| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7981
Word count: 23749302
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14179
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Spiced Wine
06/06/17 10:07 am
Thank you, Ziggy :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Rite of Passage

Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: February 15, 2015 22:27 · For: Chapter 17 - Epilogue

This was a great read! Poor Thranduil, to have such horrid nightmares, and then find them to be real after all! I must also confess while I'm not afraid of spiders in general and am not usually grossed out by something of the world of insects, having the spiders hatch inside the prisoners was really.... ewww. Teh horror!

Very convincing to have the spider problem come into the world of the Greenwood Elves like that, and, of course, to have Oropher react to such a threat at first! Speaking of him, the relationsip with his wife and the banter was hilarious. I laughed so hard at some of your lines, great fun!



Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely comment Winterwitch. I am really pleased you enjoyed the story and it made you laugh.
I am not scared of spiders either but I am wary having been bitten by one - the pain was something else. I cannot watch those tv programmes about people with insects living inside them either.
Oropher and his wife have Thranduil completely fooled lol. Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2013 12:18 · For: Chapter 16 - Homecoming

Naughty Gildor! Yes, there are certainly some things that parents can't teach you! I just hope Thranduil can last out the day until bedtime!



Author's Response: I hope Gildor isn't going to teach Thranduil handicrafts when they go to bed. It could happen! I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 05, 2013 12:13 · For: Chapter 15 - Sentry Duty

Ha! Legolas is thranduil's teddy? That's so funny. And very sweet :D



Author's Response: I couldn't resist lol I thought 'this will please my Legolas Continuity Girl', even if it is the wrong story :) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2013 11:29 · For: Chapter 15 - Sentry Duty

Typical Oropher! Wonderfully funny- especially the macrame comment!



Author's Response: Thank you :) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin xx


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2013 11:20 · For: Chapter 14 - The Larder of Death

Oh this was real horror, Glorfindel. All the more chilling for the very businesslike way they go about it- busy, purposeful, preactical Woodelves. And a touch of smut just to make it properly silvan!!



Author's Response: I think it needed that touch of smut at the end lol I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin xx


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 10:13 · For: Chapter 13 - The Last Minute.

“Then let’s go over and see if we can find it,” Ada said pleasantly. He put his arm around my shoulder. “Your nana is especially good at listening for spiders. I believe she has a few in her family tree.” Ada chuckled at his joke while Nana told him not to be so naughty. “Come on, my dear,” he said to her. “Let’s kill some of your distant relatives. You must promise me that you will not be too upset.”

Your usual inimitabel style, my dear- made me laugh!

Author's Response: I am really pleased it made you laugh and you enjoyed it, Fin :)xx


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2013 21:20 · For: Chapter 14 - The Larder of Death

Oh, how horrific. Those poor warriors. It's a good thing they were found before the spiders could hatch.

Now I wonder if Gildor will agree to teach Thranduil the ways of the flesh?



Author's Response:

Author's Response: It was indeed horrible for the warriors but you know what my stories are like lol

Who knows what Gildor will do - he is a law unto himself :) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: Lintalome (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2013 14:47 · For: Chapter 13 - The Last Minute.

What a creepy nightmare! It sent cold shivers up and down my spine.

Trying to think optimistic, maybe the groaning noises mean the elves in the hole are still alive. But I’m having a somehow dreadful feeling. *shudder*



Author's Response: The elves could still be alive. I am always hopeful lol I am pleased you are enjoying the story, Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2013 9:03 · For: Chapter 13 - The Last Minute.

What's making the groaning noise? Is it going to get scary again? I still can't get Thranduil's nightmare out of my head. Knowing you, the worst is yet to come!



Author's Response: There are still some horrible bits to come lol Thranduil's nightmare was pretty horrid - I wouldn't want to have a dream like that :) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2013 9:10 · For: Chapter 12 - Fountain of Blood

Yay for the brave warriors, especially Baradhu! I couldn't believe it when he jumped down the hole. At this rate the Amon Lanc warriors will arrive just in time to set up the spider barbeque.



Author's Response: Baradhu seems somewhat reckless to me lol Like you, I couldn't believe he jumped down the hole - he could have been killed! You might be right about the Amon Lanc warriors. I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin xx


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2013 7:55 · For: Chapter 12 - Fountain of Blood

Yuk- tying the spider down doesn't seem a good idea- they just need ot kill it but it seems to be really hard ot kill this one. Love the line about old warriors- so true of Gildor. Another great bit of writing.



Author's Response: The spider will be hard to kill. I expect there will be a lot of horrid slime as well lol. I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin xx


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2013 7:52 · For: Chapter 10 - Kill Me!

Ugh- horrible! You were right to say super-gory. But very well written- I could 'see' that happening.



Author's Response: There are even more horrible things coming up :D I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin xx


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 23, 2013 21:45 · For: Chapter 11 - Stabbing The Ground

Nooo! Don't let the elflings come back, with a scary nest of spiders nearby! I hope it's Oropher with a huge army instead.



Author's Response: Oh dear, I hope none of the elflings are eaten. That would be awful. Evil grins abound lololol I will post the next chapter quickly so your mind can be put at rest - or not. Hehehehehe I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin xx


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 17, 2013 9:59 · For: Chapter 10 - Kill Me!

Oh poor Duinel - and I liked her, too :-(

I love the comparison between the seasoned warriors and the junior warriors (Thranduil excepted) who don't want to get their hands dirty. I hope they get to live long enough to learn to correct their mistakes.

 



Author's Response: I really liked Duinel and intended to have her around until the end of the story, but the spider had other ideas. The junior warriors are terrified, but Thranduil is the only one facing his fears. The others may come around at some point - or they may not ;) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 15, 2013 23:24 · For: Chapter 9 - Heave!

Great chapter, Glorfindel- really gripping! I Like the relationships developing between the Elves.



Author's Response: Thank you :) I am pleased you enjoyed it. More to be posted soon! Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2013 16:11 · For: Chapter 7 - Upturned Trees

Oooh! This is getting scary now. I have to believe that Thranduil's dream was a warning, not a prediction. Even if the young warriors are being horrible to Thranduil, I still don't want them to die such a vile death.

Anyway, if Thranduil gets implanted with spider eggs, how's he going to have hot sex with Gildor?



Author's Response: It gets even scarier. This is just a foretaste of what is to come :) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: September 12, 2013 15:56 · For: Chapter 7 - Upturned Trees
i really love Thranduils humour and the banter between his parents in this story :)

the first chapter made me shiver, im actually afriad of spiders anyway so that chapter seemed quite scary to me, I feel very sorry for Thranduil having to go through it every night! I really want to see what happens next, please post another chapter soon!

Ohh and i liked your reference to the film; Stand By Me. such a good film :)

Author's Response: I am really pleased you enjoyed it. Thradul's parents were fun to write. I am not scared of spiders, but I am wary of them having being bitten twice. I love that film too :) Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2013 21:55 · For: Chapter 5 - Camel Toe

Camel toe! LOL What a stupid name for a horse. I wonder if the horse would insist on being called that if it knew what that phrase means to us!

Hmmm...I think Thranduil's parents' behaviour is a bit suspicious. I wonder if his nana suspects something if she seems filled with grief.



Author's Response: I wonder if Oropher had an inkling of what it meant :) Thranduil's nana isn't filled with grief at all - that is just Thranduil's fancy that she is; however, she is worried about him going on a long patrol. It will be his first time and she will hope that he doesn't meet with any unfortunate accidents and behaves himself. I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 22:26 · For: Chapter 4 - A Glass of Wine

Thranduil's braver than me. If I'd just had that nightmare I wouldn't rush headlong into the same situation. And if his friend dies, he will never forgive himself.

I love the bickering parents. I bet if one of them was nice to the other they would die of shock!



Author's Response: I doubt Thranduil thinks it will come true - I wonder if it does.... The parents were fun to write :) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 18:21 · For: Chapter 4 - A Glass of Wine

I so love this- Thranduil is completely oblvious to his parents MEANING what they say..and htat makes it terribly funny. Love the last bit in particualr and Thrnaduil's fond beleif that they love each other.



Author's Response: I am not completely sure they do fully mean what they say. It is hard for Thranduil - he isn't very worldly. I am pleased you liked it, Fin x


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 07, 2013 0:57 · For: Chapter 2 - Friction

Uuurgh! Thranduil's dream was horrific. But Oropher's bickering with his wife was fun. I really think Oropher should pay more attention to Thranduil here.

Reading about Oropher with his wife makes me wonder if his senseless charge at Dagorlad was down to the realisation that if he didn't die, he would have to go back to her.

Anyway - fun opening chapters. I hope the dream doesn't come true.



Author's Response: I think Oropher and his wife enjoy the argument a little too much. I really do not think he would prefer death :) Poor Thranduil - will his last memories be of his parents bickering? (That is not a clue lol) I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2013 1:03 · For: Chapter 2 - Friction

Ok- back in Glorfindel-binky-verse, Oropher is as wonderfully gloriously sem-brilliant semi-obtuse that he is, and squabbling with his harridan wife whilst poor young Thranduil battles with his fear- which is ineviatbly going to come ture I hope!! Great stuff- as always, fun and a great romp.



Author's Response: I think Oropher and his wife protest too much - they were fun to write lol Thranduil doesn't seem bothered though. I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2013 1:00 · For: Chapter 1 - Silken Bonds

Ugh- what a horrible dream. Revolting- not sure i want to read this binky!! But because its you I will.



Author's Response: Thank you Ziggy :) The dream is horrid but the rest of the story is much lighter. I am pleased you enjoyed it, Fin x


You must login () to review.