| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members: ziggy

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2017 14:00 · For: Part Three.
A wonderfully written story, Urloth!
But so very very sad.
Being Finrod's son, yet having Celegorm raise him as his own, so fitting after what happened in Nargothrond. Love Celegorm in this.
:D


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2013 1:47 · For: Part Three.

You just slew me.  I will never get over the perfection of your writing.  Every detail you bring so effortlessly, so naturally to the table.  I don’t even think about it while reading, it’s just there like breathing, not forced at all.  The scene where Gildor and Celegrom are eating breakfast together comes to mind.  Such a simple scene, and yet not, you make eating porridge powerful and a treat to every sense!  And when the ladies bring in the banners one by one.  In all right this should be an overload of information, all the details and names of characters I don’t know that well, but it’s not.  It had me clued to every word. 

I must be the thickest reader in the world, because I tried, I really tried to figure out who Gildor’s mother was and I came up empty.  I know Galadriel is his aunt, and I thought this was a male pregnancy with Finrod as the father for a time, but Gildor remembers his mother, so that can’t be right.  But it sounded like both Celegorm and Finrod are Gildor’s fathers.  Please help this poor confused reader!

I will die believing Gildor is Finrod’s son, which is why I love this fic (Gildor as Finrod’s son –and more, his bastard as I totally think of him as—is not done enough in the fandom.  So I treasure this story all the more for this, AND that made Celegorm Gidlor’s other father! ).

I loved the soul connection between a parent and their child.  I’ve never read anything like it (have I told you this hour that I think you’re a creative genius?).  It’s very powerful, and so very elvish. 

So, yes, I go over the top with the praise here perhaps, but you deserve every word!  Fabulous story :D



Author's Response:

*fans cheeks furiously to try and battle her blush* thank you! thank you so much! I liked writing the breakfast scenes, and the ladies (plus Morohen) bringing the banners to Gildor.

Ahhhh now Gildor's mother :D I very deliberately write vaguely about Gildor's mother due to who she was, and actually you were very, very close to the mark. Celegorm is technically Gildor's mother in this verse, it gets complicated and I've not finished the fic on that yet, but (and this sounds so stupid. I swear it makes sense and works well in the actual story) Celegorm is afflicted by a curse which leaves him switching gender night and day (female during the night and male during the day) and Gildor is the result of the liason (more like heartbreaking, tempestuous love-soul match in which they *adele voice*could have had it all*/adele voice* except Beren shows up and ruins everything). I've gone back and written a little bit more for those three lines about his mother to give a bit more coherency to the situation though I've left it vague.

Yes I heartily believe that Gildor is Finrod's son, though baring that (because Inglor is technically Arafinwe's mother's name in Sindarin) Gildor is either the son of Angrod or Aegnor if I can't make Finrod as the father work in a fic. Gildor is definitely of the House of Arafinwe (and Feanor in this verse). In the hobbit (or was it LOTR) Gildor tells the hobbits he is a follower of Feanor (my memory is rusty on this point) so this is my cracktastic explination of why he has a Arafinwii name but is a follower of Feanor.

Thank you for the review, gosh, I need to go dunk my head in a bucket of ice water now to stop it swelling XD

P.S: I am writing a Eol and Miriel story right now. This is your fault. Thank you.



Name: Tealhope (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2013 5:18 · For: Part Three.
I really liked this story. I read another fic (forgot which one) of yours about lady lords and I absolutely love the concept of it! I find that many oc strong female characters are hard to create but you are definitely one of the few who has pulled it off! Do you have fics dedicated to them exclusively? Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response:

Hmm no not yet though I've actually been pondering writing about them exclusively :D I do have something about Lavarisse and Moicaloce though, if you don't mind Tyelkormo in there as well: http://syrisa.tumblr.com/post/45338508465/a-plain-woman it's got quite a bit about Lavarisse's back story.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2013 23:15 · For: Part One.

I was just wishing I could read a story with Celegorm as a father, as you completely sold me on the idea, and now here it is!  Oh, he’s as magnificent as I knew he would be! 

One question:  Why did the other dogs attack Celegrom after Huan left?

I also love the way you write women in Middle-earth, especially among the Feanorions were they are like kick-ass Amazons.  It’s such a different approach then I’ve ever seen before.  I liked how it was only the women who stayed loyal to Curufin and Celegorm after Nargothrond and they were like,’ tough loss boy’s, we found better replacements :cheeky grin:

Pure awesomeness.



Author's Response:

I love Celegorm as a father. In this verse he is something of a surrogate father to Aredhel at times as well, given she was only three when he came of age, and grew up constantly running away to his house when she had spats with her father. Fingolfin in this verse, despite being a good dad, never quite figures out Aredhel is not interested in sitting down, doing embroidery and making a house with some husband.

Lilta is pretty much Celegorm's entire world in this verse. Right up until he gets enraged at Dior's refusal to hand over the silmaril and arranges the second kinslaying then regrets he didn't wait twenty years till his son wasn't a child.

One question:  Why did the other dogs attack Celegrom after Huan left?

oh, well you might have noticed I didn't write Luthien as she's usually portrayed. Celegorm isn't in love with her in this verse, more like absolutely scared shitless of her for very good reasons. Also in the lay of luthien there is a mention that ever after Huan's leaving Celegorm, hounds no longer obeyed or came to the call of Celegorm or Curufin. I took that further as a curse via Luthien that all dogs attack Celegorm when he tries to approach them, and for a long while he did try and approach them, not willing to admit that Huan was lost to him as was all canine companionship.

And yeah, kick arse women. There are more mentions of them hanging around, I need to finish Their Flags Endure, it has Celegorm acquiring his first lady lord there. its still a patriachal world but the Feanorions at least know women can kick your arse every bit as much as a man can, and they likely can make it more painful in the doing. Yes, all of Curufin and Celegorm's women stay loyal to them, mostly because they might be Finrod-killing-idiots but they give their women rights and power under them, unlike Orodreth. 

Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it!



You must login () to review.