| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
Time Present, Time Future by Narya Teen
In Valinor, FindarŠto has a vision and Tyelkormo tries to comfort him. Fluff, friendship and foreshadowing. Rated Teen...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1614
Chapters: 8297
Word count: 25075975
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15284
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 14
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
02/18/18 06:09 pm
Have a wonderful day, Naledi :)
Glorfindel
02/18/18 05:31 pm
Happy Birthday. Naledi!
Spiced Wine
02/18/18 01:15 pm
Many Happy Returns, Naledi :)
Spiced Wine
02/18/18 01:15 pm
Many Happy Returns, Naledi :)
Gabriel
02/18/18 06:54 am
Happy Birthday, Naledi! Have a brilliant day! :)
Narya
02/16/18 10:17 pm
Have a great holiday, Naledi, and happy birthday for Sunday!
Naledi
02/16/18 10:03 pm
Thanks, Ziggy and Ysilme. My birthday is on Sunday. Iím on holiday at the moment, so not able to check in so often.
Spiced Wine
02/16/18 03:50 pm
Oh, Iím so glad, Glorfindel. It must just have been a glitch
Ysilme
02/16/18 03:41 pm
Happy Birthday, Naledi!
Glorfindel
02/16/18 03:35 pm
Success!!!
Shout Archive


Reviews For ~ Dark Blood ~

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 19:43 · For: Chapter 36 ~ Before The Nightfall Comes ~
I know why thou must die. And when. It fits. Glorfindel, thou wilt have to hold the Haven.

Oh, I see now...I think...

A lovely ending, and you've woven in the openings for a new beginning :) this has been a joy to read, as always!

Author's Response: Narya, I don't know why I did not get these reviews in June, but thank-you very much! Hugs!!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 19:36 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Moth And The Flame ~
Hmm, the site scoffed part of my last review. Well, it wasn't anything desperately important - I was just wondering what Van had seen, but I suppose all will be revealed in due course ;)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 19:32 · For: Chapter 35 ~ Epiphany ~
His expression showed, for a fleeting instant, shock, a shadow of fear before the barriers went up. He accepted the vision, and gently spread his fingers on the child's skull. The eyes, which shone fire-diamond, opened, silently considering him.



We will meet again in years to come, but this... Carefully he placed the vision in the infant mind and walled it off. This thou must know only later. Thou wilt be needed, F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 19:13 · For: Chapter 33 ~ The Prince And The Peredhil ~
"And," Elrohir said. "Elgalad is dying."

:'(

You know how to write a cliffhanger! Can't wait to see how all this knits together :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 19:06 · For: Chapter 32 ~ Of Duty And Desire ~
Ah, Eldarion's arrived - I wonder what new tensions this might cause? And Sathari seems an intriguing customer, though no wonder she's feeling awkward at the moment!!!

Author's Response: I never wrote much about Sathari, but a few years ago, Anwyn was going to write of Aragorn's daughter Gilraen who goes to Tanith, and her life there. I like to leave things that can be written of. :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 18:46 · For: Chapter 30 ~ Storm-rise In The South ~
Oh...poor Elgalad! So close And poor Van, though it often seems like it's Elgalad who suffers most from the nature of their relationship; Van seems able to rationalise it better.

Author's Response: Elgalad does suffer the most - I suppose because of what he is, and *why* he is. :(


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 18:24 · For: Chapter 27 ~ Sorrow And Sweetness ~
*Snorts*

Poor Khanad. I can imagine Van is a difficult house guest!

The funeral was touching, and I'm glad Hamir will have a father figure...and speaking of father figures, the conversation between Fanari and Maglor was brilliant. You're so good at writing these complex, multi-faceted relationships :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 17:58 · For: Chapter 25 ~ Apotheosis ~
Awesome climax there :D who'd have thought, F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 17:49 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Even The Strong Can Weep ~
Something once beautiful looked out of a withered face, and did not understand what the years had done to it.

Fabulous description :) I can see her perfectly.

''Angband...Oh, blessed Eru. Thou art Elf !''

*Jaw drops*

Well, I was way off with my guesses! I guess that's what comes from reading things in the wrong order!!

Mothers looked around, fearfully drawing their offspring close, some men shuffled, older women with hard, pinched faces glared accusingly.

Ugh. Mob mentality. I guess some things never change...

I like the way you handled Yanie's guilt - or rather, lack thereof. It was an interesting and startling glimpse into the human psyche.

''B-B-br-brother. K-kill m-me.''

*Jaw drops again*

Oh, no :'( that's just too sad! But how did she get so withered? Was it because of the torture in Angband?

Note to self: in future, definitely, DEFINITELY read in order!

Author's Response: Vanya's life is still a mystery that I haven't yet written, though I do know it; I think Morgoth cursed her so that she would age and never die, but that is not the whole story; I will get to that in the last one. Thank-you for reading and reviewing, Narya. I will answer the others, but I have vertigo today, and can't sit at the comp for long. Hugs!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 13:48 · For: Chapter 21 ~ Bonfires ~
Ah, I should have guessed Pallando was behind this...will we be seeing anything of Alatar?


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 13:39 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Sleepless ~
Ooh! Intriguing :) I wonder what they're after? And what had spooked the mare? Or had she just heard the riders?


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 09, 2012 13:35 · For: Chapter 19 ~ Powers and Kings ~
*Waves*

Sorry for being quiet for a while - graduation admin and so on! Hope you're feeling better today *hugs*

''What in the bloody Hells art thou doing?'' F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2012 13:39 · For: Chapter 18 ~ Gil-galad, My King ~
''Thank the One it is not F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 21:27 · For: Chapter 17 ~ The Power Of Desire ~
''Your er...friend...?''

Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2012 21:14 · For: Chapter 15 ~ The Fascination Of The Flame ~
And the intrigue continues to build...the old woman is a fascinating character, and Elgalad seems to be growing more and more powerless to resist F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 0:24 · For: Chapter 14 ~ Fell Fires ~
AHHHH!!!! IT'S A BLUE WIZARD!!!

Totally awesome, though I should have figured you'd use them, given where some of these stories are set. But still, major excitement :D

Author's Response: Thank-you Narya; all we really know is the Blue Wizards went east, so because I was over that way it seemed a good idea to use one of them. :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 0:07 · For: Chapter 12 ~ To The Brink Of The Chasm ~
"What in the Hells is happening now?" Maedhros kept his voice low.

''Thy father is happening, Maedhros,'' Glorfindel responded.


Haha. Love it.

You ratchet up the tension brilliantly in this scene - though I really want to slap Curufin! :P

F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2012 22:29 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Magnificent Obsessions ~
Things are going well thanks :) reading and writing fanfic counts as Tolkien revision, right?! ;)

I love that even though Van is darker than before, he hasn't lost his compassion - and of course F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2012 20:02 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Passionate Impasse ~
''No. It was a strange one. On the inside of her wrist. I saw it when her sleeve slipped down. A crown, three jewels in it – black, like iron. An Iron Crown...''

Dramatic drum roll...

I loved the scene with Van and Maglor. You explore the nuances of their mutual attraction and not-so-mutual hatred beautifully.

Author's Response: Dramatic drum roll...

Dun dun duuun!

Sometimes I forget this story, or indeed anything older than a couple of years ago. But this was important. O.o.

You explore the nuances of their mutual attraction and not-so-mutual hatred beautifully.

I do love exploring that :) Thank-you, Narya. Hope all is going well.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2012 19:39 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Well Met, Old Friend ~
Haha, good trick, Van ;)

I always find it so sad when mortals distrust the Elves to such an extent :(

Author's Response: good trick, Van ;)
*Snort*

I think these particular Men would only have filtered-down stories of Elves, unlike the people of Gondor. Even Eomer was rather distrustful of the 'White Lady' and the Rohirrim lived far closer to any Elven settlements.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2012 23:25 · For: Chapter 6 ~ An Ancient Burning ~
''I wanted to feel something...'' He swallowed. ''And I did, and he w-will know I was n-not....unwilling. He was gone, and I t-turned to another; that is wh-what it will seem like. And th-there is truth to it.''

Oh, poor Elgalad. I feel so sorry for him here, but what else could he do? I guess trying to resist F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2012 23:08 · For: Chapter 5 ~ A Change In The Tides ~
“You deliberately disobeyed me, and you placed Anwyn in danger as well!”

Oh ye gods, I don't know if it's because I'm ill and suffering from revision brain but these days when I'm reading I can't seem to help making the most inappropriate associations. This time I was reminded of the scene in The Lion King where Mufasa tells Simba off after the elephant graveyard...

I love that Anwyn isn't afraid to speak her mind, even in front of Imrahil.

Author's Response: Awww, I am sorry to hear you are still feeling poorly Narya, I hope you are better soon. Eeee, you are right! I swear that I was not inspired by that as I have not sat through all all of the Lion King for years and years now but that association is seriously all types of fun. Elphir and Anwyn as Simba and Nala...yep, I can definitely see that. Now I can't help but imagining the rest of my story cast with lions, It's kinda fantastic, lol. I felt that as this point, after that all she has just been through, Anwyn being able to speak her mind to Imrahil would come both very easily and quickly to Anwyn as she knows what they both have been through, Imrahil does not. While of course Anwyn respects Imrahil a great deal, she simply could not just sit back and allow her husband to be shamed when she knows all too well what he has just gone through.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 14, 2012 22:56 · For: Chapter 4 ~ Too Fell, Too Fey ~
'F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2012 23:17 · For: Chapter 3 ~ In Your Arms This Night ~
This is a fantastic chapter :) I like that you didn't have their relationship go back to normal straight away; of course things would change and fluctuate. You wrote the storm brilliantly as well; I felt like I was right there on the deck with them. Love it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Narya, This is a chapter I do remember well as as you picked up on, I really didn't want to have things between them fall back into place like nothing had ever happened as that would be unrealistic. They have been apart for weeks and in that time so much has happened that would just be completely unbelievable. I think the storm in a way was a manifestation of what was being felt between them, the rough feelings and the unsteadiness that everything already established between them felt like it was forged in another lifetime. Thank you so much for the thoughtful review, as always, it means so much.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 12, 2012 15:20 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Moth And The Flame ~
A moth and a flame indeed...I just can't stay away!

This was gorgeous, as always - Elgalad's need, F


You must login () to review.