| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Wolf Luck by arafinwean Mature
(Or, that Finwion Mage AU that is eating my soul)There were things lost on the journey to Aman, history and culture, art...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1593
Chapters: 8169
Word count: 24580612
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14784
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive


Reviews For ~ Dark God ~

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 14, 2017 12:29 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Beauty Of The Soul ~

Even reading this again, the moment he calls her Vanya makes me cry.



Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 20:22 · For: Chapter 38 ~ Twilight Of A God ~

This was glorious, magnificent and so heartbreakingly sad at the same time, pardon my french but DAMN this was great! Your work is addictive for sure, i have plowed through the last chapters at break neck speed and this story offered so many shocks and surprises and tense moments. I almost fell off my chair when i read about his sister, and the scene in Moria where he seems to be on Saurons side, oh my, i almost believed tha the had turned to "the dark side". The end was wonderful, but so bittersweet. I am going to read the rest of your work as well, you are so talented. Thanks for posting these great tales, the mark of true art is that it makes the reader or viewer think, and your work does that, it does make one think and contemplate the experience. So this is truly art!



Author's Response: Aww, you made me cry! I remember finishing this and feeling like a chewed rag; I was exhausted and sucked dry! It's such a thrill to know some-one reads it years later and likes it! Oh, yes - that Moria bit - for a while *I* wondered if he had turned to the 'dark side', too! I swear I was just hitting the keys for Vanimr


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2014 6:27 · For: Chapter 38 ~ Twilight Of A God ~
The end of a wonderful, awesome story. This chapter brought me to tears again, but almost satisfyingly so. It is a beautiful chapter, absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing your stories. They have made my life much, much richer. I am going to read your other stories, starting with Anvil of the Gods, or at least the first chapters. I read it first when you had it posted, understand why you took it down. But I love the story, and am glad you were willing to share it with me as well. Thank you!

Author's Response: Oh, you are very kind. I am glad you feel 'enriched' - it was a hard story to write, and at the end I felt drained! Thank-you so much, Mindirith!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2014 6:12 · For: Chapter 37 ~ The End Of Elder Earth ~
A very ominous chapter. It invoked a sense of awe, very final, but also of a new beginning. I am almost left stunned, even if I did know it was coming...

Author's Response: It invoked a sense of awe, very final, but also of a new beginning. I am almost left stunned, even if I did know it was coming...

I am really glad it id! Thank-you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2014 5:19 · For: Chapter 36 ~ When The Stars Fall ~
And this is obviously the beginning of the end. How wonderful, that Balrant is getting saved, and is of Elendils line. Unfortunately, Dinalagos is a character that is only too easy to imagine. Very interesting chapter. I actually enjoyed it, while I was thinking I was going to dislike the end. Thank you for showing me wrong.

Author's Response: Dinalagos is a character that is only too easy to imagine

I have known people like him, unfortunately!

I must write about Balrant, in fact, although the threads for that have yet to be picked up, as currently, Arwen is only just pregnant with Eldarion.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2014 4:21 · For: Chapter 35 ~ Afterglow And Sunset ~
A very sad chapter in its own right. Clearly the beginning of the end. I am glad that Arwen regained sanity at the end, and in some way reconciled with Elgalad. And that Elgalad could be there for Arwen, as he had not been able to do for Vanya. Hard to believe that this tumultuous part is almost finished...

Author's Response: Hard to believe that this tumultuous part is almost finished...



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 19, 2014 0:26 · For: Chapter 34 ~ The Rising Of New Stars ~
Apparently all is well again between Vanimore and Elgalad? I know he loves him, but it seems like he has gotten over the betrayal quite easily. The end had so much peace in it, especially after the tumultuous wedding stuff. I am glad Elgalad and Van are back together, because as Elgalad said, he was born for Vanimore, whether the later will accept this or not...

Author's Response: I think you come to a point when you just give up and don't fight the inevitable. Although this is not over yet!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 23:34 · For: Chapter 33 ~ Bitter Enmity ~
A very ... exciting chapter! I knew somehow Arwen would try to exact revenge. I suppose not surprising she would attack quiet, peaceful Elgalad. Kikinu definitely sounds like she will be a match to Eldarion in het own way. He had better be careful! Wonderful amount of tension in this chapter.

Author's Response: Well, Kikinu kind of deserves a story of her own, as she is a member of the Tong, and actually the one who killed her father - Van knows that, and was referring to it. So, she's pretty much a match for most people. I think - or rather know - that she and Eldarion will be very happy together. And yes, this was why Van followed Elgalad. He can take anything any-one throws at him, but Elgalad, in his state of mind is vulnerable.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 23:10 · For: Chapter 32 ~ Obsidian And Alabaster ~
Poor Elgalad! But what a wonderful description of the festivities! I love the richness, the excessiveness. I could totally feel the confusion, the desire, the uncertainty, the hurt within Elgalad. That would be a very difficult situation to be put into. Of course if I do understand, he kind of did it to himself. :) And having the Emperor sitting right next to him does not help either. I wonder what Gil and Tindomion were talking to him about. And what game is Van playing, following Elgalad so closely?

Author's Response: I love the richness, the excessiveness

I'm so glad. It was quite an occasion!

And what game is Van playing, following Elgalad so closely?

I suspect he knows that he is hated, and any-one close to him, by Arwen, and so his protective instincts kicked it.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 21:00 · For: Chapter 31 ~ The Stars Of Imladris ~
Poor Elgalad, my heart bleeds for him. You wrote his resignation so powerful! I can just see him sitting there, lonely but not alone. I am glad he finds some happiness with the twins, Gil an Tindomion, but we all know that is not enough. And Van, fighting with Feanor to assuage his jealousy... LOL Maglor and Eldarion alone are obviously not enough.... I thought Van would leave him alone in Imladris, but obviously has been eaves dropping....

Author's Response: Well, I don't think he has been eavesdropping, he's just jealous, and his imagination is quite adequate enough to supply his mind with the details. :


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 20:23 · For: Chapter 30 ~ Dark Light ~
Oh, the dreadful effects of an addiction. If I sit next to my computer, I just have to know how Van, and right now especially Elgalad are doing. Even if I was intending on doing something different. Blast Vanimore, and his desire to *teach* Elgalad he can do without him... He is going to kill the poor thing, and Elgalad will probably be too stubborn to allow the twins to summon Vanimore...

Author's Response: Oh, Elgalad won't ask the twins, no. Aaah, I am sorry, lol!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 19:52 · For: Chapter 29 ~ A Poignant Freedom ~
You actually made me cry this time. The last 2 parts of this chapter are just too sad!

*Is this it? Have I finally driven thee away. Can I indeed change fate?* - Does Van realize this would kill Elgalad as surely as Vanimore*s loving him? And a lot more cruelly! I want to beat Van up right now, for hurting Vanya, for hurting Elgalad.

*Sorrow enwrapped him, a yearning for something lost all his life. He did not know what it was, could forget it when he was with Vanim


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 19:37 · For: Chapter 28 ~ Bitter Justification ~
You know, in some ways I understand why Van did what he did, but I understand Elgalad*s reaction a whole lot more. I am sure Van thinks that this is not the time to argue or try to make up with Elgalad, but I think he is wrong... Poor Elgalad, he must feel so terribly betrayed. I do not like Vanimore and his idea that some people are expendable for the greater good. He killed so many because of his little game, it must have done damage to him too. Poor Elgalad, after his long, long life is just now discovering what hate is, how close to love it is, and that powerful great love can turn into deep, bitter hate. I wonder how Van thinks he can fix this...

Author's Response: Van thinks it would be ebtter ultimately if Elgalad did hate him - and really always has.
Yes, I think this belief that some people are expendable is a result of power, as being a god-Emperor. He knows this himself, deep down, that he's sliding down.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 19:18 · For: Chapter 27 ~ It Seems I Win This Game ~
This such an action packed chapter, and emotional rollercoaster... I noticed there was basically no description of Elgalad and his response. I would guess the last will not have been said about this. Have I mentioned I am loving the story, recently? Thank you!

Author's Response: No, the last has not been said -- yet. :) And thank-you so very much.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 18:59 · For: Chapter 26 ~ Chasms Of The Heart ~
Such a dreadful, awesome chapter. Van probably quite literally broke Elgalad*s heart just now. The desperation of the elf party, so poignant. Elgalad had already given up home to see Van again, and when he did it was like that. I am surprised they did not manage to hurt or kill him right then. And Gil an Tindomion in the second age, such a sweet, painful scene. Awesome!

Author's Response: Thank-you, awesome and dreadful - it was supposed to be :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 17:57 · For: Chapter 25 ~ Starfire In Darkness ~
Really? Vanimore voluntarily submits to Sauron? And why did he not kill him when he discovered him? To get to Ungoliant? *''We are not running, my lord,'' the prince corrected. ''We are...regrouping.''*I love this line. It is Eldarion, I believe, and it shows he fully understands Feanor... LOL Now, for Vanimore, to be playing so with the lives of the elves, that really kind of bothers me. But then I guess he does have a dark side, Morgoth and Sauron did raise him to be fully evil, and while that failed, he certainly has that upbringing. Does he realize what this betrayal might do to Elgalad? Especially so soon after he had to *service* Sauron? Yes, Elgalad is strong, but he is also all love, and this might just crush him... I loved the battle scene, looking forward to the next chapter, but need to feed and put to sleep my 2 little girls first... How annoying, RL just keeps interfering with my Vanimore addiction....

Author's Response: Really? Vanimore voluntarily submits to Sauron? And why did he not kill him when he discovered him? To get to Ungoliant?

Not really - there's more going on here than meets the eye, at least immediately. :)

Now, for Vanimore, to be playing so with the lives of the elves, that really kind of bothers me.

Rather, he chooses to trust that no harm will come to them.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 16:32 · For: Chapter 24 ~ Mind-Mazes ~
I vaguely remember this supposed betrayal of Vanimore. I will have to read the rest though, to figure out what happened. I remember last time I was really pissed that he betrayed the soldiers. They did not have to die, he could have just let them go on. Poor Elgalad, he is just now starting to think beyond his capture, and conversely about all that happened while he was captured. I feel like I may sound like a broken record, and if so, my apologies. I am very impressed by how you make the feelings come out in the story. In this chapter you just feel the oppressive darkness, the frustration of the followers.

Author's Response: Thank-you! If the emotions of the characters and the story itself are coming through, then I must be doing something right - on this story anyhow! :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 4:11 · For: Chapter 23 ~ A Path Of Greater Darkness ~
Oh, this was such a wonderful chapter. Still full of rage, but so much lighter. Elgalad survived (I was almost certain he would, I think it would have killed Van if he had not...) And Ungoliant is gone for now. Now, I hope Sauron has not done too much harm to the rest of the party.... I will have to wait until tomorrow though, too much to do... :( But Tomorrow, tomorrow I will feed my Vanimore addiction again! :D

Author's Response: I thought that chapter might make up a bit for the ones before it :) Thank-you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 1:55 · For: Chapter 22 ~ If It Was Not Love, It Was Close Enough ~
Go Eldarion! Wants to go hunt with the elves, I love it! And Elgalad, finally deciding Vanya can not be hurt by Sauron, decides to take his own life. So sad, but so awesome and wonderful, assuming Sauron does not somehow get him out and revive him... I so want to read the next chapter, but I need to put three little kids to bed in the next few minute. Maybe later tonight... Loved the chapter, even if the content definitely makes me sad... :)

Author's Response: Thank-you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2014 0:30 · For: Chapter 21 ~ Dark Hungers ~
Vanimore and his party are completely blind, and Sauron is forcing Elgalad, poor, loving Elgalad to do awful things. Your comment made me think I might want to read quickly further, that it would get better soon.... Maybe I need to read even quicker? :D The frustration and the revulsion come through so well!

Author's Response: Well, it took a couple of chapters for things to get better :) Thank-you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2014 21:24 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Not This Time, Father! ~
Oy, lets hope the Cathaians do not take too much offense to his sudden departure. The last thing Vanimore needs right now is a war in addition to trying to safe Elgalad. A very interesting chapter, between the civility of the new ambassador and the brutality of Sauron, it goes from one extreme to another. And Feanor and Maglor are going after Sauron as well. If any of them manage to find him, he may be in serious trouble!

Author's Response: The Cathaians are very civilised, though he may have to soothe some ruffled feathers :)

I hope you enjoy the next chapters, as I cannot say much without giving the plot away!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2014 0:08 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Rise Of Empire ~
Luthien was mentioned later, as being the one who waited at the door for Vanya, but I must have missed the fact that the lady at the door was the same lady as the one that guided the elves to the house. Thanks!

Author's Response: No worries :) Thank-you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2014 16:48 · For: Chapter 19 ~ Come Home ~
Such a sad and amazing chapter. The scene where Vanya dies is absolutely beautiful. And at the same time such a pointed reminder of what awful things have happened to her before she was even born. Who was the lady leading them to the house? And Sauron, still able to threaten Vanya harm, and thus cowing Elgalad. Such an awful situation you created here. Ironically, great job! :D

Author's Response: Ironically, great job! :D

Thank-you! The lady was L


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2014 16:21 · For: Chapter 18 ~ In The Shadow Of Darkness ~
I glanced down this chapter last night, and just could not read it. I knew I had to read more, to make the sadness pass. This is such a sad chapter. I can not believe that Sauron would hide right next to Vanimore, and that Ungoliant would be able to hid him completely from a god. But such the story goes. So sad, Vanya is such a wonderful person, at least as selfless as Elgalad. At least she will not suffer too much longer.

Author's Response: There are some chapters I still can't easily read myself, Mindirith :(


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2014 4:25 · For: Chapter 17 ~
Van invited himself as a present? What an awesome birthday party! I want one of those too! LOL

Author's Response: Van invited himself as a present? What an awesome birthday party! I want one of those too! LOL

LOLOL. :D


You must login () to review.