| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
A body has been found, its blood drained. Legolas and Gimli in pursuit. Warning for explicit slash in this chapter. Not...
People of the Ice by Fadesintothewest Mature
Hi I am back!!!The FŽanorians find that their kin who crossed the Ice have been utterly changed. Fingon is utterly changed...
Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8133
Word count: 24444960
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14683
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Onlooker

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2015 23:28 · For: Chapter 1

I love this fic and when it popped up on the Random Story Generator, had to savour it once again. I love the slow observation, th etime you give Maedhros to simply observe, unaware that his absence is the cause of Fingon's agitation. 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm glad you are fond of this one, Ziggy--I confess I am myself!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 16:27 · For: Chapter 1

re uploading stories to Faerie- there is a limit to two a week I htink so the new story box doesn't get overloaded with one writer- we had that. But I really think you will find a very welcoming crowd here who are interested in the Silm and really I think more of the quality you bring would be really great. What I would LOVE to see is them uploaded in chronological order- sometimes I run myself ragged trying to read things in order so it would be really nice for that- like a chronicle. I am a huge fan of yours and I know htere are others here who just need to get used to seeing your name pop up and that would hook them in. No one minds if you don't review everyone else but I suspect you could easily get drawn into this site- it;s really friendly.



Author's Response:

Yes, I do get the impression Faerie is a really friendly site. It's more a question of how much time I have available, because I'm very committed to SWG, where I took my first steps in fan fiction.

Re chronology, I just posted a fragmentary timeline here for you, which is the best I can offer immediately. I hope nobody will object.  



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 9:29 · For: Chapter 1

This popped up on the Random story generator- beautifully timed. Still one of my favourite peeks at our favourite couple. That sense that Maedhors has of being a ghost is perfect- that is exactly what he is doing- but a wonderful bit of irony that in spite of the miserable adn as he recognises, rarhter self pitying thoughts- eh is anyhting but a ghost but very real, very presnet and very much beloved.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Ziggy! You are generous as ever, leaving me a second comment!

Yes, it's exactly at the moment when he feel most at the margin of everyone's lives that for them everything is revolving around him!

(By the way, if there should be any particular stories of mine that you'd like to see uploaded to Faerie, do let me know. I've been uncertain which ones to choose--I don't want to upload too many here, because I don't want to appear rude, as I don't read and review enough on this archive.)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2013 21:53 · For: Chapter 1
Suddenly, he cannot help thinking that in all the time since his deliverance from Angband he has never in truth been more than a kind of ghost, only half alive and doomed to look on as others live their lives—true lives, the genuine kind—apart from him. The distance across the courtyard seems symbolic and—in the rapidly gathering dusk—immense.

All this piece was wonderful, a glimpse into the lives of two characters I love, but that part I quoted struck me with a terrible poignancy. I love it all; thank-you for posting.

Author's Response:

Yes. Of course, that he cannot help thinking that does not mean that it is entirely true--the story itself goes to show that. Nevertheless, the fact remains: Fingon was able to free him from Angband, but not from the shadow of pain.

Thank you very much for reading and commenting! I'm glad you liked this one!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2013 17:37 · For: Chapter 1

I LOVE this, Himring. Quietly understated, beautifully observed. The present tense works exceptionally well and all that lovely yearning is just there under the surface. I am afraid I am developing a little obsession for Maedhros too.



Author's Response:

Glad to hear that Onlooker works for you!

Present tense seemed appropriate for this one.

Nothing wrong with a little obsession for Maedhros--it happens to the best of us!



You must login () to review.