| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Beloved Flesh

Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2013 23:19 · For: Chapter 1
Oh wow Alpha!!! I think I'd forgotten how well you write.

You know, I was suprised to see a Roh/Las fic from you but as always, you pulled it off wonderfully.

But this, Alpha, "tugged at his heart, that saddened him to the very core when he thought of ever losing him. And yet he had never had him, never would." - this caught me and forcd me to read the next paragraph and I thought I would start crying. I've never read death so beautifully written. It seemed like falling into a warm embrace and I really did not want to go on. But I did and Elladan was heart breaking in the moment he identified Elrohir and his intial coldness towards Legolas' tears and then, the moment when reality set in and he understood just what he stood to loose - it was perfect. You captured the twins who worked tirelessly to avenge their mother, fought side by side at the Black Gate, stayed back in Middle Earth even after Elrond left, spent every moment of their lives in each other's company. And the realisation that one of them could be lost. Brilliant!

You know, when I first started reading this fic, I skipped over a lot to get to the ending - there was no way in hell Elrohir could've died and then I read your last paragraph and just, wow. I would read this piece a thousand times for your last three lines. It was so beautiful, so heartfelt. I was laughing and crying and feeling giddy and all sorts of silly things *face palm*

I loved this, I really did. I am so jealous of Naledi right now:) Congratulations on yet another brilliant piece.

Author's Response: I really have missed your insightful comments, and I am so glad I managed to wrench that many emotions from you. True this pairing is completely new for me, but that is what Naledi enjoys and it was refreshing to try something different. Thank you for such a wonderful review. Ah, and when is your birthday? :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2013 22:53 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you, thank you, thank you! This was perfect - my favourite couple, a desperate fight against the odds and a happy (ish) ending. I loved it!

I was all ready to cry at the sorrow of the pair discovering their love too late, but then those wonderful words - 'He lives'! I'm happily imagining Elrohir's recuperation with Legolas's loving ministrations now :-)

 



Author's Response: I am glad it was woth it. That sounds like a request to me. Of course you could try your own hand at a second chapter... Ehem.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1
You can paint a scene beautifully, Alpha. Elladan's detached reaction is perfectly realised and the ending is wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you, Merin. Those are very kind and motivating words, and I am so glad you enjoyed it!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2013 21:18 · For: Chapter 1

oh- how fabulously delicious this is! Lovely yearning and unrequited love that ends with recognition. A lovely gift for Naledi- lucky girl!



Author's Response: Thanks, Ziggy. This just popped into my head as I thought of Naledi and her favourite pairing. I wondered then if I had chosen too harsh a subject for a birthday present... then I smirked mischievously at myself and everything went downhill from there!!


Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: February 19, 2013 10:40 · For: Chapter 1
Oooh, Alpha Ori, this was too good. To say your writing is skillful is such an understatement. What a battle scene. It’s just as if I were standing in Elrohir’s boots. And his reaction to “death” was so believable I couldn’t have seen the lovely surprise ending. This deserves a standing ovation Alpha. Bravo!

Author's Response: Those are very generous words, I am very flattered and humbled :) When a reader tells me they could 'see' the action, that is when I know it has worked at least to some extent. The standing ovation is, I believe, the first I have ever received!! Thank you so much.


You must login () to review.