| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1666
Chapters: 8517
Word count: 25898884
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15880
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:20 pm
She’s quite willing to keep it hosted on the same server, just the admin/tech work would be done by someone else.
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:19 pm
I don’t think we need to worry about the archive going, esteliel just thinks it would be better if someone acted as host/admin who was in the fandom.
Ysilme
08/14/18 11:52 am
Thank you, Spiced!
Kalendeer
08/14/18 10:47 am
So I would be ready to contribute as well and really sad to see the archive go :)
Kalendeer
08/14/18 10:43 am
I am mostly on AO3 but I like Faerie a lot better than FFnet to be honest, and the best reviews I ever got were on Faerie.
Spiced Wine
08/13/18 02:14 pm
If you do, Ysilme, I will pass you email on to Esteliel :) You would make a great overall host for the archive.
Ysilme
08/13/18 02:04 pm
I also might be able to help with the technical site of things. I'll send you a mail, Sîan, for details.
Shout Archive



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 23, 2017 14:00 · For: Part Three.
A wonderfully written story, Urloth!
But so very very sad.
Being Finrod's son, yet having Celegorm raise him as his own, so fitting after what happened in Nargothrond. Love Celegorm in this.
:D


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2013 1:47 · For: Part Three.

You just slew me.  I will never get over the perfection of your writing.  Every detail you bring so effortlessly, so naturally to the table.  I don’t even think about it while reading, it’s just there like breathing, not forced at all.  The scene where Gildor and Celegrom are eating breakfast together comes to mind.  Such a simple scene, and yet not, you make eating porridge powerful and a treat to every sense!  And when the ladies bring in the banners one by one.  In all right this should be an overload of information, all the details and names of characters I don’t know that well, but it’s not.  It had me clued to every word. 

I must be the thickest reader in the world, because I tried, I really tried to figure out who Gildor’s mother was and I came up empty.  I know Galadriel is his aunt, and I thought this was a male pregnancy with Finrod as the father for a time, but Gildor remembers his mother, so that can’t be right.  But it sounded like both Celegorm and Finrod are Gildor’s fathers.  Please help this poor confused reader!

I will die believing Gildor is Finrod’s son, which is why I love this fic (Gildor as Finrod’s son –and more, his bastard as I totally think of him as—is not done enough in the fandom.  So I treasure this story all the more for this, AND that made Celegorm Gidlor’s other father! ).

I loved the soul connection between a parent and their child.  I’ve never read anything like it (have I told you this hour that I think you’re a creative genius?).  It’s very powerful, and so very elvish. 

So, yes, I go over the top with the praise here perhaps, but you deserve every word!  Fabulous story :D



Author's Response:

*fans cheeks furiously to try and battle her blush* thank you! thank you so much! I liked writing the breakfast scenes, and the ladies (plus Morohen) bringing the banners to Gildor.

Ahhhh now Gildor's mother :D I very deliberately write vaguely about Gildor's mother due to who she was, and actually you were very, very close to the mark. Celegorm is technically Gildor's mother in this verse, it gets complicated and I've not finished the fic on that yet, but (and this sounds so stupid. I swear it makes sense and works well in the actual story) Celegorm is afflicted by a curse which leaves him switching gender night and day (female during the night and male during the day) and Gildor is the result of the liason (more like heartbreaking, tempestuous love-soul match in which they *adele voice*could have had it all*/adele voice* except Beren shows up and ruins everything). I've gone back and written a little bit more for those three lines about his mother to give a bit more coherency to the situation though I've left it vague.

Yes I heartily believe that Gildor is Finrod's son, though baring that (because Inglor is technically Arafinwe's mother's name in Sindarin) Gildor is either the son of Angrod or Aegnor if I can't make Finrod as the father work in a fic. Gildor is definitely of the House of Arafinwe (and Feanor in this verse). In the hobbit (or was it LOTR) Gildor tells the hobbits he is a follower of Feanor (my memory is rusty on this point) so this is my cracktastic explination of why he has a Arafinwii name but is a follower of Feanor.

Thank you for the review, gosh, I need to go dunk my head in a bucket of ice water now to stop it swelling XD

P.S: I am writing a Eol and Miriel story right now. This is your fault. Thank you.



Name: Tealhope (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2013 5:18 · For: Part Three.
I really liked this story. I read another fic (forgot which one) of yours about lady lords and I absolutely love the concept of it! I find that many oc strong female characters are hard to create but you are definitely one of the few who has pulled it off! Do you have fics dedicated to them exclusively? Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response:

Hmm no not yet though I've actually been pondering writing about them exclusively :D I do have something about Lavarisse and Moicaloce though, if you don't mind Tyelkormo in there as well: http://syrisa.tumblr.com/post/45338508465/a-plain-woman it's got quite a bit about Lavarisse's back story.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 31, 2013 23:15 · For: Part One.

I was just wishing I could read a story with Celegorm as a father, as you completely sold me on the idea, and now here it is!  Oh, he’s as magnificent as I knew he would be! 

One question:  Why did the other dogs attack Celegrom after Huan left?

I also love the way you write women in Middle-earth, especially among the Feanorions were they are like kick-ass Amazons.  It’s such a different approach then I’ve ever seen before.  I liked how it was only the women who stayed loyal to Curufin and Celegorm after Nargothrond and they were like,’ tough loss boy’s, we found better replacements :cheeky grin:

Pure awesomeness.



Author's Response:

I love Celegorm as a father. In this verse he is something of a surrogate father to Aredhel at times as well, given she was only three when he came of age, and grew up constantly running away to his house when she had spats with her father. Fingolfin in this verse, despite being a good dad, never quite figures out Aredhel is not interested in sitting down, doing embroidery and making a house with some husband.

Lilta is pretty much Celegorm's entire world in this verse. Right up until he gets enraged at Dior's refusal to hand over the silmaril and arranges the second kinslaying then regrets he didn't wait twenty years till his son wasn't a child.

One question:  Why did the other dogs attack Celegrom after Huan left?

oh, well you might have noticed I didn't write Luthien as she's usually portrayed. Celegorm isn't in love with her in this verse, more like absolutely scared shitless of her for very good reasons. Also in the lay of luthien there is a mention that ever after Huan's leaving Celegorm, hounds no longer obeyed or came to the call of Celegorm or Curufin. I took that further as a curse via Luthien that all dogs attack Celegorm when he tries to approach them, and for a long while he did try and approach them, not willing to admit that Huan was lost to him as was all canine companionship.

And yeah, kick arse women. There are more mentions of them hanging around, I need to finish Their Flags Endure, it has Celegorm acquiring his first lady lord there. its still a patriachal world but the Feanorions at least know women can kick your arse every bit as much as a man can, and they likely can make it more painful in the doing. Yes, all of Curufin and Celegorm's women stay loyal to them, mostly because they might be Finrod-killing-idiots but they give their women rights and power under them, unlike Orodreth. 

Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it!



You must login () to review.