| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fables of Faramir and Family by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A selection of short pieces mostly written for challenges concerning Faramir and his family and friends.
A Story of Seven by NelyafinweFeanorion General Audiences
One chapter for each son of Fëanor. Based on the seven deadly sins and the seven virtues. A story written for Feanorian...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
The Sudden Pain of Silence by Himring Teen
They had found each other easy to talk to.But then...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Sunrise Over Ivrin by Narya General Audiences
Vignette. Nargothrond's exiled King and his faithful captain share a quiet moment at dawn. Written for B2MeM 2018, Music...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 82
Stories: 1624
Chapters: 8338
Word count: 25195388
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15384
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 15


03/22/18 01:07 am
Thank for the music selection, Ziggy. I will check them out. Haven't listened to much new music recently.
03/18/18 06:50 pm
I like rats! They're very intelligent. And Ziggy, I love Black Rebel Motorcycle Club :D great shout!
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
Shout Archive

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2018 10:38 · For: Take pity

JUst love their expressions, veveco- Legolas looking off in pity and sorrow but Dima's face is wrought with loss- so hard to get that right. She looks like her soul has been wrenched from her chest. Brilliant.

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 12, 2018 23:07 · For: Take pity

This is gorgeous. The pity and sorrow in Legolas's expression, and the raw grief in the woman's is perfect. I love how you can depict the emotion in this scene.

Author's Response: Thank you! Sometimes I think that I should feel bad for actively trying to make "someone" (though fictional) look miserable. But.. the feels !!

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 07, 2017 15:52 · For: The Winged Warrior

Gorgeous! I love the sense of movement and the expression on his face as he plunges from the treetops!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I wanted him to "fly" from the trees, ready to kick some ass :)

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2017 19:15 · For: The Winged Warrior

I love the energy of this and the intensity of his expression. And as always, the textures and depth of colour are amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you! Elladan can be one fierce warrior !

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 30, 2017 16:15 · For: The Silver Queen

Beautiful - I love that she's holding a rose, as a reminder of the rose garden Legolas revives.

Author's Response: Thanks for the comment, and yes, the rose is indeed a direct reference to the garden.

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: December 09, 2016 18:42 · For: Cheers in Haven

Ooh - lovely! You've really captured the spirit of merriment I associate with Haven :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted it to be warm and fun. It took me a while, but I finally finished this one :)

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2016 19:33 · For: Like the Wind

Love this! It's one of my favourite scenes in Arcane Land so it's lovely to see it brought to life here. Also 4 naked elves can never be a bad thing :)

Author's Response: You are not the first one to tell me that. It's also one of my favourite moments, and I wanted to draw something on a light note this time. Naked elves is just bonus I guess :) Thanks for the comment!

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 04, 2015 21:57 · For: Reminiscence

Another wonderful illustration! I love the expression in Legolas's eyes. You can see how the memories haunt him. 

Author's Response: (Very late reply - sorry!) Thank you so much for the kind comment! Yes, Legolas is pretty haunted by the past, but it is also a good motivation to keep fighting I believe. I hope to be able to do another illustration in the coming weeks...

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2014 23:30 · For: Legacy of the Fallen

This is really spectacular in its execution- the expression of bewilderment, the illustration in the book, and as always these sumptuous textures and colours!

Author's Response: Thank you. For this series, I try to keep a good quality in the technique, so it's good to know it works for you. I'll try to keep the level for the next one...

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 19:50 · For: Legacy of the Fallen
Just added this to chapter 6 of AL - how cool does it look!! Thank you so so much - this is a great privilege :)

Author's Response: You're welcome :)

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 19:39 · For: Legacy of the Fallen
Oh my GOD!!!!! Just look at that detail - you put the bracelet on his arm IN - THE - BOOK - I can't believe this!!!


Author's Response: Hehe - you noticed that detail about the book :D I couldn't leave it out, I loved that part (and how it comes back many chapters later!)

Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 12:36 · For: Legacy of the Fallen
Such wonderful illustrations, wow! They are amazing. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks!! I try to improve a bit each time, so it's always nice to have some feedack :)

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 25, 2014 12:34 · For: Legacy of the Fallen

Beautiful! You have an amazing talent for capturing the moment you're illustrating. I hope to see many more :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a bit of a block on this one - it took me nearly 2 months to finish it - but I'm glad the result seems to be up to the expectations.

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: August 26, 2014 9:50 · For: Symbols of lordship
That's beautiful. Look at those colours on his tunic, and his expression is perfect!!! I will be adding this into the chapter this evening, straight after work :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I really wanted to focus on the face for once (after the big background of the previous one...)

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2014 10:21 · For: Beyond the fortress

Oh wow!!! This is one of your best Veveco. Sumptuous. And a gloriously lovely Elladan - just how I imagine him.

Author's Response: Thanks - I'm really glad that you approve of "my" Elladan !

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: July 19, 2014 18:24 · For: Beyond the fortress
Oh - that - is beautiful! It is just as I imagined it !!! And I love Elladan here, his hair, the color of his tunic -this has to be one of my favourites!! Going to insert it right now :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad I got the wood right, because it took me quite some work. Background is still a challenge for me, but I like to think I improved my skills with this ongoing project. Elladan's clothes are in fact the same as the ones in chapter 2 (with one less layer). If I may say so, it is one of my personal favorites as well :)

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 02, 2014 13:10 · For: The foremost elves of the Greenwood

Yum! I love Thranduil's strength here :)

Author's Response: The king is no delicate flower, that's for sure :)

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2014 22:22 · For: The foremost elves of the Greenwood
This is fantastic. You have captured Thranduil's attire to perfection - I LOVE the skirt - seriously:)

Author's Response: The power of elves in skirts is without equal ;)

Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: April 27, 2014 5:24 · For: The Price of Protection
What an absolutely beautiful picture! You depict elves so well, they have become the pictures that come to my mind when I am reading other stories.

Author's Response: Oh, that's a *very* nice compliment - thank you!

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 19:54 · For: The Price of Protection
Lovely picture and grouping, Veveco :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! A review is always appreciated ;)

Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 19:46 · For: The Price of Protection

This is a really beautiful piece.  It's so full of life and vibrant colors.  I keep coming back to look at to because there's so much to soak up!  There's something about Elladan that I like, maybe his posture, his expression?  I can't quite put my finger on what it is, only that you did an excellent job on him.  His Noldorin heritage is strongly apparent here from everything to the way he's dressed to the darkness of his hair.  I think that highlighted difference complements the snippet of story very nicely.

Author's Response: Thank you. I took my time for each character, so it is rewarding that someone would spend time to look more at the details... Alpha Ori's stories are always very rich visually, with strong contrasts between the different cultures, so it is obviously an inspiration. And I'm glad you like Elladan the way he is here - he has always been one of my favorite characters in fanfictions!

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 26, 2014 18:37 · For: The Price of Protection
Oh I really love this one. Look at Elladan - he is wonderfull, and the kids!! Oh I really have to get this up now.

Thank you so much!

Author's Response: A little confession: I have a bit of a soft spot for Elladan, so I had to give him a nice rendering. I changed his face about a thousand times before I finally got it right. Thank you for the comment!

Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: April 13, 2014 1:31 · For: Back to Greenwod
Oh my goodness!!! a new series, this is wonderful. just look at Glorfinel... Absolutely glorious. And Legolas' green eyes. i love this, and feel so privileged to be able to illustrate my stories with your wonderful art.

OOps, now I have to go to chapter pne and correct those typos!!

Author's Response: Yes, a new series... though considering the number of chapters in Arcane Land I might be 'stuck' on this one for the next five years ;) I was feeling "epic" when I started this, I hope I did the scene justice. In any case, I'm having much fun illustrating your stories, as they are always so visual...

You must login () to review.