| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Sudden Pain of Silence by Himring Teen
They had found each other easy to talk to.But then...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The Fëanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Sunrise Over Ivrin by Narya General Audiences
Vignette. Nargothrond's exiled King and his faithful captain share a quiet moment at dawn. Written for B2MeM 2018, Music...
Choose Life by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
Hovering between  life and death, Faramir faces a choice.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 82
Stories: 1623
Chapters: 8329
Word count: 25170237
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15382
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 28
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9

Who's Online

Guests: 19


03/18/18 06:50 pm
I like rats! They're very intelligent. And Ziggy, I love Black Rebel Motorcycle Club :D great shout!
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 04:18 pm
I’m doing a lot of bird feeding, Ziggy! And foxes, there are some around and I always feel sorry for them, too. Don’t tell anyone, but there is one poor rat that I feed too
03/18/18 03:20 pm
If you're stuck indoors, check out Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Wrong Creatures- current soundtrack of the BMW ad -bit like Kasabian.They are my current soundtrack for Elrohir
03/18/18 02:56 pm
Same here- snowed all day. My shetland pony SO resentful about being outside! My TB happy as a lark- charging about the filed, bucking and rearing. But poor little birds- feed them if you can.
Spiced Wine
03/18/18 10:21 am
Woke up to a blizzard and about 5 inches of snow, of course it’s drifted so it’s not really that deep
03/18/18 09:03 am
We had a good covering of snow yesterday and it’s still snowing. Really fed up with winter now. As Spiced says, thought, it’s forecast to clear soon.
Spiced Wine
03/17/18 10:27 pm
Us too, Narya. Grr. I am sick of it. But this is not going top last as long, apparently.
03/17/18 03:33 pm
We've got snow again...!
Spiced Wine
03/16/18 07:41 pm
Have a lovely weekend :)
03/16/18 11:36 am
Have a great weekend everyone. You too Narya! :)
Shout Archive

Reviews For Onlooker

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2015 23:28 · For: Chapter 1

I love this fic and when it popped up on the Random Story Generator, had to savour it once again. I love the slow observation, th etime you give Maedhros to simply observe, unaware that his absence is the cause of Fingon's agitation. 

Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm glad you are fond of this one, Ziggy--I confess I am myself!

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 16:27 · For: Chapter 1

re uploading stories to Faerie- there is a limit to two a week I htink so the new story box doesn't get overloaded with one writer- we had that. But I really think you will find a very welcoming crowd here who are interested in the Silm and really I think more of the quality you bring would be really great. What I would LOVE to see is them uploaded in chronological order- sometimes I run myself ragged trying to read things in order so it would be really nice for that- like a chronicle. I am a huge fan of yours and I know htere are others here who just need to get used to seeing your name pop up and that would hook them in. No one minds if you don't review everyone else but I suspect you could easily get drawn into this site- it;s really friendly.

Author's Response:

Yes, I do get the impression Faerie is a really friendly site. It's more a question of how much time I have available, because I'm very committed to SWG, where I took my first steps in fan fiction.

Re chronology, I just posted a fragmentary timeline here for you, which is the best I can offer immediately. I hope nobody will object.  

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 9:29 · For: Chapter 1

This popped up on the Random story generator- beautifully timed. Still one of my favourite peeks at our favourite couple. That sense that Maedhors has of being a ghost is perfect- that is exactly what he is doing- but a wonderful bit of irony that in spite of the miserable adn as he recognises, rarhter self pitying thoughts- eh is anyhting but a ghost but very real, very presnet and very much beloved.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Ziggy! You are generous as ever, leaving me a second comment!

Yes, it's exactly at the moment when he feel most at the margin of everyone's lives that for them everything is revolving around him!

(By the way, if there should be any particular stories of mine that you'd like to see uploaded to Faerie, do let me know. I've been uncertain which ones to choose--I don't want to upload too many here, because I don't want to appear rude, as I don't read and review enough on this archive.)

Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2013 21:53 · For: Chapter 1
Suddenly, he cannot help thinking that in all the time since his deliverance from Angband he has never in truth been more than a kind of ghost, only half alive and doomed to look on as others live their lives—true lives, the genuine kind—apart from him. The distance across the courtyard seems symbolic and—in the rapidly gathering dusk—immense.

All this piece was wonderful, a glimpse into the lives of two characters I love, but that part I quoted struck me with a terrible poignancy. I love it all; thank-you for posting.

Author's Response:

Yes. Of course, that he cannot help thinking that does not mean that it is entirely true--the story itself goes to show that. Nevertheless, the fact remains: Fingon was able to free him from Angband, but not from the shadow of pain.

Thank you very much for reading and commenting! I'm glad you liked this one!

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2013 17:37 · For: Chapter 1

I LOVE this, Himring. Quietly understated, beautifully observed. The present tense works exceptionally well and all that lovely yearning is just there under the surface. I am afraid I am developing a little obsession for Maedhros too.

Author's Response:

Glad to hear that Onlooker works for you!

Present tense seemed appropriate for this one.

Nothing wrong with a little obsession for Maedhros--it happens to the best of us!

You must login () to review.