| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2018 12:20 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
I don't think Spiced has given Tondomion a particualr sword- he does have the Elessar though I think? I like to think that there are things lying around that are relaly artefacts from the First Age- and they have a resonance the

Tindómion has a sword called Gurthdur, which means Death of the Dark, and Celebrimbor made it for him when Tindómion became Gil-galad’s Knight-Companion. It’s not really relevant, (he could have carried Penlod’s sword from Gondolin, but I fancy Penlod would have been using it and he wasn’t one of the ones who got out — unless it was rediscovered in the troll-hoard like Sting and Glamdring, maybe. But I think Tindómion would always have carried Celebrimbor’s gift. (Not really important though!) I am only thinking of this because I just happened to write the name of his sword, lol.

Author's Response:

Yes- I found that in Starfall of course:) But thank you:) I agree- I like the fact it is from Celebrimbor and given him by Gil. Loved that scene.

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2018 14:32 · For: Chapter 18 Galdor of the Havens
Poor Legolas, I think Galdor simply didn’t know what happened and spoke out of fear and anger. Hopefully he would have come to realise that he was in error. At least Legolas had some staunch defenders in Glorfindel and Tindómion.

You and Encairion and Narya have and are a lifeline to me during my mum’s illness. I can pick up any of the hundreds of books in my house and not be able to read it, not be able to concentrate, but I can completely lose myself over and over in your works.



Author's Response:

Well the feeling is entirely mutual, Sian. You have been a terrific friend -I love that about fanfic. You 'meet' lovely people with ashared interest but those friendships can become very deep and real.

Galdor is forgiven:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2018 11:44 · For: Chapter 18 Galdor of the Havens
sorry, I mean Glorfindel must know Galdor. I do like to think more escaped, (as he (Galdor) described, from Gondolin than the pitiful few that got out with Idril. Not that I have any love for Turgon of course, hiding away while the Dagor Bragollech sent the north up in fire and smoke, and I’d like to think some of Gondolin’s lords such as Glorfindel, Ecthelion, Galdor himself, were not happy about that. It does make me laugh when Erestor goads Glorfindel about ‘Turgid’. Well, ‘Turgid’ did end up just dying in his own tower and not even fighting, because he loved Gondolin so much he died with it rather than even try to lead his people! Sounds like a changeling to me, nothing like Fingon or Fingolfin

Anyhow, sorry it took me so long, but I was reading ‘Galdor’ in Encairion’s latest, and the shoe dropped, then! It is good to see him, even if he describes himself as ‘changed’, since then.

Author's Response:

Yes- I've been re-reading it andI missed that when I was writing it- too busy thinking about the current plot and missing those details. Annoying. Thank you for picking that up- I like to build the layers up so I can add that. I'll go back at some point and just edit those in so it's clear he does know him. He really does get interesting in these chapters- before I just didn't like him because he wasn't nice to Legolas at the council of elrond!!

 

Wish Encairion would update:( Love her work.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2018 10:20 · For: Chapter 18 Galdor of the Havens
Oh, no Ziggy, you could easily write an end of the world/Dagor Dagorath scenario! I remember reading SoT, and the battle at the Morannon, and being absolutely swept away by the descriptions! Not that i want to write end-of-the-world but rather new beginnings!

The shoe just dropped, Galdor is Galdor if the House of the Tree of Gondolin, isn’t he? The insignia is even on his sword! So of course he would have known Fanari in Gondolin. I feel like a fool. Does Glorfindel not know, then?

Author's Response:

Yes, Galdor is THAT Galdor and he knew Fanari of course as you say. Glorfindel knows about Tindomion too of course. (Do you mean does Glorfindel know Galdor? He would have done but I admit that I grew to like Galdor more as I wrote about him and should have included some reminisence between them- perhaps they had already done that before the Council of Elrond:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2018 14:34 · For: Chapter 10; Ruin
Ruinátoró drew its arm back to drive the fiery blade into Maedhros’ fading form when something glinted, something darkly glittering twisted in Maedhros’ translucent hand and he forced himself staggering to his feet to face the Balrog. It threw back its head and roared and at that moment, Maedhros leapt at the Balrog and drove the Morgul blade deep into its heart. Twisting and screaming, Ruinátoró clawed at Maedhros who hung on, driving the dagger more deeply; already black ichor and gobbets of fire sputtered into the darkness, black stripes burst across its chest where its fire was swiftly extinguished. Suddenly Maedhros was thrown off and flew, crashing into the Glass as the Balrog was unmade by the same dark magic that had twisted a spirit of Fire into the demon that Ruinátoró had become. A final bellow spilt the cold silence and rattled stones loose in the Óromardë, its walls shook and slowly, slowly, the Balrog toppled and as it crashed to the floor; it splintered and dissolved into a thousand tiny tongues of fire, which cooled and faded into the dark.
Glorfindel leaned over, breathing hard and chest heaving, exhausted from hurling the white bolts of Power as if he had fought all day long. He felt his legs tremble with weakness as if he might fall and leaned over, hands on his knees. He was aware that Erestor had thrown himself against the cold Glass and was pushing his hands deep and now he pressed his face, his chest as if he might penetrate and pass through to the Other Side. The cold sank but around him were silver fractures of light.

‘Erestor!’ Glorfindel cried hoarsely. ‘Stop. It is breaking!’ He reached out to catch his friend’s arm, to pull him back but when Erestor turned his face to Glorfindel, his face was wet and his eyes were full of loss and yearning.

‘Then let it break and I will bring him out! I will not let him go alone into the Dark,’ cried Erestor. He turned back to Maedhros’ bleeding shadow. ‘Wait for me, my lord! I beg you! I will follow. You will not be alone!’

Maedhros’ translucent form was ghostly now. He rolled over and pushed himself back so he was leaning back against the Glass, one hand pressed against the wound in his chest. Silver-blue sparks drifted off, bled into the Dark. There was nothing left of the Balrog. Maedhros breathed hard against the agony and then turned his lovely face towards the Glass, looked directly at Glorfindel over Erestor’s head and Glorfindel’s breath caught for a moment as it had once, long, long ago, two lifetimes ago when he was a boy and Maitimo Nelyafinwë Féanáro had turned and looked at him in the same kindly way and smiled.

‘Laurëfindessë,’ he gasped. ‘It is you…I thought I was dreaming…And Nármo, little Nármo.’ He smiled down at Erestor and Glorfindel found himself moved beyond tears.

How could the Valar condemn an elf to such an existence? he thought angrily. He understood suddenly how Maedhros bled light, for it was not ‘blood’ but his fëa. It hurt to be torn apart like this… each particle felt the loss of its whole. Each particle was a single note in the Song of the whole and it ached to be apart, yearned to be one soul again.

Maedhros’ form wobbled a little in the Glass where he still slumped. His face was full of wonder. ‘Nármo” he said again, smiling gently, but his voice was weaker, quieter and it sounded now like he was a long way away. He reached out to press against the glass but he no longer had enough substance and the Glass did not give. Erestor lifted his own hand and met the palm through the cold Glass, and somehow Glorfindel knew that Maedhros wanted to stay there touching another elf, another fëa, another spirit. Glorfindel found his face was wet.

‘My lord.’

Glorfindel almost turned away for the emotion, the loss and yearning in Erestor’s face, his voice. And the tragedy of Maedhros’ fate.

‘When I was last here…Tyelpo it was who called me…’ The fading silver ghost looked puzzled, stared off into the Dark. ‘Sauron was here.’

‘Tyelpo is dead. Sauron killed him,’ Erestor said bitterly and Maedhros did not turn his head but stayed looking out onto the Dark. He nodded once, as if acknowledging what he already knew and Glorfindel wondered that he had not gone mad, had stayed so strong for all the years and years and years of persecution by Morgoth and the cruelty of the Valar in denying them at the last, of losing everything he loved, that still Maedhros battled.




This is so magnificently written so dreadfully sad. It made me cry all over again.

Author's Response:

I am deeply in love with Maedhros. Tolkien heaped so much misery on him that I thought I should give it a purpose. But I leave you to do the epic endings of the world etc. :)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2018 11:23 · For: Chapter 7 Return
Ah, I see. Wow! Sorry, I am re-reading again, and just broke the surface to reply to you without thinking much. OOoh!

Author's Response:

Haha- think you've got it now;) Which is why Maedhros doesn't appear in Where the shadows Lie- or at least, not yet. No idea if he has a part ...although a glimmer of an idea is just hovering ...



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 16, 2018 10:19 · For: Chapter 6 Through Moonlight
Well, I hope it might be Fëanor, or Fingon, but it could be Morgoth! But I hate to think of Maedhros in there alone! ;__;

Author's Response:

No- wrong track entirely my dear. Not in but out ;)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2018 19:27 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Wow, well if I put the idea in your mind I am so glad! I have to go back to Dark Star when I have finished Magnificat, and to A Far, Fierce Sky, too, but I can no longer write more than one at a time, what with Life.

I am so longing to ask you for spoilers now, about who else might be involved.

Author's Response:

I'd love you to go back to Dark Star and AFFS- absolutely missing that!

 

You can work out who else is involved- bet you already have!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2018 18:56 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue

Spiced- what I meant was that YOU are the QUeen of Fanfic Epics:)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2018 17:41 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Oh, Ziggy, I have been re-reading this and absolutely loving it all over again. Your idea of the Mirror has become so enthralling, and has so many possibilities, and of course I gulp at any appearance or mention of the Fëanorions.
I do hope we see more of them, that Erestor can see and feel and touch his beloved Maedhros again, and Elrond his chosen father(s) that Maglor can step out of the shadows, after his glorious entrance in this story.
It’s been an absolute delight, seeing how your series weaves into one amazing epic!


Author's Response:

Oh you are lovely for leaving this review - thank you:)

We've had lots of chats about mirrors and I'm so pleased that you think this one is enthralling. But it was YOUR idea, Dark Star, that set me off on this you know, the moment when Sauron touches the Void to drink its power and the Feanorians are in there, like titanic star-filled figures. That is the image that first set me off on this so THANK YOU. But my Void is a bit lonelier for Maedhros as he has a particular fate (as far as I know anyway although in the next fic after WTSL, someone else will be involved- but no spoilers- that's quite enough:)

From the Queen of Fanfic Epics, that is quite a compliment.

 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 12:26 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Ohh, I love the brotherly moment between Elladan and Elrohir. So gorgeous, and so rare to see them at peace. And Glorfindel and Erestor do make me laugh. ‘I have become quite fond of you for a stuck up Gondolodhrim.’ - LOL :)

‘Each alone for countless years, one wandering the Earth, the other wandering in the Night. Fighting the Shadow, fighting the Dark… I hope they find each other,’ Erestor’s voice was quiet

Oh, this is such a sad image :(

What a wonderful story, ziggy. I've loved having it to read in the post Christmas lull, and I can't wait to read more.

Do we ever find out why the Nazgul started devouring souls?

Author's Response:

re the Nazgûl devouring souls- THAT is a big question! Spolier alert though for WTSL- I have a theory that Sauron kept the Nazgul in check. There were things that even he would not do or allow- and the devouring of an elven fea is one of those things- mortals souls is fine. But Angmar set up his own kingdom when Sauron was 'away for a while' and I wonder if the Nazgul didn't chafe a little under the yoke of Sauron's rule.

 

So- Sauron razed Ost-in-Edhil to the ground- he was there. He ordered Phellanthir razed too- but Angmar knew a little, or recognised the potential of the Oromarde, and placed Pitya-angu (Erestor's name for the nameless Nazgul) there to guard it (orginally I thought it was time travel portal and they used it to get around more quickly but abandoned that). During 'Glass' Pitya breaks one of Sauron's edits about not devouring and elven soul - so it shows they were slowly testing him too. The mirror in Minas Morgul found at teh very beginning of WTSL is the twin of this- possilby salvaged from Phellanthir. Angmar wants a way back from the Dark. As long as the Rings are outside the Dark, they might escape...with a suitable 'meal' or transfer of energy to give him enough power to do so. No more spoilers now- you'll have to read WTSL!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 12:06 · For: Chapter 23
’These foul beasts stink worse than the cesspit at Bree.

*snorts*

Yeah, I think we can add sewage to the list of things Tolkien didn't think about! (Not that I'm always brilliant at it either, I get too caught up in the characters, but references like this remind the reader that the Men, at least, are living in a very low-tech society.)

After that brilliant battle scene you've written a wonderful aftermath. You can feel the physical and emotional drain on them as they count their losses and swap their stories.

Tindomion's anger at Elrohir keeping back Maglor's identity was breathtaking. Does he carry Feanor's blade in Spiced's works? I honestly can't remember :/ ah well, excuses to re-read!

Author's Response:

Every now and again, don't you wonder how they all go to the loo? Or who washes the clothes etc? I like to spatter  sories with a few things like that. But there are others much better at writing the details- I think Encairion excels in that. But DAwn Felagund too. Himring.

I don't think Spiced has given Tondomion a particualr sword- he does have the Elessar though I think? I like to think that there are things lying around that are relaly artefacts from the First Age- and they have a resonance then.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 11:53 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
Angmar leaned towards him, and the morgul blade touched him; he felt the notes of his Song unravel. As the tip pierced his skin, gently, so gently, a long note was pulled from his heart...that was Idril, her hair like spun-gold lifting in the wind. The heart-note was tossed aside carelessly like it did not matter. Blood seeped from the cut as the blade drove a little deeper. The proud memory of Turgon standing in his plumed helm before the gates of Angband, dissipated in the wind. ...Fingolfin... Fingon, his silver-blue banner streaming out. One after another, the precious memories spilled onto the mud and the Nazgûl's iron shod foot ground them into nothing, flickers of light that were washed away...each one gone forever...

Yikes, ziggy, this is so beautiful and heartbreaking! :( and the winged steeds of the Nazgul are brilliantly disgusting.

And I don't have words for how Maglor's appearance in this chapter makes me feel. Never mind Elrohir, I think I'd be following him into Mordor! You write his power so convincingly, and his emotional connection with Elrohir and with Glorfindel is beautiful.

I hope we see more of him...I can't imagine he'll leave Maedhros in that mirror!

Author's Response:

Oh- did I write that?? Yeah- not bad. I ought to re-read it as it's so much part of Where the Shadows Lie. 

I know- I did do a whoop when I realised Maglor was coming:) I didn'tknow until he appeared though. So it was as much fun to write and I admit I did hug myself a bit too:)

Glorfindel whispers something to Maglor at the very end. So I think we may see him again0 but then again, may not. I really don't know.

I can't bear the idea of leaving Maedhros in that mirror either- or alone in the dark.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 11:33 · For: Chapter 19 Secrets
I'm intrigued by your concept of the three rings. They really seem to have a life of their own, and feel like they're much less in thrall to the One than in canon - am I reading that right? Can't wait to see how it all plays out.

One thing I love in all your stories is how you build up the tension ahead of the big set piece scenes. When they all arrive at Amon Sul the atmosphere is like a storm building up, and you can feel the anxiety crackling about between the characters - as a reader it's a really exciting feeling. The little details completely immerse you in it as well, things like the arrows being dipped in oil. You capture the chaos of the battle perfectly, too. Fantastic writing, ziggy, I'm so envious!

There are some really interesting character dynamics at play as well, like Elrohir being the one to make sure Glorfindel doesn't go leaping off over the ramparts. He's really collected here; it's a very different Elrohir from the one we see elsewhere in your work. And seeing Glorfindel finally unleash all of his power when he fights Khamul and Angmar is spectacular - although you have left it on a horrible cliffhanger! Poor Glorfindel, I hope Elrohir and Tindomion can come to the rescue.

On a completely different note, has Jael left fandom? :( I had a look at her page here and she hasn't posted anything for years. That makes me sad, I love her stories. She's one of the first authors I read when I joined lotrfanfiction about ten years ago; I remember sitting on my bed at uni with a horrible hangover, clutching a mug of strong tea and losing myself in Not Fade Away.

Re my Maglor/Feanorian fic - I genuinely do think it'll end up as a series, and as you know I'm a slow writer, so no clue yet on an ETA. For years now I've been meaning to write a fic where Maglor is Robin Hood (don't ask me why, just a mad urge). From there, though, I started playing with some scenes and ideas about what his life would be like if he survived all the way through to the modern day - I have a one shot touching on this that I'm hoping to post in the next few days. I also started to work backwards and think about his childhood, his life in the First Age, and what happened after he threw the Silmaril into the sea - that's where the scene with him and Gandalf at Thorin's funeral came from. Full time job is right...!

Author's Response:

Oh what a FANTASTIC idea!!! You must write that- I can't wait for you to post it! It can be the  prologue. I am really excited to see what you're writing:) I love having something new as well.

I don't know about Jael- just that she has stopped posting or reviewing- she used ot read some of mine and I was so whooppeee! when I got a review from her I shouted!! But nothing for years sadly. I always feel the risk of not knowing people personally /physically is that if something happens to them (as it did Nightwing) no one knows.

 

re The Three- yes. They are left untouched by Sauron in canon but for some reason Tolkine has them fading at the end when the One Ring is destroyed and that doesn't really make sense to be honest. So I have them freed by Sauron's demise. In canon they were not really used to their full effect because Sauron would know where they are (as if he didn't!) They aresupposed to be secret. (What's the point in having a magic ring if you can't use it!!) The new fic is really the sequel to this fic -it has become that anyway because I felt I hadn't finished with that Mirror and Maedhros.

 

I'm always pleased when readers find battle scenes convicning and read them- I find I often skip over them because it;s just lots of fighting and nothing significant happens so I try to maek it about relationships andcharacters and significant. I do a lot of thinking and choreography of the battles as well- don't always get it right though:)

Thank you again for these very lovely reviews and I am waiting for that new post!!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 1:18 · For: Chapter 18 Galdor of the Havens
He glanced obliquely at Elrohir, knowing that Elrohir had begged to be sent with Aragorn: it was their task, he had said, to accompany their brother on his greatest task. In all truth, Glorfindel himself had expected to go and he could not deny the smallest disappointment. But he knew as well that Elrond was right.

I've often wondered what would have happened if someone other than Legolas went on the quest. I think Jael has an AU story about this, but she replaces Legolas with an unnamed character. I wonder what would have happened if it had been Glorfindel, or one of the twins?

Lothlorien. It felt clouded there, beneath the great mallorn trees, as if something hid there...



No. He would not let himself doubt Galadriel's strength. If the Ring passed through that land, Gandalf would be there to guard both the Ring and the Lady from temptation.


*shivers* Ooh - love the foreboding/foreshadowing in that passage.

I don't think I've mentioned it before, but I really like how you make the horses into characters in the story, not just beasts of burden. It rings really true to me; I do think that's how the Elves would have seen their mounts, as friends and fellow warriors.

Sauron has guessed our plan. He will be elated that the Ring has left Imladris, and furious that we are taking it to the Havens.

Eek, more AU ideas...what would have happened if the Ring went to Valinor!?

I'm really intrigued by your Galdor. I'd love to know what history he has with Tindomion.

Author's Response:

I love Jael's work- wish she was still posting. Some of my all time favourites are her fics.

 

I do mean to write Lothlorien and the Fellowship some time. Just need time.

 

I love horses - I have a horse and Shetland pony and they have such characters. And Niphredil is really worht a whole series of his own:) He makes me laugh.

Yes- I'd forgotten Galdor. I give him a hard time in More Dangerous and make him quite anti-Mirkwood and anti-Legolas, but then he comes along and joins in this quest and is really rather an important Elf after all. Well he would be if he was Cirdan's messenger. I think there is a Galdor in the First Age- maybe its him? I have to go back and re-read someof htis as I have forgottne what I wrote (she admits sheepishly)

Thank you again my dear Narya!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 0:56 · For: Chapter 17 N
Oh crikey. You do get hints earlier of how much Erestor cares about Elladan, but here you see it in all its glory. I got a lump in my throat at how much tough, teasing, worldly Erestor loves Elladan (but oh, what is Imrahil going to say!? I haven't read Where The Shadows Lie yet, so not sure if it's addressed in there).

Your Erestor is a fascinating character - so much nuance and darkness here. A very different kind of darkness to Elrohir, but definitely still there. I love his loyalty to his old House, even while he acknowledges some of the faults.

There was no one left who knew half the secrets that had been Tyelpo’s. Or Maedhros for he had been obsessed with plant cultivation, growing food where it could not be grown, breeding livestock that could survive sieges.

It's really interesting to consider these things - what else would Feanor, Maedhros and co. have been interested in? What did they research? It's actually something I've been thinking about a lot for the fic I'm working on (which I think is going to turn into a series, and who knows when I'm going to write it) - the detail of their day to day lives, outside the battles and the Great Deeds of Song that we all know so well. I love the idea of Maedhros interested in agriculture :)

How they had blazed! Like stars. No, brighter. Brighter than Eärendil for his borrowed Silmaril was but a shadow of Fëanor’s flaming soul.

Ooh, this is interesting. Are you another one who shares Spiced's theory that the jewels house a part of Feanor's souls, rather than the Light of the Trees?

‘You are so masterful when you are angry,’ Erestor grinned in ferocious delight. ‘Are we going to fuck?’ With outrageous cheek that only he could do, Erestor puckered his lips and made a loud smacking kissing noise that he knew would infuriate Glorfindel further.

*snorts*

I love the shifting moods in that scene - the tension punctuated by the humour of Erestor constantly teasing Glorfindel. And I love that Erestor is the one who sees that hint of something darker in Glorfindel, that gives away the fact that the Ring has been whispering. This is really beautiful:

‘We must guard each other’s hearts, Närmófinion, for I find I do not know which is my voice, and which is not my own.’

It brings it home how well they know each other and how much they care, even if they are constantly winding each other up.

Author's Response:

OOh- you haven't read Shadows yet! I'm just writing Erestor thinking about Elladan so I have to go back and look again at what I wrote in this (writing fanfic is a full time job!!)  I have been threatened by Naledi and Cheekybeak that they will launch an assassination on Imrahil if he doesn't put Elladan down and stop playing with him:)

 

You need ot write that fic! It sounds wonderful- we need something like that. When are you posting it?

re Spiced's theory that the jewels house a part of Feanor's souls, rather than the Light of the Trees?

I don't really have a theory, but I am really influenced by Spiced. I think creations always have part of their creator's soul so yes, I suppose so. Why else would the Oath be so important? It's a bit like Sauron and the One Ring- he put so much of himself into it, he was diminished by its loss.

Thank you for picking up that last bit about looking after each other- in spite of their bickering, they are much like Legolas and Gimli in that respect, but also, they are the only ones left who remember the First Age- there are others I eman, like Galdriel, but they are close.

Thank you for such a lovely long review too, narya:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2018 18:00 · For: Chapter 16
I downloaded an offline copy of this to take with me to the Lakes. I haven't quite finished it, but oh my goodness, I'm in love with it. The thought of Maedhros stuck behind that mirror for all eternity is breaking my heart, and seeing more of Glorfindel and Erestor's past in this 'verse is fascinating.

I am worried about Elladan, even though I know he makes it because we see him again in Sons. And I love Tindomion with Legolas. Tindomion needs someone to make him smile every now and then.

Happy new year to you, my dear. I look forwards to reading more of your wonderful work in 2018!

Author's Response:

Wow -I am flattered! MAedhros is in my view, Tolkien's most tragic character- he heaps on the punishment until he commits suicide. So I feel it's right to break ou hearts over him all over again. I can't believe he would just sit quietly in Mandos for all eternity after waging war so consistently and determinedly against Morgoth.

Yes-I think you must be around about chpater 16 or so because that is where Legolas and Tindomion get together- I rather fell in love with Tindomion and Spiced has so kindly let him out to play:) He's in the new fic too, picking up where they left off maybe? 

 

Happy New Year to you too my dear Narya! It's been such a fun year writing with you:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2017 10:39 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
Great ending Ziggy, a real pull on the old heart strings. Poor Erestor who longs so much to have seen Maglor, but missed out.
He's really quite tortured over watching the beautiful bright stars of the whole House of Finwe die out one by one.
And Maglor stepping foot inside Phellanthir, so sad and yet beautifully done.
You created such wonderful characters, with the twins, both so vastly different from one another and so likeable.
Don't forget Tindomion, loved him too.
There is something I have been thinking about recently. I have read some of Spiced Wine's Vanimore and thought if it was possible, if you're Erestor and her Vanimore could be in a story together. Just an idea. I'll leave it with you, but I would love to see these two together.
Great story. :)

Author's Response:

Oh my dear Gabriel- what a thought!!! Erestor and Vanimore! I might do that as a one shot sometime for Spiced and you but I have two fics on the go right now and am so busy at work!! I'll see in the Summer holidays when I get a proper chunk of time.

I am so glad you enoyed this story- I admit to being pleased with the ending with Maglor making an appearance that I never expected at the start. I have to resolve that of course in this current fic. Thank you for such lovely, warming comments- it's really made my week!

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2017 10:50 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
So much angst in the last part of this chapter. I was so excited when this stranger turned up to save the day and knew the stranger was Maglor or was hoping it was him. The shame he has for his name and for what he has done, has kept him from seeing Elrond and meeting Tindomion and of course the problems that would inevitably arise if he was to turn up in Imladris. Even though it was a sad part to the story, it was also so good to see him. :)

Author's Response:

I loved writing this chapter- one of the most enjoyable I have ever written! Maglor joining them is just such a joy and of course, Glorfindel whispered something to him that we don't know. Thank you for reading this older fic- it's been good to get me back to it as the current fic Where the Shadows Lie, is really a continuation of this.

Thanks again Gabriel!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2017 10:57 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
I really do like seeing Olorin come through when Gandalf uses any of his power, it just makes him seem that much more powerful. I really wish that they had included this in the movie versions. Love it. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Gabriel! I agree- PJ almost ignored the whole bit about Gandalf, but I think Tolkien sort of skips over it a bit too. He doesn't really reveal his power very much and it's all off-stage really. Look at the fight with the Balrog! It's just told as a side story but it's a major thing to kill a blarog- look at the way Glorfindel has lived off it for Ages:) I'm so pleased you are enjoying this fic. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2017 12:47 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
Please bare with me, sometimes I get so taken with the story, I forget to review.
Maedhros in the mirror, battling the Balrog and Erestor's desperation at not being able to save his Lord, so, so sad, I almost cried. And Maedhros hoping Fingon has been reborn. :( great story though.

Author's Response:

Of course! I am always happy just to know someone is stuil lreading old fics- if I get a review, that's a bonus. Maedhors is, I think, one of the most tragic characters in Literature actually. He tries so hard to do the right thing, and it all ends in tears. As Eonwe predicted. I just love the idea that all he really wants in Fingon back:( Maybe one day...

 

Thank you for reviewing:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 16:29 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue

Great ending, Ziggy!

‘Each alone for countless years, one wandering the Earth, the other wandering in the Night. Fighting the Shadow, fighting the Dark… I hope they find each other,’

Ooh - that sent shivers down my spine. What an image!



Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Naledi- I am pleased it sent shivers down your spine. I wanted that scene to leave an impression. Thank you for all your lovely comments and reviews- it really does make such a difference to know you are enjoying what I write. Thank you so much for sticking with me. Next story will be out soon.

xx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2016 9:59 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
I am sad this story is over! It was a wonderful ending, and lovely to see Elladan and Elrohir like that, and Glorfindel recovering.

So they sat silently, and outside the snow fell upon the secret Valley, covered the perfect lawns and rose gardens, fell upon the paths and the road that wound to the Ford of the Bruinen. It fell more heavily in the Mountains and the Wilds where now a small company began the long march through the foothills of Caradhras. Whilst in the ruins of Phellanthir, a footstep echoed through the empty halls and climbed the long, shallow staircase that led upwards into the gloomy desolation of the ”romard


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2016 23:35 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Oh it's finished!

What a beautiful chapter. Elladan and Elrohir, Erestor and Glorfindel, Maglor and Maedhros.

I loved Elladan and Elrohir together. Elladan is so good for his brother. You have me anguishing over Elrohir now.......and I still think Tindomion was being unfair. I had to hold in my mind that Elrohir emerges intact...(kind of) after the battle of the Black Gate, but he is still even then not free of the Nazgul's spell. I worry for him.

And that beautiful ending to their scene when Elladan promises they will be together forever was cruel because I have my strong suspicions still that you will make it that they won't be and that breaks my heart.

I love Glorfindel and Erestor. They are such a brilliant sparky pair and thank god Glorfindel survived because I do not want to think about how Erestor would have been if he hadn't. Oh I want them to go to Phellanthir now to Maglor.....and take Elrond with them. If Maglor cannot go to Imladris surely Elrond can go to him.

And just what happens with Maglor and the mirror? Does he find Maedhros? Can he free him.......or at least talk to him? Oh so cruel to leave it there! Will those silver blue lights find their way back together so they can see their brother?

Brilliant story. So sad it is over.

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear. You have been such a source of encouragment and support. I am really grateful to you for all your lovely reviews and postive comments.

 

So- you have completely changd your mind about Elrohir now that I have written more about HOW he got to where he was in Sons- you are responsible for much of this you know- prompting me to think why and to uncover his story. So Elrohir owes you a lot!

 

I know- the ending for Elladan and Elrohir is still hidden from em and won't reveal until I have written the sequel to Sons- which I'm expecting to write after this next one I think- because there are so many loose ends to wrap up. It might touch on the Glass as well - one of the loose ends.

Just to put you out of your misery, they won't go to Phellanthir while the War of the Ring is on- they are at war and so need to defend Rivendell...I've just deleted a whole load of spoilers from this so not saying anything now about what MIGHT happen!

Next story is underway- got a chapter almost ready to post so won't leave you dangling.x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2016 12:38 · For: Chapter 23
I's absolutely trust you with any of my OC's, Ziggy. And that's actually a good point about if he's Maglor's son. He has Maedhros' red hair, after all, although I think he would (if he considered it) know that Maedhros wouldn't bed a woman, but it is a valid point!

Author's Response:

I think there may well have been 'pretenders' around and that if Maglor beleives, as Tolkien had us think, that elves die of rpae, then he would struggle to believe he had a son perhaps. I like the idea he might have been Maedhros' - but as you say, he is so very Fingon's. Although in my head he was quite profligate when younger and in Tirion, so could have been...but not since they returned to ME.

 

x



You must login () to review.