| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Light of a Thousand Stars by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas returns home from patrol in the South to find his Father's stronghold drenched in sadness. Prequel to "Darkness in...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Mature
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Danger in Ithilien by Linda Hoyland Mature
An early morning ride has dire consequences for Faramir.

Site Info

Members: 466
Series: 78
Stories: 1554
Chapters: 7909
Word count: 23496884
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13909
Reviewers: 214
Newest Member: LaurengeBleue
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 7
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
04/22/17 01:23 am
Has anyone heard anything else from Spiced lately?
Ysilme
04/17/17 11:36 am
Big hugs to you, Spiced, I hope you're already a bit better! ***hugs***
Alquien
04/17/17 04:38 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. *hugs*
ziggy
04/16/17 01:40 am
So glad to see you back, Spiced:x
Spiced Wine
04/15/17 09:30 am
Thank you, my loves. I hope you all have a lovely Easter
Yseult
04/15/17 07:22 am
Oh, Spiced! Sending you lots of good thoughts and vibes for a speedy recovery. Hugs!
Gabriel
04/14/17 10:04 am
Hi there, Cheekybeak, great to see there's another Kiwi out there too.
Naledi
04/14/17 08:50 am
Glad you're okay, too, Gabriel!
cheekybeak
04/14/17 08:38 am
Oh! Gabriel, another kiwi. Hi!
Gabriel
04/14/17 04:00 am
Thanks for thinking of us all in nz, Naledi, we're good.
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Black Arrow

Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2017 17:48 · For: Chapter 22 The Arkenstone

Yes, Jael's story is 'To Wrap an Elven Princeling'. I've read that and a couple of others that go with the premise that the mithril shirt was made for Legolas as a child. I've always liked that idea - and then liked to wonder what Legolas must have thought when he saw Frodo in it after getting speared in Moria! But I also get the feeling that Thranduil's remark (about Bilbo being more worthy to wear it than many who looked more comely in it) is self-deprecating. So maybe it originally belonged to him. After all, if it was made for Legolas, then it's a bit of an insult to Legolas! I definitely get the sense Thranduil knows the history of the shirt. Another frustrating hint from Tolkien that he doesn't follow up!



Author's Response:

That's a really interesting point - I'd not really thought about that- for me it was never Legolas' (because of that comment of Thranduil's) but could have been Thranduil's. As you say, coul dhave been self-depracating. But as you say, certainly he knows its history!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 21, 2017 8:11 · For: Chapter 22 The Arkenstone

Yay! Legolas has finally met Bilbo! I loved how the elves sensed the ring, even though they didn't know what to make of it. 

It's a long time since I read the book, but I get the feeling you've stuck pretty close to the original. I certainly remember Thranduil's line about the Mithril shirt, so I loved how you got it in. I see it has seven stars in your version. Something tells me you have a whole backstory mapped out for it!

Still no news about Thalos? I'm getting really worried about him. 



Author's Response:

OK- I get the hint! I have written a Thalos scene but not quite finished it- could have added it to this but will now add it the next scene. 

 

I knew discerning readers would spot that seven stars and Thranduil's eyeballing it! It always struck me that there must be a story to how it ended up there- I think Jael once wrote one? Long time ago, made it Thranduil's, or maybe Legolas'? This has got into either Dale's treasure or Erebor's- I prefer the idea of it being taken by dwarves long ago. Maybe they had it in Khazad-dûm from Celebrimbor?

 

I'll get cracking on Thalos - though i kind of know where I am going with him.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2017 19:59 · For: Chapter 21
I love that you had Laesrul stand up for Legolas and list his merits! It's about time people remember how talented and amazing he is! Also, Legolas' comment about taking a day off from guarding Anglach is so tragic and sweet. What a good touch.
Oh Legolas...how I love thee...ALso I adore the part where the captains punish Legolas for Anglach's views. Hahahaha. Galadhon is hilarious! I'm heading to your other story now to berate everyone for hating on Elladan. See you there!

Author's Response:

I've just come back from the other fic:) Glad you are sticking up for lovely Elladan:)

 

Yes- I keep haivng to remind eeryone that though Anglach and Legolas are compelte ninnies in this, it is because they are HOME and allowed to be. And of course the Ring was having quite an effect on everyone before hand and now it;s back it will start to try to influence things if it can. I've actually already written the next chapter and will post before next week- just need to check I've done everything I wanted to.

Glad you liked Legolas getting punished for Anglach:) I love those two! And I have so much to make up to Anglach for:(

Thank you



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 15, 2017 8:11 · For: Chapter 21

Oh, when Legolas tells Anglach he'll always protect him, it choked me up. Poor Anglach. And poor Legolas, because he's never going to forgive himself for the orc attack that sees Anglach killed within the bounds of the stronghold. 

I love the insults to Galion's baking! It reminds me of Dwarf bread in the Discworld novels!

what's going to happen with Thalos? It's beginning to look like he'll never wake up. And why won't Legolas's shoulder heal? Anyway, I could have cheered when Bilbo appeared. Finally the elves will meet the ring bearer!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 05, 2017 15:08 · For: Chapter 20 The Devastation of Esgaroth

Smaug didn't burn him, it was going through the burning town looking for Thalos and having various things raining down on him as he searched. Is it a bit confusing? He felt a pricking on his shoulder that made him look round and see Thalos- like Smaug was on his shoulder- but much smaller of course.

No - I don't think you made it confusing. I was doing my usual thing of being so into the story, I was skim reading, anxious to find out what happened next! I do hope you'll develop the protection given by Legolas's tattoo, though. It's a fascinating idea.



Author's Response:

Oh good- I skin read- terribly! Then have to go back and enjoy the language if I have really enjoyed the story. Love your woriting- aren't you working on something???

Just about to post next chapter of Shadows:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2017 22:59 · For: Chapter 20 The Devastation of Esgaroth
Oh my gosh! Anglach was forewarned! That is astonishing! And he didn't run and hide. How horrible for him to know that! Wow...
I love the Galion debacle and Thranduil evetually telling him to go watch the boys. Hahaha

As for Legolas in the healing tent, I sort of get this feeling that Legolas was exetremely lacking in female presence in his life since he is quite docile around women and they seem to have him wrapped around their finger. And thanks for Sigrid! She adds a new perspective towards the elves and she's a sweet and smart young girl - always good to read about those(=

Author's Response:

ooh- I love that idea that Legolas is very docile and wrapped around women's littel fingers!! Yes. Of course his mother was dead very young and it was LAersul who rocked him to sleep and Galion who mothered them all. So yes, rather thin on feminine presence! I just like Sigrid- and hse is drolling over him in the way I would- dribbling like a fiend!

 

Anglach would not have known much more than he said- maybe I should elbaorate on that. In the same way that LAersul is geiven a part-warning aobut the yellow smoke in the wood, but nothing about when or how. And Anglach s a warrior of Mirkwood- they are all likely to meet orcs in the night at any time, so I think he keeps it in perspective. Poor little Anglach. I love him.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2017 19:23 · For: Chapter 20 The Devastation of Esgaroth

Ah, I love it when you're on holiday, Ziggy. It always means more delicious chapters from you!

It's odd that Legolas got burned only where he doesn't have his tattoos. They must be powerful. But how could Smaug have burned him? And what's going to happen to poor Thalos. Obviously I know he'll ultimately be cured because we hear he's survived the fighting after the War of the Ring, but he seems to be under a deep enchantment. Maybe Mithrandir needs to look at him.

I loved that moment with the healer where Legolas listens to her song. I wonder why Legolas is especially gifted at showing others their song? I also liked the bit where she gets maternal, making Legolas miss his mother. I can't remember what's happened to his mother in this universe. Have you mentioned it anywhere?

Anyway, great chapter. I can't wait for more :)



Author's Response:

Ha! Yes- two weeks, one at home and one in the Summer Isles- so lots of chilled time to write. I've got another one for Black Arrow and then back to Where the Shadows Lie.

I think the tattoos are protection and Smaug is always looking over Legolas' shoulder so perhpas he is protected from fire there. I didn't think too deeply as sometimes it goes away and usually there is a reason for wanting this later on.  We'll have to wait and see... but I'm already getting a nice scene for Shadows Lie from this...

Smaug didn't burn him, it was going through the burning town looking for Thalos and having various things raining down on him as he searched. Is it a bit confusing? He felt a pricking on his shoulder that made him look round and see Thalos- like Smaug was on his shoulder- but much smaller of course.

 

Yes- Thalos will recover of course. Mithrandir is a good idea but I have already sort of got Eredis- the female equivalent of Lathron- but Thalos needs his yare-carme as well so he will have to see Lathron.

When I started writing, I began with Deeper than Breathing- and it was all focuse don Legolas' gift with the Song. I sort of need to go back to it because I firget what I wrote it was such a long time ago. But he awoke Theoden from Saruman's spell (not forgotten that either - remember Saruman is released by Treebeard) so he has a special gift. No- I skirt over his mother's death- just snippets about how Laersul rocked Legolas ot sleep and Galion lookekd after them all when Thranduil lost himself in grief.

 

Thank you as always my dear. You make it worth writing.

 



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2017 21:28 · For: Chapter 19 An Ill WInd
Yoi're too good to me(=
And you're right - who could possibly resist the Thranduilion charm? WHO??

Author's Response:

Ah- who indeed!!! Not me and mot you either:)



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: March 29, 2017 21:34 · For: Chapter 19 An Ill WInd
This was a very intense chapter. Poor Thalos, poor Legolas and poor Thranduil.

Luckily Legolas managed to save Thalos even if the poor guy is in bad condition.

I pitied Thranduil here. To fear to have lost all three sons, that must be pure hell. It's good that they're all together again.

Author's Response:

Thank you Starfox- I suppose I am on a campaign to redress PJ's character assassination of Thranduil. He has always been one of my favourite characters. Next chapter is one I have been really waiting to write so hopefully, some time over Easter will get that done. Thanks again.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2017 22:58 · For: Chapter 19 An Ill WInd
Awwww that is so sweet! I love how SIgrid calls Legolas her "friend". I hope we see more interaction between Legolas and the kids! I think someone has a crush...(=

Author's Response:

Oh yeah! Well who wouldn't? OK- I'll see if Sigrid wants a bit more of the story, just fo ryou:X



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2017 15:40 · For: Chapter 19 An Ill WInd

I forgot to say I liked the bit where Gandalf is sure Legolas hasn't fallen. I take it he's already foreseen Legolas's involvement in the quest. A nice touch, even if it left Thranduil worrying about his other two sons!



Author's Response:

You're right of course:) Thank you:D



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2017 12:04 · For: Chapter 19 An Ill WInd

Yay! I love seeing Legolas as a hero here! (And Sigrid does, too, it seems!) It's a good reminder that Legolas is a warrior, and can be focused and deadly when he needs to be. I also loved they way her threatened Alfred. More than a little of his father there, I feel!

Poor Thalos, though. I think his spirit must still be submerged by Smaug's - or that's how I read it when Legolas sensed more of the dragon's song than Thalos's. I hope the healers will be able to call him out of it.

And now the run-up to the battle begins! I'm really enjoying this story :)



Author's Response:

Yes- I think it's fair to say that Sigrid is really enjoying herself- saved by Legolas and watched over by Laersul (sigh- I could cope with that!) I wanted to just let us see Legolas in the way he is in the Wood in the South and East Bite- it;s only home that he is a silly kid. But Anglach will arrive soon so they'll be hopeless, the pair of them!

Ilike the idea of Thalos' spirit being submerged like Smaug- good image! Healers alone won't be enough I'm afraid but I'm glad you are enjoying this- I am enjoying writing this bit in particualr- been waiting AGES for the next bit:)



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2017 21:09 · For: Chapter 18 Smoke from Erebor
"‘Go on, child, away with you. Don’t start trying to think this one out. Legolas is not here to help you and of the pair of you, he is slightly better than you at working things out and that’s not saying much." - Wow...Legolas and Anglach are really not thought of very highly. That's so mean! Do people just underestimate him? I myself can't reconcile pre-war and post-war Legolas. They are so immature!
Can you tell us a bit more about Greenwood? For some reason it's so weird to me that there are high lords and ladies and lowly elves who bow to Thranduil. I guess I always thought of Greenwood as some sort of Kibbutz - barely any hierarchy or formality, lots of sharing and working the land together. Also your observation about what Thranduil thought of Doriath is fascinating! Can we hear more about that too?

Author's Response:

Don't let Galion fool you into thinking that Legolas and Anglach are complete idiots- they are also very well regarded warriors- but as Ceredir says to Anglach, the pair of them are hopeless when they get home- I think it's partly the prssur of being in the South so that when that pressure is gone, they revert to being adolescents. And htey are young as well. And it;s just good fun writing them like this!

Don't forget too that post-war Legolas has lost Anglach. That more than anyhting sobers him up. Black Arrow and the Hall of Elven King predate Gollum's release and Anglach lives- once he is dead though, we get a much more serious Legolas. That's why I wrote the last chapter of WTSL with a grieiving Legolas- I wanted to show how different he is now.

 

So sorry Nash- I'm not intending to go back to the Greenwood now- re Lords, I have deliberately kept to lords to denote genderless council and the 'lords' are really just the council which makes policy and decisions, and advises Thranduil. Thranduil is the Aran - which means Chief really rather than the real sense of King. They use lords and King as recognisable terms to others but you'll know from earlier chapters/ More Dangerous etc that Thranduil does indeed muck in like everyone else- from the first few chapters of MDLW at least. But in The Hobbit, Tolkien refers to The King and so I keep that. But as I say, I use Lords to denote those in his council only but this is not the feudal system. Hope that helps- this is how I see it anyway.

My view is that Thranduil woul dhave hated the hierarchy of Doriath and the secretive and hidden nature of it- Oropher crossed the mountains to get back to a simpler life led by the elves pre-the great march although he seems very suspicious of strangers so perhaps he inherited a more protectionst, secretive manner as well?

 

 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 20, 2017 12:47 · For: Chapter 18 Smoke from Erebor

Ah, Ziggy, you always know what makes me happy. OK, so there was no naked Legolas in this chapter (I hope you'll put that right soon), but everything else was there in spades. I Love your Galion! He's a law unto himself and makes me laugh every time. And Anglach...he's so gorgeous, although it's always sad to read about him.

And now Thranduil knows of the existence of Bilbo Baggins! I wonder if he'll piece any more of the puzzle together before Legolas meets him at the Council of Elrond. Thranduil strikes me as being pretty wise, so I wouldn't be surprised if he got close to the truth. But we shall see !



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2017 1:25 · For: Chapter 17 Fire and Water
You describe the horror that is Smaug very intense.

Laersul is just great in this. You really write him very likable.

Tho font size is a bit small, maybe you can change that?

Author's Response:

GLad you found this chapter intense and liked Laersul- I needed to build him up as a character in this so readers would care about him in Where the Shadows Lie. But he is one of those characters that make you feel things will be all right.

 

I have no end of trouble trying to get the font size right and give up. It's because I use Pages and it doesn't easily cut and paste- sometimes it works, sometimes not. I have even had the font size 18 and it still pastes tiny! You have a button that will enlarge the font as a reader and to be honest, the time it takes me to try and get it sorted is time I could be writing and most readers would prefer I get on and write. It is very frustrating for me too!! Usually it's last thing at night and can take me half an hour before I give up.



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 19:17 · For: Chapter 17 Fire and Water
Heavens above, Ziggy, this is now so much more vivid and meaningful in my imagination, thanks to your writing, than the scene in the film!!

What a heartbreaking moment between Smaug and Thalos: he is now and forever truly the "dragon's ransom" among the sons of Thranduil.

What a wonderful birthday present you have given here to all the lovely, lucky recipients you named (and to the rest of us, thank you so much!)

Author's Response:

Why thank you, ebbingnight! And it's lovely to know you are still following things:) I really worked fast to get it out in time so I haven't re-read it -I bet I find loads I'm not happy with. But thank you anyway.



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 13:52 · For: Chapter 17 Fire and Water
Whoa. What will happen?
The thought of Legolas babysitting is hilarious!

Author's Response:

Ha- someone said they found the idea of Laersul and Legolas hoiking Thalos around funny so I wanted to acknowledge that.  We are back in the stronghold for the next chapter!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2017 8:09 · For: Chapter 17 Fire and Water

Ah! This explains why a man rather than an elf did the deed:

‘You cannot take up arms,’ Laersul said slowly and Legolas stared.

 

‘What do you mean?

 

‘You and I are sworn, Legolas whatever happens, we may not break our oath.’

 

That makes complete sense! And so it was Thalos calling to Smaug that gave Bard the chance to make the shot. I love it! Thanks for the perfect birthday gift!



Author's Response:

It all worked out perfectly in terms of the plot- I stayed up REALLY late to get it finished for your birthday- I hope I haven't missed anything!! Have a loverleee daay!

XX



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2017 16:15 · For: Chapter 16

Oh wow - such powerful images all through this chapter. I loved the tension at the start as Legolas pounds through the tunnels, searching for his brothers...that beautiful moment where Laersul listens to Legolas's Song...and most of all the yearning of Smaug's Song, and how it reaches out from Thalos in an attempt to lure Legolas as well. Fantastic chapter, Ziggy!



Author's Response:

Thank you Naledi- you always put all my fears that it's not good enough at ease.  I am really pleased that you liked the moment Laersul listens to Legolas' song. And how Smaug has beguiled Thalos- I have quite a task in the next chapter!!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 02, 2017 14:32 · For: Chapter 16
This is so beautiful, Ziggy, such atmosphere and such heart-rending emotions. I can feel the spell that Thalos and even Legolas still feels, the great moon, the lonely lake, the desolation, the east wind, the fear Laersul and Legolas feel for their brother, and his own soul lost in the spell of the dragon.

And it also makes me feel so sorry for the dragons, who would have touched the fire of the Universe, but were dragged away from it and down and chained by Morgoth's will. Like fallen angels.

So I wonder if Thalos is all right for now - not all-right, but not going to try and break away and go back to Smaug? And now it is all kicking off because Smaug is about to head for Esgaroth any moment!

A lovely treat, and unexpected, Ziggy! Thank you!



Author's Response:

Yes - like fallen angels! Exactly that. As you write yourself, the idea of Morgoth corrupting (although yours is more chaos-creative theory I feel). I just think to see a dragon would be amazing- and if it wasn't trying to eat you you could just stnad and wonder at it. Imagine meeting the last one. 

Yes- all kicking off indeed!! No spoilers though;D



Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 06, 2017 8:56 · For: Chapter 15

Mmm....Laersul, so very gorgeous and very brave and honorable I had to read him again here. 

He is delicious. 

I will say no more. Have already said it all elsewhere. You know what I think re Laersul! 



Author's Response:

I know....What can I say? He is all those things and I am writing him properly here so he is getting proper airtime.... I should never have dropped any hints. now when you read him, you just hate me!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 05, 2017 19:13 · For: Chapter 15

Wow - Laersul is amazing here. I love that image of him striding into the treasure chamber and demanding his brother back *swoons*. But the image Smaug sent him of yellow smoke and the spear...it makes me afraid to read much further in Where Shadows Lie. Please don't be so cruel!

For now, though, I hope Thalos recovers his senses or Laersul's going to have a job getting him out of there.

Great chapter!



Author's Response:

Sooo pleased you love Laersul- he is so honourable and brave. Almost finished the next chapter of that one so I'll try and polish it up and get it posted ASAP.

I know- you're anxious. Sorry my darling- I am trying to find a way out but everything is senw together in these fics and the story writes itself to be honest.

Thalos is a complete dead weight here but Smaug is going to be going to Esgaroth soon so he had better get his acto togehter!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: December 05, 2016 20:29 · For: Chapter 4 Laersul

Thranduil's love for his three children is so sweet, conveyed so well. I'm absolutely amazed. It's like they're his own self, parts of him, and he cares about each one equally and in different ways.

‹p›Wow though... I can hardly imagine Laersul! If Thranduil is based off the Hobbit's Lee Pace, he's 6' 6''! That's a lot of inches to outgrow, so much that he can only kiss his ear? Wow, what an elf...

It's just written so well, the whole thing. By the second paragraph I've forgotten it's a fanfic completely. Plus, I think I sneeze less when I'm reading!



Author's Response:

With Laersul, I wanted to make him exceptional- if all elves are tall anyway then Laersul really should be about 6' 6''- like Maedhros the Tall, he does have to be impressive. I hadn't thought quite so analytically but my first husband was 6 ft 5 so I'm just used to tall men. Im so gald that you like the relationships - that's such a nice thing to say:)

 



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 21:14 · For: Chapter 3 Girion's Heir
Ah... finally had time for some reading. :) Yay.

I almost wonder now if Smaug's entrancing affects are lingering with Thranduil, after all. I've never heard of dragons being particularly honorable. He seems too trusting to me. Either that, or he can't stand the thought that he's putting his sons in such terrible danger, and he's deluding himself into thinking they'll be safe. He seems too smart for that.

And I like his kindness here, to Baard's ancestor. Too many people paint him so cold and aloof.

Now Galion... he's obviously an old and dear friend of the king. But what else is he? I thought I remembered from 'In the Halls' that he was a cook? Or maybe an advisor? They are so close, it's like they're linked, or picking up on each other's brain waves. Fascinating just to watch those two. x)

Author's Response:

What a lovely, intrguing review, Arasa- you have made me think about this. 

My belief about dragons( and I admit this is not from Tolkien alone but from folklore - especially Norse and ASaxon) is that dragons are really tricky but they do keep their word-but that getting it depends on what you ask from them- so they try to trick you into giving more than you want to. In this, Smuag wrings the promise to send someone every ten years- including Thranduil's own sons. As you say, they are not really safe- and you'll find there are dangers for Legolas, and for Thalos (which I am just writing now). 

There was one point, I htink in More Dangerous, when I hinted at more but Galion is just too devoted to the whole family and I was influenced by Jael's story- can't remember what it is called now.. BUt that fell away the more I wrote Galion.

 

Thank you for such a lovely review!

 

 



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: October 26, 2016 1:36 · For: Chapter 14 Laersul
Ah, Laersul is home and the complex seems to release it's breath and sigh with relief. Your description of Laersul as he arrives at the gates and feels the discord as he opens the gates and then knowing that Thranduil is in his chamber leads me to believe that Laersul is more than the heir apparent, he is also in some ways Ying to Thranduil's Yang. I get the feeling that Laersul may look like his father but he is a great deal like his mother. Now that he is home it seems like things are falling into place.

Poor Anglach and Legolas. To have to face a tribunal of their commanders has to be disheartening. No one believes their story and even Legolas feels that that things have devolved down to him becoming a messenger rather than a warrior. When Bilbo appears later on at Erebor to Legolas and Anglach, it will be a wonder that he even makes it to see Thranduil. Those two are going to want revenge for the punishment they received for letting the dwarves escape.

I was glad to see this chapter, sort a precursor to the travel to Smaug by Laersul, Theolos and Legolas. The trip there could be as interesting as meeting Smaug. The trio will need to get together and make sure that Theolos gets Smaug's agreement and doesn't become enthralled.

Hope you are still enthused to keep writing, I am loving this story.

Author's Response:

MAde my day, rikwen- so many SPAM reviews I didn't believe this was genuine (humbly). Thank you. 

I like the idea of LAersul and Thranduil somehow their complimentary opposites- I think that happens with a second/ deputy- they have to smoothe the rough edges of the leader, and to make sure they fill gaps. LAersul definitely does this. I'll be more aware of that now- thank you.

 

Yes- Anglach and Legolas are going to want some payback when they know what happened! I have already got that in my head and its one of the things I am writing towards.

 

Thank you again- I was becoming quite despondent about how few reviews there were and feeling it was not worth writing. You've given me a boost.



You must login () to review.