| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. The story of how the black arrow that killed Smaug came to Bard. 'Black...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1548
Chapters: 7885
Word count: 23415092
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13814
Reviewers: 211
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:04 am
I'm bad at keeping up w tv, but I support anything that inspires you to write eomer more, ziggy!
curiouswombat
03/18/17 01:07 am
Oh - please do...
ziggy
03/17/17 11:53 pm
Yes- that is EXACTLY right!! I might have to write Eomer a bit more:)
curiouswombat
03/17/17 11:02 pm
Ziggy - I keep wanting to pinch the characters and turn them into Rohirrim....
Spiced Wine
03/17/17 10:14 pm
I don't actually watch t.v. I'm afraid, not through any snotyy moral superiority, but since Kev got a huge curved screen it makes me dizzy :/
Shout Archive


Reviews For Where Is Love?

Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2014 3:15 · For: Where Is Love?
What a lovely story! I love Haldirin, and I thoroughly enjoyed the original story of Tharh


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2014 20:14 · For: Where Is Love?

This was so sweet! :-)

I love how your writing really changes when you change POV. It really brings the different personalities to life.



Author's Response:

Thank you - and I'm so pleased that the chagne of style with the change of character works for you.



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 21:29 · For: Where Is Love?
Absolutely lovely. I love the fairy-tale style this story has - true story-telling in an almost traditional sense. I do like the way you write Frodo here. Sad and distant - lost in memories but young again when he is with the elfling.

A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I'm glad that you like that fairy-tale feeling. 

It seemed to me that Frodo would feel very alone once Bilbo died of ld age, which he surely would - a hobbit without family simply couldn't be a happy hobbit, and I don't think he had any way of knowing, then, that Sam would join him eventually.  So it seemed right to give him a 'son of his heart', just as he had been that to Bilbo.  I'm really pleased that other people think this works, too.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 18:49 · For: Where Is Love?
I remember reading of Haldirian finding the winter elfling when I was reading through the Returnverse series. This is a wonderful tale of an orphan finding his family, even though it may not be his biological or even species specific family. It rather reminds me of Oliver.

I like your characterization of Frodo here, the lonely hobbit who has given up on life until he find another person who needs his help. He will be very good for Tharhiwon by giving him the love and family that the young elf needs.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so pleased that you could see why I chose that song from Oliver as a title!

I really do think Frodo would have felt very lost in the Undying Lands when Bilbo actually did die anyway - a hobbit without a family is a very sad hobbit, i think.  Bilbo, even in retirement in Rivendell, knew he could see other hobbits again without too much difficuly if he wished - and did, eventually.  But in Valinor Frodo would have had no such hope - I'm sure he didn't really know that Sam would follow him in the end.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 17:57 · For: Where Is Love?

Lovely, Curious! I'd forgotten about this sad elf lying but I really enjoyed this explanation of what happened when he arrived in Valinor. Now I'm wondering about his real parents. Will they ever be reunited?



Author's Response:

Thank you, i'm so pleased that you liked it.

I don't think he is likely to be reunited with his birth parents - if Lord Námo doesn't know where they are I fear they are permanently lost.  Oddly, though, I don't think, even in adulthood, that it will bother him much; he sees Frodo as his father, and has also been swept back up by Tindómë and Rumil and gathered into their family.  He has also seen the, rather difficult, relationship between Rumil and Orophin and their mother, who remembers them only as small elflings, and may well think he is happier as he is!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 16:21 · For: Where Is Love?

This should have been posted for Christmas, curious- it has that lovely blend of poor little orphan elfing, unhappy hobbit, and a perfect ending where everyone is happy and its Christmas. Every thing ticked and worked ot perfection- full of layers and nostalgia and sweetness that is just right. Of course I knew the ending becuase you have Tharhiwon living with Frodo in VT but even so, it is such a delight to read this.



Author's Response:

**This should have been posted for Christmas, **

The prompts covered the whole year, but B2ME month is always March - and I couldn't bear to just sit on it and wait until Christmas, befre posting it elsewhere, even though that would have been logical!

I hace to admit that I really rather enjoyed going back to this point to look at what happened between the last chapter of Winter Garden and the epilogue.

 

 

 

 



You must login () to review.