| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Child of Frost by Nuredhel Explicit
ometimes the end is just that, the end. And sometimes it is a new beginning. When a prophecy seemingly seems to be a lie...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8012
Word count: 23892266
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14262
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members: Encairion

Shoutbox

Naledi
07/25/17 08:53 pm
I was only thinking about her earlier today. It's such a tragedy. RIP Nightwing.
ziggy
07/25/17 05:26 pm
Some v sad news for those long serving fanfic writers and readers; Nightwing passed away 2 weeks ago. Cancer. May she have rest now.
Naledi
07/25/17 12:36 pm
Yay - Glad you're getting better, Ziggy. And a Black Arrow update - what more could I ask for?
ziggy
07/25/17 12:33 pm
Hello sparkyTAs! You too:) And Spiced! Just posted a silly chapter of Black Arrow to say thank you to everyone:) I am loads better.
SparkyTAS
07/25/17 05:05 am
Ziggy, so glad you're back and doing well.
Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
ziggy
07/23/17 01:12 am
Thanks Spiced- yes, loads better thank you- slower than I expected but getting there:)
Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Shout Archive



Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: January 21, 2017 19:53 · For: The Golden Woods
The trap seems ready. I am looking forward some action with impatience.
So many rebels hidden inside Gondor is frightful.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2016 0:15 · For: Blood on the Grass
You allow a tenuous hope, that Wormwood's signing on the warrant, may lead the Queen's friends, to understand her peril, before she is assigned to the houses of healing. The suspense is great !

Author's Response: Do not forget about the forged document. It will disappear for a while, but will become material evidence later in the story.

Thanks again for your reviews.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2016 19:36 · For: Black Magic and Spies
The half-tone picture you drew, ambiguously mixing dream with magic, sensuality with love, is a masterpiece.
Of course the second part is harsher, but its violence has been patiently prepared.

Author's Response: This incident will be an important element in the next few chapters. Thanks for reviewing.

The posting of the next chapter might be a bit delayed as I am taking a break to work on a short story about a spell of wretched winter weather across the Reunited Kingdom.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: March 26, 2016 14:07 · For: The Shield-Maiden's Welcome
Here is a nicely inventive chapter ! The elvish eye-sight connexion underlines the unique elven mindset. I guess the elves, as first awakened kind after the Great Music, may also have other ways of communing, such as music and poetry, (cf. the uttermost importance of elvish words, able to summon the images of what is told about)

I am a bit surprised at an elf who does not know she is not an elf. I would have deemed a half-elf, educated as an elf, would feel her inner nature. May be being revealed as not-fully elf, the maiden could feel the opportunity to embrance the latent destiny of hers ?

Author's Response: "I am a bit surprised at an elf who does not know she is not an elf. I would have deemed a half-elf, educated as an elf, would feel her inner nature. May be being revealed as not-fully elf, the maiden could feel the opportunity to embrace the latent destiny of hers?"

I am assuming that you are referring to Elweena. In this and later stories it will be revealed that Elweena is originally from the vicinity of Dol Amroth or Edhellon. Although she is mostly Mannish, she is a genetic throwback whose Elven genes have predominated. She was bought to Lothl


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: February 07, 2016 14:11 · For: The Adventure Begins
The ambiance in riding camp is wonderfully pictured. Great Job !

One tiny remark : "Okay" is an americanism which appeared during 19th century. Though the origin is unclear (many urban legends around it : OK for "0 Killed" during secession war, than WW1, or greeck Ola Kalla= All good,...), it pulls me out of the lands and time of middle-earth.

Author's Response: Sorry that I haven't gotten back to you for several days. I've just returned from the hospital and probably won't be doing any writing for a while. Thank you for your review and continuing support.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: January 29, 2016 22:49 · For: The Celos Vale Gambit
Now I'm back in my Roleplying game years. Sorcerers and treachery ! Delightful !

One small remark : Thorwolf and "by Odin's balls" are not exactly middle-earth corsairs features, rather earthen norse.

Author's Response: You'll have to pardon me for likening the Corsairs to Vikings, but I occasionally indulge in some artistic license to enliven the plot. Thanks again for your interest and support.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2016 2:41 · For: The Mountain Chief's Tale
These population displacements recall sad memories of our modern world !
You have patiently built deep causes of political unrest.

Author's Response: It was surely inevitable that King Elessar's political and economic reforms would not benefit everyone in the Reunited Kingdom. Some shortsightedness, as well as dishonesty, by certain officials was bound to occur--with dire consequences.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2016 1:12 · For: Skullduggery
Hello Karlmir !

This is getting pleasantly tougher !

Author's Response: As you can see, there are several subplots and many twists in this story. I hope you're taking notes.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2015 0:48 · For: The Enchanter's Scheme
Having Aragorn and his captain discuss the political and symbolic importance of Imladris was quite elegant.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed that aspect of the chapter. Arwen's brothers occasionally stayed at Imladris during the 4th Age, but I don't now if they stayed in their father's mansion or in another dwelling, visiting friends. Celeborn occasionally spent some time there too after East Lorien had been established.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: October 05, 2015 1:02 · For: Spying and Scrying
What a lovely idea - a fell beast...

Two tiny comments this time :
- May I suggest Faramir and Eowyn be called "princely couple" ? Ithilien has been raised to a princedom "only".
- maple trees are found in modern northern America only. It is not a tree from the "ancient continent". So maybe it is an opportunity to find a tolkienish new tree name ? Maybe a kind brought there by Elendil himself ?

Author's Response: You are correct. The term "royal couple" should be reserved for the king and queen.

Europe does indeed have ancient native maples, The Norway Maple(Acer platanoides), for one. Thank you for the suggestion, however. I may use it later in this story and others.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2015 22:30 · For: Return to Darkwood
The overall castle scenery and staging seems very likely and familiar. I think it is a great success.

I am not sure visiting Imladris is of great use for the king or Arnor, which people is probably concentrated along the gwathlo basin (former Cardolan), the Greenway, the area between nenuial, Fornost and Bree, apart from the Shire of course. Maybe it is a personal youth remember travel.

Author's Response: For now, King Elessar treasures Imladris as his former home. But he also considers it as an historical landmark worth preserving for future generations. The population in that region would grow during the 4th Age as veterans of the War of the Ring received tracts of land along the Great East Road.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: October 04, 2015 21:50 · For: Skyrmir's Tale
Hopefully these allies might still have divergent priorities...

Author's Response: Like his fellow villain Cromwell, Skyrmir wants wealth and territory of his own to rule. He also wants revenge against Elessar for what happened to the Corsairs during and after the War of the Ring.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2015 0:08 · For: The Corsair's Townhouse
So the plot is somehow unveiling.
I am surprised at 3 things :
-so few orcs (200?) could endanger a proud kingdom like Gondor, (you gave sensible arguments about that , but still, I guess they have not the slightest chance against two elite companies such as the guards of the citadel or the rangers of Ithilien, unless those are caught by surprise.
- the corsairs posess such a trustworthy might in a gondorian town
- that these men, though thugs, should admit an orc amidst them.

Thus the magic Linner is now wielding will probably be a bigger part of the future equation, which Cromwell has minimized for now.
So lets's see how it goes...

Author's Response: At this point in the story, most of Cromwell's Orcs are still asleep in the caves of the Ered Nimrais. He has approximately 4,800 Orkish troops at his disposal.

Skyrmir is able to maintain one of his headquarters in Linhir above the suspicion of the locals simply because he is spending money freely. You have to remember that, although King Elessar has instituted economic reforms, most of the kingdom is experiencing a post-war depression. Skyrmir's neighbors simply regard him, not as a pirate, but as a wealthy merchant who is pumping money into the local economy. Additionally, his activities there are low key.

Skyrmir and his cronies were already allied with the Orcs during the War of the Ring. They have no problem admitting another Orc into their company if it will suit their purposes.

Yes, Linner Wormwood's magical abilities will continue to grow as the story progresses, but never forget one important part of the equation---he is insane.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2015 17:18 · For: An Evil in Dunland
Cromwell is definitely an odd uruk -likes washing up and the company of friendly men. He must have a fair share of human blood. Did you get his name from the "Lord protector" ?

Author's Response: Actually, at one point in the story Cromwell reveals that he was once an Elf of high social status, but can recall no more. As for his name, I'm American and know very little about Oliver Cromwell. I simply thought it was a cool name for a villain.


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2015 0:10 · For: The Seeing Stones
Hello Karlmir !
Learning to use a palantir seems so easy ! Too easy if you ask me... Maybe his medallion helps Linner in some way ?
I would have expected the stone to defend against someone holding no legitimate claim.

Something else : I can think of two origins for the seeing-stone : the palantir of Osgiliath, supposed to have sunk in the Anduin and then the ocean ? Or maybe the Northern master-stone, sunk in the iced waters of Forochel. In both cases their presence here is worth a complete story.

Author's Response: As you may have noticed, Wormwood's palant


Name: Chiara Cadrich (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2015 0:11 · For: The Hidden Path
That's it ! I'm in the story and wish to read all along !
This is much entertaining so far !

Author's Response: Thank you for your support, Chiara. I'm trying to post a new chapter each week.


Name: zeedrippyvessel (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:22 · For: The Mithril Blade
I'm just now finding this! So far, very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Zee. I hope to post a new chapter each week.


Name: Armariel (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 17:42 · For: Treasures from the Earth
A most interesting beginning. I'm curious to see what the connection between Arwen and Wormwood will be.

Author's Response: I can tell you only that Arwen is the story's main character. Wormwood is just one of the villains in the story, and not necessarily the chief antagonist.

This story was originally posted on www.lotrfanfiction.com, but I'm reposting it here with some updates and minor improvements. I will not be posting on the previous website anymore since it was hacked and is no longer a secure website.


You must login () to review.