| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

In at the Eye by Narya General Audiences
Fingolfin visits a recuperating Lalwen. A very short one shot, written as a treat for Bunn for Innumerable Stars 2018.
Time Waits for No Man by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Arwen visits an aged Faramir.
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Wrath and Ruin by KimicThranduilion Teen
The battle with the Great Serpents of the North brought nothing but wrath and ruin for the wood elves. The aftermath is bitter...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 85
Stories: 1681
Chapters: 8580
Word count: 26132086
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16093
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 18
Members: ziggy

Shoutbox

Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Ysilme, that does sound wonderful, I am so jealous. There's something magical about a really good concert.
Narya
10/16/18 09:48 pm
Hi, Fadesintothewest! *waves* good to see you, hope work isn't too painful.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 02:32 pm
That sounds amazing, Ysilme :)
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:19 pm
who of my music-loving OCs might be interested in playing the nyckelharpa/keyed fiddle... *ggg* )
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:18 pm
I've been to the most wonderful concert yesterday, Swedish Folk string trio Väsen. The music was so beautiful, and it felt so much like Middle-earth, too. (now I need to figure out
Ysilme
10/15/18 12:17 pm
Nice to see you popping in here, fadesintothewest! *waves* *waves generally around, too* Hope everybody else is doing well enough.
Spiced Wine
10/15/18 10:53 am
Hope you do, too, Fadesintothewest :) Good to see you!
Fadesintothewest
10/15/18 09:27 am
Just wanted to say hello. I know things are slowed down right now. I wish I could be more present but work. Looking forward to participating more soon!!!
Spiced Wine
10/14/18 12:23 pm
Sign of a good fic, if you ask me :)
Narya
10/13/18 11:23 pm
:D this fic keeps mutating. So far it's sprouted four OCs and an unexpected plot twist which impacts stories that come chronologically later in the series...it's a nightmare but I love it!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Beloved Flesh

Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2013 23:19 · For: Chapter 1
Oh wow Alpha!!! I think I'd forgotten how well you write.

You know, I was suprised to see a Roh/Las fic from you but as always, you pulled it off wonderfully.

But this, Alpha, "tugged at his heart, that saddened him to the very core when he thought of ever losing him. And yet he had never had him, never would." - this caught me and forcd me to read the next paragraph and I thought I would start crying. I've never read death so beautifully written. It seemed like falling into a warm embrace and I really did not want to go on. But I did and Elladan was heart breaking in the moment he identified Elrohir and his intial coldness towards Legolas' tears and then, the moment when reality set in and he understood just what he stood to loose - it was perfect. You captured the twins who worked tirelessly to avenge their mother, fought side by side at the Black Gate, stayed back in Middle Earth even after Elrond left, spent every moment of their lives in each other's company. And the realisation that one of them could be lost. Brilliant!

You know, when I first started reading this fic, I skipped over a lot to get to the ending - there was no way in hell Elrohir could've died and then I read your last paragraph and just, wow. I would read this piece a thousand times for your last three lines. It was so beautiful, so heartfelt. I was laughing and crying and feeling giddy and all sorts of silly things *face palm*

I loved this, I really did. I am so jealous of Naledi right now:) Congratulations on yet another brilliant piece.

Author's Response: I really have missed your insightful comments, and I am so glad I managed to wrench that many emotions from you. True this pairing is completely new for me, but that is what Naledi enjoys and it was refreshing to try something different. Thank you for such a wonderful review. Ah, and when is your birthday? :)


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 23, 2013 22:53 · For: Chapter 1

Thank you, thank you, thank you! This was perfect - my favourite couple, a desperate fight against the odds and a happy (ish) ending. I loved it!

I was all ready to cry at the sorrow of the pair discovering their love too late, but then those wonderful words - 'He lives'! I'm happily imagining Elrohir's recuperation with Legolas's loving ministrations now :-)

 



Author's Response: I am glad it was woth it. That sounds like a request to me. Of course you could try your own hand at a second chapter... Ehem.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2013 13:29 · For: Chapter 1
You can paint a scene beautifully, Alpha. Elladan's detached reaction is perfectly realised and the ending is wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you, Merin. Those are very kind and motivating words, and I am so glad you enjoyed it!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2013 21:18 · For: Chapter 1

oh- how fabulously delicious this is! Lovely yearning and unrequited love that ends with recognition. A lovely gift for Naledi- lucky girl!



Author's Response: Thanks, Ziggy. This just popped into my head as I thought of Naledi and her favourite pairing. I wondered then if I had chosen too harsh a subject for a birthday present... then I smirked mischievously at myself and everything went downhill from there!!


Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: February 19, 2013 10:40 · For: Chapter 1
Oooh, Alpha Ori, this was too good. To say your writing is skillful is such an understatement. What a battle scene. It’s just as if I were standing in Elrohir’s boots. And his reaction to “death” was so believable I couldn’t have seen the lovely surprise ending. This deserves a standing ovation Alpha. Bravo!

Author's Response: Those are very generous words, I am very flattered and humbled :) When a reader tells me they could 'see' the action, that is when I know it has worked at least to some extent. The standing ovation is, I believe, the first I have ever received!! Thank you so much.


You must login () to review.