| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7887
Word count: 23421577
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13822
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Spiced Wine
03/20/17 10:15 am
I was a very quiet student, easily cowed and very much a loner, nevertheless I was a good student, but he was not a nice teacher :(
Ysilme
03/19/17 03:00 pm
Spiced, what a horrible experience about that teacher! That would drive anybody off the subject, I'd imagine.
Ysilme
03/19/17 02:59 pm
UnnamedElement, my husband has a doctorate in chemistry, so he might be able to help. *g* Just drop me a note through the PM system here, or at LJ or DW (same name).
UnnamedElement
03/18/17 03:05 am
Spiced- how horrible! My friends made fun of my poor attn to detail so Chem and I did not get along either. But no! Can find no handy calculators online. Oh well!
Shout Archive



Name: Mirkwood (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2014 9:01 · For: Prologue
Nice, easy and enjoyable...Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and taking the time to review! :o)



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2014 15:47 · For: Prologue
Wonderful story Winterwitch. Loved the meeting between Gildor and Thranduil and the development of their friendship that you have portrayed here. The description of war and battle is very realistic without being overly gory. Your writing got me involved with Gildor trying to reach his friend in battle and being constantly turned away by battling orcs. I almost cried when I read the part about Gildor carefully kissing the healing burns of Thranduil - accepting the scarring and damage with love and affection. This was good and I hope to see you write more of these stories.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, and for your kind review! *beams* I'm happy to see those things important to me worked for you as well. I'm also glad the battle scene worked; I felt totally out of my depth there.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2014 13:40 · For: Epilogue
I enjoyed that, Winterwitch. It is the first story I have read about Thranduil's scarring in the film.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :o) (It also blows my mind how fast you were - I didn't manage more than two stories from the exchange yet since yesterday morning, and they have less word count combined... *faints*)

That scene with Thranduil intrigued me extremely in the film, mainly because I asked myself what this was supposed to be, as it made no sense him still having an injury of this "newness" for lack of a better worth, even if it had happened sometime in the third age. And  even if he had - that "disguising" thing didn't make any sense as well. So I decided it must be a memory he either shows to the movie watcher or just for himself. A plotbunny resulted, inspired by this scene but otherwise rooted in book canon, and it happened to fit perfectly to the request of my recipient.

There is a bunch of fic or art out there related to the scars and/or the blind eye and even more, which I found when I searched for the disguising question, but mostly movie canon and often also drawing in non-Tolkien lore, likge generic fantasy magic in elves explainting that film scene. I rather wanted to try a more canon-based version.



You must login () to review.