| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8583
Word count: 26161514
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16103
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/20/18 10:32 pm
Oh, bless her, she sounds like an amazing person.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:24 pm
until the end, still driving herself, living independently, going to choir practice and her church groups. It was sad to lose her, of course, but TBH it sounds like a good way to go.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:23 pm
my MIL's birthday, so we're spending most of the day with her. I'm also just back from the funeral of a member of our choir where we sang. She had a stroke at 92 but hat been fit and activ
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:21 pm
I hope your brother arrives safe and sound, Spiced, and you have a lovely time together! I'm busy catching up with housework before going back up the ladder for painting, and tomorrow it's m
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 12:13 pm
That sounds lovely :) Yes, same with my family, now, Narya, all over the place here and abroad
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Narya
10/19/18 10:01 pm
What's everyone up to this weekend?
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Black Sword

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 11:18 · For: Chapter 2 - Song of Fate
Oh! elfscribe. This was so sad a chapter.

I really felt for Mablung. So conflicted.

And every moment they spent together I could feel the time slowly ticking towards the inevitable.

When Mablung finally awoke on that fateful morning, I could feel the sense of loss, already. So heartbreaking. :(

Such a great story though. Loved it.

Author's Response:

I know. This is such a sad story. It was written right after a terrible tragedy in my own life, which no doubt added to that sense of loss Mablung felt. I'm really glad you loved the story, as this one, sad as it is, is one of my favorite stories among those I've written.  Hope you have a great holiday season!  Best wishes!



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 16, 2017 9:14 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger
Hi elfscribe!

Thought I'd start enjoying some of your other wonderful stories, as I said I would, while I was reading 'Elegy for Numenor'. No better time than the holidays. :)


I've never read a fic with Mablung in it, before. You had me hooked right from the beginning and it was such a joy to be taken on a journey to explore a bit of the life and times of Mablung, elfscribe style.

I so thoroughly enjoyed this! I love a great story and as you can probably tell I really get into the characters as well.

I really loved Mablung and Beleg's comrades-in-arms acting out their friend's unfortunate and frightening battle with a bear.

Elfscribe, you write your scenes in such a wonderful way, that I feel I'm in the room with the characters witnessing their antics. It feels so real and authentic.

So good!


I can't wait to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response:

I'm so happy you're reading more stories and I'm really glad that you feel you're in the room with the characters. Wonderful to hear that the scene worked. Mablung is an interesting character in the Silmarillion and he and Beleg both have tragic stories. Thanks for the comment!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:29 · For: Chapter 2 - Song of Fate

Ahh!  I’ve just finished this and gods, I feel like I’ve taken a blow to the gut!  Powerful, powerful writing!  I loved this, even as it made me weep for their coming future! 

This was a beautiful story.  I’ve read few stories centered around the Sindar, and so it feels all the more special and unique to me.  A true treasure :D

 



Author's Response:

Oh thank you so much!  I'm pleased I am that you had such a visceral reaction to the story.  Not that I want you to feel devastated, but it means I succeeded with what I was trying to do with the story.  I cried myself while writing those last couple of lines.   As far as writing the Sindar, it's always a challenge for me to explore a new aspect of Middle-earth and the first time I wrote about the First Age Sindar was King Thingol's Codpiece, which is a comedy.  This bleak look at the marchwardens of Doriath was certainly the other side of the coin.  Thank you again for two really wonderful reviews! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: January 17, 2014 3:22 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger

I enjoyed this immensely :D I’ve never read a fic about Mablung before, so it was doubly delightful as it was like exploring a whole new character.

 I liked the way Mablung’s inner-voice sounded, very plausible, a little self-critical, but not overly so –a perfect balance.

The song and the Shield’s antics was a wonderful touch of humor, and I rather wish Beleg hadn’t interrupted them!  But as this is post his run in and ill-treatment by Turin’s outlaws, it’s a perfectly understandable reaction.

A wonderful read!  Thank you for sharing :D



Author's Response:

Mablung is one of those lesser known characters in the Silm.  When I got the assignment I vaguely remembered his name but had to look him up and do the research on him and Beleg.  I was struck by how tragic both their stories are.  I'm glad Mablung had a strong voice to you.  He is having a lot of self-doubt after the Battle of Unnumbered tears in which he and Beleg were the only elves who participated from Thingol's forces.  I saw it as post-traumatic stress.   I'm really happy you liked the Shields.  When I wrote it I kept fighting myself thinking this was no way for elves to be acting, but they told me it was precisely how they'd act all cooped up during the winter.  I'm glad I listened to them.  lol.   And poor Beleg.  Tolkien doesn't say he was raped by Turin's men, but he was tortured by them and it wouldn't be a stretch at all to think that.   Thank you for your thoughtful comments!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 20:32 · For: Chapter 1 - Harbinger
This is wonderful, Elfscribe - as usual! I rarely read anything of Mablung, but you brought him, and Beleg too, wonderfully to life. Their relationship is so close, and profound.
Mablung's vision of the funeral boat was atmospheric, and chilling.



Author's Response:

Thanks Sian.  I'm so glad you liked this part. I really came to enjoy this pairing and found it worked fairly well into canon.  Next chapter is up. Cheers!



You must login () to review.