| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Faerie Slashy Advent Calendar by Naledi Mature
A round-robin advent calendar. Elrohir is pursued by orcs to the eaves of Mirkwood. What happens next is anyone's guess.
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Child of Dying Embers by arafinwean Mature
"We are not the same, child of Melian, you were born of love and trust and I? I was born of hate and envy."She is not supposed...
Change by arafinwean Mature
Fingon takes Maedhros from Thangorodrim, but the journey isn't pleasant, nor is all forgiven.Maedhros is released from Thangorodrim...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Ossė's Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1597
Chapters: 8196
Word count: 24667870
Authors: 137
Reviews: 14877
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 11
Members:

Shoutbox

SparkyTAS
12/11/17 03:33 pm
I'm greatly enjoying your advent calendar, thank you for this wonderful present. I hope you all have a beautiful holiday. Back to my frozen farm and very fuzzy horses now.
Narya
12/11/17 01:48 pm
Ok; I'll do Saturday again if that's alright? Goodness knows what will happen in that time...!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/11/17 01:08 am
Gabriel that works for me--I'll take Friday then!
Gabriel
12/11/17 12:53 am
Hi Nelya! I'll take Wednesday, if that's okay. Stay with the day I started with. :D Can't wait to see how this evolves.
arafinwean
12/10/17 08:12 pm
It's been an odd winter here, we've had barely any snow in a country that usually gets a lot. I can see grass, it's weird.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/10/17 06:21 pm
Gabriel--let me know if you want Wednesday--otherwise I can take Wednesday.
Narya
12/10/17 05:15 pm
Love it, Naledi :D I can do Wednesday, Friday or Saturday this week - and after that I'm flexible, I finish work for Christmas, yay!
Naledi
12/10/17 04:28 pm
Yup, me today - just posted. Look forward to seeing what you write tomorrow, Ziggy!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/10/17 03:08 pm
Our tree went up last night. No snow here yet but I'm not complaining! I can do Wednesday or Friday--unless Gabriel wants one of those
ziggy
12/10/17 02:23 pm
Naledi- is it you today? Me tomorrow.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Beloved Flesh

Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2013 23:19 · For: Chapter 1
Oh wow Alpha!!! I think I'd forgotten how well you write.

You know, I was suprised to see a Roh/Las fic from you but as always, you pulled it off wonderfully.

But this, Alpha, "tugged at his heart, that saddened him to the very core when he thought of ever losing him. And yet he had never had him, never would." - this caught me and forcd me to read the next paragraph and I thought I would start crying. I've never read death so beautifully written. It seemed like falling into a warm embrace and I really did not want to go on. But I did and Elladan was heart breaking in the moment he identified Elrohir and his intial coldness towards Legolas' tears and then, the moment when reality set in and he understood just what he stood to loose - it was perfect. You captured the twins who worked tirelessly to avenge their mother, fought side by side at the Black Gate, stayed back in Middle Earth even after Elrond left, spent every moment of their lives in each other's company. And the realisation that one of them could be lost. Brilliant!

You know, when I first started reading this fic, I skipped over a lot to get to the ending - there was no way in hell Elrohir could've died and then I read your last paragraph and just, wow. I would read this piece a thousand times for your last three lines. It was so beautiful, so heartfelt. I was laughing and crying and feeling giddy and all sorts of silly things *face palm*

I loved this, I really did. I am so jealous of Naledi right now:) Congratulations on yet another brilliant piece.

Author's Response: I really have missed your insightful comments, and I am so glad I managed to wrench that many emotions from you. True this pairing is completely new for me, but that is what Naledi enjoys and it was refreshing to try something different. Thank you for such a wonderful review. Ah, and when is your birthday? :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2013 22:53 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you, thank you, thank you! This was perfect - my favourite couple, a desperate fight against the odds and a happy (ish) ending. I loved it!

I was all ready to cry at the sorrow of the pair discovering their love too late, but then those wonderful words - 'He lives'! I'm happily imagining Elrohir's recuperation with Legolas's loving ministrations now :-)

 



Author's Response: I am glad it was woth it. That sounds like a request to me. Of course you could try your own hand at a second chapter... Ehem.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1
You can paint a scene beautifully, Alpha. Elladan's detached reaction is perfectly realised and the ending is wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you, Merin. Those are very kind and motivating words, and I am so glad you enjoyed it!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2013 21:18 · For: Chapter 1

oh- how fabulously delicious this is! Lovely yearning and unrequited love that ends with recognition. A lovely gift for Naledi- lucky girl!



Author's Response: Thanks, Ziggy. This just popped into my head as I thought of Naledi and her favourite pairing. I wondered then if I had chosen too harsh a subject for a birthday present... then I smirked mischievously at myself and everything went downhill from there!!


Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: February 19, 2013 10:40 · For: Chapter 1
Oooh, Alpha Ori, this was too good. To say your writing is skillful is such an understatement. What a battle scene. It’s just as if I were standing in Elrohir’s boots. And his reaction to “death” was so believable I couldn’t have seen the lovely surprise ending. This deserves a standing ovation Alpha. Bravo!

Author's Response: Those are very generous words, I am very flattered and humbled :) When a reader tells me they could 'see' the action, that is when I know it has worked at least to some extent. The standing ovation is, I believe, the first I have ever received!! Thank you so much.


You must login () to review.