| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...
Shine by cheekybeak General Audiences
A bond between brothers helps a small elfling cope with his grief beneath the boughs of the Greenwood. prequel to “Light...
Hope in the Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
How Thrain kept the map and key safe from Sauron in Dol Guldur. Written for the Teitho contest picture challenge where it...
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1651
Chapters: 8441
Word count: 25534317
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15668
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
05/21/18 08:16 pm
Aragorn can't join - by emotionally blackmailing Legolas to accompany him on the Paths of the Dead, he's firmly on my blacklist!
cheekybeak
05/21/18 08:03 pm
SPCL? Society for prevention of cruelty to Legolas? RSPCL if Aragorn joins!
Naledi
05/21/18 06:02 pm
Yay, Nelya! We can be founder members of SACL. I tried to think of something with a better acronym - I'm open to suggestions!
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/21/18 03:25 pm
Naledi I'm with you on the Society Against Cruelty to Legolas (SACL)!! ;-) but who are we kidding--we read it all and love it anyway, despite the misadventures of our dear Elf!
Spiced Wine
05/20/18 10:38 am
I think it’s a sensible choice. Aragorn has a large backstory going back many years, so it was always going to be one of their first choices.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 05:43 am
It's an expensive gamble they have taken--they have to nail this first season. Also the TolkienEstate is far more involved in this one I hear.
Formegil
05/20/18 05:31 am
A quite big "if", I'd say. Just look what mess was made out of the Hobbit movie. Nowadays I tend to be a bit cynical. So I say the series is good if it will be at least not cringeworthy.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:49 am
As well as Elladan and Elrohir and the Rangers of the North. It could be a hit if done right. Plus the Arwen love interest.
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:48 am
I am actually relieved the Amazon series is starting with young Aragorn. There is much canon content to work with, he's a familiar character and chance to see Glorfindel, Gilraen
NelyafinweFeanorion
05/20/18 04:47 am
And that's how they learn about the weaknesses of dragons! From the little guy Aegnor adopted.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Onlooker

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2015 23:28 · For: Chapter 1

I love this fic and when it popped up on the Random Story Generator, had to savour it once again. I love the slow observation, th etime you give Maedhros to simply observe, unaware that his absence is the cause of Fingon's agitation. 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm glad you are fond of this one, Ziggy--I confess I am myself!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 20, 2015 16:27 · For: Chapter 1

re uploading stories to Faerie- there is a limit to two a week I htink so the new story box doesn't get overloaded with one writer- we had that. But I really think you will find a very welcoming crowd here who are interested in the Silm and really I think more of the quality you bring would be really great. What I would LOVE to see is them uploaded in chronological order- sometimes I run myself ragged trying to read things in order so it would be really nice for that- like a chronicle. I am a huge fan of yours and I know htere are others here who just need to get used to seeing your name pop up and that would hook them in. No one minds if you don't review everyone else but I suspect you could easily get drawn into this site- it;s really friendly.



Author's Response:

Yes, I do get the impression Faerie is a really friendly site. It's more a question of how much time I have available, because I'm very committed to SWG, where I took my first steps in fan fiction.

Re chronology, I just posted a fragmentary timeline here for you, which is the best I can offer immediately. I hope nobody will object.  



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 18, 2015 9:29 · For: Chapter 1

This popped up on the Random story generator- beautifully timed. Still one of my favourite peeks at our favourite couple. That sense that Maedhors has of being a ghost is perfect- that is exactly what he is doing- but a wonderful bit of irony that in spite of the miserable adn as he recognises, rarhter self pitying thoughts- eh is anyhting but a ghost but very real, very presnet and very much beloved.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Ziggy! You are generous as ever, leaving me a second comment!

Yes, it's exactly at the moment when he feel most at the margin of everyone's lives that for them everything is revolving around him!

(By the way, if there should be any particular stories of mine that you'd like to see uploaded to Faerie, do let me know. I've been uncertain which ones to choose--I don't want to upload too many here, because I don't want to appear rude, as I don't read and review enough on this archive.)



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2013 21:53 · For: Chapter 1
Suddenly, he cannot help thinking that in all the time since his deliverance from Angband he has never in truth been more than a kind of ghost, only half alive and doomed to look on as others live their lives—true lives, the genuine kind—apart from him. The distance across the courtyard seems symbolic and—in the rapidly gathering dusk—immense.

All this piece was wonderful, a glimpse into the lives of two characters I love, but that part I quoted struck me with a terrible poignancy. I love it all; thank-you for posting.

Author's Response:

Yes. Of course, that he cannot help thinking that does not mean that it is entirely true--the story itself goes to show that. Nevertheless, the fact remains: Fingon was able to free him from Angband, but not from the shadow of pain.

Thank you very much for reading and commenting! I'm glad you liked this one!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2013 17:37 · For: Chapter 1

I LOVE this, Himring. Quietly understated, beautifully observed. The present tense works exceptionally well and all that lovely yearning is just there under the surface. I am afraid I am developing a little obsession for Maedhros too.



Author's Response:

Glad to hear that Onlooker works for you!

Present tense seemed appropriate for this one.

Nothing wrong with a little obsession for Maedhros--it happens to the best of us!



You must login () to review.