| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Heralds of the Dawn by Encairion Mature
And death shall have no dominion. The final installment of The Price of Eternity series.  
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
And in spring be reborn by Kalendeer General Audiences
Reembodied in Valinor, Dior finds relief from grief from the most surprising person.   Beleriand had sang. Her waterfalls...
Waiting for the Thaw by Narya General Audiences
Annatar takes a brooding Celebrimbor for a walk in the snow.
Flying Sparks and Captain Snark by KimicThranduilion General Audiences
Legolas’ suffers a brief wobble in confidence in the face of an exasperated Captain. His friend, fellow new recruit Faervel...
Trials of Revision by mangacrack Explicit
Tuor falls in love with the Prince instead of the Princess and Idril betrays Gondolin.
The Image in the Mirror by Ysilme Teen
When Ost-in-Edhil falls, Galadriel flees with her daughter to the safety of Lindórinand, while Celeborn has to follow...

Site Info

Members: 500
Series: 95
Stories: 1805
Chapters: 9098
Word count: 27799740
Authors: 143
Reviews: 16957
Reviewers: 228
Newest Member: Silmaril Chick
Beta-reader: 31
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 15
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
02/17/20 09:41 pm
Thanks Ziggy! It’s my birthday tomorrow so it’s nearly here :)
ziggy
02/17/20 09:05 am
oops- Naledi is Friday!
ziggy
02/16/20 11:15 pm
Happy Birthday Naledi, and belated birthday wishes to Spiced Wine. (I am working on something for you, Naledi- you asked for ages ago and finally I have time:) x
Kalendeer
02/14/20 07:12 pm
Happy friday, happy valentine's day to all the authors and favs!
FirstAmazon
02/14/20 06:12 pm
happy friday, and happy valentine's ^^
Spiced Wine
02/14/20 05:13 pm
Welcome, Silmaril Chick please check your email for notification, thank you
Spiced Wine
02/14/20 09:13 am
Happy Friday and happy Valentine’s Day everyone :)
Spiced Wine
02/07/20 08:26 pm
Thank you :)
astorey_91
02/07/20 02:19 pm
Hope that you had a fantastic birthday, Spiced Wine <3
Ysilme
02/07/20 11:28 am
Happy Birthday to you, Spiced Wine! :o)
Shout Archive



Name: L8Bleumr (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2013 5:41 · For: Chapter 21 Secrets, Secrets Are No Fun...
I love it when E and Loti start that back and forth flirting thing. It's so sexy. Your description of E's outfit was divine. What a man! I still say you write the best Eomer of them all. I know it's not their time yet, but when you wrote that part where E is examining her sleeve and tells her it's worn, I kept thinking, perfect ... just rip it off then. Eowyn is great too. I can definitely see the resemblence in the two of them. They have some of the same traits, two very powerful people who are sure of who they are. I love that in a character. And who is this Buttersworth? She's a spitfire isn't she? She'd have to be, I suppose, to be Eowyn's maid. It's fun to see a new character thrown in for the mix. I was so excited to see you update. It's been a very long time, but always worth the wait, Duchess.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm never sure how it comes across on paper, but imagining Eomer always gives me the jiggly backbone. I hope he and Loti spark as much on paper as they do in my head. It is hard keeping them away from each other, not having them touch, or do more, but the last thing I want is to write one of those sappy romances where the H/H fall in love after, like, one week. It's lame, cliche, and just not realistic. Relationships are hard work. Trust is something that needs to be earned over time, barriers need to be overcome until there is an unbreakable understanding between the participants and that takes time. Strong attachment and love involve the heart and the mind, not just the body. Yeah, sure, I could throw them in bed together and let them go at it. It would probably be really hot, but epically anti climatic. What's left to learn about each other, all the tension will be gone. They need time to explore each other as people before they start exploring each other's private parts. Hell, either of them could go out and get laid anytime they want and it would mean nothing. In a modern age of sexual freedom with no attachments and quicky divorces, sometimes I think we forget that there's a big difference between loving and fucking. Does that make sense? Gaahh! I'm trying to write a romance here, people, not a letter to Penthouse forum! I like to imagine Eomer in black. lol I get criticized for my characters' fashion choices so I'm glad you liked it. Any scene with Eowyn is fun to write. She just bumps everbody out of the way. Eomer indulges her. I bet it's like Downton Abbey below stairs at Eomer's house. lol


Name: Crencestre (Signed) · Date: October 12, 2012 1:39 · For: Chapter 18 Midnight in the Garden of Evil
So finally the light is starting to dawn in his head: but his reaction seems a regression into his old behaviour, almost a pretence to himself that 'it' hasn't really happened and that everything is as it was. I liked the contrast between his selfless, brave physical actions to 'save' her and the almost cowardly denial of love and all the frustration of his inability to deal with emotion, be it anger or love.

It was nice to go to Eomer again in this chapter and the introduction of Mel: I wonder if he has a greater part to play. I do love all your little characters but I would like to see them reappear and maybe help forward the plot/subplots rather than be oneshots. But maybe they do? (I've been reading the Kushiel series and she's excellent in dealing with small characters, as well as anti-heroines)
Again beautiful, languid descriptions which are very atmospheric. But, small technical issue- a glaswegian/rohirric kiss isn't forehead to forehead, but forehead to (inevitably broken with minimal pain to aggressor) nose.

Lastly, an apology for tardiness- please don't take it personally- just crazy busy/sick/even busier and not been around much.

Author's Response: Hey Crencestre! Hope everything is ok for you! I've been in tough shape for the last year, too so I get it. I love writing Eomer because there's no filter. I can say and do pretty much anything I want with him. Although, he is so bull headed sometimes it drives me nuts. He's a man and sometimes I don't know if men know why they do what they do!! He wants to have a family, wants to love and be loved, but he's very scared. Understandable, considering the world he knows, I think. Secondary characters rock! They help color and build the world. As a writer, you have to see characters as real people and not just soldiers marching on the stage. Each person has their own quirks and eccentricities, which is probably why people love some of my secondary characters so much. Not all of them can have bigger parts to play, but Mel will. Originally, Mel was just a walk on character, like Theofrid was, but the more I thought about them, the more I liked them and saw their potential. It's good to hear from you again! I was actually thinking about you the other day since I hadn't heard from you in awhile. I enjoy your reviews since they are always thoughtful and insightful.


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: May 24, 2012 9:06 · For: Chapter 20 Return of the King
FINALLY, after what seemed like months passed between the notification that this updated (I'm sure you heard my squeal wherever you are) and now, I get the joy of reading a new chapter. As always, I had planned to parcel it out to make it last longer. As always, I failed.

First of all, it absolutely and utterly breaks my heart to think you had even one moment of self-doubt with your writing. I mean, I understand how it happens (I'm the Queen of Self-Doubt in general, and in particular, I've written some of my own stuff but never had the courage to let anyone read it - some days I think it's good enough to do so, most days I don't), but it pains me that someone who writes as well as you do (and I still don't fully believe this is your first attempt) could feel that way. Beyond the standards of plot (intriguing and humorous and sad and compelling) and characterization (well fleshed-out characters whom I find entertaining and interesting and likable and want to read more about), there are so many little turns of phrase that make reading your work so enjoyable. Double entendres about sword size, Eomer calling Aragorn "Daddy Long Legs," Aragorn calling Eomer a "hairy horse..." (well, you know - are reviews supposed to be G-rated?), and one of the most entertaining similes I've ever read "the phalanx of Rohirrim parted like an unfashionable hairstyle" - all of those, and many more I won't repeat simply because this review is about to be as long as the chapter, are what make me squeal so audibly when I know there's a new chapter.

And then there was this: "The dress was a silly thing to want—the way the Rohirrim lived it would stay clean for all of two minutes—but once, just once, she’d like to be a lady. Just once she’d like to be special, seen for more than just outer beauty. Just once she’d like to make Eomer proud." It made me smile and want to cry all at the same time. Beautiful.

THANK YOU for continuing. And please, for the love of all that is holy, please, please, PLEASE keep on doing so. I'll read every word. And try to be quieter when I squeal.

Author's Response: Well, I guess my only advice to someone who'd like to write, it just to write. You're stories won't get written my magic and practicing it every day is the only way to get better. There's a quote by some famous person or another that goes there's no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you. In all honesty, I gave up the dream of writing back in high school. It was "unpractical" and, frankly, I thought I sucked at it. Then, one day a couple of years ago after I had seen the movies for the first time ever and got obsessed with these men, these warriors, I started trolling fanfiction to fill the void. There were so many lame cliched stories, I mean, how many different ways and E and L meet as the demure princess and prince charming? Boring. I'm not 17. I know about real life and about relationships and men. So anyway, I was literally sitting here one day and thought, I'd like to write a book. I could do better than this crap. So I just started to write fanfiction for practice, not knowing at all what I was doing. I'm glad you like the lines about the dress. I wasn't sure about it, but L8Bleumer thought I should add something like that to that part. She has good instincts so I'm glad I did it now!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2012 6:13 · For: Chapter 20 Return of the King
Duchess--I was sooooo PLEASANTLY PLEASED to see that there was an update!!! I so LOVE this STORY and again its UNIQUENESS!! The curiosity is killing me now as to Faramir and Aragorn's reaction to Loti--I have the idea but will be WAITING PATIENTLY to see if I am right!! It was a BEAUTIFUL chapter--I LOVE YOUR STORY AND YOUR WRITING!!

Author's Response: Hey, and thanks for your support! You'll have to wait and see about Faramir! My version of Aragorn is a little goofy. He can't be as dour faced in real life as he is in the canon. And if he is, he's an awfully boring, on dimensional character. I'm really excited about what's all going to happen in this new part of the story.


Name: L8Bleumr (Signed) · Date: May 16, 2012 5:30 · For: Chapter 20 Return of the King
You are so very very welcome. I'm not sure I did much, but I'm glad I could help. So, you found your mojo I see. Welcome back. This was completely you, your style. I love all the changes and especially the part where you picked back up. Eowyn is absolutely perfect, just how I imagined her. She responds to Eomer and Faramir and even some of the men exactly how I would expect. I laughed out loud at a couple of her lines. She so reminds me of Jenny Fraser, no nonsense kind of girl. And wow, Faramir is so sexy, much more so than I could imagine. You just nailed the whole family reunion scene. And poor Loti, she seemed so out of place and Eowyn just scooped her up and took her under her wing. Man, I laughed at the comment about Loti missing her target after Eomer says she was sent to kill him. Eowyn really stole the show. Not even the King of Gondor is spared her sharp tongue. Once again Duchess, you do not disappoint. Don't let those critics suck your life from you. You're too talented to let them bring you down. Besides, it seems to me you not only picked yourself up and dusted off, but you got in the shower, scrubbed behind your ears and put on your favorite body spray, lol. Take that dream killers! Shabam!!

Author's Response: Trust me, sister, you did more than you can imagine. I'm actually writing and enjoying it again. You know, aside from my admission that FOTR is a complete snoozer, one of the things that bothers me about LOTR is Eowyn's character. Mind you, Tolkien was a man from a completely different generation and most likely a sexist in some form, but really? Aragorn calls her a shield maiden and she says all that stuff she says and then Aragorn comes back from the Deep and she falls on her knees and BEGS him to take her with. Now, I "get it" but I'm sorry, but there are some inconsistancies in her character. She'd be much more interesting and likeable if she were more like Briene of Tarth than some wishy washy girl. Ugh. Modern sensibilities aside, I never thought about Jenny Faser until you said it. They have alot in common. Eowyn would have been the head of her uncle's household from a young age, being the only woman. She probably would've had more power and freedom than most women. She's larger than life and so domineering in my head, I have to reign her in from being tyrannical. Faramir's power and position and his willingness to love her for who she is and let her be who she is allows her to flourish and come into her own. Faramir is like Jamie Fraser in a way. The perfect man--lover, warrior, intellectual, leader, knows is place and role in the world, compassionate. Unlike Eomer, he thinks before he acts. Eomer is never deliberately cruel, he might say or do things out of passion, but isn't cruel just to be so. Eomer is sort of unbridled passion. Faramir, now, I don't think he's cruel by nature, but a man with the knowledge of the nature of men could use cruelty, sparingly, to his advantage. Faramir knows people. Knows how to get people to do what he needs them to do. He more than most is a very complicated character. And sexy.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 10, 2012 5:09 · For: Chapter 1 A Lost Man
I know you authors all have other things in the oven per se and real life to contend with but I am still looking for me--just thought I would let you know that this is one of best stories I have read and that I would wait to the end of the world for this one here!!!!

Author's Response: Well thanks so much Alaeryel! I'm not doing so well right not. My confidence got completely crushed so I am slowly working my way through my issues. I have no idea when the next chapter will be finished, but i've gotten two really positive reviews in the last couple of days, so that certainly helps! Thanks again!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 11:49 · For: Chapter 19 A Pirate's Life For Me
I will be anxiously awaiting more of this story. I love your take on things and its uniqueness. I feel it is very well written and the humor ia astounding--I have a warped sens of humor according to my family and I am proud of it. You say the beginning wasn't your best and I thought all of it was great.

Author's Response: Well thanks for that. I have to admit, I always go for the easy joke.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 11:05 · For: Chapter 18 Midnight in the Garden of Evil
I absolutely LOVED this chapter--especially the throwing of horse crap. Needless to say it brought back memories of my siblings and I on the farm growing but with cow manure! OMG this was priceless!!!

Author's Response: HA! I know right! I'm from Wisconsin, so... yeah.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 9:00 · For: Chapter 17 Into the Lion's Den
Dumbfounded and delirious! I am in heaven.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 7:35 · For: Chapter 16 Rub A Dub Dub
I would never have thought to write anything about Eomer being afraid of anything. I loved his reactions to the snakes and then about her dress--oh lordy me.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 5:55 · For: Chapter 14 Fever Dreams
OOOHHH you ARE good!!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 4:16 · For: Chapter 13 Sins Of The Father
I wanted to cry for Loti. They are not having an easy time our they at realizing that they each have feelings for them. I like the way you run them in circles. Keep up the good work!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 3:02 · For: Chapter 12 A Mid Summer Night's Debauch
sheesh I love it can't think of anything else--(big smirk) I couldn't quell my laughter and there is so many twists than what I think and am proved wrong GREAT!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you are enjoying this. I'm flattered that you've spend so much time reading something that I wrote. Thanks again.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 0:50 · For: Chapter 11 Demons Purged
Hot Damn--when is he gonna get in her pants? lol This is soooo entertaining! THANK YOU!

Author's Response: Thanks! If you're entertained, then I've done my job!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 23:31 · For: Chapter 10 Loti Meets a Horse Lord
LOVE LOVE it! I love the way you protrayed the elf it to is different than any of the stories I have read. They are still portrayed as tough warriors--I am smitten!

Author's Response: Ha! What's better than a gay elf with a barbarian fetish!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 21:47 · For: Chapter 9 One Fine Day
Stupid computer keeps logging me out and shutting down--ugh. I am really liking the difference in this story. You have done an excellent job with the writing, very realistic!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 7:52 · For: Chapter 7 A Lesson in Persuasion
I am really enjoing this. I never imagined another side of Eomer and I love it. Great Job!

Author's Response: Chapter 7 wasn't an easy chapter to write. it's was sort of putting down how I see the world post WOTR. Eomer cracks me up sometimes. I'm not sure how it comes off on paper, but in my mind, Eomer and Loti are electric. lol Thanks again for your review!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 5:27 · For: Chapter 4 The King and the Captive
You have captured the true sense of men and women. I am actually enjoying reading something completely and utterly different than the normal stories altho I still really like them too but change is nice and I can relate to this also!

Author's Response: Thanks! AGain, this is badly written, so I'm flattered you are still reading it. I can't even read it I think it's so terrible! lol I'm my own biggest critic.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 4:32 · For: Chapter 2 The Assassin
This is so much different than any other story I have read about Eomer/Lothiriel. It peeked my interest and I am pleasantly pleased to see it from another point of view even though I just started reading it.

Author's Response: Hey! Welcome to this site! I've never written anything before this so the early chaters are awful. Awful! My later stuff is at least a little better. I've made a lot of mistakes, but how else will I learn how to tell a story. There are two ways to write--to please the author herself, or to please the reader. I try to please the reader and make it entertaining. I got the idea for this from the one line in the 300 that David Wenham, ironically enough, said, and after a weekend of watching Burn Notice, NCIS and the Bourne movies. I've read a couple of E/L's but cant read anymore. They are all the same--snoozers. I like barbarians, men, warriors-- brutal, beautiful, and terrible. I don't do Prince Charmings. lol Thanks for reading and reviewing and hope to hear from you again.


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2012 0:17 · For: Chapter 19 A Pirate's Life For Me
Please forgive the second review, but I just had to comment on something you said (just look at it this way - I could easily and happily converse and comment about just about every line in this whole story, so two reviews for one chapter really isn't that much LOL).

"perhaps they want him to be more charming"

Oh, but I think he is. It's just not in the (unfortunately) currently-prevailing Cullen-esque way. ;-)

Author's Response: LOL! The mention of that name just made me throw up a little bit in my mouth! Dude, if I wanted a man who was like a woman, I'd be a lesbian. Possibly the least attractive style on a man is skinny jeans. Really? How awful! The person who thought that style was sexy should be dragged out and beaten. No one looks good in skinny jeans!


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2012 9:00 · For: Chapter 19 A Pirate's Life For Me
Ah, it's a happy day when I see that this story has been updated. Maybe one day I'll do the smart thing and parcel out a new chapter to savor it, but it is not this day.

Beyond the continuing story and its entanglements (which I love and am forever wondering exactly where it will go next), there are so many little turns of phrase you use throughout that make this such fun to read. I'd gladly sit and list them all, Bema forbid, but that would make for the world's longest (and dullest) review. I think my favorite of this chapter is "engaging in that bit of advanced swordsmanship called showing off." I guess this is all a Faramir-esque lengthy way to say "you have a way with words." :-)

PS "I thought maybe my interpretation of Eomer was, perhaps... wrong." I'm glad the audiobook has helped you with that, but I can honestly say that if your interpretation had been wrong, so was mine. You write him EXACTLY the way I picture him, which, I'm sure, is probably the biggest reason I love this story so much.

Author's Response: Goodness! Thank you so much! I like to read cute mysteries, especially by Rhys Bowen. I thought it would be hard to write one, but really, it's not so much. To be honest, even I'm not sure where it's going sometimes! I just thought up another good plot twist, so we'll see! Actually, that line is my favorite, too! It made me laugh when I wrote it. The parts with Elfhelm were fun too. He and Eothain are easy to write. They speak to me. (which makes me think I literally have voices in my head!). The Rohirrim, they're kind of like the bad boys of middle earth. I sort of see them as Gondor's muscle. Girls who read this in general don't care for the way I'm writing him, perhaps they want him to be more charming, like Leggy (who pratcially is singing every line! It's like a fricking musical for pete's sake!) or Aragorn. Women, on the whole, love him! I'm so pleased i was able to entertain you!!


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2012 9:06 · For: Chapter 18 Midnight in the Garden of Evil
Oh yes, I also meant to say:

As for the "Rohirric kiss," my Glaswegian ancestry applauds. I KNEW I loved the Rohirrim for a reason!!

Author's Response: OMG! I thought no one would pick up on that! I read that in one of Diana Gabaldon's books and totally thought that's something Eomer would do. You know, I'm listening to the audiobook of LOTR at work (obviously, i clean houses. I've got a lot of free thinking time on my hands). I thought maybe my interpretation of Eomer was, perhaps... wrong. But then then I came to the Riders of Rohan and out of the narrator's mouth came this forceful, deep, strong, slightly growly voice and I fell in love with Eomer all over again. The guy reads Eomer with such fierceness and intensity. My fears were allayed! lol


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2012 9:05 · For: Chapter 18 Midnight in the Garden of Evil
No, no - the squeal was all happiness and no shock. :-)

It took a while because I realized that I had better go back and at least skim some of the previous chapters or risk being lost with this one - and I, as I should have predicted, found myself reading many times when I should have skimmed. I knew I loved this story and I knew I was hoping there would be more, but I had forgotten how much.

I'd also forgotten what a roller coaster ride these chapters could be. From literally yelling "no, no, no" at my computer as Loti's plan became clear (because, you know, she can TOTALLY hear me), to laughing out loud at "Women for Dummies," to wanting to smack Eomer upside the head with a 2 by 4 (and come to think of it, occasionally wanting to do that to Loti), to a feeling of dread when he asks Eothain "and what happens if she dies?" So very much wow, and I thank you for all the time it must take and for the fun I have reading it.

Author's Response: Thanks again! I'm very flattered. The last three chapters have had a slow pace since they take place over a day or a day and a half, and I was a little worried about that...But, I'm reading a 300 page book right now that takes place over the same time so that sort of dispelled my worry. This was the first time I'd ever written a misunderstanding between two characters and it was extremely difficult. Eothain is a bit of a scene stealer and what the hell-you've got to have some fun sometimes. Everybody has a story, including Eothain. You'll get to hear his story and understand why Eomer asks that and why Eothain answers that way.


Name: Branwyn (Signed) · Date: January 14, 2012 9:35 · For: Chapter 18 Midnight in the Garden of Evil
I've not yet read this chapter (and I've read all the previous ones elsewhere but will do so here from now on - the font and layout are easier on the eyes), because it's far too late and I know I can never read a chapter of this story in parts - it's all or nothing; but I just wanted you to know I literally squealed quite loudly when I saw this had been updated. SO happy to see a new chapter, which I will definitely read ASAP. THANK YOU for posting!!

Author's Response: No! Thank you! I'm blushing! lol I like this site much more than LOTRFF exactly because the font and layout is better. You're the third person to tell me they squealed when they saw i posted. I'm sure some of that reaction is partly shock that i actually did post!


You must login () to review.