| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale from Harondor
The Hounds of Love by Verhalen Explicit
Sören Sigurdsson and "Mark Lowry" are continuing what they started in Sausalito over the summer. But they have some challenges...
~ Last Night I Dreamt I Went to Summerland Again ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
At the Monument, after Dagor Dagorath, Vanimöré wakes from a dream. Anything is better than doing nothing and...
~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Mature
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Chapter 60: A Rounding Up. ‘Seems they are looking forward to having you back,’ Gimli smiled, his earth brown...
A Song of Staying by Himring Teen
In the far future, in a galaxy far, far away, a few lines from the Silmarillion still serve as inspiration.

Site Info

Members: 492
Series: 95
Stories: 1786
Chapters: 9124
Word count: 28226947
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16826
Reviewers: 226
Newest Member: kimaracretak
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
11/15/19 02:19 pm
Thanks, Spiced! Happy Friday to you all!
Spiced Wine
11/15/19 02:10 pm
Happy Friday, everyone!
Fadesintothewest
11/11/19 02:28 am
Thanks so much Spiced!
Spiced Wine
11/08/19 03:53 pm
Have a great Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
11/07/19 09:46 am
I sent an email, Ziggy :)
ziggy
11/07/19 12:10 am
Can I have the Silm Discord link as well please Spiced- intrigued now!
Spiced Wine
11/06/19 01:25 pm
Welcome, Kimaracretak :)
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:20 am
I emailed you through ‘contact; here with the Silm Discord link
Spiced Wine
11/05/19 10:17 am
I’m not sure, let me go and ask them!
Fadesintothewest
11/05/19 07:41 am
Good to know Spice. How can we get onto Silm Discord? It would be nice to join. I'm always looking for other Silm related places.
Shout Archive



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 10:38 · For: Take pity

JUst love their expressions, veveco- Legolas looking off in pity and sorrow but Dima's face is wrought with loss- so hard to get that right. She looks like her soul has been wrenched from her chest. Brilliant.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2018 23:07 · For: Take pity

This is gorgeous. The pity and sorrow in Legolas's expression, and the raw grief in the woman's is perfect. I love how you can depict the emotion in this scene.



Author's Response: Thank you! Sometimes I think that I should feel bad for actively trying to make "someone" (though fictional) look miserable. But.. the feels !!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2017 15:52 · For: The Winged Warrior

Gorgeous! I love the sense of movement and the expression on his face as he plunges from the treetops!



Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I wanted him to "fly" from the trees, ready to kick some ass :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2017 19:15 · For: The Winged Warrior

I love the energy of this and the intensity of his expression. And as always, the textures and depth of colour are amazing.



Author's Response: Thank you! Elladan can be one fierce warrior !


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2017 16:15 · For: The Silver Queen

Beautiful - I love that she's holding a rose, as a reminder of the rose garden Legolas revives.



Author's Response: Thanks for the comment, and yes, the rose is indeed a direct reference to the garden.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 09, 2016 18:42 · For: Cheers in Haven

Ooh - lovely! You've really captured the spirit of merriment I associate with Haven :)



Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted it to be warm and fun. It took me a while, but I finally finished this one :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2016 19:33 · For: Like the Wind

Love this! It's one of my favourite scenes in Arcane Land so it's lovely to see it brought to life here. Also 4 naked elves can never be a bad thing :)



Author's Response: You are not the first one to tell me that. It's also one of my favourite moments, and I wanted to draw something on a light note this time. Naked elves is just bonus I guess :) Thanks for the comment!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2015 21:57 · For: Reminiscence

Another wonderful illustration! I love the expression in Legolas's eyes. You can see how the memories haunt him. 



Author's Response: (Very late reply - sorry!) Thank you so much for the kind comment! Yes, Legolas is pretty haunted by the past, but it is also a good motivation to keep fighting I believe. I hope to be able to do another illustration in the coming weeks...


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2014 23:30 · For: Legacy of the Fallen

This is really spectacular in its execution- the expression of bewilderment, the illustration in the book, and as always these sumptuous textures and colours!



Author's Response: Thank you. For this series, I try to keep a good quality in the technique, so it's good to know it works for you. I'll try to keep the level for the next one...


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 19:50 · For: Legacy of the Fallen
Just added this to chapter 6 of AL - how cool does it look!! Thank you so so much - this is a great privilege :)

Author's Response: You're welcome :)


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 19:39 · For: Legacy of the Fallen
Oh my GOD!!!!! Just look at that detail - you put the bracelet on his arm IN - THE - BOOK - I can't believe this!!!

it's PERFECT.

Author's Response: Hehe - you noticed that detail about the book :D I couldn't leave it out, I loved that part (and how it comes back many chapters later!)


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 12:36 · For: Legacy of the Fallen
Such wonderful illustrations, wow! They are amazing. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks!! I try to improve a bit each time, so it's always nice to have some feedack :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 12:34 · For: Legacy of the Fallen

Beautiful! You have an amazing talent for capturing the moment you're illustrating. I hope to see many more :)



Author's Response: Thank you! I had a bit of a block on this one - it took me nearly 2 months to finish it - but I'm glad the result seems to be up to the expectations.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2014 9:50 · For: Symbols of lordship
That's beautiful. Look at those colours on his tunic, and his expression is perfect!!! I will be adding this into the chapter this evening, straight after work :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I really wanted to focus on the face for once (after the big background of the previous one...)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2014 10:21 · For: Beyond the fortress

Oh wow!!! This is one of your best Veveco. Sumptuous. And a gloriously lovely Elladan - just how I imagine him.



Author's Response: Thanks - I'm really glad that you approve of "my" Elladan !


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: July 19, 2014 18:24 · For: Beyond the fortress
Oh - that - is beautiful! It is just as I imagined it !!! And I love Elladan here, his hair, the color of his tunic -this has to be one of my favourites!! Going to insert it right now :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad I got the wood right, because it took me quite some work. Background is still a challenge for me, but I like to think I improved my skills with this ongoing project. Elladan's clothes are in fact the same as the ones in chapter 2 (with one less layer). If I may say so, it is one of my personal favorites as well :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 02, 2014 13:10 · For: The foremost elves of the Greenwood

Yum! I love Thranduil's strength here :)



Author's Response: The king is no delicate flower, that's for sure :)


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2014 22:22 · For: The foremost elves of the Greenwood
This is fantastic. You have captured Thranduil's attire to perfection - I LOVE the skirt - seriously:)

Author's Response: The power of elves in skirts is without equal ;)


Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2014 5:24 · For: The Price of Protection
What an absolutely beautiful picture! You depict elves so well, they have become the pictures that come to my mind when I am reading other stories.

Author's Response: Oh, that's a *very* nice compliment - thank you!


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 19:54 · For: The Price of Protection
Lovely picture and grouping, Veveco :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! A review is always appreciated ;)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 19:46 · For: The Price of Protection

This is a really beautiful piece.  It's so full of life and vibrant colors.  I keep coming back to look at to because there's so much to soak up!  There's something about Elladan that I like, maybe his posture, his expression?  I can't quite put my finger on what it is, only that you did an excellent job on him.  His Noldorin heritage is strongly apparent here from everything to the way he's dressed to the darkness of his hair.  I think that highlighted difference complements the snippet of story very nicely.



Author's Response: Thank you. I took my time for each character, so it is rewarding that someone would spend time to look more at the details... Alpha Ori's stories are always very rich visually, with strong contrasts between the different cultures, so it is obviously an inspiration. And I'm glad you like Elladan the way he is here - he has always been one of my favorite characters in fanfictions!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 18:37 · For: The Price of Protection
Oh I really love this one. Look at Elladan - he is wonderfull, and the kids!! Oh I really have to get this up now.

Thank you so much!

Author's Response: A little confession: I have a bit of a soft spot for Elladan, so I had to give him a nice rendering. I changed his face about a thousand times before I finally got it right. Thank you for the comment!


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2014 1:31 · For: Back to Greenwod
Oh my goodness!!! a new series, this is wonderful. just look at Glorfinel... Absolutely glorious. And Legolas' green eyes. i love this, and feel so privileged to be able to illustrate my stories with your wonderful art.

OOps, now I have to go to chapter pne and correct those typos!!

Author's Response: Yes, a new series... though considering the number of chapters in Arcane Land I might be 'stuck' on this one for the next five years ;) I was feeling "epic" when I started this, I hope I did the scene justice. In any case, I'm having much fun illustrating your stories, as they are always so visual...


You must login () to review.