of Earendil strapping the silmaril to his brow. A forerunner to the head torch, maybe? I agree, it must have looked dead weird!



Author's Response: I just have this mental image of him stumbling around, this big diamond strapped to his head with a bit of Sellotape. Very, very, odd. Could he not just have put it in his pocket at this point?! As for his parenting skills, yeah those were appallingly bad.


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 19, 2015 2:48 · For: Elwing. Mother of the Year.
It is apparent to everyone except Elwing what was gong to happen when she said "No." to the Son's of F


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 16, 2015 23:38 · For: Elwing. Mother of the Year.

Yeah, this is the point where I think Tolkien's just made up so many characters, he can't be bothered to give them proper personalities at all. They just exist to serve his plot.  I can't  understand why Elwing would - as you say - choose a jewel she has no right to over her sons. And a swan?!!! If that's what their mother and father are like, I think Elrond and Elros are better off with the  Feanorians. At least you know where you stand with them. Or rather, where you lie with your throat cut 😀



Author's Response: Sometimes I wish Tolkien had maybe written less characters but given us a bit more detail with the the ones he already had! Both Elwing and E


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: September 30, 2015 1:40 · For: Is Maglor really the Mastermind behind it all?
I feel sorry for Maedhros. He must have known the demand was futile and yet, he still held on to that fragment of hope (or was the post scipt added by Maglor? Hmmmmm...)

Author's Response: Oh maybe! Didn't think of that but maybe Maglor added that last bit... Yes poor Maedhros, reading this section of the silm you really get the feeling he doesn't want any of this. He tries so hard to avoid all the conflict and it never works out for him. He just wanted them to peacefully give his silmaril back and leave him alone.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2015 20:13 · For: Is Maglor really the Mastermind behind it all?
Oh, poor Maedhros! He needs a good advisor. And we can't be too hard on Maglor, he's probably all upset over Erestor...

Author's Response: Yeah Maedhros needs someone to help him with the letter writing. He doesn't want to have to attack everyone, he really doesn't. As for Maglor........oh yes, definitely upset about Erestor. However he is not being that helpful to his big brother at the moment! As we know the pair of them need some serious counselling help.


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2015 1:14 · For: Gli-Galad was an Elven King
Eventually Cirdan marched to the front dragging a poor elf behind him. "This is your new High King," he announced ....and his name is Gil-Galad. Ereinion Gil-Galad to be exact."

"Rubbish!" cried someone from the floor. "Who is he? We have never even heard of him."

"He is Fingon's son." Cirdan certainly sounded convincing. "And I have raised him as some kind of random foster son."

--So, who is really Gil-galad's father? I wonder if that was Cirdan's way of attempting a coup of some sort...

Author's Response: I did think of that and it made me laugh. Unbeknownst to the Noldor their High King was secretly a Teleri!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2015 22:54 · For: Gli-Galad was an Elven King

lol!! High King translated to.....being dead very soon and in a very painful and unfortunate way, (usually involving a Balrog) and neither of them were keen to experience that!

 

EXactly! Funny and unoriginal of Tolkien to hit on that one.  I lov ehte way everyone else high-tails it outof there, shuffling out the door and taking off at high speed!



Author's Response: Well Turgon avoided the Balrogs but Turgon would....and as it happens Gil-Galad doesn't meet them either but he gets a fire loving Maia, who is right hand man of Morgoth .......so maybe even worse! Galadriel is not stupid. There is no way she was getting involved there!!


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2015 20:44 · For: Teenagers: Who'd have 'em?

"I bet he spent all day in his room playing heavy metal elf music on his harp very loudly."

LOL!  I'm sure he did.  Maeglin as pouty son of the Goth Eol makes perfect sense.  Nothing like disfunctional parenting.



Author's Response: I am not quite sure what heavy metal elf harp music might sound like but I find I can imagine Maglor playing it quite effectively as well!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2015 22:24 · For: A Finrod and Turgon Interlude.

YES!!! This makes me happy :D (So much happier than their fate in the Silm...) Finrod finally breaking the news to his father made me smile -Finarfin is so much more sensible about this than I picture Fëanor was/would be about Maedhros and Fingon...

I can totally picture Turgon hiding under the bed, by the way. (It's sort of adorable xD) 

I'm also sort of imaginging Turgon and Finrod's shared house having an open roof with a tent-like raincover (to minimize Turgon's fear of it collapsing and crushing him), and it's probably near a river somewhere (because they like revisiting fond memories and haven't caught on to Ulmo's voyeuristic tendencies xD) 



Author's Response: Yes, I had decided Turgon and Finrod would have to live in some kind of tent like structure. Maybe with a few wolf traps outside to deal to Finrods imaginary wolves, and yes definitely by a river so they could keep doing whatever it is they do there.....I think one day I might just have to write the story of their original river tryst, just to see what exactly made them run away and hide for so long! Now their story is finished I am kind of sad about not writing any more of them.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2015 13:36 · For: A Finrod and Turgon Interlude.

Hurray! I Love a happy ending:) Perfectly judged and I have ot say the idea of Turgon hiding under the bed had me giggling.



Author's Response: Poor Turgon. He never got a break. Even right at the end. Tolkien really didn't like him did he? I think Glaudring needs to set up shop in Valinor to deal with all these elves post death phobia's. I am sure Fingon would have a fire issue. You never know when it's going to leap out at you from the fireplace. Actually Maedhros might have that one too....( he probably has many,) so if those two ever hook up again in the afterlife they are going to be VERY cold in the winter!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 29, 2015 22:29 · For: A Finrod and Turgon Interlude.

Aargh! What are you trying to do to me? In this one chapter, we have:

Finrod, Fingolfin, Finarfin, Fingon and Glorfindel. That's 7 'Fins' altogether! My head is spinning!

But I love your happy ending!



Author's Response: I didn't even realise there were SO many Fin's till you pointed it out. Sorry about that! I think it may be some kind of record. Glad you like the ending, now Finrod and Turgon can live happily ever after......although maybe they need to move into a tent so Turgon can come out from under the bed.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 27, 2015 19:12 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
I have never read anything with Idril and Maeglin actually together

I read a fantastic fic once that essentially reversed the roles of Maeglin and Tuor, but I've completely forgotten the name of the author and the fic. I've tried and tried to track it down but failed miserably.

Maeglin/Idril is a bunny I've had in my hutch for a long time. Unfortunately real life is not co-operating at the moment, and getting words on the page isn't happening - for any of my fics, really, except the odd one shot. Frustrating. I'm hoping I'll get over it eventually, if I keep trying...

Author's Response: Oh, maybe I need to do some Idril/ Maeglin searches? Damn that Real Life!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2015 23:58 · For: Moody Maeglin
I am actually a huge Idril/Maeglin shipper...they are one of my Silm OTPS. And Maeglin definitely gets unfair press here...Tuor is far too boring!

Author's Response: I can't stand Tuor....but to tell the truth there are so many Men I can't stand it is getting ridiculous. I liked movie Aragorn.....he is probably the only one. I have never read anything with Idril and Maeglin actually together....I don't like Idril much....mainly because of the way she treated Maeglin!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2015 23:56 · For: So Now It's Gondolin's Turn
Agreed on The Man Effect. Obviously Turgon was just missing Finrod!

Author's Response: Poor Turgon, poor Finrod. All they want is to be together! So unfair .


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 18:26 · For: Glorfindel

Yeas- I sooooo agreee! Tolkien missed a trick there. How could he not have written ooodles and oodles about Glorfindel!

And yes= those bloody eagles!



Author's Response: So many, many pages of Turin........and only three sentences of Glorfindel. Something is seriously wrong there. And why did the eagles never come along and do something useful like carry Beren and Luthien away so they didn't bother us any more. Still I wasn't actually aware of Glorfindel getting an eagle ride after death till I read this. It explains why he was so keen to belong to the eagle worshipping religion in one of my stories.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2015 11:33 · For: Glorfindel

Like you, I would have sworn Legolas was in the Silmarillion. I think he must have been referred to in the Book of Lost Tales instead.

And yeah - poor Glorfindel and Ecthelion. They kill a Balrog each (and even Gandalf has a struggle to kill his Balrog, so we know it's a fairly tricky thing to do) and hardly get a mention. If they'd been Men, they'd have had at least five chapters dedicated to them and they'd have had hordes of Elf-women panting over them, too.

Bitter? What makes you think I'm bitter?



Author's Response: Oh yes! You are so right, if they were Men it would have been a whole different story. ......but they also would have been tediously boring and self pitying.........but yes, somehow despite that still have got all the elf girls? Go figure!


You must login () to review.