| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8442
Word count: 25536419
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15676
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 12:26 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Ohh, I love the brotherly moment between Elladan and Elrohir. So gorgeous, and so rare to see them at peace. And Glorfindel and Erestor do make me laugh. ‘I have become quite fond of you for a stuck up Gondolodhrim.’ - LOL :)

‘Each alone for countless years, one wandering the Earth, the other wandering in the Night. Fighting the Shadow, fighting the Dark… I hope they find each other,’ Erestor’s voice was quiet

Oh, this is such a sad image :(

What a wonderful story, ziggy. I've loved having it to read in the post Christmas lull, and I can't wait to read more.

Do we ever find out why the Nazgul started devouring souls?

Author's Response:

re the Nazgûl devouring souls- THAT is a big question! Spolier alert though for WTSL- I have a theory that Sauron kept the Nazgul in check. There were things that even he would not do or allow- and the devouring of an elven fea is one of those things- mortals souls is fine. But Angmar set up his own kingdom when Sauron was 'away for a while' and I wonder if the Nazgul didn't chafe a little under the yoke of Sauron's rule.

 

So- Sauron razed Ost-in-Edhil to the ground- he was there. He ordered Phellanthir razed too- but Angmar knew a little, or recognised the potential of the Oromarde, and placed Pitya-angu (Erestor's name for the nameless Nazgul) there to guard it (orginally I thought it was time travel portal and they used it to get around more quickly but abandoned that). During 'Glass' Pitya breaks one of Sauron's edits about not devouring and elven soul - so it shows they were slowly testing him too. The mirror in Minas Morgul found at teh very beginning of WTSL is the twin of this- possilby salvaged from Phellanthir. Angmar wants a way back from the Dark. As long as the Rings are outside the Dark, they might escape...with a suitable 'meal' or transfer of energy to give him enough power to do so. No more spoilers now- you'll have to read WTSL!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 12:06 · For: Chapter 23
’These foul beasts stink worse than the cesspit at Bree.

*snorts*

Yeah, I think we can add sewage to the list of things Tolkien didn't think about! (Not that I'm always brilliant at it either, I get too caught up in the characters, but references like this remind the reader that the Men, at least, are living in a very low-tech society.)

After that brilliant battle scene you've written a wonderful aftermath. You can feel the physical and emotional drain on them as they count their losses and swap their stories.

Tindomion's anger at Elrohir keeping back Maglor's identity was breathtaking. Does he carry Feanor's blade in Spiced's works? I honestly can't remember :/ ah well, excuses to re-read!

Author's Response:

Every now and again, don't you wonder how they all go to the loo? Or who washes the clothes etc? I like to spatter  sories with a few things like that. But there are others much better at writing the details- I think Encairion excels in that. But DAwn Felagund too. Himring.

I don't think Spiced has given Tondomion a particualr sword- he does have the Elessar though I think? I like to think that there are things lying around that are relaly artefacts from the First Age- and they have a resonance then.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 11:53 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
Angmar leaned towards him, and the morgul blade touched him; he felt the notes of his Song unravel. As the tip pierced his skin, gently, so gently, a long note was pulled from his heart...that was Idril, her hair like spun-gold lifting in the wind. The heart-note was tossed aside carelessly like it did not matter. Blood seeped from the cut as the blade drove a little deeper. The proud memory of Turgon standing in his plumed helm before the gates of Angband, dissipated in the wind. ...Fingolfin... Fingon, his silver-blue banner streaming out. One after another, the precious memories spilled onto the mud and the Nazgûl's iron shod foot ground them into nothing, flickers of light that were washed away...each one gone forever...

Yikes, ziggy, this is so beautiful and heartbreaking! :( and the winged steeds of the Nazgul are brilliantly disgusting.

And I don't have words for how Maglor's appearance in this chapter makes me feel. Never mind Elrohir, I think I'd be following him into Mordor! You write his power so convincingly, and his emotional connection with Elrohir and with Glorfindel is beautiful.

I hope we see more of him...I can't imagine he'll leave Maedhros in that mirror!

Author's Response:

Oh- did I write that?? Yeah- not bad. I ought to re-read it as it's so much part of Where the Shadows Lie. 

I know- I did do a whoop when I realised Maglor was coming:) I didn'tknow until he appeared though. So it was as much fun to write and I admit I did hug myself a bit too:)

Glorfindel whispers something to Maglor at the very end. So I think we may see him again0 but then again, may not. I really don't know.

I can't bear the idea of leaving Maedhros in that mirror either- or alone in the dark.



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 11:33 · For: Chapter 19 Secrets
I'm intrigued by your concept of the three rings. They really seem to have a life of their own, and feel like they're much less in thrall to the One than in canon - am I reading that right? Can't wait to see how it all plays out.

One thing I love in all your stories is how you build up the tension ahead of the big set piece scenes. When they all arrive at Amon Sul the atmosphere is like a storm building up, and you can feel the anxiety crackling about between the characters - as a reader it's a really exciting feeling. The little details completely immerse you in it as well, things like the arrows being dipped in oil. You capture the chaos of the battle perfectly, too. Fantastic writing, ziggy, I'm so envious!

There are some really interesting character dynamics at play as well, like Elrohir being the one to make sure Glorfindel doesn't go leaping off over the ramparts. He's really collected here; it's a very different Elrohir from the one we see elsewhere in your work. And seeing Glorfindel finally unleash all of his power when he fights Khamul and Angmar is spectacular - although you have left it on a horrible cliffhanger! Poor Glorfindel, I hope Elrohir and Tindomion can come to the rescue.

On a completely different note, has Jael left fandom? :( I had a look at her page here and she hasn't posted anything for years. That makes me sad, I love her stories. She's one of the first authors I read when I joined lotrfanfiction about ten years ago; I remember sitting on my bed at uni with a horrible hangover, clutching a mug of strong tea and losing myself in Not Fade Away.

Re my Maglor/Feanorian fic - I genuinely do think it'll end up as a series, and as you know I'm a slow writer, so no clue yet on an ETA. For years now I've been meaning to write a fic where Maglor is Robin Hood (don't ask me why, just a mad urge). From there, though, I started playing with some scenes and ideas about what his life would be like if he survived all the way through to the modern day - I have a one shot touching on this that I'm hoping to post in the next few days. I also started to work backwards and think about his childhood, his life in the First Age, and what happened after he threw the Silmaril into the sea - that's where the scene with him and Gandalf at Thorin's funeral came from. Full time job is right...!

Author's Response:

Oh what a FANTASTIC idea!!! You must write that- I can't wait for you to post it! It can be the  prologue. I am really excited to see what you're writing:) I love having something new as well.

I don't know about Jael- just that she has stopped posting or reviewing- she used ot read some of mine and I was so whooppeee! when I got a review from her I shouted!! But nothing for years sadly. I always feel the risk of not knowing people personally /physically is that if something happens to them (as it did Nightwing) no one knows.

 

re The Three- yes. They are left untouched by Sauron in canon but for some reason Tolkine has them fading at the end when the One Ring is destroyed and that doesn't really make sense to be honest. So I have them freed by Sauron's demise. In canon they were not really used to their full effect because Sauron would know where they are (as if he didn't!) They aresupposed to be secret. (What's the point in having a magic ring if you can't use it!!) The new fic is really the sequel to this fic -it has become that anyway because I felt I hadn't finished with that Mirror and Maedhros.

 

I'm always pleased when readers find battle scenes convicning and read them- I find I often skip over them because it;s just lots of fighting and nothing significant happens so I try to maek it about relationships andcharacters and significant. I do a lot of thinking and choreography of the battles as well- don't always get it right though:)

Thank you again for these very lovely reviews and I am waiting for that new post!!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 1:18 · For: Chapter 18 Galdor of the Havens
He glanced obliquely at Elrohir, knowing that Elrohir had begged to be sent with Aragorn: it was their task, he had said, to accompany their brother on his greatest task. In all truth, Glorfindel himself had expected to go and he could not deny the smallest disappointment. But he knew as well that Elrond was right.

I've often wondered what would have happened if someone other than Legolas went on the quest. I think Jael has an AU story about this, but she replaces Legolas with an unnamed character. I wonder what would have happened if it had been Glorfindel, or one of the twins?

Lothlorien. It felt clouded there, beneath the great mallorn trees, as if something hid there...



No. He would not let himself doubt Galadriel's strength. If the Ring passed through that land, Gandalf would be there to guard both the Ring and the Lady from temptation.


*shivers* Ooh - love the foreboding/foreshadowing in that passage.

I don't think I've mentioned it before, but I really like how you make the horses into characters in the story, not just beasts of burden. It rings really true to me; I do think that's how the Elves would have seen their mounts, as friends and fellow warriors.

Sauron has guessed our plan. He will be elated that the Ring has left Imladris, and furious that we are taking it to the Havens.

Eek, more AU ideas...what would have happened if the Ring went to Valinor!?

I'm really intrigued by your Galdor. I'd love to know what history he has with Tindomion.

Author's Response:

I love Jael's work- wish she was still posting. Some of my all time favourites are her fics.

 

I do mean to write Lothlorien and the Fellowship some time. Just need time.

 

I love horses - I have a horse and Shetland pony and they have such characters. And Niphredil is really worht a whole series of his own:) He makes me laugh.

Yes- I'd forgotten Galdor. I give him a hard time in More Dangerous and make him quite anti-Mirkwood and anti-Legolas, but then he comes along and joins in this quest and is really rather an important Elf after all. Well he would be if he was Cirdan's messenger. I think there is a Galdor in the First Age- maybe its him? I have to go back and re-read someof htis as I have forgottne what I wrote (she admits sheepishly)

Thank you again my dear Narya!



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 0:56 · For: Chapter 17 N
Oh crikey. You do get hints earlier of how much Erestor cares about Elladan, but here you see it in all its glory. I got a lump in my throat at how much tough, teasing, worldly Erestor loves Elladan (but oh, what is Imrahil going to say!? I haven't read Where The Shadows Lie yet, so not sure if it's addressed in there).

Your Erestor is a fascinating character - so much nuance and darkness here. A very different kind of darkness to Elrohir, but definitely still there. I love his loyalty to his old House, even while he acknowledges some of the faults.

There was no one left who knew half the secrets that had been Tyelpo’s. Or Maedhros for he had been obsessed with plant cultivation, growing food where it could not be grown, breeding livestock that could survive sieges.

It's really interesting to consider these things - what else would Feanor, Maedhros and co. have been interested in? What did they research? It's actually something I've been thinking about a lot for the fic I'm working on (which I think is going to turn into a series, and who knows when I'm going to write it) - the detail of their day to day lives, outside the battles and the Great Deeds of Song that we all know so well. I love the idea of Maedhros interested in agriculture :)

How they had blazed! Like stars. No, brighter. Brighter than Eärendil for his borrowed Silmaril was but a shadow of Fëanor’s flaming soul.

Ooh, this is interesting. Are you another one who shares Spiced's theory that the jewels house a part of Feanor's souls, rather than the Light of the Trees?

‘You are so masterful when you are angry,’ Erestor grinned in ferocious delight. ‘Are we going to fuck?’ With outrageous cheek that only he could do, Erestor puckered his lips and made a loud smacking kissing noise that he knew would infuriate Glorfindel further.

*snorts*

I love the shifting moods in that scene - the tension punctuated by the humour of Erestor constantly teasing Glorfindel. And I love that Erestor is the one who sees that hint of something darker in Glorfindel, that gives away the fact that the Ring has been whispering. This is really beautiful:

‘We must guard each other’s hearts, Närmófinion, for I find I do not know which is my voice, and which is not my own.’

It brings it home how well they know each other and how much they care, even if they are constantly winding each other up.

Author's Response:

OOh- you haven't read Shadows yet! I'm just writing Erestor thinking about Elladan so I have to go back and look again at what I wrote in this (writing fanfic is a full time job!!)  I have been threatened by Naledi and Cheekybeak that they will launch an assassination on Imrahil if he doesn't put Elladan down and stop playing with him:)

 

You need ot write that fic! It sounds wonderful- we need something like that. When are you posting it?

re Spiced's theory that the jewels house a part of Feanor's souls, rather than the Light of the Trees?

I don't really have a theory, but I am really influenced by Spiced. I think creations always have part of their creator's soul so yes, I suppose so. Why else would the Oath be so important? It's a bit like Sauron and the One Ring- he put so much of himself into it, he was diminished by its loss.

Thank you for picking up that last bit about looking after each other- in spite of their bickering, they are much like Legolas and Gimli in that respect, but also, they are the only ones left who remember the First Age- there are others I eman, like Galdriel, but they are close.

Thank you for such a lovely long review too, narya:)



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2018 18:00 · For: Chapter 16
I downloaded an offline copy of this to take with me to the Lakes. I haven't quite finished it, but oh my goodness, I'm in love with it. The thought of Maedhros stuck behind that mirror for all eternity is breaking my heart, and seeing more of Glorfindel and Erestor's past in this 'verse is fascinating.

I am worried about Elladan, even though I know he makes it because we see him again in Sons. And I love Tindomion with Legolas. Tindomion needs someone to make him smile every now and then.

Happy new year to you, my dear. I look forwards to reading more of your wonderful work in 2018!

Author's Response:

Wow -I am flattered! MAedhros is in my view, Tolkien's most tragic character- he heaps on the punishment until he commits suicide. So I feel it's right to break ou hearts over him all over again. I can't believe he would just sit quietly in Mandos for all eternity after waging war so consistently and determinedly against Morgoth.

Yes-I think you must be around about chpater 16 or so because that is where Legolas and Tindomion get together- I rather fell in love with Tindomion and Spiced has so kindly let him out to play:) He's in the new fic too, picking up where they left off maybe? 

 

Happy New Year to you too my dear Narya! It's been such a fun year writing with you:)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2017 10:39 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
Great ending Ziggy, a real pull on the old heart strings. Poor Erestor who longs so much to have seen Maglor, but missed out.
He's really quite tortured over watching the beautiful bright stars of the whole House of Finwe die out one by one.
And Maglor stepping foot inside Phellanthir, so sad and yet beautifully done.
You created such wonderful characters, with the twins, both so vastly different from one another and so likeable.
Don't forget Tindomion, loved him too.
There is something I have been thinking about recently. I have read some of Spiced Wine's Vanimore and thought if it was possible, if you're Erestor and her Vanimore could be in a story together. Just an idea. I'll leave it with you, but I would love to see these two together.
Great story. :)

Author's Response:

Oh my dear Gabriel- what a thought!!! Erestor and Vanimore! I might do that as a one shot sometime for Spiced and you but I have two fics on the go right now and am so busy at work!! I'll see in the Summer holidays when I get a proper chunk of time.

I am so glad you enoyed this story- I admit to being pleased with the ending with Maglor making an appearance that I never expected at the start. I have to resolve that of course in this current fic. Thank you for such lovely, warming comments- it's really made my week!

 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 24, 2017 10:50 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
So much angst in the last part of this chapter. I was so excited when this stranger turned up to save the day and knew the stranger was Maglor or was hoping it was him. The shame he has for his name and for what he has done, has kept him from seeing Elrond and meeting Tindomion and of course the problems that would inevitably arise if he was to turn up in Imladris. Even though it was a sad part to the story, it was also so good to see him. :)

Author's Response:

I loved writing this chapter- one of the most enjoyable I have ever written! Maglor joining them is just such a joy and of course, Glorfindel whispered something to him that we don't know. Thank you for reading this older fic- it's been good to get me back to it as the current fic Where the Shadows Lie, is really a continuation of this.

Thanks again Gabriel!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 16, 2017 10:57 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
I really do like seeing Olorin come through when Gandalf uses any of his power, it just makes him seem that much more powerful. I really wish that they had included this in the movie versions. Love it. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you, Gabriel! I agree- PJ almost ignored the whole bit about Gandalf, but I think Tolkien sort of skips over it a bit too. He doesn't really reveal his power very much and it's all off-stage really. Look at the fight with the Balrog! It's just told as a side story but it's a major thing to kill a blarog- look at the way Glorfindel has lived off it for Ages:) I'm so pleased you are enjoying this fic. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2017 12:47 · For: Chapter 1: Return Journey
Please bare with me, sometimes I get so taken with the story, I forget to review.
Maedhros in the mirror, battling the Balrog and Erestor's desperation at not being able to save his Lord, so, so sad, I almost cried. And Maedhros hoping Fingon has been reborn. :( great story though.

Author's Response:

Of course! I am always happy just to know someone is stuil lreading old fics- if I get a review, that's a bonus. Maedhors is, I think, one of the most tragic characters in Literature actually. He tries so hard to do the right thing, and it all ends in tears. As Eonwe predicted. I just love the idea that all he really wants in Fingon back:( Maybe one day...

 

Thank you for reviewing:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2016 16:29 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue

Great ending, Ziggy!

‘Each alone for countless years, one wandering the Earth, the other wandering in the Night. Fighting the Shadow, fighting the Dark… I hope they find each other,’

Ooh - that sent shivers down my spine. What an image!



Author's Response:

Thank you my dear Naledi- I am pleased it sent shivers down your spine. I wanted that scene to leave an impression. Thank you for all your lovely comments and reviews- it really does make such a difference to know you are enjoying what I write. Thank you so much for sticking with me. Next story will be out soon.

xx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 04, 2016 9:59 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
I am sad this story is over! It was a wonderful ending, and lovely to see Elladan and Elrohir like that, and Glorfindel recovering.

So they sat silently, and outside the snow fell upon the secret Valley, covered the perfect lawns and rose gardens, fell upon the paths and the road that wound to the Ford of the Bruinen. It fell more heavily in the Mountains and the Wilds where now a small company began the long march through the foothills of Caradhras. Whilst in the ruins of Phellanthir, a footstep echoed through the empty halls and climbed the long, shallow staircase that led upwards into the gloomy desolation of the ”romard


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2016 23:35 · For: Chapter 24 Epilogue
Oh it's finished!

What a beautiful chapter. Elladan and Elrohir, Erestor and Glorfindel, Maglor and Maedhros.

I loved Elladan and Elrohir together. Elladan is so good for his brother. You have me anguishing over Elrohir now.......and I still think Tindomion was being unfair. I had to hold in my mind that Elrohir emerges intact...(kind of) after the battle of the Black Gate, but he is still even then not free of the Nazgul's spell. I worry for him.

And that beautiful ending to their scene when Elladan promises they will be together forever was cruel because I have my strong suspicions still that you will make it that they won't be and that breaks my heart.

I love Glorfindel and Erestor. They are such a brilliant sparky pair and thank god Glorfindel survived because I do not want to think about how Erestor would have been if he hadn't. Oh I want them to go to Phellanthir now to Maglor.....and take Elrond with them. If Maglor cannot go to Imladris surely Elrond can go to him.

And just what happens with Maglor and the mirror? Does he find Maedhros? Can he free him.......or at least talk to him? Oh so cruel to leave it there! Will those silver blue lights find their way back together so they can see their brother?

Brilliant story. So sad it is over.

Author's Response:

Thank you my dear. You have been such a source of encouragment and support. I am really grateful to you for all your lovely reviews and postive comments.

 

So- you have completely changd your mind about Elrohir now that I have written more about HOW he got to where he was in Sons- you are responsible for much of this you know- prompting me to think why and to uncover his story. So Elrohir owes you a lot!

 

I know- the ending for Elladan and Elrohir is still hidden from em and won't reveal until I have written the sequel to Sons- which I'm expecting to write after this next one I think- because there are so many loose ends to wrap up. It might touch on the Glass as well - one of the loose ends.

Just to put you out of your misery, they won't go to Phellanthir while the War of the Ring is on- they are at war and so need to defend Rivendell...I've just deleted a whole load of spoilers from this so not saying anything now about what MIGHT happen!

Next story is underway- got a chapter almost ready to post so won't leave you dangling.x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2016 12:38 · For: Chapter 23
I's absolutely trust you with any of my OC's, Ziggy. And that's actually a good point about if he's Maglor's son. He has Maedhros' red hair, after all, although I think he would (if he considered it) know that Maedhros wouldn't bed a woman, but it is a valid point!

Author's Response:

I think there may well have been 'pretenders' around and that if Maglor beleives, as Tolkien had us think, that elves die of rpae, then he would struggle to believe he had a son perhaps. I like the idea he might have been Maedhros' - but as you say, he is so very Fingon's. Although in my head he was quite profligate when younger and in Tirion, so could have been...but not since they returned to ME.

 

x



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2016 19:19 · For: Chapter 23
I honestly think you have written Tind


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 08, 2016 1:01 · For: Chapter 23
You know I wonder now if the impact from that scene with Tindomion isn't all actually to do with Elrohir. I mean yes, Tindomion surprises us with his anger and his behaviour but it all would have been less shocking had it been a different, stronger, elf he directed it at. If Glorfindel had still been hale and hearty and in command when Tindimion returned he most likely would have gone off at him.....if Glorfindel had done the same as Elrohir......but Glorfindel wouldn't have had a bar of it. He would have told him to pull his head in, because Glorfindel has self belief.
It is the fact we know Elrohir is in a shit state, and we know he already is full of self loathing and Timdomion is someone important to him, that's what makes it have impact. Not Tindomions behaviour at all but who it was directed at.

But this could just be rambling.....anyway I dont think you should doubt yourself.

Author's Response:

THAT is really interesting! Yes- I need ot have a think about this. I htink too that Tindomion genuinely feels that Elrohir, his friend, should have told him straight away- and if Elrohir had been himself, he probably would have- but as you say, he is in such a dreadful state he really is not functioning...at the same time, he is very bloody-minded and insists that he would/does protect MAglor, because HE understands as no one else does....hm.



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2016 7:41 · For: Chapter 23
Tindomion's reaction did surprise me and I see from the reviews I am not the only reader affected by it but I think just because I was taken aback doesn't mean it is not the correct reaction for him to have. In this story and MDLW you certainly haven't shown us this side of him but then.....his father hasn't really come up before and this is very specific to Maglor.
Seeing Maglor was a huge event for Tindomion so an exaggerated response is warranted I think.

(And I think the anger is actually towards Maglor, not Elrohir at all but Elrohir is there and Maglor has run away. So the wrong elf gets it in the neck. The sad thing about that is Elrohir can't really cope with it.)

You have hinted at his hardness previously with his acceptance......and agreement over Elrohir's extreme treatment of the orcs.

So I think, yes at this point in time it makes you go...."WTF??? Tindomion isn't exactly who I thought he was." But that doesn't mean his reaction was the wrong one.

Does this make sense?

I do like this situation between him and Elrohir now with regards to Legolas in the future. It has loads of potential.

Author's Response:

Yes- I suppose that IS what I wanted to be honest, for his Feanorian side to appear- he has been terribly nice and gallant and well behaved uo until now but he will have that implacable side too - and as you say, Maglor turning up is huge. I almost didn't write this chapter but really couldn't just ignore what had happened.

And as you say, LOADS of potential once Legolas is back on te scene:) Can't WAIT to write that!!!!! But elrohir and Tindomion may have made up by then but it will always be there, simmering just below the surface:D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2016 7:15 · For: Chapter 23
I have now had time to think about it and .......I am still really mad with Tindomion......
Really, really, mad.
But you know, the amazing thing is how protective of Elrohir I feel. That's why I am so angry with Tindomion, because he is hurting Elrohir for no good reason and Elrohir just needs hugs, lots and lots of hugs. I can see this rejection causing him harm.
When I read Sons of Thunder I didn't care less about Elrohir....except to not want him anywhere near my Legolas.... If someone wanted to hurt him, well he kind of deserved it most of the time.

Just wanted to say you have really turned him around for me!

That line of Elrohir's agreeing with Tindomion that Maglor could see his darkness and he understood it.......so poignant, so very, very sad

Author's Response:

Do you think I may have got that wrong with Tindomion? I'm just wondering if his reaction is not convincing- he's not shown this hardness before ...just doubting myself. But I am so glad you feel like this about Elrohir- it was you feeling like that that made me focus on showing the better side of him:)



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 16:28 · For: Chapter 23

Oops! Silly Annael - I can just see the dawning horror on everyone else's faces as he prattles on thoughtlessly.

Tindómion leaned down towards Elrohir and hissed, ‘Then it is the darkness he sees in you that is in his blood also.’

Elrohir looked up now, his eyes clear and fixed upon Tindómion. ‘Yes,’ he said. ‘Yes, he does indeed.’

Ooh - that sent shivers down my spine. Elrohir's only too ready to see the worst of himself, without Tindomion adding to that belief. I hate to see them fall out, though, and that's without the whole future issue of Legolas to come between them...

Great chapter, Ziggy! Thanks for the update :)



Author's Response:

Yes- that whole thing with Legolas!! Yet to come:)

Yes- Annael is so silly, just caught up in the hero-worship. 

 



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 13:39 · For: Chapter 23
Oh, no. I am so sorry that Tind


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 9:17 · For: Chapter 23
He has to be angry with Elrohir for e next story???? Why?
Come on now that's not fair....teasing me like that!

Ooh, what will Legolas do if Tindomion is mad with Elrohir?

.......how will he get his fiddle lesson?

Author's Response:

Ah- you've begun to guess too much- I'm not telling you anymore!!



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2016 7:04 · For: Chapter 23
Oh, I didn't expect this and I am really upset by it......Tindomion's reaction to Elrohir.
He is being unfair I think....I mean what could Elrohir do??

Told him straight away I guess...but beyond that? And Elrohir is in a state, and Glorfindel was DEAD, Tindomion..,,DEAD!!! Or as good as.
And Tindomion wasn't there....Elrohir was, dealing with that.

Oh I find I am quite angry with him actually.
I think Tindomion is very important to Elrohir and the last thing he needs is this.

Yip, I am really pissed off with him.

Author's Response:

ooh- I love your reaction- I agree. Tindomion is being unfair- he cant really help it thoigh- after all, it is f****** MAGLOR just walked off from him. His dad. And didn't even look at him. And he has sworn to kill him...so he's a bit emotional. 

 

He has to be angry with Elrohir for the next story anyway- and this is a good way:)

One more chapter to go and that's it for this liittle aside.

Thank you for FEELING so cross:)



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2016 21:07 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw
What a wonderful chapter. I had to read it a second time immediately! I hope Maglor does get to Imladris and meets Elrond and Timdomion

Author's Response:

Thank you Jules- so nice to hear you liedk it- it's been bothering me this one- took ages to get to it and then I can't help feeling it;s not quite worked. Not sure why. But sadly Maglor has so much baggage- that question he asks Elrohir is one he has, I htink pondered long and hard and he loves Elrond too much to destroy the accord in Imladris...but it;s not quite over....



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 18, 2016 20:22 · For: Chapter 22 Vanw

Ah, so it was Maglor. So sad that he won't let Elrohir tell his father. And what did he say to Glorfindel? I loved how he used Elrohir's light to help him heal Glorfindel, and that by doing so he saw Elrohir's innermost being. Lovely that Elrohir felt accepted even though he'd seen the darkest corners of Elrohir's soul.



Author's Response:

Yes, you were right. I know it;s sad but he won't risk Elrond's fragile peace in Rivendell. As to what he said to Glorfindel, and what Glorfindel said to him, well, that might come out later. I'm going to skip ahead in the next chapter- not much point on woirting every detail of the journey home. Glad you felt he was accepted- I wanted to show Maglor knew and understands- he's not angel himself!! Thank you Naledi. Actually I'm just off to read your latest piece for inspiration- I've got stuck on my slashy santa/valentine!!



You must login () to review.