| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Heralds of the Dawn by Encairion Mature
And death shall have no dominion. The final installment of The Price of Eternity series.  
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
And in spring be reborn by Kalendeer General Audiences
Reembodied in Valinor, Dior finds relief from grief from the most surprising person.   Beleriand had sang. Her waterfalls...
Waiting for the Thaw by Narya General Audiences
Annatar takes a brooding Celebrimbor for a walk in the snow.
Flying Sparks and Captain Snark by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
Legolas’ suffers a brief wobble in confidence in the face of an exasperated Captain. His friend, fellow new recruit Faervel...
Trials of Revision by mangacrack Explicit
Tuor falls in love with the Prince instead of the Princess and Idril betrays Gondolin.
The Image in the Mirror by Ysilme Teen
When Ost-in-Edhil falls, Galadriel flees with her daughter to the safety of Lindórinand, while Celeborn has to follow...

Site Info

Members: 500
Series: 95
Stories: 1805
Chapters: 9098
Word count: 27799740
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16957
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: Silmaril Chick
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
02/17/20 09:41 pm
Thanks Ziggy! It’s my birthday tomorrow so it’s nearly here :)
ziggy
02/17/20 09:05 am
oops- Naledi is Friday!
ziggy
02/16/20 11:15 pm
Happy Birthday Naledi, and belated birthday wishes to Spiced Wine. (I am working on something for you, Naledi- you asked for ages ago and finally I have time:) x
Kalendeer
02/14/20 07:12 pm
Happy friday, happy valentine's day to all the authors and favs!
FirstAmazon
02/14/20 06:12 pm
happy friday, and happy valentine's ^^
Spiced Wine
02/14/20 05:13 pm
Welcome, Silmaril Chick please check your email for notification, thank you
Spiced Wine
02/14/20 09:13 am
Happy Friday and happy Valentine’s Day everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/07/20 08:26 pm
Thank you :)
astorey_91
02/07/20 02:19 pm
Hope that you had a fantastic birthday, Spiced Wine <3
Ysilme
02/07/20 11:28 am
Happy Birthday to you, Spiced Wine! :o)
Shout Archive



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2015 0:42 · For: The Fall of Nargothrond.

"Who knew Dragons were the psychotherapists of Middle Earth" I thought I died in laughter. Hilarious! Dragons obviously know what's up, that's for sure. They do in-depth psychoanalysis as well as hypnotherapy xD (and this only confirms what I've always thought, namely that psychotherapists are spawns of Morgoth :P)

I have no doubt Turin would have benefited from a little dragon therapy earlier in life... pretty much any therapy would have made for an improvement, really. (But then Morgoth and his cronies wouldn't have the hilarious shipwreck that is The Turin Show to enjoy in their spare time...)

This was awesome! Also, I'm eagerly waiting for the fall of Gondolin! (poor Turgon... I already feel sorry for the grumpy git xD) 



Author's Response: I am eagerly waiting for Gondolin too....but what did I find when I finally managed to stagger to the end of Turin.....Hurin, that's what. And Hurin is even worse than Turin. P,s, This is not the last we see of Glaudring's psychotherapy qualification!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 15, 2015 22:57 · For: The Fall of Nargothrond.

Have I told you I love you recenlty, Cheekybeak?

For this;

 

Who knew Dragons were the psychotherapists of Middle Earth.

Maybe if Turin had got himself some Dragon therapy earlier he might not have gone on to be so insufferable!

 

Funniest thing ever!!



Author's Response: Thank you! What can I say!! Poor misunderstood Glaudring. He only wanted the best for Turin. He was just trying a bit of tough love. God knows Turin needs it. So sick of Turin.....the end is in sight thank god!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 08, 2015 22:41 · For: The Shallowness of Elves.

Oh PRICELESSSSS!!!!!!! Brilliant ending- I loved th schapter so much. I giggled all the way through this. Lovely to be reading this again:)



Author's Response: Thanks! I have two more chapters ready to go. Promised myself when I finished Walls of Glass I would write nothing else but this till it was finished. But then the prompt generator distracted me towards mournful Legolas and Erestor ...... Then Narya has lured me away with the idea of more Erestor and Maglor so I have totally failed at that. I will try to keep focused from now on!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2015 23:30 · For: The Shallowness of Elves.

*snort* Spot on about Turin's attention seeking! Only a complete drama queen would call themselves that!



Author's Response: I know. He is so over the top isn't he. Look at me, look at me, My life is so hard!!! Strange thing is the elves still want to hang out with him. Go figure!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 23:08 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
It's a tough one. I guess the only person who'd be able to see everything would be Eru! Hmm, The Eruvision Song Contest...?

Author's Response: What about a panel then you get the politics of them all supporting their favs. A Maia .... A Finwinion, A Noldor A silvan/ Sindar. A dwarf who would hate everything that wasn't dwarfish. Unless it was Gimli then he would argue strongly for Legolas and not hear a word said against him. Oh and Melkor on satellite link From the void


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 21:59 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
Thanks for all the reviews.

You're welcome! I didn't realise until after I submitted that last review that I had reached the end...I can't wait for more, this is such fun! :-)

I'm glad you're looking forwards to the song contest fic...I've hit a minor stumbling block, though. Ever since the scope of it exploded, I'm struggling to get the POV right. Most of the characters I might want to narrate it are in the contest already, and I want a neutral observer...I'm wondering about going meta and having an anonymous fan panel watching...ack, that sounded a lot better in my head. I don't know, I'm stuck!! :P

Author's Response: You know who sprung into my mind first.... Gildor, great grandchild of Finwe who's existence is denied by all! He is the invisible Finwinion...... Of course he may be just the tiniest bit biased towards his Daddy, but then is that a bad thing? Or Turgon because although boring he would be scrupulously fair. But then you have to write Turgon and that may be tedious. I will think on it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 21:37 · For: The Shallowness of Elves.
List of Personal Attributes Needed to Get Ahead in Elven Society.

1. Prettiness.


And that's basically all.


Sad, but I fear it's true. Poor Gwindor - he definitely got a raw deal.

Author's Response: Yay! You made it to the end. Thanks for all the reviews. It gave me such a thrill to receive them! You know I didn't realise until I wrote this chapter just how shallow the elves really were.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 21:32 · For: Turin's Worst Moment.
Beleg's death is heartbreaking :( not cool, JRR, not cool.

Author's Response: Such a waste of an absolutely awesome character! He could have given him a little more screen time before he killed him off!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 21:29 · For: Beleg
Beleg and Turin were mates......best mates.........maybe more than best mates......

Oh, *definitely* more than best mates! They're my other Silm OTP, second only to Fingon and Maedhros.

Author's Response: Yes definitely something going down there! But as I am not a Turin fan Inwish Beleg had found someone else. He may have lived longer if he had.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 21:27 · For: Turin
He was someone it didn't pay to get too close to, because Turin had an unfortunate habit of killing people accidentally

Ha! So true.

Tolkien doesn't go into detail about Saeros's drinking vessel injuries. Possibly because he realised it WAS rather hard to come up with something serious a drinking vessel could actually do to you

Hmmm...shard of glass to the eye?

Ok. Own up. Who has stolen Thingol and replaced him with this Thingol impersonator?

Tom Bombadil? It seems like the sort of thing he might find amusing!

Author's Response: Now I know you like Turin but for the life of me I REALLY cannot understand why everyone didn't get the message and stay way way clear of him!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 21:23 · For: A bit of Cultural Confusion
Aww, poor Turgon! "Finrod made a prophecy" :( I never much liked the guy, but this just makes me want to give him a hug!

Author's Response: I know poor repressed Turgon. Took so long to admit to his feelings and missed his chance. Sob sob.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 7:11 · For: In which Eru gets Creative
Ooh, I like the idea of having Third Age characters in the song contest...thank you! You've definitely given me enough thoughts to keep me amused at work today :-)

Author's Response: I am REALLY REALLY looking forward to reading anything you may come up with on this song contest. Can't wait...... No pressure !


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:41 · For: The Sad Tale of Maedhros and Fingon : Part 3
Poor Fingon. Poor Maedhros. Tolkien really did get into the gory details there...

Author's Response: I know! Way to make sure we know he is absolutely and totally dead. We get the picture Tolkien. Poor Maedhros... He was never the same after this.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:39 · For: Where is a Good Relationship Counsellor when you Need One?
No, Fingon, don't break up with Maedhros! You can't do that to him! Ah, rats, you went and did something even sillier...

And poor Turgon *sniffles*

Author's Response: Fingon would never break up with Maedhros! He only did this because his jealous mates wound him up about Maedhros not being good enough for him. He is easily led!!!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:37 · For: A Brief Fëanorian conversation
Yes, Maedhros, afraid Celegorm was right on this one...I see the sadz coming up :-(

Author's Response: The one time Maedhros should actually have listened to Celegorm ....,,,,and he didn't.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:34 · For: Is Anyone else fed up with Beren and L
They should totally have just killed him...we might like them better then!

Author's Response: I know. Such a wasted opportunity. P.S, have been thinking about your Eurovision contest. Is it Silmarillion Only? Because otherwise you could have mournful Aragorn singing his never ending lay of Luthien. And boring everybody to tears. Legolas.....with his sea longing should really sing a sea shanty or maybe just Rod Stewarts we are sailing! Oh and then a welsh male voice chorus of Imladris elves singing Tra la tra lally. That would cause much embarrassment to Elrond and co who have kept that silliness seriously under wraps.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:30 · For: Goodbye Finrod
Oh no, poor Finrod!!! Get him back to Turgo, quick! Or Celegorm. Or both...?


Yay for Gildor...who is Gildor's mother in this? :-)

Author's Response: Sadly for Celegorm Finrod only has eyes for Tugon. I really need to find someone for Celegorm. He is so sweet he deserves it but I haven't thought if anyone and I am running out of time. His death scene is looming...... Gildors mother is beer mentioned here. Mainly because I couldn't think of who she would be. Am liking your idea of a naughty young Finrod making Amarie an unwedded teen mother though more and more as I think of it!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:28 · For: Sing, Sing a Song
Haha, I am envisioning Sauron as the Phantom of the Opera now...'SING, my angel...'

Author's Response: OMG YES!!! Totally phantom if the opera, the mask, the melodramatic opera music...... It's all SO Sauron!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:25 · For: Celegorm is Just Misunderstood.
Oh no, poor Celegorm! I love that you've written him as a bit of a geeky nice guy :-)

Author's Response: Celegorm is such a sweetie. He hero worships his big brother and tries SO hard to be like him. He just stuffs it up every single time. I admit I have a soft spot for Him.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:23 · For: Lúthien
Oh dear, you are so right with this one...honestly, Thingol, what were you thinking!?

Author's Response: Thingol.....,,one of the few elves I really dont like. He had so much potential until Melian got her hands on him.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 06, 2015 0:21 · For: The Fall of Fingolfin
Teeheehee - sparkly silver. Fab!

Author's Response: Fingolfin is nothing if not always totally glorious!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2015 20:23 · For: The Shallowness of Elves.
"List of Personal Attributes Needed to Get Ahead in Elven Society.
1. Prettiness."

I laughed so hard at this because it's so very true, sadly enough. Didn't Celebrimbor fall in the same trap? (the guy is pretty, so how could he possibly be bad for us?) xD
For such long-lived and reportedly wise creatures, elves are awfully preoccupied with the superficial…

Author's Response: Snap! I was actually thinking of Celebrimbor when I write that!! Believe me I WILL be pointing that out when I get to the creating the rings segment. ...Galadriel: "Celebrimbor...this Annatar guy....have you done a background check on him or anything? he seems kind of suspicious." Celebrimbor: "Seriously Galadriel have you SEEN how gorgeous he is??" Galadriel:" Fair point. I stand corrected." I am sure this is really what is at the heart of the a ti dwarf sentiment. They just weren't pretty. All that facial hair.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2015 17:30 · For: And then it got Even Worse
Ah, yes, Daeron!

In my head the winners would end up being Manwe, Varda, Aule and Yavanna doing an Abba tribute ("Valinor! You were defeated, we won the war..."), and the Noldor would all grumble and complain that it's a conspiracy theory and nobody likes them (like the Brits do every year).

Oh dear, this is really getting out of hand...!

Author's Response: Yes Daeron! Always felt sorry for the poor guy. Ha, ha grumbling Noldor. I was thinking along those lines myself....about the judges and all that political voting. That would probably undermine Maglor's chances because he IS a Feanorian after all and the Teleri definitely wouldn't be voting for him! Unless maybe he sung the Noldolant


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2015 12:11 · For: And then it got Even Worse
Now I'm envisioning Sauron with a backing band of orcs doing Lordi's Hard Rock Hallelujah...maybe this needs to be a kind of First Age EuroVision Song Contest!? Fingon could join in as well, with his Love Song for Maedhros, and Maglor could do an Elegy for Feanor...Eol could do some crazy folk number in his native tongue that nobody likes...this has possibility...

I agree that Idril should have picked Maeglin. I read a gorgeous fic back in my early days of fandom on LOTRFF, which essentially flipped the roles of Maeglin and Tuor, and it was amazing. Sadly I have no idea what it was called or who wrote it, I've been asking around for years but nobody knows which fic I'm on about. I'm half tempted to have a go at rewriting it myself, but preface it with a caveat that the idea isn't mine and if the author of the unknown story is reading, please get in touch! As if I don't have enough bunnies to deal with...

Author's Response: Oh yes! Eurovision song contest..totally. Maglor would have to win surely.......or....what his face, the poor Dorinath Bard with the fantastic voice who spent his time running after Luthien playing her dancing music. Actually she could join in with some kind of spiritual flower throwing dance. Definitely Fingon there singing his " where are you Maedhros?" Song. I always imagine Maedhros cringing really badly during that.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2015 11:59 · For: In Case you hadn't Noticed, Oaths are not a Good Idea.
I do think there's the possibility of a brilliant fic about Gildor as Finrod's son...maybe he's his illegitimate child with Amarie? Hence why he didn't claim the High Kingship..

Author's Response: I am convinced of it.......it is a theme that pops up regularly in the rest of the story. And the fact everyone steadfastly ignores his existance. Illegitimate! Well that would be a real elven scandal! And Finrod whisked him off with him following Feanor leaving Amarie languishing behind him. That would also explain why noone knows about him. Finrod being a prince and all they would have kept it all very hush, hush you would think. Sent Amarie away to an "aunt" for the summer and then slid the child in as some fosterling or servants child.......and only Finrod would know!


You must login () to review.