| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13823
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
Shout Archive


Reviews For Feanorian Week

Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2014 3:26 · For: The End

This is sweet, and tender, and leaves me wanting to cradle a Fëanorion soul like this too!  Brilliant work here.  I can easily see your Námo holding them like this.  The light of their souls set against that dark background is just perfect.  It’s not only pleasing to the eye, but highlights the burring of their fëa.



Author's Response: I saw a picture like this regarding another personifcation of Death once and knew I wanted N


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2014 3:26 · For: Ambarussa

This is the most stunning picture in this series yet!  The lines are pure elegance, and the shock of Amarussa’ hair, the only spot of bright color in the piece, is glorious.  My eyes love that red set against the grays and blacks, and the muted colors of the rest of the pieces really gives this an air of mourning which is so appropriate.  I can’t stop looking at this!



Author's Response: Ambarussa is a person that I needed to portrait different than the usal "younger brothers, the twins". There's not much know about them, but theoretically they governed (protecting is perhaps the better word) a realm larger than Finrod's. They deserved an ending with dignity.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 12, 2014 21:37 · For: Curufin

Feanor does look seriously unimpressed lol!  What is Curufin thinking pulling a sword on his father?  Oh Curufin.  I love the personality that shines through your work; I can really get a feel for how you see these characters.



Author's Response: The drawing got a little bit out of hand. It's a kitchen knife and Curufin is ranting at his father that it's quality succeeds most what stupid Vanyar / Teleri (and Silvan) elves can produce. That Feanor is so relaxed about it, is an accident. He was supposed to be amused, but his "Well, duh ... hurry up." expression is even better.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2014 1:35 · For: Caranthir

Ha! I could totally see them going at it like this!  There's no way Haleth would back down in the face of an angry Elf Lord, not with all the sass that girl's got :D

I love the fur on Haleth's outfit!  That looks really difficult to do.  Very impressive.  It almost looks like Haleth is wearing a pair of baggy-legged trousers at the bottom, its probably a dress, but I like the idea of her wearing pants for all occasion.  Very practical of her :D



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2014 2:43 · For: Celegorm

How I wish Maeglin had become Celegrom's step-son!  That would have been beautiful.  I love the emotion in this piece, and the simple words 'stay safe' which are enough to undo me since I totally see this as a meeting of Ardhel and Celegrom on her way back to Gondolin (why must I choose the tragic choice lol!)

I really like this one :D



Author's Response: Celegorm is just heartbreaking in regards Aredhel. Maeglin would have had a better life, had she stayed. Instead she chooses to return to Gondolin, something I have never understood. And since it's Celegorm I think he is a bit touchy-feely? People with animals tend to touch more than others.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 05, 2014 23:10 · For: Maglor

Aww!  A laughing Maglor, that's good to see!  I wonder if it's a laugher tinged with hysteria given the quote.  Do you see him as a bit of a minder of his brothers? 

I think drawing laughing or smiling people is incredibly hard, and I think you did a great job on this :D



Author's Response: You are right, it took ages to get the shape right. Open mouth laughting isn't something that you usually see on people. Maglor is deep in denial here. Perhaps because otherwise he would double over crying and never stand up again.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 05, 2014 4:35 · For: Maedhros

I could totally see Curufin getting so aggravating he provoked a reaction out of Maedhros lol!  I think I like how this shows a side of Maedhros where he's not in perfect control of himself.  Thanks for the treat of your work :D



Author's Response: I guess even Maedhros' patience is limited. Perhaps he collects blackmail material, but for his family he needs to be direct. But I can see Curufin provoking his brother to prove he isn't a frail wimp and has no excuse for staying in bed, when he can easily lift annoying brothers. His way of caring, twisted as it is :)


You must login () to review.