| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2014 16:59 · For: Chapter 3 ~ That Bright-Dark Day ~
Nice conclusion! I loved Melpomaen*s shamelessness. Perfect for Vanimore. And I can not believe that he and Elgalad finally broke Vanimore. Wonderful, awesome story! Thank you.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2014 16:15 · For: Chapter 2 ~ Strangers In The Dark ~
Little Melopmaen? He certainly does not act like a child in this chapter! The scene was wonderful, the release of the tension, the fear into something much better. How interesting/funny to see Mel as the protector here, clearly caring for this elf he really does not know, trying to make him as comfortable as possible, even including sex... Of course then again, it might just have been a reason for Mel to have sex... LOL

Author's Response: Mel's author always calls him 'Little Mel' in her stories. I had to go and read them before I wrote this.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2014 15:59 · For: Chapter 1 ~ From Light To Darkness ~
Oh oh, is Melpomaen in trouble or not? So sad, to have all those silvan warriors die! Especially these last two, whom we actually got to know! I certainly hope Mel is incorrect in his assumption that the others must be dead, of course that would be a major shift away from your AU, and you said it would stay very close to it... I have to go wash dishes, but will read more later...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2012 11:32 · For: Chapter 2 ~ Strangers In The Dark ~

Well- there is nothing cute or fluffy in htis- but the gritty reality of orc capture and the horror and fear overwhelming `Elgalad. Mel gets what he wants but there is such generosity in the act- it is not just a wild fantsy he is fulfilling but your elves use sex very much as somehting to ground them in the her and now, as healing, as something necessary for life almost. 



Author's Response: Thank-you for the review, Ziggy. I think for the Elves, well the way some of us write them d;-) sex is very necessary :D


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 06, 2012 11:26 · For: Chapter 1 ~ From Light To Darkness ~

How have I not read this before!! (hits forehead with hand- duh!) As always, breathtaking prose and the action is fast, visual and exciting and we go from this light, fluffy Mel to the hard reality of the orc attack- I was very much THERE, seeing, hearing- feeling the fear.



Author's Response: Thank-you for reading, Ziggy. Dapperscavenger's Mel is a real character. :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2011 6:09 · For: Chapter 3 ~ That Bright-Dark Day ~
Ah, Elgalad finally had Van, and Van had pleasure from being taken. It is such an almost happy ending. :D Mel is one naught, shameless elf! Love it, and as usual love your dark twists to the story.

Author's Response:

Oh, thank-you Mindirith, for commenting! Lol, Dapper's Mel is a little powerhouse, so I did try to make him a little like hers. :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2011 5:46 · For: Chapter 2 ~ Strangers In The Dark ~
Oh, lovely hot sex! I guess Mel really and completely met Elgalad, without knowing much about him at all. Lovely!

Author's Response:

Hi again, Mindirith. :) I think Dapper did mention Mel and Elgalad, as well as Mel and Van, so I thought I would write both :)

Thank-you! :)



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2011 5:26 · For: Chapter 1 ~ From Light To Darkness ~
I love Little Mel! He is such a wonderful, complicated, vibrant elf. I can't imagine the horror he must be going through when the orcs finally arrive, and Alagduin and Fainereg get killed (at least I hope they both are killed, and are not going to be captured. They have suffered enough.)
Thank you!

Author's Response:

I love Dapper's Mel too. he is so unusual, and nothing like as he appears to be, people are always so protective of him, and he looks small and angelic, but is really not at all. :) Thank-you!



You must login () to review.