| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13823
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
Shout Archive



Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2014 22:43 · For: Chapter 1
ah, this is great; such menace. Although I have to say I instantly thought it was Maedhros before reading the descrption, not sure why. Think it's fabulous though


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2014 3:38 · For: Chapter 1

I really like the angel of this one, the way we're looking at Celegorm down the length of his blade.  Also, the way his face is half covered gives him a very dangerous edge that conveys the feel I think you're going for nicely.  I agree with you that Feanorion forging would be superior to any other Elf's (expecting Eol's sword forging), and you point about these more advanced weapons in the hands of the Fenaorions' superior swordsmanship hands is a good one that would indeed be terrifying (and leaves me wondering, yet again, what the hell Dior was thinking lol!)



Author's Response: I have honestly no idea what Dior was thinking. I put it down to the remaining Lords of Doriath, who rule the Kingdom now Thingol and Melian are gone. Celegorm is such an interesting figure, he lost many of his people, when Doriath refused to help, he had a run in with Luthien and leads a lifestyle that fits the Nandor the most. Enough reasons to stir up an attack and he lived in that part long enough to get pleasure of 'finally' setting a foot over the accursed treshold. Thanks for your review.


Name: Lifes Pilgrim (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2014 2:20 · For: Chapter 1
This is awesome. It's hard to get the details correct in perspective drawings, especially one at such a steep angle, but you did a great job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I admit that I have no idea of the proportions are right, since the angle makes it hard to guess. But as soon as I saw the reference picture, I knew I wanted to draw a Feanorian with this motive.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2014 22:25 · For: Chapter 1

This is really fabulous, mangacrack! The texture is velvety but oh, the fear, the intensity of his look and no mistaking the intention.



Author's Response: I agree the fabric of his clothes is a bit soft for a warrior, but Celegorm is a hunter as well. Everything he wears, he has killed himself. Thanks fpr the review.


You must login () to review.