| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance I by Encairion Explicit
A novella of the House of Finwë from the Darkening of Valinor through the end of the First Age. “Vengeance calls...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Child of Frost by Nuredhel Explicit
ometimes the end is just that, the end. And sometimes it is a new beginning. When a prophecy seemingly seems to be a lie...
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Thranduil arrives with help The...
Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8015
Word count: 23948045
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14263
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/26/17 07:57 pm
I hope you had a wonderful time, Alquien {{Hugs}}
Alquien
07/26/17 03:23 pm
Hi everyone! I'm back, and I had a great time! Now to unpack, nap and eat some more lol -- back eventually! ::hugs to all::
Naledi
07/25/17 08:53 pm
I was only thinking about her earlier today. It's such a tragedy. RIP Nightwing.
ziggy
07/25/17 05:26 pm
Some v sad news for those long serving fanfic writers and readers; Nightwing passed away 2 weeks ago. Cancer. May she have rest now.
Naledi
07/25/17 12:36 pm
Yay - Glad you're getting better, Ziggy. And a Black Arrow update - what more could I ask for?
ziggy
07/25/17 12:33 pm
Hello sparkyTAs! You too:) And Spiced! Just posted a silly chapter of Black Arrow to say thank you to everyone:) I am loads better.
SparkyTAS
07/25/17 05:05 am
Ziggy, so glad you're back and doing well.
Spiced Wine
07/23/17 09:34 pm
I'm so glad to hear that, Ziggy! Take it easy :)
ziggy
07/23/17 01:12 am
Thanks Spiced- yes, loads better thank you- slower than I expected but getting there:)
Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Shout Archive



Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2013 21:42 · For: Chapter 6: Birds & Butterflies
Oh I was so excited to see an update of this story, and it didn't disappoint. It's so rich and detailed, it feels like there's a backstory to everyone.
Oh, Findarato, so naughty, who knew :)
Elenwe certainly seems to have found herself, too.
Kano's conversation with his father was touching. Kano seems to be having lots of uncomfortable conversations; everyone seems far more disbelieving and disappointed in him rather than angry; or angry with themselves and not with him, which I guess is harder to deal with.
Also, Arafinwe, awesome. I've always thought of him as the mild one-not so here :D
So interested to see where all this is leading- how will we get to the final denouement? I'm guessing something to do with that creep, Atanalcar? Certainly has a big grudge.
And what is Kano up to?
Please don't make me wait as long for the next installment :D

Sorry for disjointed, rubbish review! Someone is distracting me!!

Author's Response: It did take forever to update, but the other updates should not :-) I have to admit that I like to read and write about a naughtier Findarato. Something must have been there after all to make him desire to leave :-) Arafinwe is certainly not mild-mannered here, though I do think at the ends of the day he is more level-headed. Do you have a little one distracting you? That's always a good thing. Thanks for the review. It's always good to read encouraging reviews!


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2013 22:45 · For: Chapter 5: Halda-The Veil
Faerie has been refusing to let me leave a review for this chapter! Well at least I got to reread this, so double the pleasure.

I liked the flashbacks, and the contrast between the light, simple joy of the past with the complicated burdens of the present. And I liked the theme of the dancing. It seems only Elenw


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2013 14:56 · For: Chapter 3: Under the light of Laurelin
Super. I am so drawn in to your world, your delightful but flawed Fingon.
Anaire's recation was interesting, I look forward to reading the resolution of that talk.
Oh, I wasn't expecting Maitimo to be there. 'He wasn't alone in the bedchamber'. I thought this was going to be Irisse, I think my heart skipped a beat! What a heart rending couple they always are, Maitimo and Findekano. Your relationships, even from not many words, show such reality and depth. I like how you use the elves' different names to show different levels of formality/closeness/feelings.

You said this was unbeta'd but I didn't notice any glaring mistakes, perhaps a few missing commas? One thing was when Kano puts his hands on Elenwe's waste, I think he'd prefer to put them on her waist :D

Thanks for introducing me to the poem: it's lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback! I certainly don't think Kano wants to put his hands on her waste, yuck, lol! I tend to do that with homonyms and can't see the difference :/ And commas? Oi vei, my bane! I am glad the relationship between Maitimo and Findekano worked. Its challenging for me to balance between the human aspects of my characters and the more evlish ones. How do we even begin to conceive of elvish psychology? Thanks again, reviews feed my muses!


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2013 13:36 · For: Chapter 2: Harlots and Passion
Gorgeous chapter. At first fun and ribald with the kind of saucy remarks and entertainment that reminds me of 18th c England. The private, if not the public face, anyway!

And the second half ... wow, no words. Beautifully written, desire, emotion, conflict. Your characterisations are wonderful. If Irisse knows, Amarie and Ingo surely too, then secrets wont be secrets all that long.

Author's Response: Thank you Merin! I was trying to achieve that type of atmosphere and I am glad it was successful in the context of Aman. It seems secrets are hard to keep in elven society, but what they do with it, now that's where things get interesting. Thank you for reading and commenting :-)


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: August 13, 2013 12:41 · For: Chapter 1: Day at the Square
Enjoying this so far. I like the cameraderie between Kano and Ingo and the glimpses of Elven society in Valinor. The differences between Vanyarin and Noldorin culture and the mention of the women's movement are especially interesting.

Hm, Elenwe wants it, Turukano wont give it... can I see where this is going?

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed this chapter! I appreciate the review!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 12, 2013 18:43 · For: Chapter 5: Halda-The Veil

I am enjoying this intersting and rather AU take, fadestothewest. I like the way you are writing Kano, and the backdrop of Tirion is very rich with its stratefied society. Elenwe has certainly made me raise my eyebrows! and I htink your female characters are great- very intersting and strong, especially Irrise, and now Almariel- who I would rather like to marry Turgon instead of Elenwe, who should marry Kano (but where does that leave Maitimo- who has a rather complex relationship with kano - loves him, is jelaous of his having been with a woman and then thinks no more of it...that's something I'm looking forward to understanding a bit better - very complex.)

The lore that you are working out here is also very interesting and I Like the use of the Halda as a way of conveying that- I'm looking forward to reading more of that.

There are a lot of different points of view going on in this, and I admit I  did find it a little confusing sometimes (probalby in the last couple of chapters more than the earlier) but the ideas and the sense of anticipation make it well worth the reading and hte female characters are really good.

 



Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I appreciate the feedback. I am going to revisit those last chapters where the points of view get a bit confusing, maybe sort them out a bit more explicitly. Its nice to get this kind of feedback as it definitely helps my writing! I can get a bit carried away with all the characters voices in my head!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2013 13:49 · For: Chapter 1: Day at the Square

I am hoping this os going to continue- I think there shoudk def be a Maitimo/Findekano moment up ahead!!



Author's Response: It certainly is continuing. There is Maitimo/Findekano here, though tame, for now. Thanks for the review.


You must login () to review.