| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
The Secret Language Brother by Encairion Mature
Caranthir and Curufin’s story Part of the Price of Eternity series
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Peregrinations by Veveco Mature
Exploration of various themes. Fourth stop: The game.
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1562
Chapters: 7951
Word count: 23609676
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14037
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/27/17 03:49 pm
Thanks Ziggy ! I keep posting everywhere and handed out posters. fingers crossed xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:03 pm
you can go in and look. Don't give up. He'll be somewhere tucked up warm and living off mice. I pray anyway.xx
ziggy
05/27/17 12:02 pm
Caunedhiel- keeping everything crossed for your moggy's safe return- I have had one go missing for days and it was stuck in a neighbour's garage- GO BACK and look everywhere- ask people if you
Caunedhiel
05/26/17 09:58 pm
Thank you @Naledi and @Ysilme :( still not turned up but i hope wherever he is, he's being looked after x
Ysilme
05/26/17 12:14 am
So sorry to hear about your cat, Caunedhiel, and keep my fingers tightly crossed for him to be all right and come back. It's so hard to lose them, and harder still to not know what's happened.
Naledi
05/24/17 08:35 pm
Thanks Gabriel. It's hard to take in the things that are happening all round the world at the moment.
Gabriel
05/24/17 10:13 am
I hope this message finds everyone and their families in the UK safe and well. You are in our thoughts. Kia Kaha {Stay Strong} Love from NZ.
Naledi
05/23/17 07:32 pm
Oh no - I hope your cat turns up soon. It's so worrying when a pet goes missing:(
Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
Shout Archive


Reviews For ~ Dark Lands ~

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2016 23:51 · For: Chapter 5 ~ Loveless Power ~
Funny to hear New Cuivienen described as a place of peace, given the happenings in Magnificat!

I had forgotten Van accidentally killing the whore :-( does Elgalad know , at this point, what Van is capable of doing to him? Or does he truly think it doesn't matter, either because he is a Power too, or because of their love?

Author's Response: Funny to hear New Cuivienen described as a place of peace, given the happenings in Magnificat!

LOL! Yes, it was *supposed* to be - and it would be if it were not for the Noldor :D

Ebbingnight had an idea about the prostitute that was very much spot-on. It's Dana doing this; she does not want him to have any other women, and so she caused the woman's death. Van *might* have harmed her, but I honestly think he's too controlled without some-one 'lending a hand' so to speak.

Elgalad knows that in the long game, he has to die. :( Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2016 23:43 · For: Chapter 4 ~ The Road To Fate ~
It's a strange thought, that Van and Elgalad should need to get to know each other - but at this point I suppose most of their memories together are of a child and his guardian, so it makes sense that they need the bonding time.

It did occur to me whilst I was reading this chapter that I'd love to see some artwork of Van in a turban. Shame I'm so useless at drawing! And I'd forgotten that Van wrote The Garden of a Thousand Delights. Love it ;-)

Author's Response: Yes, at this point, they've not spent all that much time together after being apart since, well TA 1981 was when Nimrodel fled from Lothl


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2016 23:26 · For: Chapter 1 ~ In The Light Of A New Dawn ~
I'm treating myself to a re-read, in the light of the reveal about Elgalad :-)

I love the peace at the beginning of this chapter - it's almost a sense of pastoral tranquility, after the epic finale to Dark Prince. And I really like the parallel you draw between Van and Glorfindel at the end, when Glorfindel points out that Legolas is as safe with him as Elgalad is with Van. They are as perilous as each other, in their different ways, and I think that plays out very clearly in your Magnificat arc.

Author's Response: I remember when I wrote this, ad thought it needed to start very peacefully, considering how it was going to end!

Yes, Glorfinel and Vanim


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2015 22:36 · For: Chapter 61 ~ The Beginning Of The Storm ~
Oh, this was magnificent!! I started Reading this and got utterly hooked! Amazing story, and i was rushing towards the end. A really good story does something to you, it inspires and creates images and by Eru, this most certainly did! I loved it, the characters, the atmosphere, the excitement and the creepy darkness. You describe feelings and people's reactions so well, this is better than many books i have read. I am quite in awe, you have gotten yourself a New fan for sure.

Author's Response: Oh, my gosh! A review on an old fic! I always think they will be spam!
Than you so very much. I am thrilled to know you enjoyed it, and it's very kind of you to say so. I love the characters too, so I am really pleased to know you did too. Thank you, Nuredhel. :)


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: July 22, 2013 20:28 · For: Chapter 14 ~ She ~
Anwyn is so bolshy, I love her defiance. Even though I would be a total meek mouse in this situation.

What is that *thing*? I am completely creeped out by Her. 'Her skin was white as a dead thing...' yuck, completely repellent. Makes me shudder!

Author's Response: Sorry, I thought Anwyn might answer this, but I know she is busy. And yes, she is bolshy :) A good thing too in the circumstances.

That 'thing' was supposed to be repulsive - it will be explained a little later what it is.
Thank-you for reading and commenting, Merin! :)


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 24, 2013 21:18 · For: Chapter 13 A Slow Unveiling ~
Van is so dangerously sexy even with his clothes on and sitting on a couch! The Prince's control is commendable, I think I would do more than spill my wine a little if someone starting mind-speeching with me. I guess he's had practice though. Yes, a useful skill to have!

Author's Response: As you mentioned Van, I will reply to this review. :)

Van is so dangerously sexy even with his clothes on and sitting on a couch

I think he is; and am glad it comes across :)

The prince does fortunately have a lot of practice in self-control, and keeping his thoughts to himself, which yes, was a useful skill to have. Thank-you for commenting, Merin. :)


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 16, 2013 23:30 · For: Chapter 10 ~ Two Threads ~
I am sensing a back story I do not know between Elphir and this


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2013 22:52 · For: Chapter 7 ~ Far Into The South ~
e seemed to float, hanging on nothing above Tanith, seeing it as one of the white gulls might, or a sea-eagle.... and to the end of the chapter.

Wonderful description of Vanim


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2013 22:32 · For: Chapter 6 ~ Troubled Waters ~
Short but gripping! Anwyn, you should've run! Well, she probably wouldn't have escaped but still, I was like, 'woman run!' Not the time to be asking questions!

Author's Response: Your reaction often reminds me of watching a scary movie, and you watching the person on screen about to open the door when you know something horrible will happen if they do as the music is getting super creepy and you are yelling at the character to run for it...but they never do. No, Anwyn would not have gotten away even if she tried in this scenario and even if she could have made it away safely...I really, really could not see her leaving Elphir behind, as capable on his own as he is she loves him far too much to just leave him. You are completely right, definitely *not* the time for questions! Thanks so much for the review, Merin.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2013 21:51 · For: Chapter 5 ~ Loveless Power ~
Oh dear :( And see, you've had me labouring under a misapprehension in Magnificat 2 and 3 that Van was denying himself Elgalad for some silly but noble reason. Now I find out he has an actual legitimate concern! :(:(

Poor Van, even being a god, he doesn't catch a break. I'd give him a hug x

Author's Response: Hiya, Merin. Yes, there is a genuine reason for Vanim


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2013 22:33 · For: Chapter 4 ~ The Road To Fate ~
love this guy just offering to buy random strangers. That's an enterprising spirit. Good job he's philosophical in defeat.

So I take it this is the very book that ends up with Elphir and Anwyn? The threads, they start already!

Oh, Van writing the book. Of course he did! :D

Author's Response: Lol, yes, he is an enterprising man; and if you don't ask you don't get. Child of Storms is the first story about Anwyn and Elphi, with a little of Van in it, but written mainly by Anwyn. This starts after it. I wanted to show where Van goes to in this story through female eyes, but since I was writing Van and Elgalad, I couldn't; Anwyn very kindly joined me to write this story. :)

Oh, Van writing the book. Of course he did! :D

d;-)


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: May 21, 2013 23:43 · For: Chapter 1 ~ In The Light Of A New Dawn ~
I've finally gotten around to this following my major, though very enjoyable, detour through Magnificat. Super excited for the story! :)

Author's Response: Thank-you very much for sticking with it, Merin. I hope you enjoy the rest - they're nothing like as long!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 23:00 · For: Chapter 61 ~ The Beginning Of The Storm ~
He will have to make an advantageous marriage, you know this, it is his duty, the duty of any King. But you will never be overlooked, Aiana. I promise you that. Khanad has never been in love, and he may not even know he is, but I can see.

I love how realistic this is. Of course Khanad would be forced into a more "advantageous" marriage, but that doesn't mean he can't love someone else.

The blackness was like a hole in time itself, and his heart suddenly plunged like a war horse, for it reminded him of the isle and the dreadful smothering...blankness, the monstrous apparition which had emerged from it.
Oh Gods...

Something moved, and then the darkness parted, flowing like water from the one who stepped from it.


Say what you like about Van, he knows how to make an entrance ;)

"Dost thou," he said, "want a Warlord for thine armies, King Khanad?"

Haha...and the stage is set for the next adventure.

You and Anwyn have done a wonderful job with this; it fits together seamlessly, the characters are fascinating, and you handle a huge range of settings and subjects with skill. Thanks so much to both of you - this is a fantastic read.

Author's Response: Of course Khanad would be forced into a more "advantageous" marriage, but that doesn't mean he can't love someone else.

Yes. This. Sometimes I am sure people who write fanfic simply don't understand that in this kind of age, people of status did not just marry who they pleased. Some-one commented a while ago that Aragorn would never arrange marriages for his children, because he married for love. Well, yes, and Elrond also told him Arwen was too 'high' for him, and that Aragorn couldn't marry her unless he was king of both Gondor and Arnor. Wow. Tall order! Eomer and Lothiriel; lovely, Faramir and Eowyn, aww - yes, but they all just happened to be allies and of noble blood, so the marriages were good politically, strengthening ties. If Eowyn had happened to fall for some young man in the Houses of Healing whose father was a vintner...?

Thank-you so very much for reading, Narya. I am so pleased you enjoyed this story - Anwyn and I did enjoy writing it. Hugs!!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 22:47 · For: Chapter 59 ~ From Shadow Into Light ~
"Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 22:26 · For: Chapter 55 ~ The Dark Will Swallow Thee ~
It crawled into the minds of the Elves also, and they fought it, battling to bring forth their own memories of love and light, glory, even battle, death and grief, for any emotion was something, some feeling, to set against the depression of everything.

Oh...this is like Dementors x 10! Rowling always said they were a manifestation of depression, but this is far worse :(

Author's Response: She is Nothing - I suppose I was thinking of everything that was good and bright in a persons mind being eaten or sucked away. It made me think of nightmares where you think something dreadful is the only thing that exists. I hate those!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 22:09 · For: Chapter 54 ~ Godslayer ~
praying to all the Gods he knew that the golden visitation would slay Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 21:12 · For: Chapter 52 ~ I Ask Thee To Remember ~
The time of legends and heroes is gone.''

''Perhaps people who lived in those times also thought that,''


Too true. One thing I've learned from studying literature - society constantly thinks it's in a state of decay, that the good old days are behind.

''What m-must I do – on th-the isle?'' Elgalad looked up.

''Thou must love me, Meluion.''

''Is th-that all?''

''It is everything ! Blindness will come over us in that Dark...And I ask thee: Remember me. Or I am lost.''


Argh, I've read so much today...but with a hook like that I can't *not* carry through to the climax :D

Author's Response: I hope the climax is worth it :)

society constantly thinks it's in a state of decay, that the good old days are behind.

Very true - and it's no different in a fictional world.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 20:00 · For: Chapter 51 ~ There Are Deeper Wounds ~
Oh Elphir, you silly thing! *Shakes head* Can't you see what she was doing!?!

Then again, jealousy does mess up the emotions...


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 19:55 · For: Chapter 49 ~ Games Of Blood, Words Of Love ~
"I do not know h-how to not love th-thee!"

Oh gosh...he does set himself up to be hurt, doesn't he? :(

You write the relationship between Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 19:41 · For: Chapter 47 ~ Steps In The Dance Of Death ~
I am going to eat the ravenous bitch.
In a manner of speaking.


Teehee. Van does amuse me.

Author's Response: He hopes! Narya, thank-you for commenting, and I am so glad you're liking it! Hugs!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 19:29 · For: Chapter 45 ~ The Gathering Of The Tribute ~
''I have seen worse.'' The rich voice was thoughtful. ''Brace up, man, thou art not quite dead yet.''

*Snorts*

Typical Van! I do love him when he's in one of these moods.

Thy death would annoy me extremely, and devastate thy son.

''My...?''

Thou didst not think Taraluk could get such a child, truly? Even on the woman thou didst love.


:O :O :D :D

WHEEEE! Yay, I knew the Emir couldn't really be Khanad's father.

I liked your little detail about casting the bones. Very authentic :)

I don't really count this as Tolkien's world any more; this is all your own creation. He only hinted at what might lie to the South and the East; you've brought it to life.

Author's Response: Khanad was turning out to be too nice to be Taraluk's son I thought earlier in the story; but even Gthar didn't know. And his mother was dead :(

I liked your little detail about casting the bones. Very authentic :)

Brilliant! Thank-you. It irks me to see modernisms in something that is ancient, so I try to always use something that fits with an older world.

I do enjoy bringing places to life, I must admit. And there's so many. I've only hinted of Cathaia (proto China) and lands further east. There could be a whole world to explore.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 19:21 · For: Chapter 44 ~ A Bittersweet Taste Of Freedom ~
Nice to see Anwyn being all horsey and Rohirric :) and Nothtar...what game is he playing? Circles within circles! Love it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 19:16 · For: Chapter 43 ~ She Is Nothing ~
Oh goodness. The coupling with Her was appropriately vile...poor Van.

Nothing, Meluion, he answered, truthfully, It is...Nothing.

The truth, but not the whole truth. I wonder what Elgalad would do if he knew? I'm not actually sure I want to know :(

Author's Response: Ah, I'm actually glad it was 'appropriately vile' as I felt I would have failed had I not made it so. Thank-you!!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 18:59 · For: Chapter 40 ~ Eyes Of Fire, Souls Of Flame ~
Intriguing chapter; it was nice to see Maglor's vulnerable side. And F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2012 18:23 · For: Chapter 38 ~ A Suffering Of Souls ~
''Now tell me of the prince,'' he invited the man who waited nervously. ''And the one he spoke to at Aethen's school....''

And the plot thickens as the writers stir...

This is just brilliant, I'm more and more gripped by the storylines threading together. There is definitely something Martin-esque in the way the moves of each character create ripples across the entire arc, though your world is better drawn, I think. I can touch and taste Tanith in my mind in a way that's not true for Martin's world.

Just goes to show, the best writing isn't necessarily the stuff that's conventionally published!

Author's Response: I can touch and taste Tanith in my mind in a way that's not true for Martin's world.

Wow. *Shuffles feet* Well, it is Tolkien's world really :)
I often feel it would be pointless my trying to write o-fic, as I love Middle-earth so much that all I would do is create another one, and Tolkien did it first and best. I do like, though, writing places he did not cover, as it allows me my bit of o-fic-in-the-middle (earth) lol.

It was very easy to write with Anwyn. We had gone through the plot beforehand, and then just...wrote. I very much wanted a female perspective of Tanith. If Anwyn hadn't been around, I might have used an OC who was there, but I already felt so involved in what was going on with my existing characters, that Anwyn's writing was completely fresh. Tanith is one of those places that could be written of as a spin-off, after the end of Dark Lands, and I think Anwyn did talk about it.
Thank-you! Hugs!!


You must login () to review.