| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Enough: So Beautiful the Lungs Are Breathless by UnnamedElement Teen
Things are dark in Mirkwood, and the death of the Elvenking's eldest daughter Lieutenant Felavel sends the family into a...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8004
Word count: 23834109
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14254
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Naledi
07/18/17 09:00 pm
Hi all, I've been quiet lately because I've been away a lot. Sorry I missed your birthday, Glorfindel. I hope everyone's well.
ziggy
07/13/17 12:00 am
Yes- have a lovely day Binki:) xx
Alpha Ori
07/12/17 09:52 pm
Have a great day Binky!!
Spiced Wine
07/11/17 10:13 am
Have a lovely time Alquien. Same for me, internet/wifi both very iffy.
Alquien
07/10/17 03:21 pm
Starting today, I am on vacation for 2 weeks. No internet though (or very iffy, at best) so I will have lots to catch up on when I get back. Have fun everyone! ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
07/06/17 06:00 pm
I hope you are all okay. I have finished by backlog of work, and I notice I have missed Encarion's update, so I will treat myself by reading it
Ysilme
06/27/17 10:44 am
So good to have you back, Spiced! *hugs*
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2017 10:39 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
Great ending Ziggy, a real pull on the old heart strings. Poor Erestor who longs so much to have seen Maglor, but missed out.
He's really quite tortured over watching the beautiful bright stars of the whole House of Finwe die out one by one.
And Maglor stepping foot inside Phellanthir, so sad and yet beautifully done.
You created such wonderful characters, with the twins, both so vastly different from one another and so likeable.
Don't forget Tindomion, loved him too.
There is something I have been thinking about recently. I have read some of Spiced Wine's Vanimore and thought if it was possible, if you're Erestor and her Vanimore could be in a story together. Just an idea. I'll leave it with you, but I would love to see these two together.
Great story. :)

Author's Response:

Oh my dear Gabriel- what a thought!!! Erestor and Vanimore! I might do that as a one shot sometime for Spiced and you but I have two fics on the go right now and am so busy at work!! I'll see in the Summer holidays when I get a proper chunk of time.

I am so glad you enoyed this story- I admit to being pleased with the ending with Maglor making an appearance that I never expected at the start. I have to resolve that of course in this current fic. Thank you for such lovely, warming comments- it's really made my week!

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2017 10:50 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
So much angst in the last part of this chapter. I was so excited when this stranger turned up to save the day and knew the stranger was Maglor or was hoping it was him. The shame he has for his name and for what he has done, has kept him from seeing Elrond and meeting Tindomion and of course the problems that would inevitably arise if he was to turn up in Imladris. Even though it was a sad part to the story, it was also so good to see him. :)

Author's Response:

I loved writing this chapter- one of the most enjoyable I have ever written! Maglor joining them is just such a joy and of course, Glorfindel whispered something to him that we don't know. Thank you for reading this older fic- it's been good to get me back to it as the current fic Where the Shadows Lie, is really a continuation of this.

Thanks again Gabriel!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2017 10:57 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
I really do like seeing Olorin come through when Gandalf uses any of his power, it just makes him seem that much more powerful. I really wish that they had included this in the movie versions. Love it. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Gabriel! I agree- PJ almost ignored the whole bit about Gandalf, but I think Tolkien sort of skips over it a bit too. He doesn't really reveal his power very much and it's all off-stage really. Look at the fight with the Balrog! It's just told as a side story but it's a major thing to kill a blarog- look at the way Glorfindel has lived off it for Ages:) I'm so pleased you are enjoying this fic. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2017 12:47 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
Please bare with me, sometimes I get so taken with the story, I forget to review.
Maedhros in the mirror, battling the Balrog and Erestor's desperation at not being able to save his Lord, so, so sad, I almost cried. And Maedhros hoping Fingon has been reborn. :( great story though.

Author's Response:

Of course! I am always happy just to know someone is stuil lreading old fics- if I get a review, that's a bonus. Maedhors is, I think, one of the most tragic characters in Literature actually. He tries so hard to do the right thing, and it all ends in tears. As Eonwe predicted. I just love the idea that all he really wants in Fingon back:( Maybe one day...

 

Thank you for reviewing:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 16:29 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue

Great ending, Ziggy!

‘Each alone for countless years, one wandering the Earth, the other wandering in the Night. Fighting the Shadow, fighting the Dark… I hope they find each other,’

Ooh - that sent shivers down my spine. What an image!



Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Naledi- I am pleased it sent shivers down your spine. I wanted that scene to leave an impression. Thank you for all your lovely comments and reviews- it really does make such a difference to know you are enjoying what I write. Thank you so much for sticking with me. Next story will be out soon.

xx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2016 9:59 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
I am sad this story is over! It was a wonderful ending, and lovely to see Elladan and Elrohir like that, and Glorfindel recovering.

So they sat silently, and outside the snow fell upon the secret Valley, covered the perfect lawns and rose gardens, fell upon the paths and the road that wound to the Ford of the Bruinen. It fell more heavily in the Mountains and the Wilds where now a small company began the long march through the foothills of Caradhras. Whilst in the ruins of Phellanthir, a footstep echoed through the empty halls and climbed the long, shallow staircase that led upwards into the gloomy desolation of the ”romard


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2016 23:35 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Oh it's finished!

What a beautiful chapter. Elladan and Elrohir, Erestor and Glorfindel, Maglor and Maedhros.

I loved Elladan and Elrohir together. Elladan is so good for his brother. You have me anguishing over Elrohir now.......and I still think Tindomion was being unfair. I had to hold in my mind that Elrohir emerges intact...(kind of) after the battle of the Black Gate, but he is still even then not free of the Nazgul's spell. I worry for him.

And that beautiful ending to their scene when Elladan promises they will be together forever was cruel because I have my strong suspicions still that you will make it that they won't be and that breaks my heart.

I love Glorfindel and Erestor. They are such a brilliant sparky pair and thank god Glorfindel survived because I do not want to think about how Erestor would have been if he hadn't. Oh I want them to go to Phellanthir now to Maglor.....and take Elrond with them. If Maglor cannot go to Imladris surely Elrond can go to him.

And just what happens with Maglor and the mirror? Does he find Maedhros? Can he free him.......or at least talk to him? Oh so cruel to leave it there! Will those silver blue lights find their way back together so they can see their brother?

Brilliant story. So sad it is over.

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear. You have been such a source of encouragment and support. I am really grateful to you for all your lovely reviews and postive comments.

 

So- you have completely changd your mind about Elrohir now that I have written more about HOW he got to where he was in Sons- you are responsible for much of this you know- prompting me to think why and to uncover his story. So Elrohir owes you a lot!

 

I know- the ending for Elladan and Elrohir is still hidden from em and won't reveal until I have written the sequel to Sons- which I'm expecting to write after this next one I think- because there are so many loose ends to wrap up. It might touch on the Glass as well - one of the loose ends.

Just to put you out of your misery, they won't go to Phellanthir while the War of the Ring is on- they are at war and so need to defend Rivendell...I've just deleted a whole load of spoilers from this so not saying anything now about what MIGHT happen!

Next story is underway- got a chapter almost ready to post so won't leave you dangling.x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2016 12:38 · For: Chapter 23
I's absolutely trust you with any of my OC's, Ziggy. And that's actually a good point about if he's Maglor's son. He has Maedhros' red hair, after all, although I think he would (if he considered it) know that Maedhros wouldn't bed a woman, but it is a valid point!

Author's Response:

I think there may well have been 'pretenders' around and that if Maglor beleives, as Tolkien had us think, that elves die of rpae, then he would struggle to believe he had a son perhaps. I like the idea he might have been Maedhros' - but as you say, he is so very Fingon's. Although in my head he was quite profligate when younger and in Tirion, so could have been...but not since they returned to ME.

 

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2016 19:19 · For: Chapter 23
I honestly think you have written Tind


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2016 1:01 · For: Chapter 23
You know I wonder now if the impact from that scene with Tindomion isn't all actually to do with Elrohir. I mean yes, Tindomion surprises us with his anger and his behaviour but it all would have been less shocking had it been a different, stronger, elf he directed it at. If Glorfindel had still been hale and hearty and in command when Tindimion returned he most likely would have gone off at him.....if Glorfindel had done the same as Elrohir......but Glorfindel wouldn't have had a bar of it. He would have told him to pull his head in, because Glorfindel has self belief.
It is the fact we know Elrohir is in a shit state, and we know he already is full of self loathing and Timdomion is someone important to him, that's what makes it have impact. Not Tindomions behaviour at all but who it was directed at.

But this could just be rambling.....anyway I dont think you should doubt yourself.

Author's Response:

THAT is really interesting! Yes- I need ot have a think about this. I htink too that Tindomion genuinely feels that Elrohir, his friend, should have told him straight away- and if Elrohir had been himself, he probably would have- but as you say, he is in such a dreadful state he really is not functioning...at the same time, he is very bloody-minded and insists that he would/does protect MAglor, because HE understands as no one else does....hm.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2016 7:41 · For: Chapter 23
Tindomion's reaction did surprise me and I see from the reviews I am not the only reader affected by it but I think just because I was taken aback doesn't mean it is not the correct reaction for him to have. In this story and MDLW you certainly haven't shown us this side of him but then.....his father hasn't really come up before and this is very specific to Maglor.
Seeing Maglor was a huge event for Tindomion so an exaggerated response is warranted I think.

(And I think the anger is actually towards Maglor, not Elrohir at all but Elrohir is there and Maglor has run away. So the wrong elf gets it in the neck. The sad thing about that is Elrohir can't really cope with it.)

You have hinted at his hardness previously with his acceptance......and agreement over Elrohir's extreme treatment of the orcs.

So I think, yes at this point in time it makes you go...."WTF??? Tindomion isn't exactly who I thought he was." But that doesn't mean his reaction was the wrong one.

Does this make sense?

I do like this situation between him and Elrohir now with regards to Legolas in the future. It has loads of potential.

Author's Response:

Yes- I suppose that IS what I wanted to be honest, for his Feanorian side to appear- he has been terribly nice and gallant and well behaved uo until now but he will have that implacable side too - and as you say, Maglor turning up is huge. I almost didn't write this chapter but really couldn't just ignore what had happened.

And as you say, LOADS of potential once Legolas is back on te scene:) Can't WAIT to write that!!!!! But elrohir and Tindomion may have made up by then but it will always be there, simmering just below the surface:D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2016 7:15 · For: Chapter 23
I have now had time to think about it and .......I am still really mad with Tindomion......
Really, really, mad.
But you know, the amazing thing is how protective of Elrohir I feel. That's why I am so angry with Tindomion, because he is hurting Elrohir for no good reason and Elrohir just needs hugs, lots and lots of hugs. I can see this rejection causing him harm.
When I read Sons of Thunder I didn't care less about Elrohir....except to not want him anywhere near my Legolas.... If someone wanted to hurt him, well he kind of deserved it most of the time.

Just wanted to say you have really turned him around for me!

That line of Elrohir's agreeing with Tindomion that Maglor could see his darkness and he understood it.......so poignant, so very, very sad

Author's Response:

Do you think I may have got that wrong with Tindomion? I'm just wondering if his reaction is not convincing- he's not shown this hardness before ...just doubting myself. But I am so glad you feel like this about Elrohir- it was you feeling like that that made me focus on showing the better side of him:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 16:28 · For: Chapter 23

Oops! Silly Annael - I can just see the dawning horror on everyone else's faces as he prattles on thoughtlessly.

Tindómion leaned down towards Elrohir and hissed, ‘Then it is the darkness he sees in you that is in his blood also.’

Elrohir looked up now, his eyes clear and fixed upon Tindómion. ‘Yes,’ he said. ‘Yes, he does indeed.’

Ooh - that sent shivers down my spine. Elrohir's only too ready to see the worst of himself, without Tindomion adding to that belief. I hate to see them fall out, though, and that's without the whole future issue of Legolas to come between them...

Great chapter, Ziggy! Thanks for the update :)



Author's Response:

Yes- that whole thing with Legolas!! Yet to come:)

Yes- Annael is so silly, just caught up in the hero-worship. 

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 13:39 · For: Chapter 23
Oh, no. I am so sorry that Tind


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 9:17 · For: Chapter 23
He has to be angry with Elrohir for e next story???? Why?
Come on now that's not fair....teasing me like that!

Ooh, what will Legolas do if Tindomion is mad with Elrohir?

.......how will he get his fiddle lesson?

Author's Response:

Ah- you've begun to guess too much- I'm not telling you anymore!!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 7:04 · For: Chapter 23
Oh, I didn't expect this and I am really upset by it......Tindomion's reaction to Elrohir.
He is being unfair I think....I mean what could Elrohir do??

Told him straight away I guess...but beyond that? And Elrohir is in a state, and Glorfindel was DEAD, Tindomion..,,DEAD!!! Or as good as.
And Tindomion wasn't there....Elrohir was, dealing with that.

Oh I find I am quite angry with him actually.
I think Tindomion is very important to Elrohir and the last thing he needs is this.

Yip, I am really pissed off with him.

Author's Response:

ooh- I love your reaction- I agree. Tindomion is being unfair- he cant really help it thoigh- after all, it is f****** MAGLOR just walked off from him. His dad. And didn't even look at him. And he has sworn to kill him...so he's a bit emotional. 

 

He has to be angry with Elrohir for the next story anyway- and this is a good way:)

One more chapter to go and that's it for this liittle aside.

Thank you for FEELING so cross:)



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2016 21:07 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
What a wonderful chapter. I had to read it a second time immediately! I hope Maglor does get to Imladris and meets Elrond and Timdomion

Author's Response:

Thank you Jules- so nice to hear you liedk it- it's been bothering me this one- took ages to get to it and then I can't help feeling it;s not quite worked. Not sure why. But sadly Maglor has so much baggage- that question he asks Elrohir is one he has, I htink pondered long and hard and he loves Elrond too much to destroy the accord in Imladris...but it;s not quite over....



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2016 20:22 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw

Ah, so it was Maglor. So sad that he won't let Elrohir tell his father. And what did he say to Glorfindel? I loved how he used Elrohir's light to help him heal Glorfindel, and that by doing so he saw Elrohir's innermost being. Lovely that Elrohir felt accepted even though he'd seen the darkest corners of Elrohir's soul.



Author's Response:

Yes, you were right. I know it;s sad but he won't risk Elrond's fragile peace in Rivendell. As to what he said to Glorfindel, and what Glorfindel said to him, well, that might come out later. I'm going to skip ahead in the next chapter- not much point on woirting every detail of the journey home. Glad you felt he was accepted- I wanted to show Maglor knew and understands- he's not angel himself!! Thank you Naledi. Actually I'm just off to read your latest piece for inspiration- I've got stuck on my slashy santa/valentine!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2016 10:35 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
There was absolute silence for a moment and then, slowly, it seemed to Elrohir then that the Song ebbed back; it became distinct, audible where it was only ever a slow rhythm of his heartbeat, or in the pulse of his blood and the breath of his lungs. And he marvelled that he could hear it now: it began with a slow and utterly beautiful melody that threaded its way through the air and then mingled with others. He found tears pricking at his eyes and his heart soaring for joy though he had no words to describe it. The Songs of the Elves and the horses merged with the slow harmonies that were trees and even the hilltop itself, the metallic chime of the stars, everything wound together as one Great Song that was amplified, so the huge chords and streams of sound rose up around him, caught him in its uplift and he could not speak or move so spellbound was he by its beauty. It had been there all the while, he realised, but it was as if he had been asleep and just awoken to all the brilliance and sounds of Arda.

Such a wonderful description. Oh, Maglor, so glorious and so tragic, so lost.

And then Elrohir realised. 'I have seen you once,' he said in sudden recognition, astonishment. 'Upon the Hithaeglir. You passed me like a ghost.'

The warrior smiled slightly as he pulled off the gauntlets he wore that were edged with five pointed stars. 'I have sometimes walked in those Mountains,' he said quietly. 'And sometimes in the Eastern deserts. Or the great ice caps of the North.' But there was such a world of loneliness in those words that Elrohir's chest tightened.


So lost :( Always seeking for something that is gone.

Elrohir suddenly wanted his father, so he could embrace him, find that warmth and solace that they had for that moment after they healed Elladan. He longed for his father, his brother with an intensity that he had never felt before and knew then that his own feelings were merging with those of the stranger: he had lost everything. And he grieved for the loss of everyone he had ever loved. Ever.

Like a star in space, his loneliness was all encompassing and Elrohir wanted to run from it before he was lost. It was standing on the brink of the Night, seeing yourself as utterly insignificant, a mere speck in the universe. Knowing that it was only time before you stepped off the ledge and plunged into the Eternal Night. The Dark.


Oh. That's amazingly written, and so terrible in its loss and loneliness.

But they saved Glorfindel! Who knows whom Maglor is!

'No. It would not be enough. I have hunger enough to devour the world.' He reached out and touched Elrohir's cheek. 'You have given me hope. Love. Sustenance enough for the famine ahead.' Vanw


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2016 7:43 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
So it was Maglor......and he was magnificent. So powerful, so glorious........and so terribly sad.

If only he would meet Elrond, for both their sakes. Elrohir is right, Elrond is lonely. I only hope he takes that moment of realisation and uses it to reconnect with his father.

And Magor didn't meet Tindomion either!!! Aargh!

But he has saved the lovely Glorfindel....and Glorfindel has told Maglor of Maedhros in the mirror. He must have. Would Maglor go himself to find him? I think he might well be compelled to do that.

I was slightly confused as to whether Elrohir really knew who he was. When they were talking about Elrond I was sure he did but then Maglor hid himself from Tindomion and Elrohir seemed confused at that whereas I thought if he knew it was Maglor he might understand.

Great chapter. Loved Maglor!!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 16:46 · For: Chapter 21 Glorfindel
f you go back through More Dangerous, Elrohir met him once in the Misty Mountains - a ghost, a stranger, a wanderer. Who knows.

I know. I did wonder, but now I am sure I know! :D (Please let him save Glorfindel).

Author's Response:

xx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 14:40 · For: Chapter 21 Glorfindel
And then, from far off a Note sounded, like a clear bell…he heard it and wept for it called his name to himself. I am Glorfindel, Laur


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 10:20 · For: Chapter 21 Glorfindel

Oh no - the image of Glorfindel's song unravelling one note at a time was as agonising as it was beautiful. Has the stranger's intervention saved him or was it too late?

And who is the stranger? The references to Earendil make me wonder if it's Elrond, but how could he have got there?

Aargh! And your holiday is nearly over. Think I'll write to your head teacher, demanding you get time off on full pay until this is finished. This and any sequels to SoT...



Author's Response:

So glad that bit worked, Naledi. I liked the idea that the morgul blade unpicks the Song -it's sort of what happened to Legolas but he would perceive this in a different way, and it sort of makes sense to me that the Song is just a way of expressing Making or Creation. The stranger has immense understnading of the Song, and Power so he is able to manipulate it...as for who he is, well, you are right he is not Elrond - and the references to Earendil are important as you saw.

 

I'm not sure the school would give me time off to write fanfiction!!! Shame.

 

xxx



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2016 7:22 · For: Chapter 21 Glorfindel
That truly was more terrible than I had even imagined.
You didn't just kill him you destroyed him!
At least he is not completely snuffed out....I thought at one point you really would do that.....but a morgul wound?!!

I didn't much like Glorfindel initially, he was a bit too .....good.....for me, but you have spent all these chapters getting me to the point where I adore him and then this???
I don't think I Have ever felt more upset while reading a fanfiction than this!
How will he ever get to have a catch up fling with Thranduil now?, ( the only thing I would change about Glorfindel being his Idril obsession......only because I think he deserves someone better.)
This will destroy Erestor as it has done me.

And who is the stranger? I thought at first it was Erestor....but now I think Elrohir would have recognised him??

So sad.....crying.

Author's Response:

Sorry.

He's not completely gone- I didn't think I could do that and survive as a fanfic writer!!

If you remember you hated Elrohir too in Sons so I had to work hard to give him depth and a back story. You're so good for me!!

I agree about Idril- but poor boy can't help his heart. And hte Thranduil thing is your fault! Glorfindel is very straight in my head and that Thranduil fling was a complete aberation!

 

No, not Erestor although I did think of that. I htought he and Elrond might have galloped out of Imladris having sense the danger or realised the Nazgul have changed. But it isn't. There are some clues but more so in the next chapter. If you go back through More Dangerous, Elrohir met him once in the Misty Mountains - a ghost, a stranger, a wanderer. Who knows. 

 

It won't be long but I am back at work tomorrow so have much less time to write.

Happy New Year!!

 

xx

 



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2016 13:16 · For: Chapter 6 Through Moonlight
Totally agree. Maedhros leaves Feanor for dead as far as greatness goes......is greatness the brilliance to create or the fortitude to survive atrocity and fight for your people? I vote for Maedhros......and actually who knows what creative things he could have achieved in a different more peaceful world? Feanor had it easy!

It is never a sacrifice to come back and reread your writing. I love it, and only adds to my enjoyment!!

And this is all so sad, so tragic, I so want them reunited....and seeing younger, lighter freer Nelyo has only made it sadder.


You must login () to review.