| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Wolf Luck by arafinwean Mature
(Or, that Finwion Mage AU that is eating my soul)There were things lost on the journey to Aman, history and culture, art...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...
OssŽís Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
The Witnesses by Himring General Audiences
Aragorn is told about his ancestors by those who saw them with their own eyes.
Thorongil by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Denethor feels his authority flouted. Who is that officer who leaves him in the shade?
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1593
Chapters: 8169
Word count: 24580612
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14784
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
11/18/17 01:15 pm
It would be strange watching any adaption for me, so used to fanfic, lol. I would be keep thinking of the pairings I read and scratching me head :D
Narya
11/18/17 11:16 am
I'd really love to see Celebrimbor and Annatar in the Second Age...and maybe Gil-Galad too...although it would be weird seeing him without his Istelion! ;-)
Spiced Wine
11/18/17 10:51 am
Not the Silmarillion, that would be a separate agreement if it happened at all, but the Appendices are open it seems
Narya
11/18/17 10:27 am
I'm always baffled by what is and isn't on the table, rights-wise, but if Christopher T has resigned, does that mean we could get an adaptation of the Silm (or parts of it)?
Spiced Wine
11/15/17 01:29 pm
Article on The One Ring.net - Christopher Tolkien has resigned as director of the Tolkien Estate. This could change 'everything' to quote.
Spiced Wine
11/14/17 10:38 am
I got the news from his Facebook, lol, he was very excited!
NelyafinweFeanorion
11/14/17 12:38 am
Royd Tolkien just confirmed it on his twitter account. No details other than that.
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:29 pm
I should think they'll have actors falling over themselves for this. If it's done well the fandom will go boom!
Spiced Wine
11/13/17 10:28 pm
The One Ring.net is a good place to get the latest.
Naledi
11/13/17 09:41 pm
I found the link. It all seems very vague atm. I look forward to hearing more once they've got news on story, etc.
Shout Archive



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2017 1:12 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
He glanced around, caught the black eye of a lizard, melted into its shape.

I like this a lot - Loki seeing a thing and disguising himself as that thing. It gives a logic to his powers. I also really love the Norse mythology you weave in; it feels much more integral even in this short fic than it does in the Thor films themselves.

And that was true, would always be true no matter what blood flowed in his veins.

Ack, yes. I think that's what makes this character so heartbreaking, and such a magnet for fic writers; whatever he does and whatever he tries to tell himself, he will always be Loki of Asgard. And of course he feels empathy with Van, given the issues they both have with their fathers. I do enjoy the power struggle between them, though.

I know this is a one shot, but I'd love to see more one day, if you're ever in the mood :)

Author's Response: I wish I actually knew more Norse mythology- of course I could study it but work is so busy I've had to just concentrate on one fic for the time being and let everything else go on the back burner. I've only seen the first Thor and Avengers, so I am chary of getting things completely wrong.

I do love Loki as a character though because he's very complicated, as is Van, so it was rather fun to write this. :) If I can think of anything else at some point, I would definitely add to it. Thank you,Narya :)


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: May 20, 2016 1:41 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
This popped up in the random story box, so I decided to let you know how much I still enjoy reading it.

*hugs*

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much, Alquien :)


Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: November 15, 2015 4:42 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
What an excellent story. Please tell me you have plans to continue this plotline. I have been enthralled with Vanimore since I first read your writings a few years ago, and this story has many possibilities. Please don't let this story fade.

Author's Response: Hello, SparkyTAS. I think I left this open to continue, but I really have to concentrate on finishing my main stories as I have to write when I can, and don't get long periods of time free to devote to writing (or not any-more). But yes I agree that it has possibilities :) I'm very glad you enjoyed it. Thank you!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2015 23:37 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
Oh my. Oh my oh my. How in the world had I not read this before? This is just brilliant - the pair of them ooze charisma and chemistry. It's a great standalone, but like most of your reviewers, I'd like to see more one day ;-)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, Narya :) At the moment, I haven't written more because I am not sure of how it would work, but that does not mean to say an idea won't come eventually :)


Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2015 13:58 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
Woohoo, another Vanimore story! I love this crossover. Any chance you will be continuing it? As you know, I've enjoyed all of your Vanimore stories very much, and this storyline is most excellent. I can imagine this conversation taking place, and Loki with Tom Hiddleston's beautiful laugh. I envy Vanimore for finding Loki in his bath. I love both of these strong characters, and they are amazing together. Thank you for sharing this story. Please continue it if you can, the possibilities are endless.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, SparkyTAS. I really like these two together, as well. It would make a good foundation for a story, I feel. I wrote it for Alquien, who suggested it, but I can't yet think about continuing until I finish one or another of my 3 WIP's - I just can't fit another one in. But I have not forgotten it.


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2014 3:35 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
How .... Interesting. That would be a very interesting combination, with lots of possibilities. Loki clearly has more power then anyone present in the area. Yet I think Vanimore might easily outclass him, and Loki would not necessarily know how to live in that era. A thought provoking story, thanks!

Author's Response: Thank-you so much, Mindirith :) I shall probably continue this at some point, but I just have too much on at the moment.


Name: Arcadii (Signed) · Date: January 26, 2014 6:38 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
Interesting beginning. Call me fickle because this worked a treat to get my mind off of the demise of one of your other characters. Look forward to more and as always, thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank-you very much Arcadii. I don't know when I can get back to this, as I have three other WIP's, but I do think that I will.


Name: Russandol (Signed) · Date: January 20, 2014 14:48 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~

Delicious. Gorgeous descriptions, as Loki tells us what the world looks like to his eyes. But better still is the interaction between the two demigods. I liked how Vanimórë took Loki by surprise about the way he used the mind link to dispel the illusion. I loved how they decided on a truce instead of going into pissing-contest mode, and instead Loki was treated to a retelling of the Ainulindalë. A very clever crossover, full of possibilities. Although it's also great leaving it as you have, because the closure is so good!

 



Author's Response: Vanim


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: January 10, 2014 12:31 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~

When I started reading this, I had no idea who Vanimórë is and, reading offline, I only found out now. I haven't yet read another story by you, I think, but got recced the Dark Prince series a while a go and have it already on my e-reader (together with a huge pile of Tolkien fanfic, so it might be a while.) I had read your profile back then and love what you wrote about knowing Tolkien and writing your own canon-based AU.
It didn't matter that I didn't know who he was, though, he came alive beautifully even so, and from what was said in the story, it wasn't difficult to guess what or who he was or must be. To be honest, I thought he was one of those obscure canon characters I had again forgotten about only mentioned in the UT or HoME and which are brought so brilliantly alive by gifted writers. I knew I had read the name before - on your profile, as I now realised. He really feels like a character Tolkien would have created or at

Anyway, Vanimórë is such a fascinating character, that becomes clear already with this short fic, and the interaction wiht Loki is delightful. I also don't know Loki well - have seen the movies each once, and my knowledge of Norse mythology is sketchy at best (to be honest, I read your story because you wrote it for the Snowflake challenge - my current reading pile is so high I don't dare searching for new fic otherwise ;o) ) - and you brought both alive so well, and made them so real for me. I love how both feel so typical and yet so different - no problem at all for me to feel them being different beings from different worlds/realities, and to see them through their reactions and actions with their surroundings. Loki changing into the animals is awesome. I also loved your descriptions of landscape and climate, creating a very vivid picture in my head. Thank you for this enjoyable read!



Author's Response: Thank-you for giving this a go, Winterwitch. You deserve a medal, lol, not knowing whom Vanim


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2014 23:26 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~

As usual you write the most vivid and fabulous descriptions that are somehow done so succinctly too- enviously I read this- enviously imagine Sud Sicanna and it is like drinking after being very thirsty to finally visit Sud Sicanna. I can imagine Loki and Sauron- which will make the most intersting meeting. Actually it they might well counter each other out!



Author's Response: Ziggy, I must have been reading your mind. I was thinking about Sauron and Loki, too. If this time period is when Sauron summons Van back to Mordor -- I may well follow that idea. A commenter on AO3 remarked that Loki's 'sins' were nothing compared to Sauron's so I do wonder how it would pan out if they clashed. Thank-you s much for commenting!


Name: Hours Gone By (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2014 19:01 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
Vanim


Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: January 08, 2014 14:27 · For: Chapter 1 ~ The Coming of the God ~
I almost feel pity with Arda. But Loki is too interesting. The God of Mischief might just be what they need. A glorious crossover. And my inner comic book nerd loves idea even more, because comicbook!Loki worked so hard to break the loop of Ragnar


You must login () to review.