| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Love Unspoken by cheekybeak General Audiences
A prequel to “Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls.” On a ship at Pelegir a newly stricken Legolas battles with the sea-longing...
Shadows and Cages by Narya Teen
In Gondolin, Fanari and Aredhel spend an evening by the fire. A gift ficlet for Spiced Wine for Legendarium Ladies April.
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1636
Chapters: 8389
Word count: 25398754
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15531
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
04/22/18 10:25 pm
Yes, the world felt all clean and fresh today - we had a bit of a storm last night but not as dramatic as I was hoping!
Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: April 25, 2018 1:34 · For: Chapter 37 Tindómion
Wow! Spiced! This is stunning!

This is obviously a different artist from 'Kapriss' is it?

And created for the time frame I'm reading right now.

I love how vastly different each artist is in their interpretations of a character. Fantastic. :)

I think I'm going to have to go back and start from the beginning some time. Are there any spoilers, Spiced? Or should I just wait until I have read up to a certain part in the Series?

Author's Response: Yes, this is Pell (Heyspace) on DA.

I know, I like different interpretations, it’s interesting :)

Spoilers —- chapter 3 and 7 might be a bit spoiler-ish!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2018 6:57 · For: Chapter 36 Magnificent Obsession (Fëanor and Fingolfin art)
oh wow!!!! this is beautiful!

Author's Response: I love it :) Kaprriss always amazes me :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2018 20:42 · For: Chapter 36 Magnificent Obsession (Fëanor and Fingolfin art)
Absolutely beautiful. I love their hair...and oh, goodness, those eyes...

Author's Response: I am over the moon with this :)


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 12, 2018 6:02 · For: Chapter 13 ~ The Fire of Blue Diamonds
I feel for anyone living in Valinore who have a love for their own sex.

I loved how Nolofinwe spurned his brother's disapproval toward Laurefinde and Ektello and instead showed Arafinwe how he should be treating his son. Not that that would have changed anything. And these two were in need of some love and understanding. Someone who would champion them. Feanaro would have done the same.

Then the Valar turn up unannounced. *He felt his eyes narrow as men and women went down on one knee. But not many of them. Finwe inclined his head but the straight line of his shoulders was a rebuff.* I rolled my eyes at this. That the Valar demand this kind of over dramatic respect. Tut tut!

I loved the Feanarions showing their reverence by 'lounging in their seats with indolent, offensive grace.' :)

You write Feanor and Fingolfin so beautifully and so erotically, Spiced Wine!

There's a part where Feanor braids sheaves of Nolofinwe's hair in amongst their conversation and savage fiery kisses as they lie on the grass together. Oh my gosh! They ARE in love aren't they. So magnificent!

I am hooked! :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for commenting, Gabriel :)

Fëanor has a theory that long ago Melkor had all of the Valar, (sexually) and as they believed that they were all siblings in a sense, the Valar came to be ashamed of it and thus their laws on same-sex relationships. But they were wrong in all ways, at least in what they believed, but that does not get explained for ages.

There was more than that, naturally. They wanted to control the Elves, so they wished them to marry, have children (just enough for optimum population but not too many) but then lose all interest in sex, so they 'cursed' them, the Vanyar felt it first, being closer to the Valar, then the Noldor and the Teleri. It was like a fog seeping down from Ilmarin that affected them all, like a drug. But Fëanor was never affected, and his 'fire' touched all he was close to, his sons, Fingolfin, Glorfindel, etc. The Valar hated him, or when I refer to the Valar the 'Triad' of Manwë, Varda and Námo.

The problem with Arafinwë, therefore isn't Arafinwë himself, but the fact that Fëanor and Fingolfin are immune to the 'Triad' but Arafinwë isn't. The Triad are pressing down on him. But later, Fëanor does realise this and will release him. His plan is to rule Valinor with his half-brothers, but so much has to happen first.

Fëanor and Fingolfin were madly in love, but they don't realise it until a long time after, which is a bit sad :( But when they look back, despite everything, this seems like an idyllic time.

Again, thank you so much for commenting :) I'm so glad you enjoyed it.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 11, 2018 5:34 · For: Chapter 12 ~ Facade ~
Wow! Happy families!

Gees, I really feel for Nolofinwe. There is no family unity to speak of. Fractured by his wife's devout beliefs in the Valar's laws.

This part spoke volumes; *Anaire's silence screamed disapproval, but she was far too well-bred to give voice to protest in such a public place. Her gown rustled as she turned to Turukano, who sat beside her.

"Perhaps you and Elenwe would escort me to my Aunt, she murmured.

"Of course, mother." Turukano came to his feet, cast Nolofinwe a look that echoed his mother's unspoken words. But only for a moment. Nolofinwe met his eyes, setting down boundaries, and his son bent his head. Irisse, unconcerned, drifted away and Nolofinwe, alone, set down his cup. Strange that this feeling should hint of his future.*

It's any wonder their marriage hasn't folded sooner.

So much dissatisfaction in Nolofinwe's life. I think the only thing that keeps him going is the love for his children. Findekano especially. Turukano seems to have allied himself with his mother which is sad.

Yet in amongst all of Nolofinwe's family problems, Feanaro's family seems the embodiment of unity.

Super chapter! Spiced Wine. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Gabriel. I feel for Fingolfin. He never wanted to marry. The Valars' idea was to try and dilute the blood of Finwë in some way, by trying to arrange that his sons marry Vanyar (who were more 'affected' by the Valar - such as Anairë, less fiery, more obedient) It didn't work all that well. Fëanor of course, didn't marry a Vanya, but a Noldo. As soon as he was told a marriage was being arranged for him, he refused and went off and married Nerdanel.

Fëanor, ever since he was a youth had dreamed of his sons, so he wanted to marry just to bring those visions to fruition. But Fingolfin didn't want to marry at all, it was presented to him as his duty, and so he agreed to it, as did Anairë; it was a duty for her as well.

Fingolfin had Fingon, who was the most like him, but all Fëanor's sons adored him, which left Fingolfin feeling incredibly lonely, because he did love his children, but only Fingon truly reciprocated.


Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2018 4:56 · For: Chapter 1 ~ A Seduction Written In Stone ~
This was gorgeously erotic! Oh! And the frisson! :D For a moment I thought it was real what Nolofinwe was seeing, feeling. Then...*He blinked. His breeches were undone, his hand sticky with spilled seed, and Feanaro stood in the hall below, contemplating Nolofinwe's carven image above him on its plinth. His face was fierce, lovely, unaware.*

I especially love the statues of each of Finwe's sons and the foresight he must have had of what they would look like come adulthood. A beautiful idea. :)

Author's Response: Well...was it real :) It was certainly a hint of what is to come, anyway :) And I do think Fëanor *was* aware! Thank you, Gabriel


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 20:57 · For: Chapter 35 Mairon
Oh my! That's astonishing - those eyes! The way the red light is reflecting back onto him looks like blood. Such a powerful image.

Author's Response: It's wonderful isn't it? I mentioned the Sauron in my verse has lavender eyes with a glow of fire in them at times, and this is just how I had imagined


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 18:51 · For: Chapter 34 Maglor and Vanimórë
This is really beautiful too. I love Van and Maglor; it's such a complex relationship, and it's a joy to read as you explore the different layers and nuances of it. I like that in this picture it almost seems like Van is the one submitting.

Author's Response: I know, Kaprriss is brilliant at doing that! And you're quite right about the sir of submission; more goes on than meets the eye :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2018 18:48 · For: Chapter 33 Elgalad
Oh wow! How beautiful - just like I imagined him. What a gorgeous picture.

Author's Response: I love this too, Narya :)


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 24, 2017 13:30 · For: Chapter 32 Twin Swords

Another wonderful visioning, Spiced.



Name: arafinwean (Signed) · Date: November 15, 2017 7:00 · For: None
I haven't reviewed any of your stories yet despite having reviewed most of them so I figure here is the best place to do it.

Honestly? I find your characterization of canon characters amazing, you breathe a life into them that's so unique and compelling and leaves me wanting more. Your description are stunning and I love how you're able to so skillfully weave emotions into your scenes and make the reader feel as though they are watching the scene unfold.

Thank you for sharing your work with us. Reading it is always a pleasure.

Author's Response: Oh, how very kind, Arafinwean, thank you. You gave me a lovely boost this morning :) I'm so happy that you've enjoyed the stories and the characters. And thank you for taking the time to comment :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2017 0:43 · For: None
Oh, how gorgeous! You know how much I love your Maglor with Van, so this is a real treat. Maglor looks beautiful here, and Van's eyes are just incredible.

Author's Response: I absolutely love this one, Narya :) Kapriss is just - she said on DA that it's like using a Ouija board when she does art for me, like she just 'feels' and sees the scenes, and this one is just amazing. There is so much emotion in it.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 26, 2017 16:31 · For: Chapter 11 ~ Never Again ~

I love this- just wanted to read it again and tell you it is wonderful



Author's Response: Aww, thank you, Ziggy :) I am so glad you liked it. I hope one day to see you write more about the lovely Maedhros :)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2017 23:02 · For: Chapter 30 Father and Son

Van’s cheekbones!!  That LOOK he’s giving Sauron!  I really love Van in this one.  He’s gorgeous and his defiance really shines through :)



Author's Response: I know! That 'LOOK' amuses me highly. It's so true to story! :)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2017 23:01 · For: Chapter 29 Dark God

The detail on his leather is mind-blowingly good!  His clothes look fantastic, and the dark atmosphere suits him so well.  And of course his face is gorgeous :)  



Author's Response: I know, I absolutely love the clothes and his face :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 23:44 · For: Chapter 30 Father and Son
Wow. The body language is perfect! And I love all the smoke and cinders smouldering around them. Another gorgeous piece :-)

Author's Response: I thought so too, Nasya :) And no,the nails aren't canon/canon, but I gave her peace to use her imagination because it's nicer for the artist to do that, I think


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 21:04 · For: Chapter 29 Dark God
Oh, this is very different! The nails are an interesting detail. I don't remember that from the story, but maybe I'm blanking; I haven't read Dark God for a while, although looking at these pictures is making me want to revisit the series from the beginning...


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 20:59 · For: Chapter 23 ~ Vanimórë (Older)
Goodness yes, you can see the difference between this one and the previous picture - very subtle, but there is a hardness and sharpness to him here that is absent in the other.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 20:57 · For: Chapter 19 ~ F
For some reason, when I saw this my immediate thought was "The Song of Ice and Fire." Too binary to really sum up these two, but the colour schemes in this gorgeous image suggest it :-)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 20:54 · For: Chapter 18 ~ Vanimórë ~
Mmm, this is gorgeous too. I wonder when this one is, in terms of timeframe? Van looks almost peaceful, which is unusual.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 20:52 · For: Chapter 16 Edenel (Twin of Finw
Ooh, yes, those eyes! And I love the purple and blue backdrop - just perfect.

Author's Response: This is one of my faves, I love how she did this :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 22, 2017 20:51 · For: Chapter 15 ~ Vanim
Oooh! I wondered where all the beautiful artwork had gone :) this is gorgeous, I love the hair.


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: September 20, 2017 6:53 · For: Chapter 29 Dark God
oh wow this one is amazing!!!!

Author's Response: :) I love it too


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 29, 2017 11:58 · For: Vanimórë

whoa. Seriously good. One of my favourites I think.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2016 2:02 · For: Chapter 25~ Tindómion Maglorion Fëanorion ~ Art

Oooo!  I love his cheekbones, and how defined his face is! Very nice :D  I do think of his hair as a deeper shade of red in my head, but I like the wave it has :)



Author's Response: It is slightly darker in my stories, but I do love it, just the same :)


You must login () to review.