| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Prince and the Dragon by Lumeriel Mature
"The day that Nolofinwë heard the story of the Beast from his nanny's mouth, it was also the first time he heard about his...
The Stricken Anvil by SkyEventide Teen
Morgoth has found Gondolin and is attacking it. The city is falling. Rôg leads the House of the Hammer of Wrath into battle...
Garmonbozia-(Pain and sorrow) by astorey_91 Explicit
A dark!Namo AU, about Namo's treatment of the fëar in his care. **Chapter 5 is and 6 are new**
At the Sign of the Prancing Pony by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A certain inn holds a special place in Aragorn's heart.
Addiction by Bookworm0624 Mature
After suffering serious injuries on a routine patrol young Legolas finds himself struggling with a frightening dependency...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
New chapter: Maedhros makes his appearance at last.   The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark...
Orca by Himring Teen
An orc escapes into the hands of Ulmo.

Site Info

Members: 487
Series: 91
Stories: 1766
Chapters: 8990
Word count: 27664735
Authors: 142
Reviews: 16741
Reviewers: 224
Newest Member: Lizzie
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members: Gabriel

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/22/19 06:24 pm
Very good to have you, Lumeriel:)
Lumeriel
08/22/19 06:20 pm
I'm always late for any chat XD Happy to be here!
Spiced Wine
08/21/19 09:45 pm
Welcome, Lizzie :)
Spiced Wine
08/20/19 09:31 pm
It’s lovely :)
ziggy
08/20/19 08:54 pm
Isn't it nice to have so many new writers posting here! Welcome everyone.
Spiced Wine
08/19/19 09:38 pm
Thank you for posting here, Lumeriel :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:33 pm
Under ‘Browse’ on here, you can search for a few things, like categories, ratings and content
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:32 pm
They just have Pen name, title and summary
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:32 pm
I’ve looked on SWG which is also e-script but can’t see one on there, either.
Spiced Wine
08/17/19 07:30 pm
Even available. E-script is quite old.
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2015 13:39 · For: Perchance to Dream

That first scene is just breathtaking- so very seductive and intense, and disturbing. I htink the use of a name Annatar gives Erestor, Sinque, deepens that sense of unease somehow. Brilliantly written.And that plotline of the Rings- we have talked befor eof that- you are completely right. They would never have lef the Three in ME.



Author's Response:

The previous chapter was meant to be the last, but even before it was finished I could feel it didn't give the story a proper pause, plus there was so much I still didn't completely understand. I toyed with a flashback but then I thought of the dream. And while I wrote Erestor's, I realised the chapter needed to be two dreams -- and discovered the full shape of the situation Glorfindel finds himself in. So really it was as much about me finding out what was going on as anything else :D

The name was important to me, but it was only after I added it that I could see how much it underlined the connection between Sauron and Erestor - made me smile that you picked up on that, you often notice the little touches I enjoyed. Thanks for all the support you've been giving me, these reviews have meant so much. Now I need to move on with Part 2...



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2015 13:35 · For: The Edge of Tomorrow

I relaly like the internal thinking of Elrond referring back to his foster fathers! And I said before that I especially liked the reference to the commander of Annatar- the green and gold device... very intriguing! I think this chapter is amazing in its realism- and conviction. LOve Celebron's inviroated exhaustion- he has enjoyed war and he is so overshadowed normally by Galadriel but he must have been powerful and significant in his own right to wed and keep her. 

And the scenes in Khazad-dum are particularly poignant and wonderful- the fullness of the descriptions are very textual and sensory, but I liek best the bit with Thorhof helping Celebrian. There is much to love in that, and to reflect on Galadriel's own past- crossing the Ice which makes her less compassionate perhaps...Great writing.



Author's Response:

Celeborn must have been utterly awesome for Galadriel to want to spend eternity with him. I have this picture in my head, but finding the words - oh, that's a struggle sometimes. He's loving this war, yes. It's something he's very good at (and as much as he loves his wife and daughter, I have a sense he quite likes a bit of time alone).

I loved the time they had in Khazad-dum, I was really sorry to leave the dwarves. Galadriel - she loves her duaghter dearly but her life has taught her to grit her teeth and get on with things and she didn't really understand how Celebrian might have felt till after. I think it was a bit of a life lesson for her. Thanks for the lovely review *hugs*



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2015 13:27 · For: In The King's Hand

I know I have said this before, but I htink your OCs are wonderfully written and have real stories, relationships that go beyond and out sdie the story. It's that which gives your work that sense of credibitlity and reality. Love it.

And Erestor changes so subtly and I love the undercurrent with him and Gil, and Lindir's observance of it. 

That last little bit is genius though.



Author's Response:

I surprised myself a couple of years back by finding I really like working with OCs. They get faces and voices and some amount of history before I write them, because they have to make that kind of sense to me first. I'm very glad you've been enjoying them.

That last bit kind of wrote itself :D Thank you.



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: February 04, 2015 23:50 · For: The Edge of Tomorrow

Oh how i recognised Galadriel's instruction  to keep your eyes fixed on the back of my head.  It is still how i get across many bridges and their ilk.

And oh how I identified with Not for the first time she wondered if she had been cut out for motherhood. She loved her daughter fiercely, but the little details always seemed to pass her by. 

I want to take your Galadriel and hug her.  Even if it would make her freeze with embarrassment!



Author's Response:

Two months late. Good grief :( Sorry, I somehow missed this!

Galadriel would be dead embarrassed but she'd appreciate someone understanding *g*. As far as she's concerned, motherhood is meant to come naturally and she can't figure out why she's so bad at it. The bit with crossing the bridge though, I think proved a good lesson, a reminder that Celebrian isn't a little copy of herself with all her strengths and experiences. (takes most of us a while to work that one out, but at least the rest of us never crossed the Helcaraxe *g*)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: January 31, 2015 16:45 · For: In The King's Hand

I can't really pick a favourite moment or sentence from this chapter - it is so very well balanced that every sentence has equal importance! 

And now they wait, for news which they can only expect to be bad.  Perhaps the only bright spot is that they know Galadriel got away from the city.  And we are ahead of them as we know Elrond got back in one piece, too...



Author's Response:

My strongest memory of this chapter is the amount of time and energy and muttering that went into editing those two little paragraphs describing the throne room. I just went back to read it again and it's still --- almost but not fully the picture in my head *g*.  Otherwise, I worried at the time that there was too much going on, but it was all necessary and had to be in the same. Reading back, it seems to flow okay.  I'm glad you liked it, that it carried the story forward well enough for you. And yes, at least we have some idea of what's happening out in Eriador.



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2015 23:18 · For: Things Hidden

I loved the conversation between Durin and Galadriel.

And Lindir is wiser than Ersetor gives him credit for, I think...



Author's Response:

(the holidays do strange things to you - you think you thanked people for comments....)

The scene between Durin and Galadriel was one of my favourites in the entire story, I would have loved to revisit Durin later but of course it wasn't possible. S/he was wonderful to write. And Galadriel was - herself :D

Lindir --- I think he surprised Erestor, but in a good way. He'll not assume anything in future, Lindir handled things really well.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2015 22:56 · For: Things Hidden

You do this think- not very articualtely put I'm afraid!0- that exapands the actual scene- references to past and other characters- scenes- events beyond the immediate narrative- I lkwe the way it gives me a sense of this is real- there are other things going on than what you are telling us. 



Author's Response:

(the holidays do strange things to you - you think you thanked people for comments....)

I work up a lot of back story as I go along that I never actively use, but I know it's there and it gives the characters context so they don't seem to have fallen out of a black hole with nothing else happening around them, if that makes sense? It's like that thing where you research something for days so you can write two lines about drying flax *g*.  I think it's because in my early days in the fandom I read so many fics where the background was vague and the characters didn't seem to have a life outside of the fic itself and it never felt right.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2015 22:53 · For: At the Ford

This is a great chapter- the influence of the Rings on Lindirs music is, I htink, very special- they are in tune with the Great Music, the Song and so amplifies the song Lindoir gives Badger- and I like the Avari culture of payment in Song. But he was always going to be trouble(and I'm still not convinced that won't come back to haunt them! Immortal Elves- bound to happen one day )

The whole chapter has this sense of trepidation, anxiety, more than the fct that they are fugitives- from eriador but now from the murder they had committed. And I like too the reintroduction of Gil- I love your Gil. Best depiction ever.



Author's Response:

This was the strangest chapter to write. I just kept going and every so often I stopped and ooked at the page and said 'sorry, what?'.... it just unwound, like it knew where it was going. I had no plans about Badger. That happened and it was a bit like reading something someone else had written ---- only other time I can remember that happening was at the end of Star's End, when Maglor does what he needs to do. And yes, I think it might come back to haunt them someday. Might be a long way down the line, but it'll always be out there.

And thank you - Gil is my favourite person to write :)

Btw, if you're interested, I did a short mirror piece giving Lindir's POV of what it was like playing that song.  It's over here on Livejournal.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2015 22:49 · For: Prelude

I htink it's the detail that you take such care over that makes your writing so completely credible- I never struggled ot imagine, never feel overwhelmed- it jhsut appears as if you have opened a book and shown me pictures- the first scene is fabulous- perfect. Gestures and visuals.

And I really like the domesticity of Thorhof's home, his family, the way Celebrian fits in and then the summons from' the elders'.



Author's Response:

Thank you! That is the nicest compliment you could pay my writing - I always worry I describe too much and make it tiresome or hard for a reader to fill in their own details I actually very much enjoyed writing the first scene, so I kept adding little touches in to it - I'm very happy you like how it turned out.

I was groaning at the start of the dwarf section because I'd never really thought what dwarf culture or family life might have been like, but he seemed such a solid, decent person the rest just followed. I also liked seeing how Bri adapted to this whole new world.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 15, 2015 22:46 · For: Unlikely Encounters

I think your relationship between Celebrian and Galadriel is so wonderfully written- very intersting- a bit distant, a bit anxioius and perhaps a mix of wanting her to be independent - and hterefore Galadriel coming across as a bit aloof- and her determination and love that drives them on. And there is a real devotion and although I would not say tenderness, there is no mistaking her love.

And Badger...yes. Say no more!!

 

But I love this next sequence in Khazed dum- love the dwarven cutlure and the lightness of Celebrian.



Author's Response:

I love writing Celebrian and Galadriel. I never thought I would, I was upset that the stry required it, but I love Bri and Galadriel's struggles to get to grips with this motherhood thing make me smile -- she's more accessible when she's messing up. There's a lot of love there, very deep, but they're such different people.

Badger. Heck, that thing did not go anywhere like I thought it would *g*



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2014 22:12 · For: Unlikely Encounters

I really do like this look at the relationship between Galadriel and Celebrian especially.  And how interesting to think of them passing through Khazad-dum.



Author's Response:

I never expected to like writing them the way I do. That mother-daughter dynamic always makes me smile and it's sort of fun to see Galadriel a little out of her depth with something for a change *g*.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2014 7:26 · For: The Road

I love the fact that Gil is so practical and subtle at the same time. I htink I like your Gil better than almost all other versions- I have never really felt much interst in him before - but he is rather fab.They brushed against one another as they moved about, storing the closeness and familiar warmth for later memories. There was very little to do and all too soon it was time to move on. And I have already commented on the littel details which make your writing so rich- I love the fact that I get to 'see' the backgrouns, the details, little glimpes inot their characters and lives. And I'm guessing you like moggies (cats)- you do describe them absolutely wonderfully and they give a noce domesticity that contrasts with the breathless fear in Ost-in-Edhil.



Author's Response:

I've been working on a short fic for the past week with Gil and Erestor and it's interesting, I can write Erestor from several angles and in a couple of different 'verses (he's the same core person, just I approach him idfferently) but Gil is Gil. He's the sum of the boy who grew up on Balar, never really thought he'd be king, then had to survive the War of Wrath and rebuild, bringing all these differeing groups of elves together and holding some kind of peace between them. His voice is always the same for me, just sometimes he's a bit gruffer and sometimes he's a bit more the pragmatic politician *g*.

And I should never start talking about anyone I like writing, because I get carried away....

In my earlier fandom days a lot of people wrote Erestor with cats, where I've usually seen him as a dog person (no, no idea why), but Glorfindel and cats have always gone together for me, not so much in him having pets as just plain enjoying them (and that was typed with a cat sitting on me). I'm glad you like the touch, I always wonder if I'm trying too hard to make the environment seem 'normal'.

Okay, I will stop rambling all over the place. For the review, thank you :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 20, 2014 7:22 · For: Many Partings

Breathless and brilliant! your bejewelled prose is just fabulous- such a joy to read and be so completely immersed in your vision of O-i-E. But oh Celebrimbor! so sad and so honourable and couragous! True Fëanorian in Maglor&Maedhros' tradition rather than the more feckless and reckless younger sons. (Pasted from SWG)



Author's Response:

You write wonderful reviews!!!  (and I have been too slow getting back to SWG where I owe you many words). Thank you so much for reposting such a lovely compliment, both to me and to Celebrimbor.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2014 1:31 · For: Many Partings

These wonderfully written moments:

 

She felt Celeborn kiss the top of her head before resting his cheek against her hair. “She will be safer with you than with me, I know, but – I shall miss you both so much. No matter how great the threat, we never had to separate like this before. It chills my heart.”

bring the emotion very close and intense. I love the way you write these two- it feels very authentic. And thge leave-taking is full of courage and fear, trepidation. You get this fab sense of absolute anxiety and a real sense of them fleeing, seeking refuge. I love the next chpater though! Please post soon.

Author's Response:

Posted :)

Celeborn scares the life out of me because I've seen him portrayed wonderfully well and I don't think I come near the picture I have in my head, but I still really like writing them together. Something about that relationship --- it's practical and sound but the love runs very deep, and so does the respect for one another's strengths. 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: November 15, 2014 22:17 · For: Many Partings

I really like the relationship between Galadriel and Celebrimbor and, especially, that of Celeborn with his wife and daughter.  That latter fits so well with my own personal head-canon that I just assume it to be exactly as it all must have been :)



Author's Response:

Thanks :) I loved writing Galadriel as wife and mother, part of a team with someone whose strengths complimented her weaknesses and vice versa. I enjoy  watching her somewhat random parenting style too --- try as I would I couldn't see her as a traditional mother ssomehow.  

Celebrimbor makes me sad, I wanted to go in there and shake him and tell him LEAVE!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2014 23:27 · For: Decisions

I Love the way you write Gil- as I have said elsewhere, I never really had much time for him but you have made me rethink him. He is just beautifully written, a great balance of practicality and subtle intelligence. And your characters are so well realised and written. Details just give such depth to the narrative.

The best thing though is the exploration of the Rings, Celebrimbor and Sauron- he becomes so intently evil in ays that he never really seems in LTR because he is absent. Your Sauron is very very real. And chilling. Wonderful.



Author's Response:

I know what you mean about Sauron in LotR --- he's a name, a kind of potent, formless evil force up in that tower, but he's not frightening in the way the nazgul can be frightening or even a really determined orc. Too distant. I had an idea for a fic about him years ago that never saw the light of day, but I recognised that as the source for how I tried to write him here. Chilling as the best compliment - thank you :)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2014 0:51 · For: Decisions

This is just a note to say how much I have enjoyed playing catch-up with this, this evening.



Author's Response:

Thank you :) 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2014 15:32 · For: The Councils

This is just so detailed and well thought out- I do admire the way you have shown Gondolin and Turgon by Glorfindel's comparison of it with Mithlond, and the little details that bring this to life - the council chamber, the mortals pushing the cart etc.

I like the interaction between Erestor and Galadriel (his sister? Have I misread that?)  and Galadriel and Celebrimbor- with that superb description of the attempt to create a barrier. That makes such good sense to me. I have always thought Celebrimbor rather overlooked for his illustrious grandfather but he made the Palantri and the Silmarils- which is not a massive legacy (if you take away the Oath). Celebrimbor had all Feanor's discoveries, and his own father's undoubted skill and knowledge of weapons-making (because I don;t beleive they were all sitting around waiting for Morgoth to attack) and hten his own quite long life. Imagine what he must have discovered if he was also working on the rings??

And the references to understnading time and space really really have hooked me - I do think they should have an understanding of that with the Palantri and the Mirror of Galadriel.

 

Anyway- great writing - it is so satisfying to read.



Author's Response:

Glorfindel's scenes here were kind of self indulgent, I really liked writing them and trying to see it through his eyes. I'm glad you liked that because I had so much fun with it

From the outset Celebrimbor had a very small role in this fic, because = canon. I enjoyed writing him and Galadriel - my beta is still asking for an AU where they run off together, lol - and I wish I'd realised how interesting I'd find him, because had I known, I'd have started the story a bit earlier and had more time with him.  You're right, there must have been some amazing discoveries during the experiments with the rings, the kind of peripheral stuff that ends up being more useful than the original objective

I don't think you misread, more like i mis-wrote (I'll give the chapter a proper look when I'm officially Awake) No, Erestor and Galadriel aren't related, though he's known her for a large part of his life and has worked for her and been part of her household on and off for years. She's fond of him - they understand one another pretty well. But wow --- what a tempting bunny!!

So nice sharing this chapter with you - thank you for the review :)

 

 

 

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2014 15:34 · For: The Messenger

How brilliant to see this being posted here and as fresh and vivd as the first time I read it- can't remember where and I lost track of it somewhere. Great story and lovely story-telling. 



Author's Response:

Aww Ziggy, thank you so much! That's lovely of you.  



Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2014 10:17 · For: The Messenger

So lovely to have this gem of a story now also available here in Faerie! ♥



Author's Response:

Thanks, love.  I'd completely forgotten it wasn't here and only realised when I was about to post the second part of the story *g*. I need to start seriously loading my older fics here, it's such a lovely archive.



You must login () to review.