| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 13, 2017 13:32 · For: Chapter 31 - Summoning the Wind
elfscribe, this was such a great chapter and ending to *Journey to Umbar* I'm a little sad it had to end. :(

I was a little worried when Azgarad, Amandil and Elendil decided to meet up and compare notes. Just because you never know whether the Zigur is watching. These three have to be especially vigilant now that strange things have been happening to key people.

Just when you think the Kings Councillors have the upper hand, concerning the Zigur, he goes and pulls the Maia card on them. !#*&!@*

I think your Sauron, elfscribe, has got to be the best one I've come across yet. Just because I simply despise him.

But the last part of the chapter, was by far the best. I love how Fingaer can take the control back from Mairon. Thankfully the potion Mairon created to keep the Elf under control wears off. Yay!:) But when Mairon looked up to see an eagle, that just made my day. His best laid plans may not go so smoothly after all.

Fantastic story! Kept me enthralled from the beginning to end and always kept me guessing. Loved it! :D

Author's Response:

The Maia card.  LOL!  I like that!  I guess I did a good job with Sauron if you despised him. lol. I actually kinda like him sometimes, even though everything he does is calculated with a long-game in mind. Thank you sooo much for sticking with this story and sending me reviews on every chapter. What a lovely gift that was. I also feel like we got to know each other a bit, so I hate to say goodbye. If you'd like to friend my LJ, I'm elfscribe5. Best wishes for your own writing! Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2017 8:06 · For: Chapter 30 - The Shape of Dreams
I feel so sorry for Sula and Tigon right now. Just pulled their relationship back from the brink only to have it threatened and tentative all over again! This is not going well for them. I honestly think it was doomed from the beginning.

Sula has only just begun to see what he is becoming a part of. But he's so wrapped up with wanting to help Tigon, {can you blame him} that he's agreeing to things without truly understanding what he's agreeing to. What he has seen is just the tip of the iceberg. He's being dragged deeper and deeper into Sauron's domain and net. The lure and trap have been well and truly set. None more so than with the revenge and hatred of those who have wronged him.

And then there's Tigon who is about to become a pawn {probably already was from the start} in a campaign who's magnitude has implications so far reaching its mind boggling. Both of them are so far out of their depth its frightening and sad, caring so much for each other, its not going to end all that well.


So much to write about, I wasn't sure where to start, hopefully I've made some sense elfscribe. Such a great story! :)

Author's Response:

There's certainly a lot of factors against Sula and Tigon, from all sides. I wonder if love will ultimately win out. I'm glad you're invested in the characters and that you're continuing to enjoy the story. One more chapter. Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 12:55 · For: Chapter 28 - Unbridled Hearts
Hi there elfscribe! Sorry its been a few days.

I really didn't hold out much hope that Tigon would get a chance to speak to Sula especially the way he's been lately. Mind you, I can appreciate how he feels being used and betrayed by people he trusted. That would suck all the joy clean out of anyone.

Their little fight was just what they needed to not only break the shield Sula had built around himself so as not to be hurt further, but also Tigon's frustration at being seen as anything less than a liar and what he had endured in the aftermath of the trial and Sula's inability to see that.

Something tells me this whole idea to meet up in Romenna and runaway together, is not such a great idea. Although I would like to see them together free and happy as much as the next person, I think it would only create more problems and besides it would also be relinquishing the safety and protection Amandil and Elendil could provide.

elfscribe how do you do it? How do you make slash appear so natural and effortless as if it writ itself?

This whole scenerio surrounding the dragon bracelet is pretty intriguing. It's got to be Annatar keeping very close tabs on Sula. But that bite that Tigon received, what was that all about? Interesting, very interesting.

As always elfscribe, a wonderful read. I can see you've poured a huge amount of time and effort into it, for it shows. :)

Author's Response:

Yeah, I thought the fight was just what Sula and Tigon needed and right it looks like it led to make-up sex. lol.  I'm glad you thought the sex scene felt natural and effortless. After reading and writing many sex scenes, the challenge is to make them feel real, personal, and different from the norm. The dragon arm bracelet was something that just evolved and seemed right. I hope it doesn't get Sula in too much trouble! lol. This story took 3 years to write, since sadly, I'm a slow writer. I'm happy you're enjoying it. Makes all that work worthwhile. Thanks!  We're getting close to the end. I have just a couple more chapters to post. Maybe I'll do it tonight.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2017 4:59 · For: Chapter 27 - The Dragon with the Ruby Eyes
Okay! That was a surprise! Poor Tigon, he just can't win. Now he has half of Umbar sweet on him. And the King! Taking some unfavorable and rather overt liberties with him. But, we could see that coming.

I wish the King wouldn't dismiss Amandil's concerns about Annatar, they are quite valid. I just can't understand why the King refuses to see the Oliphaunt in the room. Well aside from the most obvious. The lust for wealth, power and the fountain of youth above all else.

Oh my gosh! Why do I keep forgetting about that. The real reason Annatar is doing all this. I get so wrapped up with the awesome story, in between the history of it all, I can't see the wood for the trees. Lol.

But the King is so easily manipulated. It's excruciatingly annoying. I know I've gone on about this before, but, this is Sauron he's treating with, and regarding through rose colored glasses, not some Easterling. I guess I was hoping Ar-Pharazon, being King, would be a lot more immune to Annatar's charm and influence. Boy was I wrong! Therefore causing the Maia to have to bring out the big guns, so to speak, to sway the King, making him look that much more heroic. Maybe I'm just expecting a little too much from Men.

Anyway, turning to Tigon and Sula; I can't wait to find out how their meeting is going to go, especially now that Sula believes he has been used by Tigon. So sad. :(

I'm sorry if I've dribbled on a little too long, elfscribe, but I was having a little trouble with reviewing this chapter. Not anymore, it seems! I really hope it all makes sense! :)

Author's Response:

Always happy to get your reviews! Poor Tigon indeed. To be publicly embarrassed like that and then to have people suddenly thinking he's easy, not to mention enduring the scorn of his fellow messengers. You're right, Ar-Pharazon is playing right into Annatar's hands.  I saw Sauron's trickery here as subtle, rather than overt. He knows how to play on people's weaknesses and who among men could resist the Fountain of Youth?  lol.  Yes, the meeting between Tigon and Sula is coming up . . . .  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2017 14:11 · For: Chapter 26 - The Price
Sula seems so different after his ordeal. Different, in a not so nice way.
Being betrayed and hurt by one you thought cared for you, but apparently did not, can change a person.

In order to have Sula's absolute loyalty and attention, Annatar proceeds to tell him of why Tigon sought his friendship in the first place. That has to be the worst part in the chapter, I feel. Turning Sula against Tigon. The beginnings of Annatar's molding of Sula into one who would eventually serve him. You've got to have bitterness and hatred as a foundation in which to create the ultimate evil.

I really don't like where this is heading. With some of the things Annatar has mentioned of what Sula desires most {Wealth and Power} and to be feared and coupled with Annatar wanting to teach him more of the black arts. I'd say the dark lord is eyeing him up to eventually become one of the Nine. I might be wrong. But there it is.

Sauron does love having servants to do his bidding and Sula is a natural at the black arts it would seem?

Wow! This is just becoming more and more heart wrenching for all these characters. :(

Author's Response:

Sula's background of family betrayal, his horrific and unjust punishment, and his anger at how the King has treated him, makes him ripe for Annatar's influence. You got it exactly, Annatar is working on creating another dark servant. I know it's hard to see how Sula turns his anger upon Tigon, fearing again that Tigon's betrayed him. But the story isn't over yet. lol.  Thanks as ever, Gabriel, for your steadfast reading of the story and letting me know how it affects you. Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 18, 2017 7:58 · For: Chapter 25 - Trials
I really hope that is not the end for Fingear. I would love to see him just keep annoying Mairon til the cows come home. lol

I was not expecting Annatar to show everything that Tigon and Sula did, just what pertained to the trial itself, but then again Sula had to prove where he was all night. And I'm sure this is going to make Annatar look mighty glowing as a 'Truthsayer' in the King's and some Numenorean, eyes. :/ {disgruntled}

Tigon and Sula are so in love with each other, which makes the consequences for their tumble in the sheets all the more sorrowful.
Although Tigon has gotten off rather lightly and is so lucky to have Elendil watching out for him. But not being allowed to speak to each other ever again! Really sad.

Oh! but Sula, what is going to become of him after the lashes? Talk about leaving me guessing, elfscribe. lol

I have no idea what is to happen next, and that's what I love about this story. :D

Author's Response:

Fingaer is still there, submerged, but as he warned Annatar, he's going to be there, watching. Well, Annatar just showed bits and pieces of Tigon and Sula's tryst, enough to get what he wanted out of the whole thing. I know, I felt so bad for Tigon and Sula having their love exposed in a way that made it seem mere lust.  I'm glad to hear the story keeps you guessing! Thanks much for the comments!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 16, 2017 10:30 · For: Chapter 24 - Keeping Faith
Yes,that whole thing with Annatar and Fingear has been an object of great comical relief. lol


I loved the heart to heart Tigon and Elendil had. I love your Elendil. I'm not sure why I like him so much, I think its because he is so honorable, patient and very kind and because Tigon considers him his uncle and someone he can trust and they seem to have a great bond between them.
I especially like Elendil's reaction to Tigon and Sula's night together and Tigon's feelings toward his friend. Elendil seemed to be more worried about the implications of their relationship concerning Dulginzin and the murder rather than their night together. Although that was also cause for unease, but only concerning the King, oh, and Tigon's father. This is another reason why I like Elendil, so accepting. What a guy! :)

Poor Sula having to wait for the crows to pick the meat off his bones.:(
But its good to see they've sorted their misunderstanding.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked Elendil. I did too. He is indeed very kind here and obviously fond of Tigon in a fatherly way. I loved imagining the backstory of Tigon's relationship with his family in Andunie. I know, poor Sula. What a terrible situation! And now it looks like I should load a couple more chapters. lol. Thanks for the comments!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 14, 2017 14:08 · For: Chapter 23 - A Crow in Swan's Plumage
Hi there, elfscribe. I'm still reading avidly, in case you thought I'd dropped off the grid or something. lol

What is it with everyone lately? All of them seem to have taken quite a liking to Tigon. Especially the King. I have a sneaky suspicion Tigon is somehow going to end up being Ar-Pharazon's new cup bearer. Wink, wink. That would be a very interesting situation.

And why does their always have to be a price for some good deed Annatar does, especially considering the person in question is actually innocent of a crime. I mean it's not like Annatar is meddling with fate or anything. Maybe if Sula was guilty, but he's not.

I'm just thoroughly enjoying this. :)

Author's Response:

Very glad to hear you're sticking with this. lol. Your interest has been what's keeping me posting it. There are 31 chapters plus the glossary so we're getting there. As far as Ar-Pharazon, well, he does enjoy the sight of a pretty boy. I think normally he doesn't pay much attention to his messengers, but Tigon has captured his interest. You'll have to see what happens. As for Annatar, well, as I said he's playing a long game here and doesn't do anything purely for altruistic reasons. I have to say, upon rereading this, I smiled at Annatar/Fingaer's dual performance in the room with Tigon. LOL. Glad to hear you continue to enjoy this. I'm posting it ahead of you, so you'll be able to read it as you get time. Cheers!!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 10, 2017 7:39 · For: Chapter 22 - The Scrying Soup
I had to laugh, when Mairon began humming a tune he wasn't thinking of. Instead of the murderous one from his'Beastly Uruks.'

Then I had to smile when Fingaer made an appearance, taking his form back and leaving Mairon ghostly and furious.

I loved Mairon's 'little' tantrum so fun to read. It almost looked like Fingear had won back his body, but no.

It was a bit of a surprise to hear Fingear's beloved was alive and had been shipped off to the Easterlings. Unless that was just a ploy to disarm the Elf.

My favorite part was the two of them warring over control of the body and Mairon strangling himself while Fingear banged their head against one of the bronze walls. Mairon looked like a complete idiot to the guards standing mouths agape at the door, thinking he'd gone mad. lol

Tigon and Sula, oh dear. Now Sula thinks Tigon had a hand in his capture. Thinking himself betrayed from all quarters. And his Aunt, I knew it! I knew she'd give him up for the coin, not that she really had a choice, mind you. Fingers crossed this whole mess will be sorted out before things get decidedly worse or someone else dies. :)

Author's Response:

Ah yes, a bit of comic relief with Mairon's dilemma there -- although I doubt he sees the humor in it. I fear Tigon and Sula have more angst ahead.  Thanks for your comments, Gabriel. Much appreciated.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 06, 2017 6:45 · For: Chapter 21 - The King's Decree
I'm sorry if I seem a bit slow on the uptake, Elfscribe, but, was that Fingear's fea waltzing across the room snatching Annatar's attention? Is this what Annatar's been experiencing lately? So by taking the Elf's body he is still undoubtedly connected to the Elf's fea as well as all the habits and fears the Elf had? So that was what that strange disembodied feeling was that Annatar experienced. I wondered.

I hope Amandil and Azgarad can do something about Annatar, even if just a little. But I'm not holding my breath. I think its too late already, the King is in too deep. No pun intended. lol.

This is such a great story Elfscribe! :D

Author's Response:

Hi there, Gabriel. Yes, Fingaer's fea came along for the ride when Annatar took over his body and because the spell is weakening Annatar occasionally experiences this as either himself or Fingaer separating from the body. Right, that means that Fingaer's self is occasionally leaking into Annatar's thoughts or rather his subconscious, hence Annatar's new fear of dark, enclosed places (Fingaer's long imprisonment) and his occasional rocking and counting -- which Fingaer began doing in prison. Annatar needs to make the potion to stuff the elf back in place, hence his urgency in having Tigon get the ingredients he needs.  The King is in too deep. lol. Yes, definitely.  Glad you're enjoying the fic.  Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 04, 2017 12:51 · For: Chapter 20 - Rude Awakenings
No matter how irritating Mairon is, and yes, I know I don't like him, it is good to see him a staunch advocate of Sula's in this chapter and it is good to see the King back to showing that quality he has as a strong and fair leader.

But, Oh, Sula's aunt; although she seems eager to help him, I just get this nagging feeling in the back of my mind,that she is not what she seems and may use or betray Sula.

I may be wrong, but something doesn't sit right with her.

A Nail biting read. Love it!

Author's Response:

Mairon can act like a good guy but he always has his own goals in mind when he does. Very perceptive observation about Sula's aunt. Many thanks for sticking with this long epic. Appreciate your comments!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 30, 2017 7:33 · For: Chapter 19 - Love in the Shadows
It is so good to see these two finally getting it on. Yet on the flip side quite heartbreaking to know that there can never be anything more than this one night together. :(

Then there's the King. I like him one moment, then loathe him the next, for being so weak. So easily seduced and manipulated. Mind you, he is up against one of the most powerful beings in Arda-so maybe I shouldn't be so hard on Ar-Pharazon.

And, Oh! Such a shock when Sula finds Dulginzin murdered, so unexpected. Good riddance, I say. Yet, not so great for Sula. This is an interesting twist to a story so unpredictable. I love it!

Great chapter Elfscribe! Always keeps me guessing.

Author's Response:

I did love it when Tigon and Sula finally got together for their night of bliss, but lots of angst to come. I'm glad you appreciate that Ar-Pharazon is not totally evil (at least at this point) and tries to be a good king, but he's got easily exploited weaknesses, something Annatar is master at. Glad to keep you guessing! Hope you continue to enjoy this fic. Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2017 6:26 · For: Chapter 18 - Dreams of Illicit Longing
Oh! Thank the Gods, Sula was able to trick his way out of that situation. Still its not over yet. Fingers crossed he can sneak back in and make out he's been there the whole time.

Yay! Tigon finally gives in to his feelings and Sula's great kissing skills, about time! Lol!

This whole story is so good!

Author's Response:

That was a nasty situation Sula was in for sure. I think this scene with Tigon and Sula is one of my favorites in this story. I'm pleased you continue to enjoy it, Gabriel. Thanks for your comments!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2017 4:51 · For: Chapter 17 - A Taste of Bitter Wine
I just couldn't help myself, Elfscribe, I had to find out what happens to Sula.

On the one hand,I found myself on the edge of my seat, willing the King not to fall wholly into Annatar's snare, once again. Feeling strangely protective of the King and hoping something bizarre, disconcerting and completely unexpected happens to Annatar whilst he's flaunting this new body and all it can offer, in the King's face.

And on the other, feeling a little panicked for Sula, Nothing seems to be going his way at the moment and just when you think he has things in hand, {no pun intended}, something else arises, {no pun intended}.

Nail-biting!

Author's Response:

I'm happy to hear you're worried about Sula. I fear it gets worse, but it'll get better first. I'm glad you're enjoying it!



Author's Response:

I'm happy to hear you're worried about Sula. I fear it gets worse, but it'll get better first. I'm glad you're enjoying it!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 23, 2017 5:50 · For: Chapter 16 - Of Kisses and Jellied Eels
As soon as I began reading this chapter, I knew something was going to go awry. Especially when you have everyone under one roof.

I enjoyed the apparent distaste and animosity between Ar-Pharazon and the Priests.

And Dulginzin,I was just waiting for him to do something inappropriate and I was NOT disappointed, on several counts.

Strangely enough, Annatar seemed quite restrained throughout the whole Banquet, except for a few quips here and there. Hmmm, what's going on there?

I just hope Sula doesn't end up with the Regent or Dulginzin, Eeew! Not a nice thought.

This chapter was so thoroughly entertaining, really enjoyed it!

Author's Response:

Right. Lots of different factions and interests at that banquet. Annatar was busy poking people in various subtle ways. Yeah, Dulginzin. *shivers*  And poor Sula. Really glad you found it entertaining!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2017 12:03 · For: Chapter 15 - The Road to Umbar
I'm actually starting to like Ar-Pharazon, but with a tinge of sadness at what Annatar will do. He seems a fair King.

It was so good to see Annatar annoyed for once, because someone else had the control.

It's good to see Tigon getting recognition for putting his life on the line, in the line of duty and is now being honored for this, thanks to Elendil. I like Elendil.

I especially liked Tigon reminiscing about spending time with Elendil and his sons. That he considers Elendil his Uncle and cares deeply for them all.

Great chapter! :D

Author's Response:

Hi Gabriel.  I'm glad Ar-Pharazon isn't coming off as a total creep. I think he does try to be fair, at least at this point. Annatar is having to exercise a lot of control to keep from showing his true power. I'm glad you like Elendil. I do too.  It was fun imagining Tigon with Elendil's sons. There's more of that backstory to come. Thanks, as ever, for your kind reviews.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 14, 2017 9:47 · For: Chapter 14 - The Demons of War
Is Mairon having a teensy bit of trouble with the body he stole? I can't wait to see how that evolves.

I like how Aphanuzir is not influenced by Mairon, which I hope will be a little bit of a problem for him in future. Fingers crossed.

I hope Sula and Tigon can work things out. It seems a shame for a friendship that has just taken off to suddenly come crashing down so quickly. I think Tigon is a little suspicious and fearful of Sula right now and Sula should not be expecting too much from him.

:D

Author's Response:

Oh yes, Mairon is having some trouble. LOL.  Amandil has Mairon's number for sure, but it's not doing him much good. Tigon and Sula have a lot in store for them. Thanks for comments, Gabriel. Much appreciated!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 09, 2017 6:00 · For: Chapter 13 - Arzog's Pass
Well, it's all happening in this chapter!
'God, damn it!' Annatar is so infuriating. I did love the part where Amandil shoots Annatar a warning look after discussing strategy with Azgarad and the King, and the Maia 'blinks, a slow smile turning his lips' and Amandil considers punching him. I was sitting here thinking, 'Yes, do it,' wipe the smile off his face. But if Amandil did he would probably not be called back to council the King again. Such a shame, such a damn shame.

Poor Zori. How horrible to have Annatar's voice in her head 24/7, it must be driving her insane. But I hope she doesn't get herself killed, by running off like that to finish what she started.

Oh, Tigon! How could it get so messed up. It all looked like it was going according to plan; 'Ride into the Haradrim encampment, deliver the message, ride back out.' Simple and it seemed he just might do it. But No! it seems Korizar has other ideas.

So much to look forward to in the next chapter.

I hope I'm not droning on too much, I'm just really enjoying this. :D

Author's Response:

Hi Gabriel!  I'm glad you're getting into the story. I love your comments. Yep, tension is getting ratcheted up here. Hope you continue to enjoy! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 05, 2017 6:53 · For: Chapter 12 - The Haradrim
Elfscribe! You have written Annatar so well that I completely and utterly loathe him. lol. What I deteste the most is when he's in the King's presence- dripping sweetness like its going out of fashion and manipulating everyone within a league. Grrrr!

I felt a little empathy for the King, this chapter; when he cast his mind back to Mairon's tent and all that happened therein. Feeling haunted by those events and the frightening loss of control. Also weighing whether this had all been such a good idea- to take Annatar prisoner and back to Numenor. {A bit late now!}

I'm itching to read more on what becomes of Tigon. It seems there's a very good reason why he's the King's messenger, appearing to be able to hold his own at the most difficult and testing of times.

Getting really good! :D

Author's Response:

Annatar was such fun to write -- I liked imagining him as a villain focused on his own goals but who has some charm and charisma. He is a manipulator for sure! I didn't see Ar-Pharazon as completely bad, not at this stage anyway. Poor Tigon. Being sent to the Haradrim was a real trial. Glad you continue to enjoy the story! Thanks for comments!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2017 12:50 · For: Chapter 11 - Of Mud and Machinations
It is so good to read more on Amandil and Elendil.
I like how you have linked Zori, being a survivor of the razing of Numenorian villages, by the very same dark Lord that happens to be a prisoner in their encampment. Someone who knows all too well what he is capable of and could possibly be a threat to his scheming. Who can't believe how the King could treat the whole situation without great caution. 'But some men are so easily corrupted.'

I have to confess I have never been all that interested in Numenor, but reading your fic has sparked my interest. Especially when you make it so riveting.
:D Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response:

Yes, lest Sauron become too sympathetic a character, I figured it was time to show his effect on others in Middle-earth, hence Zori.  I'm thrilled you've become interested in Numenor through this fic. I know when I started writing it, there weren't many stories at all about Numenor. Now there are quite a few out there. I like to think this story had some positive influence that way. I'm putting it up slowly, but I'm still ahead of where you are. I hope you enjoy the rest. Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 28, 2017 4:28 · For: Chapter 10 - Of Golden Curls and Vinegar
Everytime I read that Sula has to visit Annatar's tent, for some reason; I think,"Oh no!" {face plant in Palm} "What now?" It's like watching a slow torture being performed, because you know Annatar's up to something-working some kind of a substantial and pivotal plan, but your not quite sure what it is yet. {Excruciating}
I'd like to know what Annatar said to Zori after she attempted to kill him. I hope it wasn't {Go kill yourself} or anything. It's good to see there was someone in the camp who truly knows what Annatar is like, yet it didn't seem to sway Sula. {Annatar seems to have his loyalty}."Oh Sula!" he has no idea what he's walking into.
And do I denote something special forming between Sula and Tigon?
This is getting good! :D

Author's Response:

You're right. Sula's visits to Annatar rarely seem like a good idea. lol. And yep, for sure something special is forming between Sula and Tigon. Stay tuned. Thanks again for your lovely comments. Makes my day to get one in my in-box. Cheers!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 25, 2017 6:04 · For: Chapter 9 - Melkor's Apprentice
Wow! There was a lot going on in this chapter.
So Mairon does have a conscience, or did at one stage. Power and the lust for it seems to have replaced it.
Melkor is exactly how I thought he would be in this story, hubris personified. And the way he treats Mairon, {I know, Hello,Dark Lord},you can easily see why the Maia wanted to go out on his own.

The last part of the chapter where Ar-Pharazon visits Mairon, about time! I was surprised the King hadn't visited Mairon sooner, with the way he can't keep it in his breeches. So easily swayed with sex. Tut tut! I mean he's been drooling over the Maia ever since he sauntered into the camp.
And now that he's had him, will he ever go back to Sula?
Just a little question.
Will there be more of Amanil and Elendil? I love these characters.:D

Author's Response:

I know this is a tough chapter to read, but I thought an important one to better understand Sauron/Mairon (or my version at least).  And Ar-Pharazon, yep, Mairon is playing him like the proverbial fiddle, even if it's involved some pain on his part. Glad you like Amandil and Elendil (aka Aphanuzîr and Nimruzîr - why did Tolkien always have to give everyone multiple names? Lol) and yes there will be more of them both. Thanks always for the reviews!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 21, 2017 10:13 · For: Chapter 8 - Games
Yes! that would be great, thank you Elfscribe! I'm sorry, I didn't know where else to respond so I just did it here.

Sula is proving to be a little bit of a red herring of sorts. He's beginning to change as a person with this new found power of his.
This is all becoming a little dangerous and what will be the price he will have to pay as a consequence, somewhere down the track.
I must say I like Tigon. He seems a likeable character and trust worthy too. Well he wouldn't be the King's messenger if he wasn't trustworthy.I like how he was tying to tweak Sula's conscious, with trusting Annatar too much. I'm not sure it worked though. I think the power is going to his head a little.

A great read! :)

Author's Response:

When I started writing this story both Sula and Tigon had bit parts, but as soon as they met up in the King's tent, Sula in his special trousers taunting Tigon, there was chemistry, which definitely blossomed in this chapter. They have a lot more trials ahead of them. Glad you like Tigon. He's a character with true integrity who gets put in very difficult situations. I'm really glad you're continuing to read and enjoy. I'm unloading more chapters, a few at a time as there are 32 of them. Enjoy!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2017 13:41 · For: Chapter 7 - Sûla’s Dilemma
No, no, no, no, no! Sula should not be allowed to be left alone with Annatar.
What is wrong with these people! He is a Dark Lord, hello? Alarm bells should be going off somewhere in those heads of theirs.
The only Numenoreans who see anything wrong with this is Amandil and Elendil, and rightfully so.
Dulginzin, what a piece of work he is. I'm glad Sula got his revenge on him, but at the same time you can't help but be very suspicious of Annatar's motives, giving Sula that little bit of power. I mean it all seems innocent enough and a bit of fun, but what's really behind it.
I hope Amandil and Elendil are able to figure things out, before Sauron is able to do some major damage.
We'll see. Awesome! :)

Author's Response:

Yep, lots of things are being put into motion. Seems Annatar is seducing Sula and not in the regular sense. And Dulginzin, he sure did deserve a squirrel in the britches. lol. Glad you came back to this story and are continuing to enjoy it. Would you like me to upload the rest of it here? I probably should have all of it on Faerie.



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2017 9:57 · For: Chapter 6 - A Wolf in the Wain
When I first read the content of this chapter I thought, Oh no! This can't be good, Sula speaking with Annatar, you've got to be kidding me. It would be like a big juicy bit of steak trying to hold a conversation with a Wolf.
And I was right!
Poor Sula thinks he was just having a friendly talk with Annatar, nothing untoward, but he was being played, big time.I mean it just goes to show what influence he has when Sula noticed something odd about the way the guards suddenly agreed to Sula's visiting Annatar, when they were against it only moments before.
No-one seems to realise how powerful and dangerous Annatar is. and he is just laughing in their faces.
So good! :)

Author's Response:

Yep, getting these two together --- ummm, very dangerous. I found when writing this that in order to manipulate people the way he does, Annatar has to be able to read people, and to know psychology. He zeros in on Sula here.  I'm really appreciating your reviews. It's nice to be reliving this story which took so much time to write. 



You must login () to review.