| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Wolf Luck by arafinwean Mature
(Or, that Finwion Mage AU that is eating my soul)There were things lost on the journey to Aman, history and culture, art...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1592
Chapters: 8169
Word count: 24584232
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14784
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Where Is Love?

Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2014 3:15 · For: Where Is Love?
What a lovely story! I love Haldirin, and I thoroughly enjoyed the original story of Tharh


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2014 20:14 · For: Where Is Love?

This was so sweet! :-)

I love how your writing really changes when you change POV. It really brings the different personalities to life.



Author's Response:

Thank you - and I'm so pleased that the chagne of style with the change of character works for you.



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 21:29 · For: Where Is Love?
Absolutely lovely. I love the fairy-tale style this story has - true story-telling in an almost traditional sense. I do like the way you write Frodo here. Sad and distant - lost in memories but young again when he is with the elfling.

A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I'm glad that you like that fairy-tale feeling. 

It seemed to me that Frodo would feel very alone once Bilbo died of ld age, which he surely would - a hobbit without family simply couldn't be a happy hobbit, and I don't think he had any way of knowing, then, that Sam would join him eventually.  So it seemed right to give him a 'son of his heart', just as he had been that to Bilbo.  I'm really pleased that other people think this works, too.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 18:49 · For: Where Is Love?
I remember reading of Haldirian finding the winter elfling when I was reading through the Returnverse series. This is a wonderful tale of an orphan finding his family, even though it may not be his biological or even species specific family. It rather reminds me of Oliver.

I like your characterization of Frodo here, the lonely hobbit who has given up on life until he find another person who needs his help. He will be very good for Tharhiwon by giving him the love and family that the young elf needs.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so pleased that you could see why I chose that song from Oliver as a title!

I really do think Frodo would have felt very lost in the Undying Lands when Bilbo actually did die anyway - a hobbit without a family is a very sad hobbit, i think.  Bilbo, even in retirement in Rivendell, knew he could see other hobbits again without too much difficuly if he wished - and did, eventually.  But in Valinor Frodo would have had no such hope - I'm sure he didn't really know that Sam would follow him in the end.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 17:57 · For: Where Is Love?

Lovely, Curious! I'd forgotten about this sad elf lying but I really enjoyed this explanation of what happened when he arrived in Valinor. Now I'm wondering about his real parents. Will they ever be reunited?



Author's Response:

Thank you, i'm so pleased that you liked it.

I don't think he is likely to be reunited with his birth parents - if Lord Námo doesn't know where they are I fear they are permanently lost.  Oddly, though, I don't think, even in adulthood, that it will bother him much; he sees Frodo as his father, and has also been swept back up by Tindómë and Rumil and gathered into their family.  He has also seen the, rather difficult, relationship between Rumil and Orophin and their mother, who remembers them only as small elflings, and may well think he is happier as he is!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 16:21 · For: Where Is Love?

This should have been posted for Christmas, curious- it has that lovely blend of poor little orphan elfing, unhappy hobbit, and a perfect ending where everyone is happy and its Christmas. Every thing ticked and worked ot perfection- full of layers and nostalgia and sweetness that is just right. Of course I knew the ending becuase you have Tharhiwon living with Frodo in VT but even so, it is such a delight to read this.



Author's Response:

**This should have been posted for Christmas, **

The prompts covered the whole year, but B2ME month is always March - and I couldn't bear to just sit on it and wait until Christmas, befre posting it elsewhere, even though that would have been logical!

I hace to admit that I really rather enjoyed going back to this point to look at what happened between the last chapter of Winter Garden and the epilogue.

 

 

 

 



You must login () to review.