| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance I by Encairion Explicit
A novella of the House of Finwë from the Darkening of Valinor through the end of the First Age. “Vengeance calls...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Child of Frost by Nuredhel Explicit
ometimes the end is just that, the end. And sometimes it is a new beginning. When a prophecy seemingly seems to be a lie...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8015
Word count: 23948045
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14266
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/27/17 09:41 am
Oh, I am so very sorry to hear about Nightwing. One of the first stories I ever read, and she was also such a lovely person. :(
ziggy
07/26/17 11:37 pm
@Naledi, I left a review on To See A World on ffnet, just felt I had to mark her passing in some way.
Spiced Wine
07/26/17 07:57 pm
I hope you had a wonderful time, Alquien {{Hugs}}
Alquien
07/26/17 03:23 pm
Hi everyone! I'm back, and I had a great time! Now to unpack, nap and eat some more lol -- back eventually! ::hugs to all::
Naledi
07/25/17 08:53 pm
I was only thinking about her earlier today. It's such a tragedy. RIP Nightwing.
ziggy
07/25/17 05:26 pm
Some v sad news for those long serving fanfic writers and readers; Nightwing passed away 2 weeks ago. Cancer. May she have rest now.
Naledi
07/25/17 12:36 pm
Yay - Glad you're getting better, Ziggy. And a Black Arrow update - what more could I ask for?
ziggy
07/25/17 12:33 pm
Hello sparkyTAs! You too:) And Spiced! Just posted a silly chapter of Black Arrow to say thank you to everyone:) I am loads better.
SparkyTAS
07/25/17 05:05 am
Ziggy, so glad you're back and doing well.
Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
Shout Archive



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2016 2:02 · For: Chapter 25~ Tindómion Maglorion Fëanorion ~ Art

Oooo!  I love his cheekbones, and how defined his face is! Very nice :D  I do think of his hair as a deeper shade of red in my head, but I like the wave it has :)



Author's Response: It is slightly darker in my stories, but I do love it, just the same :)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:10 · For: Chapter 24 ~ Gil-galad and Tindómion ~

Whoa.  I love this one!  The whole atmosphere of it is lovely!  And they are gorgeous!  Especially Gil-galad, jeez man!  Thank you for sharing :D



Author's Response: I loved this, too - Gianna said, (and I agreed) that Tindómion was not how she planned, but since I couldn't remember what references I sent her anyhow, as it was some time ago, I sent new ones for the actual commission she's working on. But Gil-galad - OMG - FINALLY a beautiful Gil-galad, *not* whomever that actor was in the film. *This* looks like the grandson of Fingolfin to me. And all the hair. Woohoo!


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2016 15:19 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Vanimórë (Older)

Ah, yes, I see what you mean.  I think it’s in his mouth.  It’s firmer here, and his eyes being this cooler blue-purple also, I think, gives him a more aloof look which suits him older self.  I can see his eyes like this when dealing with Sauron and such.



Author's Response: Yes, altogether firmer, harder, and prouder - no innocence left, nor any hope. Just the determination


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 22, 2016 7:38 · For: Chapter 21 ~ Young Vanimórë in Angband

Ah, lovely :)  I keep staring at his neck lol  It’s really sensual :grins:



Author's Response: I think this works well for when he is quite young :) But the next one, when he is older, is really the one which makes me think, 'Yes, that's it'. He looks prouder and more defiant, poor Van in this one still looks like he has a bit of hope :( (Which is perfect for his age, I think)


Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2016 11:06 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Facade ~

He and Anairë were likewise too close, the Laws declared, yet his marriage had been blessed by Varda, presided over by she and Manwë.

Just imagine Maeglin and Idril's children, with that amount of consanguinity they would have been 100% awesome.


I will break them, vowed the hidden watcher, in a fog of icy disgust. Love will become jealousy and hate. I will tear them apart, and curse their souls into darkness. There will be grief and pain, and tears unnumbered. I will set madness in Fëanáro's mind, and doom will crown the Noldor until their very name is gone into the dust of Time.

Who is the watcher? Manwë? Melkor? Irmo perhaps?



Author's Response: Just imagine Maeglin and Idril's children, with that amount of consanguinity they would have been 100% awesome.

I have never thought of those two together, as I don't write het, (I have one story where it's present and had to abandon it because I lost all interest). and Idril bores me, to be honest. In this 'verse, she would never allow Maeglin to keep away from her because the 'crookedness' in him she felt and saw was the fact he preferred men, which she thought was evil. Though I think he would have married her to become Turgon's heir; he did have all the ambition of the House of Finwë. It would have been disastrous though. It was really Glorfindel who obsessed him, but Glorfindel (and Ecthelion) cast his father from Caragdûr, so of course his feelings were all twisted up, and he made himself think he fancied her to deny his feelings (at least when he was young and new to Gondolin).

The watcher was probably Námo. He's the worse, although there's not that much to choose between the 'triad' of Manwë, Varda and Námo.

Thank you, Kalendeer :)


Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2016 10:08 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Wild Strawberries ~

I liked Finrod's obsession with Tol Sirion and the way they talk about what happened there: as if not everything is known and the island is, truly, a place of dread and mysteries, far more than if they knew for sure. It is horrific and eery and very well done.

Your Celegorm is a delight. Both predatory and caring.



Author's Response: the island is, truly, a place of dread and mysteries, far more than if they knew for sure. It is horrific and eery and very well done.

They didn't know once Sauron had made it his base. I'm glad it felt eerie :)

Your Celegorm is a delight. Both predatory and caring.

Thank you :)


Name: Kalendeer (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2016 9:51 · For: Chapter 6 ~ Fire Touching Fire ~

Hi! It's been a really really long time since I last read your stories (back when my english was too shitty to review) so of course I decided to start in the middle of nowhere.

“Yet there is a darkness here, children!”

Darkness? No, really? Who released Melkor? I wonder if thou didst truly believe he was changed. I do wonder...Art thou obtuse?

Ah ah I almost heard Fëanor speaking.

Ingwë, who outranked even Finwë, wore a diadem of sapphires that were put to shame by cobalt-blue eyes. A pity that he should be as vacuous as he was stunning.

Poor Ingwë looks somewhat lobotomized. I wonder if Manwë is addictive somehow, and once you get the habit of sitting at his feet, it's like receiving some very strong drugs you cannot live without.

Some extremely salacious tales were whispered of Fëanáro's third-born, and his father believed them. It was even rumored that he had seduced Oromë. Well, Oromë was certainly very different to his brethren, with his wild eyes, braided hair and hunter's garb of doeskin. Very different indeed, if the tale held any truth.

I have a lot of Oromë feels nowadays. Did you write some Celegorm/Oromë somewhere? I don't remember reading some from you but that would definitly be interesting.

Manwë makes all natural human desires sound vile, filthy appetite of crooked minds. Fëanáro lifted his chin, stared all the depth of his scorn at the Elder King and took Macalaurë's other hand in a firm clasp. He does not know, cannot imagine, the glory of it.

Manwë is so often represented in fanfictions as someone who doesn't like sex that I wonder if Varda isn't some really dangerous mantis in bed. Stars, afterall, are fire, and fire consums air. Manwë should definitly have sent her back to Melkor.



Author's Response: Hi, Kalendeer, thank you for commenting :)

Poor Ingwë looks somewhat lobotomized. I wonder if Manwë is addictive somehow, and once you get the habit of sitting at his feet, it's like receiving some very strong drugs you cannot live without.

It's the miasma that the Valar emit - in my 'verse, it flows from them to the Elves and 'deadens' them, hence the stories that they lose interest in sex, etc. The Valar just want the Elves to be their toys and servants. There were some it did not effect, Fëanor and all those he touched being one of them. But the Vanyar, who lived closest were the most affected. Poor Ingwë - he does break free of his chains though.

I have a lot of Oromë feels nowadays. Did you write some Celegorm/Oromë somewhere? I don't remember reading some from you but that would definitly be interesting.

I've only written Oromë a couple of times in 'Magnificat'. Once when he talked to Finrod after Finrod's death and again when he helped Finrod when the Valar engaged him in a 'Song of Power; like Sauron did (Magnificat II I think) But I haven't written Celegorm/Oromë, no. He's one of the Valar I don't mind, and envision him fighting with the Elves when Fëanor takes war to Valinor in later Ages. I do envisage Oromë and Celegorm having a sexual relationship, but I honestly can't be arsed to write it, because I pair the house of Finwë with the House of Finwë and Celegorm has a thing for Finrod.

Manwë is so often represented in fanfictions as someone who doesn't like sex that I wonder if Varda isn't some really dangerous mantis in bed. Stars, afterall, are fire, and fire consums air. Manwë should definitly have sent her back to Melkor.

I cannot stand Manwë, nor Varda nor Námo and the rest bore me, save Irmo and Oromë (Not Melkpr of course; he's interesting) But I don't see any of them having sex at all, not since very early times. In this 'verse Melkor did have all of them way back, and even when he was imprisoned, but none of them had real sex-lives. And they wanted to impose their sexlessness on the Elves. The Valar can't have children after all, and their view was sex was only for the begtting of children; that was its only purpose. They're not human, they're basically aliens in this 'verse, from 'the Outisde'. The Maia are not, they were spirits of stars and water and tree and earth who the Valar enslaved long ago.


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2016 21:22 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Tindómion Maglorion Fëanorion ~ Art

That sword is soooo awesome, such details! And he looks exactly the way i have imagined him when reading your stories, he is gorgeous!! Stunning artwork, and yet another fascinating OC.



Author's Response: I love this of Tindómion! He's how I imagined him, too :)


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2016 21:11 · For: Chapter 16 Edenel (Twin of Finw

Wow, that image is absolutely stunning. Insant is such a great artist. Have you written about this character? where in your works is he mentioned? You have such interesting characters.



Author's Response: I love this art - it's exactly how I envisages Edenel :) Yes, he is in Magnificat III and in A Far, Fierce Sky with the same backstory :)


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2016 21:46 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Never Again ~

Oh the love of Maedhros and Fingon is so sweet and so tragic and so utterly well described her in all its glory and bittersweetness. Amazing chapter as always, i just adore the way you describe feelings, it grasps your heart reading this.



Author's Response: Oh, thank you very much, Nuredhel :) I'm so pleased to know that. And thank you for taking the time to read and review :)


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: August 08, 2016 21:05 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Whispers and Footsteps ~

This was really powerful, sort of loaded with emotion. Very well done as always :)



Author's Response: :) Thank you so much, Nuredhel :)


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: July 30, 2016 17:40 · For: Chapter 20 ~ Tindómion Maglorion Fëanorion ~ Art
Tindómion is so handsome. :)

Author's Response: I love the image :) She captured him really well!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 23, 2016 23:30 · For: Chapter 19 ~ F

Rather fabulous!



Author's Response: *sigh* These two! I really must commission some-one to draw their smooch!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2016 22:26 · For: Chapter 19 ~ F
Oh gosh! This is gorgeous. Love it SO much! Especially Feanor!

Author's Response: I know! Me, too. I was completely bowled over when I saw it!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: May 22, 2016 5:40 · For: Chapter 19 ~ F
Oooooh! So Lovely! Thank you so much for sharing these. :)

*hugs*

Author's Response: Isn't it gorgeous! I was so excited when I commissioned this! It was Venlian suggested a diptych, and I thought OOooh - yes!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2015 17:42 · For: Chapter 13 ~ The Fire of Blue Diamonds
Which one would you recommend I read next? Dark Prince or Magnificat of the Damned book 1?

Author's Response: I would say Dark Prince first as it is like the 'backbone' of the whole 'verse, and nothing makes sense without it. Some of Magnificat I is set almost parallel to Dark Prince, but mostly told from the viewpoint of the Noldor. :)


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2015 1:09 · For: Chapter 13 ~ The Fire of Blue Diamonds
Have just finished reading the chapters you directed me too. They were amazing! Loved them all. These two are so wonderful together. I love their passion. I especially like your Fingolfin. He is so strong and determined and full of spirit and yet more controlled than F


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 04, 2015 22:43 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Seduction Written In Stone ~

So, I've been pretty down with the weekend ending and work fast approaching again (oh the terrible price of breaks lol), and I needed some of your powerful writing, and had to re-read this scene again :dreamy sigh:

This is like the Feanor/Fingolfin scene.  I always remember it when I think of these two.  It is so sensual, so hot, and it also has that layer of the first time, of barriers breaking, but still that angst and touch of shame on Fingolfin's part, and that terrible yearning for Feanor.  It gets me every time.

This is seriously one of my favorite scenes you've written of these two.  It's so good, I just want to soak in it!



Author's Response: Oh, I am sorry you've been down, Encairion, and after pouring out some truly superb writing that I have been *revelling* in! {{{Hugs}}}

I absolutely loved writing this. I just cannot get enough of these two, but my current WIP's, well they are in Magnificat, but not all the time, so I don't get the chance to write of them as often as I would like. I think this was pure self-indulgence for me, but I loved doing it so much. Thank you so much for reading again, and your encouraging words! (Hope the weekend approaches quickly for you!



Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2014 0:39 · For: Chapter 13 ~ The Fire of Blue Diamonds
A very interesting journey into Nolofinwe and Feanaro and their relationship. I love the passion, want to take them out of this lousy place where love is apparently wrong, or at least there are very few varieties that are acceptable. Can you imagine the idea that you are stuck in that situation forever? Not just the next 80 years until you die, but forever? I think I would have to start thinking escape or suicide! I love these two, and all their sons who do not just conform to someone else's idea of what is right. Thanks for a great chapter!

Author's Response: It's no wonder F


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2014 20:27 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Facade ~
How interesting! It would be most difficult to hide love and desire from your own family, especially in these situations. I love the tension, the desire in this chapter. It also shows the great big mess the Valar created, purposefully or otherwise. Thanks!

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing this - sometimes I can't get enough of these two in Tirion :) Thank-you!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 24, 2014 5:42 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Never Again ~
I always did wonder how it would feel for one of the banished, to return to those they loved. They could feel one anothers presence, but not touch, not actually experience eachother in the Void. It was just another version of torture. How strange, wonderful and just plain unbelievable it would be to see those you love, especially like Fingon and Maedhros, who you know died, you did not think you would ever see or hold again. I could feel the complex feelings come through, the love, the disbelieve, the guilt, the anger, the torment, but most of all the love. Thanks for this peak into those wondrous occasions.

Author's Response: How strange, wonderful and just plain unbelievable it would be to see those you love, especially like Fingon and Maedhros, who you know died, you did not think you would ever see or hold again. I could feel the complex feelings come through, the love, the disbelieve, the guilt, the anger, the torment, but most of all the love.

They never stopped loving, and this is what I wanted to show. Thank-you :)


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2014 19:28 · For: Chapter 13 ~ Love: Through All the Ages of Arda
I think this is one of my favorite passages, or at least among them. It shows Vanimore at his lowest, most broken down point, where there is literally nothing more to defend him, to provide him with a mask. And it is a new beginning, so hopeful, the return of that which was thought to be lost for ever. I love the image of the young solar system with it, very fitting. Thank you.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2014 19:26 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Whispers and Footsteps ~
That is a very powerful passage, and the image with it, a very dark place. And yet, yet the text also speaks of hope, of a future. *I will not go mad. I will not break for them. I will not beg him to come.* So strong, yet so fragile. Makes me introspective and quiet...


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2014 19:22 · For: Chapter 8 ~ Maglor the Mighty ~
I love the poem!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2014 19:18 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Wild Strawberries ~
A lovely, romantic chapter. I thoroughly enjoyed the play between Fingon and Celegorm. It reminds me of the fact that life is not always a maelstrom, and sometimes it is good to slow down, and just enjoy it, even if some of the enjoyment would be taboo.. Make the best of it. :D I enjoyed the perspective this provided into their relationship.


You must login () to review.