| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Where Is Love?

Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2014 3:15 · For: Where Is Love?
What a lovely story! I love Haldirin, and I thoroughly enjoyed the original story of Tharh


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2014 20:14 · For: Where Is Love?

This was so sweet! :-)

I love how your writing really changes when you change POV. It really brings the different personalities to life.



Author's Response:

Thank you - and I'm so pleased that the chagne of style with the change of character works for you.



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 21:29 · For: Where Is Love?
Absolutely lovely. I love the fairy-tale style this story has - true story-telling in an almost traditional sense. I do like the way you write Frodo here. Sad and distant - lost in memories but young again when he is with the elfling.

A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I'm glad that you like that fairy-tale feeling. 

It seemed to me that Frodo would feel very alone once Bilbo died of ld age, which he surely would - a hobbit without family simply couldn't be a happy hobbit, and I don't think he had any way of knowing, then, that Sam would join him eventually.  So it seemed right to give him a 'son of his heart', just as he had been that to Bilbo.  I'm really pleased that other people think this works, too.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 18:49 · For: Where Is Love?
I remember reading of Haldirian finding the winter elfling when I was reading through the Returnverse series. This is a wonderful tale of an orphan finding his family, even though it may not be his biological or even species specific family. It rather reminds me of Oliver.

I like your characterization of Frodo here, the lonely hobbit who has given up on life until he find another person who needs his help. He will be very good for Tharhiwon by giving him the love and family that the young elf needs.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so pleased that you could see why I chose that song from Oliver as a title!

I really do think Frodo would have felt very lost in the Undying Lands when Bilbo actually did die anyway - a hobbit without a family is a very sad hobbit, i think.  Bilbo, even in retirement in Rivendell, knew he could see other hobbits again without too much difficuly if he wished - and did, eventually.  But in Valinor Frodo would have had no such hope - I'm sure he didn't really know that Sam would follow him in the end.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 17:57 · For: Where Is Love?

Lovely, Curious! I'd forgotten about this sad elf lying but I really enjoyed this explanation of what happened when he arrived in Valinor. Now I'm wondering about his real parents. Will they ever be reunited?



Author's Response:

Thank you, i'm so pleased that you liked it.

I don't think he is likely to be reunited with his birth parents - if Lord Námo doesn't know where they are I fear they are permanently lost.  Oddly, though, I don't think, even in adulthood, that it will bother him much; he sees Frodo as his father, and has also been swept back up by Tindómë and Rumil and gathered into their family.  He has also seen the, rather difficult, relationship between Rumil and Orophin and their mother, who remembers them only as small elflings, and may well think he is happier as he is!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 16:21 · For: Where Is Love?

This should have been posted for Christmas, curious- it has that lovely blend of poor little orphan elfing, unhappy hobbit, and a perfect ending where everyone is happy and its Christmas. Every thing ticked and worked ot perfection- full of layers and nostalgia and sweetness that is just right. Of course I knew the ending becuase you have Tharhiwon living with Frodo in VT but even so, it is such a delight to read this.



Author's Response:

**This should have been posted for Christmas, **

The prompts covered the whole year, but B2ME month is always March - and I couldn't bear to just sit on it and wait until Christmas, befre posting it elsewhere, even though that would have been logical!

I hace to admit that I really rather enjoyed going back to this point to look at what happened between the last chapter of Winter Garden and the epilogue.

 

 

 

 



You must login () to review.