| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 21
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
06/25/18 07:39 pm
I hope all goes well with your mum, Spiced. Sending you good thoughts xxx
Spiced Wine
06/25/18 03:50 pm
Thank you very much! I am up the hospital with her every day this week for pre-chemo tests and pick insertion. It’ll be a long week
Gabriel
06/25/18 01:18 pm
Oh dear, Spiced! My thoughts are with you both in this challenging time. Sending a lot of positivity your way.
NelyafinweFeanorion
06/25/18 06:16 am
Sending good thoughts to you and your mother, Spiced!
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Shout Archive



Name: Anwyn (Signed) · Date: February 27, 2013 5:45 · For: Chapter 1
This was really excellent, I have been dying for some fic written around Thranduil and Thorin and was certain I would have to be patient until the next movie comes out for that. I really enjoyed how you worked in Thranduil arriving at Erebor and then turning away, it worked really well and I can only imagine the betrayal that Thorin must have felt. The way you wrote of both characters hit a perfect pitch with me. As with all your stories, this was just superb. Thank you so much for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Anwyn! There aren't as many Thranduil/Thorin fics as I thought there might be considering the actors they chose, but Thranduil was only glimpsed in the latest movie so that's probably the reason. I'm glad you like the way I wrote the characters and that Thranduil's arrival at Erebor worked for you because I wasn't sure I was capturing their relationship in a believable way. Thanks also for your compliment about my stories. I appreciate that a lot.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2013 10:41 · For: Chapter 1
This is a lovely story, Ignoble Bard, and I can believe in this relationship. It's also beautiful how you turn it poetically back on itself with the ending:

“Where did you hear that song, my dear?”

“On the plain between the Lonely Mountain and the wood,” the bird replied. “I heard Elves sing it and the song was so beautiful I have made it my own. I taught it to my kin who now sing it to herald the spring in the North where the great dragon dwells."



Author's Response: Thanks so much for your comments. I liked the shots of Thranduil in The Hobbit movie but I wasn't happy with his actions so I tried to reconcile them a bit. I thought it would be a bittersweet irony if Thranduil's song is what alerted the dragon to Erebor's treasure. I'm glad you enjoyed it and I appreciate your comments.


You must login () to review.