| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Price of Vengeance II by Encairion Mature
Sequel to The Price of Vengeance I. A novella of the House of Finwë  from the end of the First Age to the fall...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Islands of Warmth in a Sea of Cold by Karlmir Stonewain Teen
How couples in the Reunited Kingdom and beyond dealt with the bitter cold of midwinter at bedtime. The story takes place...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
A Light in the Heart by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Immediately post rescue from Thangorodrim--Fingon brings an unconscious Maedhros to the Nolofinwean camp.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 81
Stories: 1604
Chapters: 8256
Word count: 24903559
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15168
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 17
Members:

Shoutbox

Himring
01/21/18 11:30 am
Belatedly: Happy Birthday, Ziggy! Hope it was a really good one!
Encairion
01/21/18 02:48 am
Happy Birthday, Ziggy! Have fun writing! Birthday's spent doing what you love are the best :)
Narya
01/20/18 10:07 pm
Happy birthday, ziggy! Have a wonderful day :) writing sounds like a perfect way to spend it! *Hugs*
ziggy
01/20/18 07:45 pm
Thank you everyone- I have had the nicest day- now just writing. This is such a lovely site- so friendly and warm.
Glorfindel
01/20/18 02:28 pm
Happy Birthday Ziggy! I hope you are having a wonderful day :)
Gabriel
01/20/18 12:15 pm
Happy Birthday, Ziggy, and have a wonderful day! :)
Ysilme
01/20/18 11:48 am
Happy Birthday, Ziggy, and all the best! I hope you're having a great day and get to do lovely things with favourite people!
Spiced Wine
01/20/18 10:21 am
Many Happy Returns, Ziggy and as always, thank you for your wonderful stories :)
ziggy
01/20/18 08:44 am
THank you Naledi! Spending the day riding my horse, writing the next chapter- will post this evening if I finish or tomorrow. Perfect day:)
Naledi
01/19/18 09:30 pm
Ziggy - happy Birthday for tomorrow. Have a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Black Sword

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 11:18 · For: Chapter 2 - Song of Fate
Oh! elfscribe. This was so sad a chapter.

I really felt for Mablung. So conflicted.

And every moment they spent together I could feel the time slowly ticking towards the inevitable.

When Mablung finally awoke on that fateful morning, I could feel the sense of loss, already. So heartbreaking. :(

Such a great story though. Loved it.

Author's Response:

I know. This is such a sad story. It was written right after a terrible tragedy in my own life, which no doubt added to that sense of loss Mablung felt. I'm really glad you loved the story, as this one, sad as it is, is one of my favorite stories among those I've written.  Hope you have a great holiday season!  Best wishes!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 9:14 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger
Hi elfscribe!

Thought I'd start enjoying some of your other wonderful stories, as I said I would, while I was reading 'Elegy for Numenor'. No better time than the holidays. :)


I've never read a fic with Mablung in it, before. You had me hooked right from the beginning and it was such a joy to be taken on a journey to explore a bit of the life and times of Mablung, elfscribe style.

I so thoroughly enjoyed this! I love a great story and as you can probably tell I really get into the characters as well.

I really loved Mablung and Beleg's comrades-in-arms acting out their friend's unfortunate and frightening battle with a bear.

Elfscribe, you write your scenes in such a wonderful way, that I feel I'm in the room with the characters witnessing their antics. It feels so real and authentic.

So good!


I can't wait to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response:

I'm so happy you're reading more stories and I'm really glad that you feel you're in the room with the characters. Wonderful to hear that the scene worked. Mablung is an interesting character in the Silmarillion and he and Beleg both have tragic stories. Thanks for the comment!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:29 · For: Chapter 2 - Song of Fate

Ahh!  I’ve just finished this and gods, I feel like I’ve taken a blow to the gut!  Powerful, powerful writing!  I loved this, even as it made me weep for their coming future! 

This was a beautiful story.  I’ve read few stories centered around the Sindar, and so it feels all the more special and unique to me.  A true treasure :D

 



Author's Response:

Oh thank you so much!  I'm pleased I am that you had such a visceral reaction to the story.  Not that I want you to feel devastated, but it means I succeeded with what I was trying to do with the story.  I cried myself while writing those last couple of lines.   As far as writing the Sindar, it's always a challenge for me to explore a new aspect of Middle-earth and the first time I wrote about the First Age Sindar was King Thingol's Codpiece, which is a comedy.  This bleak look at the marchwardens of Doriath was certainly the other side of the coin.  Thank you again for two really wonderful reviews! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:22 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger

I enjoyed this immensely :D I’ve never read a fic about Mablung before, so it was doubly delightful as it was like exploring a whole new character.

 I liked the way Mablung’s inner-voice sounded, very plausible, a little self-critical, but not overly so –a perfect balance.

The song and the Shield’s antics was a wonderful touch of humor, and I rather wish Beleg hadn’t interrupted them!  But as this is post his run in and ill-treatment by Turin’s outlaws, it’s a perfectly understandable reaction.

A wonderful read!  Thank you for sharing :D



Author's Response:

Mablung is one of those lesser known characters in the Silm.  When I got the assignment I vaguely remembered his name but had to look him up and do the research on him and Beleg.  I was struck by how tragic both their stories are.  I'm glad Mablung had a strong voice to you.  He is having a lot of self-doubt after the Battle of Unnumbered tears in which he and Beleg were the only elves who participated from Thingol's forces.  I saw it as post-traumatic stress.   I'm really happy you liked the Shields.  When I wrote it I kept fighting myself thinking this was no way for elves to be acting, but they told me it was precisely how they'd act all cooped up during the winter.  I'm glad I listened to them.  lol.   And poor Beleg.  Tolkien doesn't say he was raped by Turin's men, but he was tortured by them and it wouldn't be a stretch at all to think that.   Thank you for your thoughtful comments!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 20:32 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger
This is wonderful, Elfscribe - as usual! I rarely read anything of Mablung, but you brought him, and Beleg too, wonderfully to life. Their relationship is so close, and profound.
Mablung's vision of the funeral boat was atmospheric, and chilling.



Author's Response:

Thanks Sian.  I'm so glad you liked this part. I really came to enjoy this pairing and found it worked fairly well into canon.  Next chapter is up. Cheers!



You must login () to review.