| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Elegy for Númenor - Volume 1: Journey to Umbar by elfscribe Mature
The Númenórean King Ar-Pharazôn thinks he has won an easy victory when Sauron surrenders to him and...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
A liaison in the Great Greenwood by Azukiel Explicit
Legolas has loved Adlanniel since before she came of age, and she has loved him dearly. However, when Legolas volunteers...
Enough: So Beautiful the Lungs Are Breathless by UnnamedElement Teen
Things are dark in Mirkwood, and the death of the Elvenking's eldest daughter Lieutenant Felavel sends the family into a...

Site Info

Members: 471
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 8004
Word count: 23834109
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14254
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: King of Hearts 129
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
07/20/17 10:19 pm
I hope you had a lovely time, Naledi. And Ziggy, I hope you are recovering well
Naledi
07/20/17 10:10 am
Thanks, Ziggy. Oh no - heaven forbid that the Shoutbox should be civilised! It sounds like things need to be shaken up!
ziggy
07/18/17 11:53 pm
Welcome back Naledi! It's been very civilised in your absence:) Everyone has been behaving and not making people write things they shouldn't;)
Naledi
07/18/17 09:00 pm
Hi all, I've been quiet lately because I've been away a lot. Sorry I missed your birthday, Glorfindel. I hope everyone's well.
ziggy
07/13/17 12:00 am
Yes- have a lovely day Binki:) xx
Alpha Ori
07/12/17 09:52 pm
Have a great day Binky!!
Spiced Wine
07/11/17 10:13 am
Have a lovely time Alquien. Same for me, internet/wifi both very iffy.
Alquien
07/10/17 03:21 pm
Starting today, I am on vacation for 2 weeks. No internet though (or very iffy, at best) so I will have lots to catch up on when I get back. Have fun everyone! ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
07/06/17 06:00 pm
I hope you are all okay. I have finished by backlog of work, and I notice I have missed Encarion's update, so I will treat myself by reading it
Ysilme
06/27/17 10:44 am
So good to have you back, Spiced! *hugs*
Shout Archive


Reviews For Narmofinion

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: May 11, 2017 5:07 · For: Chapter 1
Aah, Erestor! You know how much I love your Erestor. I don't want him pining over Elladan. He's mine, all mine. He deserves to be with someone, he's so lonely; constantly torturing himself and brooding about the Feanorians.
But who in all Arda would be able to handle him?
Yes, yes, I know, Elladan is sweet and kind, and would balance Erestor, but I would rather see him with someone just as fiery and all power and fury.
Glorfindel is one possibility, But he's too honorable and with great integrity etc and still loves Idril, so he's off the list.
That damn ring playing on their hearts desires, so sad, tormenting as it does. Poor Glorfindel, why does everyone have to be so tortured in anything to do with Tolkien, on the flip side though does make for great storytelling though.
:)

Author's Response:

You are spoiling me now, Gabriel! So many lovely reviews in one day- you have well and truly banished the Spam Blues:)

I love erestor too- but oh, he is so Elladan's I'm afraid. When he gets to Minas Tirith, and sees Elladan with Imrahil I think that is going to ht him hard but he is erestor- and used to hard knocks. I find him very easy to write actually- he feels very present when I write him. 

Thank you so much Gabriel. Def going to write that Maedhros/Fingon for you- working on it in my head.



Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2014 23:22 · For: Chapter 4
See I knew you had other plans for Erestor! .... Elladan!!
Hmmm... I am a big Elladan fan. I spent most if Sons of Thunder desperately hoping Elladan would end up with Legolas in the end, even though I knew that would never happen, and now I must admit I can see that you were right all along and Elrohir is a better partner for him anyway.
I know you are setting Elladan up with Imrahil, can I say.. just being completely honest, I don't really like that. Nothing against Imrahil, I am sure he is a really nice guy, in fact that's one of the problems. He and Elladan might just be too nice , a bit bland, together. My main problem with it tho is Imrahil is mortal and now Elrohir must go to Valinor with Legolas, he must!
And I couldn't bear for Elrohir and Elladan to be separated forever, oh too too sad. I know that happened to Elrond and Elros but please not these two as well!
So all that said I should be happy at the possibility of Erestor for Elladan but I am not sure... I wonder if maybe Erestor needs more. He is all power and fire and Elladan is sweet and gentle, I can see why that appeals to Erestor but maybe as well as that kindness, gentleness he needs some fire and intensity also in return. I worry Erestor would obliterate Elladan with the strength of his personality.
Maybe Elladan should just run off with one of Legolas's wild silvan brothers instead!!
It may grow on me though, after all you have convinced me that Legolas and Elrohir should be together so stranger things have happened.
This does raise the possibility of some major Erestor angst in the current story tho when Elladan gets this mysterious injury we know will happen. Am really looking forward to seeing that now!!

Author's Response:

Yes- I know. All of that:) Erestor loves Elladan in a rather pure way, unfamiliar to him because he's a bit like Legolas in that defiant cockiness (as you said in your last review). But Elladan loves Erestor too- but doesn't have ANY idea about how Erestor feels.  Imrahil is the awakening in Elladan of things he never realsied before but he and Imrahil are sweet together but oh boy, they don't have the passion that Legolas and Elrohir have- as you say. OOh- interesting thoughts 

Oh yeah- MAJOR angst:)

xx



Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2014 20:15 · For: Chapter 2 Memories
Ah the lovely Legolas, no one can resist his smile. His sweetness and light would be the perfect balm for Erestors loneliness and sorrow.
I did have the feeling these two had hooked up at some point!
Perhaps though Legolas seemed a bit too confident for this point in MDLW especially as the ring worked to undermine him but maybe on this particular evening as it has it's hands full with the more powerful elves the ring has given Legolas a break , allowing him to be his natural cocky, sexually adventurous self!

Author's Response:

Yes- I can't quite resist giving Legolas a chance with Erestor- he'll probably have his way with Glorfindel too at some point:)



Name: Mithrellas (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2014 19:33 · For: Chapter 1
With a day off from work, nothing to do and completely enamoured with your Erestor and Glorfindel after Through a Glass Darkly I have found this.
Oh I wish I had read it earlier. It really adds to my understanding of what is happening in the story now.
I love these two. They are both so complex and so different, ancient and the both of them lonely and damaged.
To be honest I think they would suit each other well. They balance each other. As they are both powerful and intense one would not overwhelm the other, and it seems because of their age they are the only ones left who can truly understand where the other has come from.
The sexual tension here was incredible! You could cut it with a knife, even though it was only the ring, playing with them, torturing and twisting them.
I think you have other plans for Erestor however!

I love the way you have the ring working.
What a relief it must have been for all these older elves when the ring finally departed Rivendell.
Will definately be reading the next chapters later!

Author's Response:

Mithrellas- I am SO sorry that I did not respond to any of these reviews- I don't know why. Especially because they are such nice comments - not sure I have even read these -my email has been really odd- ,letting in some emails and not others.

This just demanded to be written when I was writing MDLW. Erestor wanted a back story and he is rather overpowering so this got written. And I agree actually that they really are the only ones left from the First Age who really get the other's history. I'm pleased that you liked the way the ring worked on them- I have always felt, and increasingly so - that the ring would have really wrecked the peace of Imladris. Yes- I do have plans for Erestor as you have spotted!



Name: LayneWolfe (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2014 23:49 · For: Chapter 4
I'm really excited to keep reading this story. I love the idea of learning about Erestor and Glorfindel. There are so many emotions that I want to stop and keep reading at the same time!

Author's Response:

I am so pleased you are reading this now, Layne! I am just starting to rewrite it as a full length fic to account for what happened in Phellanthir - I have a long holiday in a couple of weeks and this is my project. So keep an eye out- I'll use what is here but have already added a bit beforehand and got some scenes written so hope it should be out soon.

 

Thank you for all these lovely reviews on old work- it's such a joy to know you ar ereading them!



Name: Himring (Signed) · Date: August 24, 2013 11:25 · For: Chapter 4

I had not spotted this before...  So in your 'verse Erestor is Maedhros's foster son? You describe his nostalgia and passionate longing for those he has lost so powerfully!

It is true that, if Boromir succumbed to his desire to restore Gondor to its ancient splendour, the temptation for Elves like him and Glorfindel who had seen the First Age to try and turn back the wheel of time with the power of the Ring must have been very strong indeed!

 



Author's Response:

How lovely to get a review from you, Himring. I feel a bit overawed and uncertain that the Maedhros master is reading this...it's not really something I have worked on very much but is really outtakes from my other fics.

 

I had thought that Maedhros likely to have accepted waifs and strays into his household- but not quite fostered in the same way that Maglor fostered Elrond and Elros- nothing as close as that. More in the line of pages in the medieval times, where a knight would have almost had an apprentice in his page. My 'verse' (although that gives it too much credit to be honest)- is far more along those sorts of lines as Erestor's feelings about Maedhros are, I think, more devoted admiration than filial. What I am really pleased about is that you think his longing for those he has lost comes across powerfully- with the Ring, I have always felt Tolkien focuses on Boromir and Frodo to the extent that the others are a bit lost. It would have worked on those most powerful and most likely to be able to do something with it, I felt. So Gandalf is very vulneralbe, as are Elrond and Galadriel - it must have appealed ot Glorfindel next and Erestor. It's also to show that (in my fics) it sows discord so in my current fic, Legolas and Giml iget on wiute well until they leave for the Quest.

 

I'm very chuffed you have read this- thank you, but it isnt polished in any way. Having said that, where the current ficis going sort of requires me to take this story and add to it now so I'll probalby go back and sor tout all the typos and discrepancies. Going off to read your other piece now and get inspired.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2013 19:44 · For: Chapter 4

Wonderful, Ziggy! This is exactly how I see the ring working - seeking out a person's deepest desires and making them believe it can bring them about. And I loved how he blurted out that he loved Elladan (although I wasn't sure if he was confusing Elladan with another at that point) only for Elladan to misunderstand. Brilliant!



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2013 19:12 · For: Chapter 4
One of the things in the Sulmarillion that makes me rage with grief is the manner of Fingon's death, and here you have brought it right back, with Eresetor picking up a scrap of the blue and silver. It was as if to kill him was not enough (as Morgoth would have cast Fingolfin's body to his wolves) but to degrade it further in death, as if they could not bear that something so glorious should life.

It's so sad.

But this time, there was emptiness, a deep well of emptiness. Soul-void. And if Maedhros had not been broken by Angband, or by his father’s death, by the gradual loss of all his brothers, it was Fingon’s death that broke him now.

Maedhros would never, never, never come again walking through the long grass, or striding on long legs up stone steps of Himring to look out over the battlements with the trumpets ringing behind him and his long bronze hair pulled back, his grey eyes alight with Fingon’s blue and silver banner snapping in the wind. Never again would the High-King come galloping over the plains to greet the sons of Fe


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2013 19:09 · For: Chapter 4

 “Unbearably, he brought it to his lips, his nose and smelled the blood, and closed his eyes.”

Holy lord you’re killing me!  This has got to be one of the worst deaths in all the Silm, for me, especially because of the way you just know Maedhros blames himself for it.  I can barely read fics about the Nirnaeth Arnoediad, they break my heart so much, but nothing, nothing could compare to this.  It makes me glad, in a way, that the Silm is written from such a distant perspective.  I couldn’t imagine reading all that grief and despair chapter after chapter when pieces of it like this reduce me to tears!

“Born in Berleriand and fostered by his beloved lord who could not help but gather to himself the orphans and bastards, thrown-away children that he never begot himself, as if he would gather together again his brothers, his never-born children.”

This imagine, that longing for the never-born children, speaks more powerfully than anything else of the price the sons of Feanor paid to the Oath.  It took every hope of future for them, and devoured their hopes and dreams, their very souls, in a way that is too often ignored, and completely devastating to read, like all your organs have been vanished from your body.

“But he would do one last thing for his beloved lord, and find that which was lost. He would search for Maglor and he would not cease or rest until he found him, or died, or faded.  It seemed only right to try and save the one thing left, that except for Fingon, Maedhros had loved the most. “

Yes!  I love where this is hinting at!  Go Erestor, go!  Find Maglor and bring him home (even if you have to drag his mopey, grief-maddened self behind you)!  I loved the way the Ring caught hold of this desire in him and tired to seduce him; very clever writing, my dear :D

I loved the surreal feeling of this chapter.  The Ring’s magic lays like a cloudy-veil over Erestor’s mind, and the way you wrote this gave it an other-worldly feel, but also maintained enough of the physical that the reader could follow along without confusion.

Question: is this the same verse as Sons of Thunder?  Obviously there are many delicious similarities, but what I’m asking is will the Elladan in this story eventually end up with Imrahil?  It sounded like it from your note, but then it’s not listed as the same series so I was curious.

You made my heart cry for Erestor; he loved Elladan so much, I just want him to have some happiness!  I know he’s not the best person, and I wanted Elladan to end up with someone who deserves him in Sons of Thunder, but now I’m flip-flopping!  I’m sure, once I read more of Elladan/Imrahil’s story I won’t be able to see them ever apart, but all the unrequited love you write (magnificently) has me longing for threesomes lol!

“This is your war, and it is pitiful.’”

I am going to admit something really shameful: I’ve thought this before too.

I tell myself that there’s no measure on suffering, and just because Sauron wasn’t as powerful as Morgoth didn’t mean the elves and men who struggled against him were any lesser then those in the First Age.  But how can you read about Finrod’s song-battle with Sauron where he almost threw Sauron down, and compare it to the way Sauron holds such dominion over the world in the Second and Third Ages?  He has the Ring, but didn’t he lose a portion of his power in Numinor’s fall?  A question I’ve wondered for a while is if the Ring actually made him more powerful, not just in relation to the lesser Rings, but did he actually gain power by wearing it?

It’s terribly condescending of me to think Suaron wasn’t a worthy threat just because he wasn’t Morgoth, and it’s something I’ve been working to correct lol!

Loved, simply loved, this chapter :D  You leave me hungry for more.  The imagery here is to die for :D

So now you have discovered my secret:  I am probably the slowest reader and reviewer in the world.  I have been reading, reviewing this chapter for at least an hour I’d say, and you’re probably wondering what’s taking me so damned long :face plant:



Name: Elvewen (Signed) · Date: April 09, 2013 22:02 · For: Chapter 3 Illustration
Ooooo *drools at picture*. pretty.

I think that said it all. Thank you Ziggy:)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: April 06, 2013 1:43 · For: Chapter 3 Illustration

Gorgeous picture!  I love Legolas’s tattoos, I can totally see them moving in my mind’s eye, that dragon slithering over his skin under Erestor’s touch!  I can’t wait to read the coming chapter :winks:



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: April 04, 2013 19:03 · For: Chapter 3 Illustration
Oh! This is very beautiful.The dragon and leaf paintings are exactly as I imagined.


Name: danty (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2013 19:46 · For: Chapter 3 Illustration
A beautiful couple. The illustrator really has talent. The drawings make the story alive.


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2013 19:42 · For: Chapter 3 Illustration

I love Mienpie's pics and this is wonderful. The detail is exquisite. Especially Legolas's tattoo's. Love it! And it would work well for Legolas/Elrohir too :-)



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2013 23:58 · For: Chapter 2 Memories

 

OK, so I freaking loved your descriptions of Maedhros:  “foregoing forever the ‘Bliss of Aman.’ That was how Maedhros used to say it, the Bliss of Aman, with that subtle emphasis and his lovely, urbane smile. And the Vanya lords of Aman who watched him, a silent wall of disapproval, had known he was laughing at them, in spite of the terrible price he had paid, in spite of the poverty into which he was forced, in spite of his dreadful spiral into despair, he was still so much better than them, so much more.”

Holy shit!  This is so…so bloody perfect!  So utterly Maedhros, and Feanorioan, and just that defiance, that fire laughing at the Valar and those ‘Holy Elves’ even in his ruin that it just reduces me to cursing and incoherence lol!

Loved it.



Author's Response:

Ah- you see, now that I am reading YOUR Erestor, it is lovely to find someone who thinks along the same lines. It just jumps out at you, doesn't it? I love your Maedhros too - mutual admiration!! And it is just so tragic, isn't it? I'm letting a Maedhros story build up in my mind actually- just immersing myself in the canon so I can write something- probably when I've finished MDLW - and I suspect it will be part of Erestor's story- I like the obliqueness of it that way and tying it into Erestor. Trouble is, I htought I knew what that plot line was but it keeps morphing into something bigger, more epic. (groans)

Thank you for the reciews, Encairion- it makes such a difference.

 



Name: lisse (Anonymous) · Date: March 17, 2013 17:00 · For: Chapter 2 Memories
You have perfectly captured Erestor’s profound loneliness in his loss of his Maitimo, and the Noldor in their glory. Erestor is an ancient being whose memory reaches further back than even his lord Elrond. His strength is sapped and I can feel him brighten, drawing energy from Legolas. I love that Legolas understands by instinct, takes his hand and gives. Beautiful as always.

Author's Response:

You are always so lovely Candy. Thank you.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2013 11:46 · For: Chapter 2 Memories
am very influenced by your deep empathy for the Noldor, whom I have always felt irritated by because my first love is Mirkwood.

Well it is your writing of Legolas, his sexuality and freedom, the different customs of Mirkwood, that got me truly interested in the Mirkwood Elves, myself, so that balances nicely :)


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 21:31 · For: Chapter 2 Memories
I cannot match the loveliness of your work, or your passion for the Noldor but through your work I can feel the tragiedy, which I have not done before now.

Stop it. I don't want to see you say anything like that again; this is far better than anything I could brain-strain over, and you wrote it exhausted and busy. When you have time, I am begging you for your First Age story! If I made you see the tragedy, then great; because it is there, just told so distantly in Tolkien.

Author's Response:

This could go on and on with increasingly hilarious results! I love your work, admire it hugely and am very influenced by your deep empathy for the Noldor, whom I have always felt irritated by because my first love is Mirkwood. So its nice to get influenced in a way that extends my view and makes me look outside my bubble. I'm getting my thoughts together!! xxx



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 20:25 · For: Chapter 2 Memories
This made me choke up, Ziggy. I truly felt how very long ago this was for Erestor, all the brightness and glory gone, except, I think for Glorfindel, who was there too.

Was he still falling, the fiery hair streaming behind him like a comet’s tail? Had he found Eru? Had he fallen into the Void as E


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2013 20:11 · For: Chapter 2 Memories

Oooh, this is a bleak, bitter Erestor. I love this take on one of the ancient elves - he's seen great cities rise and fall and so many deaths. No wonder he feels so empty. It shows why Tolkien describes mortal death as 'the gift of men'. Surely an immortal who has witnessed all that Erestor has would be tired of life and wish for an escape.

I hope he can eventually find some meaning in his life. Not that Legolas wouldn't prove an interesting diversion for a while...

Beautiful chapter, Ziggy!



Author's Response:

Naledi, you are so kind to say this- it feels unfinished but I just can't get to really polish it and need to get something out. I hope I will go back later and improve it - the bit with legoals felt too rushed and as though Erestor just brsuhes aside his sense of regret an sorrow. But thank you sweetie.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: February 28, 2013 4:19 · For: Chapter 1

This was gorgeous! I love the way you describe the Feanorions. Its perfect. And the ending, oh the ending! At first I was a little peeved at your Erestor (even though I thought he had killer attitude lol!) and then he gets all gentle with Glorfindel,and this:

"He did not say that he knew his beloved lords were not there; one cast himself into the gouged hole in the earth, blazing like a comet and the other, lost so far and for so long that Erestor doubted he still knew his own name... but sometimes in dreams he thought he heard a song drift on the wind...It was why he himself could not leave."

It was just a glimpse, but it made my eyes tear up a little at the way you wrote their fate. I mean, I've read it seemingly a hundred times from other's writting, and yet you brought something fresh and powerful to their fate and made me hurt all over again for the ruin of the Noldor.

Genius, that's what you are.



Author's Response:

Aah- how satsifying that someone who writes abotu Erestor has enjoyed this. I know why you were peeved at erestor- he has the glib and rather superficial elegance that amsks something much deeper and more tragic. He hides behind that mask too. And your generous comment, from a writer I enjoy so much too, means a very great deal so thank you for your encouragemtn and kind words.



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2013 11:27 · For: Chapter 1
I can just imagine a number of such scenes playing out as The Ring contaminates and bends everyone's thoughts to a greater or lesser degree - and you have written about it beautifully.

Author's Response:

Yes- lots of opportunities (grin!) When we get back to Imladris in MDLW, there's lots of fun to be had:)



Name: ebbingnight (Signed) · Date: February 10, 2013 4:44 · For: Chapter 1
I love the notion of the Ring's 'voice' as being a high-pitched whine, a pressure in one's head, and a failure to rein in one's tongue and thoughts--- but Ash Nazg is clearly no match for Erestor, who has known much realer Powers.

Author's Response:

I'm sp glad that came across, ebbingnight. I always think Tolkien did that so well- refers to what is lost and past, and there is this overwhelming sense of nostalgia- like Briton in the Dark Ages must have hankered for Rome.



Name: Scarlet10 (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2013 18:49 · For: Chapter 1
I loved the differences of "fire" between Erestor and Glorfindel: Red/ Black hot fire and Ice/Blue Cold fire. So fitting.
And that last confession of Glorfindel, so touching.
Thank you for this beautiful story.

Author's Response:

I love it when readers pick things up- I had not even noticed the colours! I'll be able to build that in now you've made me see it. Thank you!



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2013 17:35 · For: Chapter 1

Wonderful, Ziggy! I can just imagine the Ring's subtle whispers affecting the elves that way. But best of all was that suggestion that Erestor desires Elladan. Yay! He'd need to Accompany Arwen and Elrond to Minas Tirith for Arwen's wedding, so he could warn off Imrahil :-)



Author's Response:

That is a little gift for you and other Elladan fans I have been saving up- and you are EXACTLT right with the plot... except for a little bit which I'm not telling you just yet. x



You must login () to review.