| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

~ Fragments of Fate And Fire ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
This will be a collection of fics, commissioned art, and gapfillers to flesh out events within my Dark Prince/Magnificat...
A Love Unspoken by cheekybeak General Audiences
A prequel to “Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls.” On a ship at Pelegir a newly stricken Legolas battles with the sea-longing...
Shadows and Cages by Narya Teen
In Gondolin, Fanari and Aredhel spend an evening by the fire. A gift ficlet for Spiced Wine for Legendarium Ladies April.
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
The Light Wraps You by Narya General Audiences
A moment between Celebrimbor and Orodreth after the news of Finrod's death. Written as a birthday gift for Gabriel – it's...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1636
Chapters: 8389
Word count: 25398754
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15532
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
04/22/18 10:25 pm
Yes, the world felt all clean and fresh today - we had a bit of a storm last night but not as dramatic as I was hoping!
Spiced Wine
04/22/18 09:51 am
We had two storms, late evening and about 1.15, really energetic, incredible lightning! It’s nice this morning though!
Narya
04/21/18 10:08 pm
Beautiful weather again today :) although thunderstorms forecast soon - I am waiting up for it, I love a good storm. How is everyone's weekend so far?
Narya
04/20/18 10:35 pm
Happy Friday :) it's been a gorgeous day here.
Spiced Wine
04/20/18 09:51 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Gabriel
04/20/18 12:47 am
Thank you Nelya, thank you Spiced. :)
Spiced Wine
04/19/18 08:22 pm
I’m glad you’ve had a lovely day, Gabriel :)
NelyafinweFeanorion
04/19/18 05:47 pm
Happy birthday Gabriel!
Gabriel
04/19/18 01:04 pm
Thank you so much Narya. I've had a lovely quiet day spending time with family. :)
Spiced Wine
04/18/18 10:08 pm
What a gorgeous day today! Like a taste of summer! I love sitting working with the door open!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Black Sword

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 11:18 · For: Chapter 2 - Song of Fate
Oh! elfscribe. This was so sad a chapter.

I really felt for Mablung. So conflicted.

And every moment they spent together I could feel the time slowly ticking towards the inevitable.

When Mablung finally awoke on that fateful morning, I could feel the sense of loss, already. So heartbreaking. :(

Such a great story though. Loved it.

Author's Response:

I know. This is such a sad story. It was written right after a terrible tragedy in my own life, which no doubt added to that sense of loss Mablung felt. I'm really glad you loved the story, as this one, sad as it is, is one of my favorite stories among those I've written.  Hope you have a great holiday season!  Best wishes!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 9:14 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger
Hi elfscribe!

Thought I'd start enjoying some of your other wonderful stories, as I said I would, while I was reading 'Elegy for Numenor'. No better time than the holidays. :)


I've never read a fic with Mablung in it, before. You had me hooked right from the beginning and it was such a joy to be taken on a journey to explore a bit of the life and times of Mablung, elfscribe style.

I so thoroughly enjoyed this! I love a great story and as you can probably tell I really get into the characters as well.

I really loved Mablung and Beleg's comrades-in-arms acting out their friend's unfortunate and frightening battle with a bear.

Elfscribe, you write your scenes in such a wonderful way, that I feel I'm in the room with the characters witnessing their antics. It feels so real and authentic.

So good!


I can't wait to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response:

I'm so happy you're reading more stories and I'm really glad that you feel you're in the room with the characters. Wonderful to hear that the scene worked. Mablung is an interesting character in the Silmarillion and he and Beleg both have tragic stories. Thanks for the comment!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:29 · For: Chapter 2 - Song of Fate

Ahh!  I’ve just finished this and gods, I feel like I’ve taken a blow to the gut!  Powerful, powerful writing!  I loved this, even as it made me weep for their coming future! 

This was a beautiful story.  I’ve read few stories centered around the Sindar, and so it feels all the more special and unique to me.  A true treasure :D

 



Author's Response:

Oh thank you so much!  I'm pleased I am that you had such a visceral reaction to the story.  Not that I want you to feel devastated, but it means I succeeded with what I was trying to do with the story.  I cried myself while writing those last couple of lines.   As far as writing the Sindar, it's always a challenge for me to explore a new aspect of Middle-earth and the first time I wrote about the First Age Sindar was King Thingol's Codpiece, which is a comedy.  This bleak look at the marchwardens of Doriath was certainly the other side of the coin.  Thank you again for two really wonderful reviews! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:22 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger

I enjoyed this immensely :D I’ve never read a fic about Mablung before, so it was doubly delightful as it was like exploring a whole new character.

 I liked the way Mablung’s inner-voice sounded, very plausible, a little self-critical, but not overly so –a perfect balance.

The song and the Shield’s antics was a wonderful touch of humor, and I rather wish Beleg hadn’t interrupted them!  But as this is post his run in and ill-treatment by Turin’s outlaws, it’s a perfectly understandable reaction.

A wonderful read!  Thank you for sharing :D



Author's Response:

Mablung is one of those lesser known characters in the Silm.  When I got the assignment I vaguely remembered his name but had to look him up and do the research on him and Beleg.  I was struck by how tragic both their stories are.  I'm glad Mablung had a strong voice to you.  He is having a lot of self-doubt after the Battle of Unnumbered tears in which he and Beleg were the only elves who participated from Thingol's forces.  I saw it as post-traumatic stress.   I'm really happy you liked the Shields.  When I wrote it I kept fighting myself thinking this was no way for elves to be acting, but they told me it was precisely how they'd act all cooped up during the winter.  I'm glad I listened to them.  lol.   And poor Beleg.  Tolkien doesn't say he was raped by Turin's men, but he was tortured by them and it wouldn't be a stretch at all to think that.   Thank you for your thoughtful comments!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 20:32 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger
This is wonderful, Elfscribe - as usual! I rarely read anything of Mablung, but you brought him, and Beleg too, wonderfully to life. Their relationship is so close, and profound.
Mablung's vision of the funeral boat was atmospheric, and chilling.



Author's Response:

Thanks Sian.  I'm so glad you liked this part. I really came to enjoy this pairing and found it worked fairly well into canon.  Next chapter is up. Cheers!



You must login () to review.