| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Faerie Slashy Advent Calendar by Naledi Mature
A round-robin advent calendar. Elrohir is pursued by orcs to the eaves of Mirkwood. What happens next is anyone's guess.
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Child of Dying Embers by arafinwean Mature
"We are not the same, child of Melian, you were born of love and trust and I? I was born of hate and envy."She is not supposed...
Change by arafinwean Mature
Fingon takes Maedhros from Thangorodrim, but the journey isn't pleasant, nor is all forgiven.Maedhros is released from Thangorodrim...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Ossė's Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1597
Chapters: 8198
Word count: 24671864
Authors: 137
Reviews: 14888
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 9
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
12/12/17 11:12 pm
Oh, ziggy, btw, are you happy with Friday or is Saturday easier for you? I can do either.
Narya
12/12/17 03:27 pm
Great pair of chapters, ziggy and cheeky! I'm so excited to see what happens next.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 02:12 pm
Ok Ziggy Thursday it is for me!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 10:28 am
I managed it :-) and even got the next chapter up early! Not my best, but it was a busy day. That's my excuse.
ziggy
12/12/17 07:26 am
@Cheekybeak- Haha! Serves you right for the last curved ball:D Nelya- yes, fine. You do Thursday, I'll find it easier doing Friday anyway.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 01:14 am
Ziggy do you have Thursday too? If not I can do Thursday instead of Friday if someone else wants to pick up Friday? Let me know!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 01:05 am
Oh, seriously, Ziggy?? What are you doing to me?! How do I follow that???
cheekybeak
12/12/17 12:58 am
Me!
ziggy
12/12/17 12:16 am
OK- sorry ! Who's next?
ziggy
12/11/17 10:41 pm
I am onto the next chapter but got home very late- apologies. Scribbling away as we speak (sort of)
Shout Archive


Reviews For All The King's Men

Name: spinster (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2016 4:33 · For: The Rangers are Come
OMG What a riveting story. I had to backtrack to leave a note because I am devouring this. I've been reading for 4 hours and have just finished chapter 10. You are so talented. I love the Protege series and to find MORE is well, (hehe) precious!

Author's Response: Hey spinster. What a lovely surprise to get a review on this story. Four hous eh? Lookslike you're on a marathon!! I hope you enjoy the rest, and I would love to hear your comments along the way!


Name: Erethren (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2015 7:38 · For: Chapter 25
Ok, has anyone heard from alfa in a while? Can someone please knock on her door and make sure she's still alive because, quite frankly, I'm starting to get worried... :(

Author's Response: Still alive!!! Just not writing in The Protege universe right now. that and I am not as active on the shoutbox as I used to be. thank you for caring, and taking the time to contact me, and sorry to have worried you :)


Name: callie (Signed) · Date: June 28, 2015 4:18 · For: Prologue: Textures Upon A Living Tapestry
I love the entire the Protege series and hope to see more of it soon.

Author's Response: Thank you, Callie. I am so glad you like the series. I am currently writing a shorter story in a non-slash arc, but I will definitely be back with the Protege!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2015 8:13 · For: Chapter 25

It's sad to see this story end, but I hope it won't be too long before the next one begins. I enjoyed Gildor's growth throughout the story and the hints of Arwen's fate coming between Aragorn and Legolas. And talking of character growth - I was so excited to see Melven in this chapter. I've missed the elves of the Company!

Wonderful writing, as ever - I loved it :)



Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2015 6:30 · For: Chapter 25
Sniff, sniff...it's finished. Oh and what a happy ending. I mean you can't get better than your concluding sentence: "“We five? We,” said Elladan as his eyes travelled over Glorfindel, Gildor, Galdithion and Legolas, 'we are All The King’s Men…'"

I really like Gildor's growth in this story and the unexpected visitor at the end. Is there another tale brewing in this verse? I certainly hope so! I love these bold and beautiful elves!


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2015 19:39 · For: Chapter 25
So good to see these guys again , and Glorfindel has woken up after his months of suspended animation!

Oh Legolas, this whole big dramatic trip and he has taken away with him info about the size of women's clevage!! Such a guy thing to say!
Loved that ending!

So is it Arwen? The great grief looming ahead of them? I am sure that is what lies between Aragorn and Legolas.

Perhaps I am just wishful thinking because I don't want you to kill off someone like Gladithion.

I hope we will see the next installment of these guys adventures soon!


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2015 16:29 · For: Chapter 25

**a special big thanks to CURIOUS WOMBAT for her methodical, sometimes gruelling beta reading - you're the best!**

Thank you - it is a pleasure!



Name: Lotrgllover (Signed) · Date: March 30, 2015 15:08 · For: Chapter 25
Aww! Love the ending. I also love how glorfindel isn't just magically better. Please tell me you are going to write more soon?! And by more I mean a lot more. Love the story love the ending and the unity of the Kings men. Please continue very soon


Name: Lotrgllover (Signed) · Date: March 23, 2015 11:46 · For: Against All Odds
Hey! Made an account just so I can comment and tell you how much I appreciate your stories. They're amazing and magical and take you to a different place. I love the relation ships between your characters and I'm can't wait to find out what happens with glorfindel. Please please update soon!!

Author's Response: I am flattered, Lotrgllover. The last chapter will be here as soon as it is beta'ed - hope you enjoy it!


Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: January 22, 2015 19:25 · For: Against All Odds
I have been away and missed this update!

What a beautiful chapter. I loved your description of Legolas's arrival. His fatigue and exhaustion, but also his determined stumbling towards Glorfindels bedside. That was very emotional reading.

His doubts and reproach of the Valar is very realistic and I am glad to see it. Throughout this story Legolas has been struggling with the duties expected of him and the conflict that causes with his own wants and what he must ask of his loved ones.

Alas I see Elrond is back. Still he seems to be behaving himself in this chapter so I will put up with him!

Author's Response: Glad you spotted it! You just happened to coincide with a three-month leave of absense for RL issues - even so, it has been ages which makes me feel rotten! I hope you will still be able to enjoy the last chapter after so long.


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: January 02, 2015 0:42 · For: Against All Odds
Wow this was tense....so tense. I thought surely, surely Glorfindel can't have been killed off! But I did wonder if you had actually done it.

For a lot of this story you have been giving us glimpses of Legolas's feelings of rebellion and resentment at his duties and expectations placed on him. Is this what it all has been leading to? I hope he can find a way to accept the situation he finds himself and his loved ones in and continue to do what he must.

Of course that doesn't mean he has to stop feeling as he does about the Valar.they are not my favourites either! But he does have to find a way to continue without letting the bitterness and resentment eat him up.

Great chapter!!!

Author's Response: As I said to Naledi - so sorry for not getting back to you - it has taken me nearly three months - can't believe it!! The last chapter will be here soon and I hope you will be able to remember where we left off!! God - I hate this.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2015 14:37 · For: Against All Odds

What a wonderful new year's gift, Alpha. I love immersing myself in your world. 

Everyone seems so close to despair now. The enemy has grown so strong it's hard to believe that even Legolas and his men can survive. Poor Glorfindel has to survive or I think everyone will lose all hope. 

Great chapter, Alpha. And happy new year!

 



Author's Response: I'm back - God, so sorry for not answering sooner - RL has had me completely exiled. I have just sent off the final chapter to Wombat for beta'ing, so hopefully it won't be long and this story will finally be fiinished - can't believe it. Agh, I hate it when I have to wait so long for a chapter of one of my faves and never thought I would do the same thing - it was, however, totally involuntary and I will try for it not to happen again :))


Name: SparkyTAS (Signed) · Date: January 01, 2015 2:39 · For: The Smiling Dunedan
I just noticed that it's been over a month since the last update to this story, and I really hope it hasn't been abandoned. As you know from my previous postings, the Prot


Name: cheekybeak (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2014 7:16 · For: The Smiling Dunedan
Hi, I have read all your stories, here and elsewhere but I don't think I have ever reviewed.
I am not very good at it but I Thought I should start.
Very sad about Arathorn, What a sudden end. Such bad luck. Thank you though for making him mean something to me. I have never seen him as a character I was interested in before and in the end I really didn't want to let him go.
I feel most sorry for poor little Aragorn, seeing his father die and his mother abandoning him in her grief. So not fair. I loved the way Elladan called him brother.
I think my favourite bit was the interaction between Legolas and Gildor. They have come a long way the two of them, from the beginning of this story. It was lovely how quietly supportive Gildor was.
Really looking forward to seeing what happens next!

Author's Response: Hey cheakybeak. I am so glad you have decided toreveal yourself, so to speak, and I am flattered to hear you have read all my stories :) it has always been that way for me too regarding Arathorn, and now was as good a time as any to challenge myself on that note. I am glad it worked for you. re Gildor, yes. i hope to have his character more or less resolved after this particular story, as he finally rids himself of all those negative feelings and moved closer to his king, one he is only now starting to see as a friend, too. so thank you for the lovely words, and welcome!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2014 21:55 · For: The Smiling Dunedan

Oh I knew this was coming, but it still didn't make it any easier. I'm glad you gave Arathorn a relatively quick and painless death. But poor Gilraen and Aragorn to have witnessed that. And Gilraen is overcome by grief just when Aragorn needs her most. It was a lovely moment when Elladan called him brother.

things are looking bleak for both groups now. I hope there won't be too long to wait. I want to see them safe in Rivendell!

Great chapter!

 

 



Author's Response: I am glad that worked, although painless, the shock of having THAT done to you cannot be pleasant! Not sure if I would like to go that way. their journey will not be easy now, as we shall see in the next chapter, which I hope to have out by new year. Thanks for sticking with this, and sorry for taking so long to get back to you!


Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2014 19:04 · For: The Smiling Dunedan
Well I said I wouldn't read this chapter because I didn't want Arathorn to die but in the end I couldn't resist at all and read it straight away.

I am glad that even though you killed him off he had a good peaceful death in the end, more at peace than he has been for some time so maybe I will forgive you.
I have been waiting to see if Legolas could order Glorfindel to seperate from him and into danger and he managed to do it. It's good to see him struggle with it though. It makes him more human,( well he is not human at all is he but maybe I mean more normal, less godlike) if anything happens to one or other of them while they are apart it may well cause some emotional issues though I imagine.
Fingers crossed they make it to Imladris in one piece. I guess this means the reappearance of Elrond. I will prepare myself for that and try my best to ignore him!

Author's Response: Ah but you knew I would do it! Veveco has never forgiven me for killing the Bard Warrior, says I have a penchance for killing off her faves ! Sorry for the delay in responding. It has taken me some time to figure out the final few chapters of the story. Hopefully there will be an update in the next few days. Thanks for your patience and kind words, as always.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 20:51 · For: Would That I Were Blind
Oh, the man rides to his announced death and the wife can only watch in silence - what a heartbreaking situation for Arathorn and Gilraen... But some fates cannot be changed I suppose.
(ah! I finally caught up on this story!)

Author's Response: Welcome then!! Now, now, there is no certainty the man will die. Where on Earth did you get that idea??


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 18:59 · For: This Is My Land
Of course Legolas would share a bit of woodland trademark 'merrymaking' ;)


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 18:11 · For: Respite
Alright, Gildor's antics at the beginning amused me greatly - though Legolas had his moment of privacy with his lover at last!
I wonder what makes Aragorn fear Legolas... hum...


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 17:50 · For: Defying Destiny
Oh, oh... I already know what I'll draw for this chapter!! (though at the rate I progress it will be in 10 years...)
The alliance seems to progress at last !


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 17:33 · For: Exodus
And Galdithion saves the day once again (or close enough) :) I suppose that Elladan and Legolas will have more time to settle their arguement once the crisis has passed.


Name: Veveco (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2014 17:18 · For: Nascent Alliance
Touching moment between Arathorn and his wife, but it does not bode well for him... it looks like his time is coming soon.
But of course our favorite elves would 'shine' in battle - love the detail about glorfindel's face showing more than a mere desire to protect his king by the way. It seems like there's nothing better than a good fight to bond with the 'base warriors' and earn their trust!

Author's Response: I love it when readers pick up on the subtelties!! Base warriors, eh? LOL My elves will always shine in battle. whether they always win, is more than debatable, though...


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2014 2:32 · For: Would That I Were Blind
What is going to happen? You just left us hanging at this point? A nice pause chapter. And well written. Nope, I did not notice any missing quotes. :D I keep being worried that you are going to kill poor Arathorn. You do have a history of killing off my favorites! And you are even toying with this one, usually at least it is relatively swift, no more then one or 2 chapters after I become concerned. Which is one of the reasons that it took me a couple of days to read it. You know my theory, If I do not read that he has been killed, it has not happened yet. LOL You did not reveal who Legolas celebrated with... I love how you wrote Aragorn waking up Elladan, or at least having waited until the poor Elf woke up... That would be a bit of a surprise to one who is not really used to children around. My brothers and I? We would jump on top of guests to wake them up when we were Aragorn*s age... So I guess Elladan was lucky... LOL Aragorn has clearly had a lot of foresight no one knows about. Yet. A friend who is not a friend, who is unfriendly? I am very curious exactly what the poor kid has seen. There are a lot of things about Legolas that a 6 year old (even dunedain) kid would consider unfriendly, but are not in any way meaning harm to their potential friendship... After all it certainly is handy to be friends with a king...

Author's Response: i did indeed leave everyone hanging. I hardly ever do that, but people do it to me all the time. it is cruel and inconsiderate, but too much fun! Glad you are enjoying Aragorn. as a new character for me, it is good to know that he is working. A friend who is not a friend, yes. that will be the way of it with ranger and elf, at least from my perspective! sorry for the delay!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 26, 2014 22:06 · For: Would That I Were Blind

Oh no. I think the merry interlude is over...

“It is as if he is a friend, yet not so. He protects me and yet…there is something…unfriendly about him. As if I have done something wrong when I haven’t.”

I love that line. I'm betting it's to do with Arwen. I have to say I'm not a huge Aragorn fan because of the whole Arwen business. So it makes me happy to think Legolas shares my sentiments!



Author's Response: LOL, yes, you are probably right! You are spot on. legolas and Arwen have a great friendship, and would have more if Legolas would concede. Our king would not take kindly to having such a close friend ripped from his side. Thanks for sticking with this, and sorry for not answering sooner.


Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: October 26, 2014 21:55 · For: Would That I Were Blind
Oh no. No, no, no, no ,NO. Please don't kill him, not now after a beautiful father/son scene. I am
Not ready for this. If I don't read the next chapter then it just won't happen.
I am heartbroken already.

On another subject I wonder why Legolas is unhappy with Aragorn in the future? Because of Arwen??

Author's Response: Um, it will be at leasr a week or so before I can get the next chapter out, so you have until then to cinvince yourself that Arathorn will be just fine re the way Aragorn perceives Legolas' attitude towards him, yes. You are right, in this universe, the quest will be quite different, as will the infamous friendship between Aragorn and Legolas. sorry for taking so long to answer. Work has been messing me around.


You must login () to review.