| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
A Last Conversation by cheekybeak General Audiences
Sometimes the best you can do for those you love is to leave them. Aragorn must find the strength to say goodbye.
Friendship Amidst Loss by KimicThranduilion Teen
When Legolas and his troop become targets for slave traders tragedy strikes and the Prince suffers a devastating loss after...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story. Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 79
Stories: 1563
Chapters: 7955
Word count: 23640387
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14051
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
05/29/17 01:26 pm
Encairion! You're back!! I thought we'd lost you in drowned Beleriand:)
Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Shout Archive


Reviews For Where Is Love?

Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: August 02, 2014 3:15 · For: Where Is Love?
What a lovely story! I love Haldirin, and I thoroughly enjoyed the original story of Tharh


Name: Ndil (Signed) · Date: March 27, 2014 20:14 · For: Where Is Love?

This was so sweet! :-)

I love how your writing really changes when you change POV. It really brings the different personalities to life.



Author's Response:

Thank you - and I'm so pleased that the chagne of style with the change of character works for you.



Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 21:29 · For: Where Is Love?
Absolutely lovely. I love the fairy-tale style this story has - true story-telling in an almost traditional sense. I do like the way you write Frodo here. Sad and distant - lost in memories but young again when he is with the elfling.

A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I'm glad that you like that fairy-tale feeling. 

It seemed to me that Frodo would feel very alone once Bilbo died of ld age, which he surely would - a hobbit without family simply couldn't be a happy hobbit, and I don't think he had any way of knowing, then, that Sam would join him eventually.  So it seemed right to give him a 'son of his heart', just as he had been that to Bilbo.  I'm really pleased that other people think this works, too.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 18:49 · For: Where Is Love?
I remember reading of Haldirian finding the winter elfling when I was reading through the Returnverse series. This is a wonderful tale of an orphan finding his family, even though it may not be his biological or even species specific family. It rather reminds me of Oliver.

I like your characterization of Frodo here, the lonely hobbit who has given up on life until he find another person who needs his help. He will be very good for Tharhiwon by giving him the love and family that the young elf needs.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so pleased that you could see why I chose that song from Oliver as a title!

I really do think Frodo would have felt very lost in the Undying Lands when Bilbo actually did die anyway - a hobbit without a family is a very sad hobbit, i think.  Bilbo, even in retirement in Rivendell, knew he could see other hobbits again without too much difficuly if he wished - and did, eventually.  But in Valinor Frodo would have had no such hope - I'm sure he didn't really know that Sam would follow him in the end.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 17:57 · For: Where Is Love?

Lovely, Curious! I'd forgotten about this sad elf lying but I really enjoyed this explanation of what happened when he arrived in Valinor. Now I'm wondering about his real parents. Will they ever be reunited?



Author's Response:

Thank you, i'm so pleased that you liked it.

I don't think he is likely to be reunited with his birth parents - if Lord Námo doesn't know where they are I fear they are permanently lost.  Oddly, though, I don't think, even in adulthood, that it will bother him much; he sees Frodo as his father, and has also been swept back up by Tindómë and Rumil and gathered into their family.  He has also seen the, rather difficult, relationship between Rumil and Orophin and their mother, who remembers them only as small elflings, and may well think he is happier as he is!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2014 16:21 · For: Where Is Love?

This should have been posted for Christmas, curious- it has that lovely blend of poor little orphan elfing, unhappy hobbit, and a perfect ending where everyone is happy and its Christmas. Every thing ticked and worked ot perfection- full of layers and nostalgia and sweetness that is just right. Of course I knew the ending becuase you have Tharhiwon living with Frodo in VT but even so, it is such a delight to read this.



Author's Response:

**This should have been posted for Christmas, **

The prompts covered the whole year, but B2ME month is always March - and I couldn't bear to just sit on it and wait until Christmas, befre posting it elsewhere, even though that would have been logical!

I hace to admit that I really rather enjoyed going back to this point to look at what happened between the last chapter of Winter Garden and the epilogue.

 

 

 

 



You must login () to review.