| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Protector of Dreams by cheekybeak General Audiences
A small mannish boy haunted by nightmares, growing up in Imladris, finds a protector in the most unlikely of places. 
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1591
Chapters: 8165
Word count: 24561135
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14773
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 23
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Cushions

Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 21:41 · For: Chapter 20
Very nice! May I just say that I love the idea of visiting the horses on their wedding day! And the cushions of course.
I enjoyed this story very much. At first it takes a while to get going, but I liked the narrator's voice and the whole setup for the misunderstandings. But I'd change the title to your working title - as you said yourself, it's more memorable.

Lia

PS: and I'm now tempted to write a scene where she mixes up her wedding vows ;-D

Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you enjoyed it.    I enjoyed writing it, although the 'voice' is a little different to most of the other things I have written.  I'm very pleased, too, that you liked the idea of visiting the horses - and that all poor Lothiriel's cushions became an ongoing mottif right up to the wedding night :~)

Perhaps if I ever post it anywhere else I will go back to The Princess and the Pea -but changing it at the places where it is already archived might confuse those who already know it!

For this story mixing up her wedding vows would have been a misunderstanding too far - but I would very much like to read your take on it :~)



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 21:19 · For: Chapter 19
I liked them making up, but to be honest I'm not sure this last misunderstanding and upset fits into the natural 'rythm' of the story - just my personal opinion though

Author's Response:

That's interesting - it was one of the early plot points along with the misunderstanding about her ability to ride, and her possible 'women's problems'; almost as if to even things up.  Some variant of the making-up scene was there in the early notes too.  Sometimes the hardest bit was getting these original plot points to hang together.



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 21:08 · For: Chapter 18
Ha! I knew it. Though I have to admit I didn't expect this last twist.

Author's Response:

I thought, perhaps, it was time for Lothiriel to be the one who got the wrong end of a stick! 



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 20:55 · For: Chapter 17
Hmm, I wonder what you have planned? Or am I being too suspicious?

Author's Response:

Something planned... me?  Would I do that?

 

Possibly.



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 20:39 · For: Chapter 16
Nice to see she's got her priorities right!

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you approve :)



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 20:25 · For: Chapter 14
I'm pleased to see he managed to get 'kiss the girl' off his to-do-list ;-D And I like the ploy with the letters.

Author's Response:

I'm really pleased you liked his ploy with the letters; I had such fun writing the letters That I think I might write a whole story that way sometime.



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 19:54 · For: Chapter 13
At last the truth is out! Well done


Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 17:42 · For: Chapter 11
A push? Figuratively or literally? Hmm....

Author's Response:

Whichever she thinks is most likely to work, knowing Éowyn!



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 17:22 · For: Chapter 8
Really, he's not very enterprising! There's probably nice, thick Druadan Forest just there and he let's her go without dragging her away for a t


Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 17:12 · For: Chapter 7
That's a new one -


Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 16:58 · For: Chapter 5
Lol, I knew it! So now he'll think she doesn't like riding and she'll be too embarrassed to explain herself. How you've set her up ;-)

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you appreciate the set-up!  Because, of course, a lady who shuns riding is certainly no good for a Horse Lord :~)



Name: Lialathuveril (Signed) · Date: May 01, 2016 16:39 · For: Chapter 1
I really like the idea of Loth


Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2016 2:02 · For: Chapter 20

Ah, what a lovely final for this wonderful story! :D May they live long and prosper now. *g* I loved seeing Legolas, Gimli and the Elrondionath among the guests, and how you unfolded such a rich tale of customs and descriptions to make this such a well-rounded view of life in Rohan. There were so many lovely details, too, like Gimli's remark about the "proper" beard, or Éomer realising Legolas was a commander at home, and the cushions (cushions! hah :D ) on the bridal bed and their decor, or your nod to the terminology of "bits and parts" in the Returnverse stories (and how cute that Lothíriel made a point of finding that out!). I really loved the bed scene, this is masterfully done: tender and erotic, showing so well what's happening - and what is important about that - without needing much detail or going to explicit lenght.

Thank you for this wondeful, entertaining read!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I did enjoy writing this story - and the last couple of chapters were almost the easiest as I had known more or less what would happen in them, but putting in the details was really good fun.

I think this could sit within the Returnverse just about;  Éomer there could well be this Éomer a year or two later, and in Brotherhood the Elrondionath do mention there that they were at his wedding!  Actually the drabble series about the ordinary family of Rohirrim during the period between the war and Éomer King's wedding would also fit with it; perhaps I should post them here.

I'm so glad you liked the bed scene - having started the story in a slightly Jane Austenish tone I didn't want too much detail, but I did want to make it clear that Lothirel enjoyed it after Cwenhild's advice and information!

I have a conversation between the two of them about the 'worse traditions in parts of Gondor' written - if my beta gives it the once-over I will post that, too.

 



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2016 10:45 · For: Chapter 19

Here goes my intention to review chapter after chapter, catching up with those where the reviews are still unwritten. (Now if I just could copy them out of my mind, that would be something! *g*)

I kept those last two chapters as a treat, and just had such great fun with this one. "I have an axe!" *snort* This was brilliant. What a fun misunderstanding - languages can be such a delightful source for them! I once had a very embarrassing one with my au pair mother, which helps me understand Lothíriel's embarrassment all the better.
I suspected something of the kind, and at one point during the questioning I even imagined it might be a horse (if you mentioned Osdrytch before I fear I have forgotten about her as well).

I also really love the  more intimate part of this chapter. It's so sweet to see the gentleness and tenderness between them, adding so nicely to the mutual attraction.



Author's Response:

Thank you - of course if you ever feel like going back to review later you know you are always welcome :)

I'm really peased that you liked the line about the axe, I was really pleased with it when it came to me.

I was actually careful never to mention Osdryth's name - she was mentioned two or three times but each time in such a way that 'my cousin' or 'our cousin' seemed perfectly natural. Probably as well for Éomer that it wasn't a horse - she probably would have understood, but perhaps not!

And I'm really pleased that you liked that more intimate second part - I imagined something along those lines right back before I even started the story, as it always seemed a pity to me that so often in stories she is so worried about the physical stuff to come that she can't eat at her wedding reception :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 5:52 · For: Chapter 19

THis is just lovely- silly pair that they are, but oh, how very very sexy and how even sexier is Eomer that he restrains himself because he loves her and wants ot wake up with her. Sigh. Very romantic.



Author's Response:

I am really glad you found them, especially Éomer,  sexy in this chapter; I wanted to keep it at more or less the original rating as it began with overtones of Jane Austen - but I wanted some reality  - and he is not a sexless man!  But I think he does have a bit of a romantic streak - and a wife will be 'family' for him who has so little family; he really values the idea of going to sleep looking at her, and waking up the same.

And now I just need to get the obligatory wedding and wedding night chapter back from my beta and this story will be finished!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2016 23:25 · For: Chapter 18

I am surre this is a misinterpretation of Lothirle's budding Rohirric but it will be, I am sure, entertaining to see Eomer squirm! Lovely writing as always- I am enjoying this so much.



Author's Response:

Oh yes - this might take a bit of wriggling... 

I have enjoyed plotting all the twists and turns and misunderstandings but we are nearly there now.  I have a whole next chapter written now - in which I promise he does convince her not to break their betrothal - I just can't decide whether to continue to the end and make it a very long chapter, make the story 2 more chapters till the end, or whether to write the final scenes as more of an epilogue.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2016 23:19 · For: Chapter 17

I am asking your permission for Lothíriel and I to tell you that we are betrothed and will marry.”

 

Lothíriel wanted to burst out laughing.  Her father beat her to it.  

I love the way you write Eomer. Perfect. ANs Eowyn makes me laugh - she is so wonderful >love all your characters.

She was glad she had looked peaceful – it would have been embarrassing if she had been lying snoring and drooling onto the pillow.

Author's Response:

Thank you Ziggy.  I always think of Éowyn as a romatic, for only a romantic would have ridden off to war in the way she did; but with an underlying practical streak!  I'm really glad you liked those two lines as, I must admit, they made me smile as I wrote them.

Éomer has become more self-confident as he has grown into the Kingship, I think.  But he is still him, if you see what I mean.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 12, 2015 2:08 · For: Chapter 16

I love the way you write Lothiriel- you have made her so feisty and sensible and lovely. And Eomer is wonderful. They make such a fabulous couple, so perfectly made for each other.



Author's Response:

Thank you Ziggy.  I don't want her to sound too modern, but I do want her to be 'real' - I'm really glad it works for you!

And I'm really glad you like Éomer - I have a bit of a soft spot for him :)



Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: December 10, 2015 23:02 · For: Chapter 16

Very good! It's nice to see them getting on with each either so nicely now--and a good thing that they have friends to help, too!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  They really need the friends, I think, or it could have taken even longer as Éomer was determined to court Lothitiel rather than just ask her father to hand her over gift wrapped!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2015 9:30 · For: Chapter 14

Oh- I so love this story. There is such a tenderness and reminds me of all the clumsiness of first being in love and not yet having that ease between you. Beautifully written



Author's Response:

Thank you Ziggy.  A lovely review as it tells me I achieved what I meant to do :)



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: September 01, 2015 0:54 · For: Chapter 14

Aah, great new chapter! I love the letters, and that Éomer wrote an official and a private one... and that Rohirric engagement tradition is lovely, too. I hope Éomer will manage to assuage Lothíriel's worries, regarding his intet, soon.



Author's Response:

Thank you - I'm really pleased that the idea of two letters works, and that you think the Rohirric traditions of engagement and marriage would be different to those of Gondor - and more equal!



Name: Ysilme (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2015 12:20 · For: Chapter 13

Awww, Éomer, you're too sweet! But he's doing this one right, now, finally. Go you, Éomer! :oD



Author's Response:

Thank you.  He's finally getting there - with five days to court a bride....



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2015 0:27 · For: Chapter 13

Mention of the sons of Elrond reminded Éomer that he may well have a rival for Lothíriel but, before he could get together a battle plan, the sudden realisation that he might have to spend all the evening of the forthcoming formal dinner conversing with the Lady Galadriel sent a chill down his spine.  There again, she seemed fairly knowledgeable about horses…

 

Yes- he can even find Galadriel Ok if they talk horses- love that about Eomer.

 

HUrray!!1 I was so worried he was going to muck that up and tell her what he REALLY htought- phew- he didn't. So now everything is Oka nd they can all live happily ever after. Looking forward to your next chapter please.



Author's Response:

Yes- he can even find Galadriel Ok if they talk horses- love that about Eomer.

He can't really imagine that there are  people who might not find horses a fascinating subject, Éowyn's letters (especially to Faramir) show a similar trend...

 

 I was so worried he was going to muck that up and tell her what he REALLY thought

I reckoned he might have more sense than to admit it was her breeding capacity that bothered him! 

Give me three or four weeks to get the next chapter written.

 

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2015 0:19 · For: Chapter 12

What? One of the Half-Elves was interested in Lothíriel? But… but…! She’s mine!

 

He was surprised at how vehemently that thought had come to him. He had been sure that he had successfully schooled himself to ignore her beauty (and her personality, and her riding skills) because his duty to his people, and the House of Éorl, meant that he simply could not marry her. But the very idea of her being courted by Elrohir… he resisted the urge to punch that rather ethereal face but it took him a little while to shake the image of the two of them together from his mind.

 

Of course, had he been as good as reading Elven faces as his fellow monarch, and less distracted by what he had heard, Éomer might have noticed the nods and slight smiles that passed between the twins, and even their grandparents, as he tried to pull himself together and take part in the conversation, which had moved on.

 

Silly boy! She is exactly how he can fulfill his duty to them- but you've expalined his reticence very nicely and Ilove the complicitness of the elves here.

 

His sister gave him the look which said that he was being stupid – she had it perfected.

Brilliant line.
And finally he blurts out his real concerns and Eowyn's reaction is priceless - a real sister's reaction. I love Eowyn. Now I can look forward to the Mr Darcy moment of 'dearest, lovliest Elizabeth...' sigh.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the idea of Galadriel and family gently pushing him as well.  (Sometimes i think they do this sort of thing because, as 'my' Celeborn says, it stops a very long life getting boring!) 

 

Brilliant line.

Thank you!  He is heading to his Mr Darcy moment - but (in rather Jane Austen fashion) there is the problem of them being in mourning, and a couple of other tiny hurdles to overcome yet.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2015 0:03 · For: Chapter 11

Eomer needs more than a push! I'm not sure anymore why he is so reluctant although it makes great reading- fear I suspect, and he doesn't seem to quite know what to do- although his kissing her hand was rather gallant. Love Cwength's hilarious and honest preoccupations with whether Faramir is suitable!!



Author's Response:

I'm not sure anymore why he is so reluctant although it makes great reading....

I know  you've reached the bit where his reasoning becomes obvious. 

You see what I mean about Cwengyth - she just was there, fully formed, waiting for me to put her onto paper!



You must login () to review.