| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 5
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Darkness

Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: October 09, 2017 21:29 · For: Light of a Thousand Stars
What a bittersweet chapter. It's good that Maewen makes Legolas see how much his father is hurting and that he needs him.

Obviously Legolas has serious issues with his mother leaving without a word. Just leaving a letter is downright cruel. What was that woman thinking?


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2017 0:16 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

LOvely- such an ending:) And already another one ready to read! 



Author's Response:

Yay! Your review number 250 which seems like a real milestone and a nice round number. I hide you like the next story as well as this one. Going to be kind of hard to write a whole story with no Aragorn or Gimli! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2017 0:14 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

I love this chapter!!! Such kindliness and acceptance- the sweetness of the Legolas we love, the soppiness of the pair of them:) Love that three-way conversation with Elrohir stuck in the middel!!



Author's Response:

I decided we hadn't had enough Legolas/Elrohir "madly in love and both on the same page" time and so here we are! Even if Elladan had to butt his way in there to put a dampener on things. Poor Elrohir trapped between a nagging brother and a wild over-excited lover! 

He better get used to it. :-) 



Name: UnnamedElement (Signed) · Date: October 02, 2017 14:10 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

This is lovely. His recove from Maewen's perspective, from afar. That little line in which Maewen's refers to leaving Erynion as soon as Elrohir calls for her did tweak my heart a bit--I feel for the two of them. I really feel for legolas and Maewen at the end of this chapter, to see Legolas how he once was. I do hope they won't always be chasing a memory, because he is so legolas here--legolas when he is not overwhelmed, and that is intoxicating. For Maewen's sake most of all, I hope they have more moments like this. 

 

Hopefully i will ER to reviewing the other chapters in this--I did read them, I just did not get caught up in reviews. Now back to Chained, and must catch up on Lighy of a Thousands Stars! 

 

You dis it, though! You finished this epic story, and what an extraordinary ride it has been. 



Author's Response:

You are right, this IS what keeps Maewen going through the tough times. This memory of Legolas as he should be. What lies at the core of him. I imagine she sees it more than we do, or any of the others—save Elrohir—in the little quiet moments you get as a couple when Legolas is relaxed and happy and just can be himself. As you can see in "Chained" though even in Valinor she is still chasing it—getting glimpses through the dark clouds. 

I hope Elrohir recognises what he gave Maewen here. He did intend this as a gift to her....the chance to revisit Legolas as he was, free of the sea, in the healed Greenwood. Which they could only achieve because Elrohir had removed the sealonging for a time. 

Elrohir is so grateful for her letting him in and sharing her love. He wanted to give something back. I hope he realises that instead of intruding on her relationship with Legolas he is actually enhancing and improving it. It will help him with his guilt. 

Hope you end up liking Chianed as much as this one! :-) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2017 18:14 · For: Light of a Thousand Stars

This is a bittersweet ending, since we know of the trials Legolas and Maewen still have to face in the future. Even so, it’s lovely to see them share that precious moment under the stars, happy for the time being. 

I wish Legolas could have kept his mother’s letter. Now all he will know is her desertion, denying any possibility of finding out her side of the story. I can see now that his heart will be truly hardened against her by the time he arrives in Valinor. 



Author's Response:

Yes, bittersweet because we know the rest of the story. Still they manage to hold on to that love. It's at the heart of them and what keeps them together all this time. 

Legolas should have kept that letter and read it when he was able. Now, as you say, there's no option for him to hear her words when this initial anger subsides. All he has is his rage. 

(Which he turns in on himself for a long time as he told us in "Darkness" He decides she left because of him, because he told her when she saved him after Laerion that he hated her. It's not till Thranduil admits in Darkness there were major relationship problems that Legolas lets go of that belief. )



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 01, 2017 5:56 · For: Light of a Thousand Stars
Really liked seeing both sides of this. Legolas does seem very similar to his mother as far as the Silvan influence and the running.
So this takes place after Legolas has split Erynion and Maewen apart with his unSilvan jealousy.
You know I'm now going to want an even earlier story about these Elves!

Author's Response:

Ah, no the split with Erynion happens after this...shortly after I think. The three way relationship is surviving tenuously at this time. Maewen talks to us a little bit about this time in Fire. She describes Legolas as slowly reducing his other relationships...only choosing to be with her, while she happily moved between lovers. I think that has been happening leading up to here. As he says, he has only just realised he is "in love" with her. In a way Erynion splitting these two up on the battlefield has enabled them to move closer together. The time apart has them realising.....I can't survive without this other person...

Things come to a head when Legolas discovers Erynion was the one to initiate that. He interprets it badly..of course...and it all spirals from there. I do intend to write that sometime. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2017 18:26 · For: Light of a Thousand Stars

I think Erynion has a point, but for everyone's sake, I hope Legolas doesn't find out it was Erynion who reported them. Although considering the levels of angst you enjoy inflicting on your characters, I don't hold out much hope...

Not a good point for Legolas to arrive, and he's hardly in a frame of mind to be rational. Oh dear!



Author's Response:

Yes, Erynion has a point. Especially considering Legolas' history with his brother. And the thing is both Legolas and Maewen know this. Why else were they keeping things on the down low? But yeah, Legolas won't take well to hearing it was Erynion who reported them. At this stage the Erynion/Maewen relationship is in full swing. They were. "together" first. I can't see Erynion ever stepping in if Legolas had been the first one with Maewen. Maewen's relationship here with Legolas is serious but still in the early days of them realising just how serious. It's in that space between, "oh yeah, this is a pleasant way to spend the time" and "oh my god this is the person I will be with forever!" 

We already know things deteriorate between Legolas and Erynion due to Legolas' jealousy, immaturity and inability to "share" Now we know the catalyst. Even Maewen initially accused Erynion of ulterior motives here, though she didn't really believe it. Legolas will definitely see this as Erynion deliberately trying to keep he and Maewen apart due to jealousy. 

As for how Legolas will react. Well we have seen this scene before from his perspective. (In chapter 3) Now to see how Maewen interprets their conversation. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2017 5:54 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

I like the sense of lingering distortion from Returning- the words is a really good way to experss theat  . And Erynion is beautifully baffled and kind, but honest. Great OC!



Author's Response:

Ah but is it from Returning? I know Elladan thinks it is but really...it's not. It's plain and simple brain damage from the time Legolas was without oxygen at the bottom of that pile of rocks. A type of stroke. That's why Aragorn has seen something similar in a Man but Elladan has seen nothing like it in an elf. (I don't imagine elves have strokes) Its called Agraphia, so the damage is specifically in the language/written language area of the brain. 

I decided Elves could suffer damage to the brain just as humans do and it would be permanent like us but their advantage is they can more easily create new pathways around it. So Legolas is not stuck forever in the state he is now... but he will never be normal. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2017 5:51 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

This scene is lovely- the forgiving Elrohir, the distraught Legolas but gradually lsitening, accepting and sharing. Nice to hear the tensions and politics of Ithilien- I think that gave it great depth.Lovely.



Author's Response:

Oh great, glad you liked that detail. Sometimes I think I may get carried away with details of my headcanon background and think it may be boring. Like....who really cares if Legolas and Aragorn have tensions about conflicts of interest between Ithilien and Minas Tirith?? Apart from me. Or that Eomer can be a difficult pain in the arse only his sister can handle...

Elrohir handled Legolas really well here. I think he has been getting lessons on the sly from Gimli. 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 28, 2017 4:12 · For: Light of a Thousand Stars
Ooh! I really like getting this backstory, especially after "Fire." Things really are falling into place.
Poor Erynion--he's exhausted, frustrated and now has this maelstrom he's returned too. And an angry Maewen. I can't blame her for being frustrated that he is the one who ratted them out but I can't really blame him either. He loves them both and this has got to be tough--realizing she loves Legolas so deeply. Erynion is her calm, her rock but Legolas is the love of her life and it's a hard thing for him to realize.
And he's really being hard on himself too--separating himself from her also.
His fear of Legolas leaving when he hears of his mother's departure may seem far fetched but I think Maewen is having to work a bit too hard to convince herself of that so I think it's likely more probable than she wants to admit. The running issue Legolas has, just like his mother.
What a horrible moment for Legolas to show up-I'd think he'd still be woth Thranduil but perhaps he did a runner to Maewen as soon as he heard about his mother. Ugh. Nice cliffhanger here!

Author's Response:

Erynion was right. Legolas and Maewen should not have been patrolling together...especially given Legolas' history and they both knew it which was why they kept their relationship so secret. But I had to think really hard about Erynion's motives here. Maewen suggests jealousy although she is not convinced of that and like her, I find it hard to believe it of him. Erynion is Silvan and as sad as it is for him to know he is not the love of Maewen's life that she is for him, I still think he can accept her other love. It is the norm for their people and the stars don't always align the way you want them too. 

So I decided as well as his concern for Legolas...and especially Maewen, he worried about himself and his own judgement in the field where Maewen was involved. Outing Legolas and Maewen effectively separated him and Maewen as well. It killed two birds with one stone. 

Yes! As always you know my characters so well. Erynion's fear that Legolas will flee has probably been whispering at the back of Maewen's mind as well. She does not even want to go there but I think secretly she is terrified of it. 

As you say...Legolas has a pattern of running. 

This scene here has already been written from Legolas' point of view, (chapters 2 and 3) and so I am constrained by that including the timeline. Earlier we saw Legolas' talk with Thranduil was brief. And yes he did run...as he does.... as soon as he heard about his mother, he took off to see Maewen. 

Now comes the tricky bit. Writing a conversation I have already written...making it the same but different! 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2017 12:04 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

and this time there will be no Aragorn

Yay!!!

or Gimli to stroll in and sort everything out. The elves are going to have to sort it all out themselves

What? No Gimli? They're doomed!!!

 

 



Author's Response:

I know! All too often in my stories I have Gimli showing up and sorting the whole mess out. How are they going to cope?

How am I going to cope without that escape clause????? 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2017 21:21 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

Yay! This was a perfect end to the story, Cheeky. It was wonderful to see Legolas well, even if he's not entirely whole yet. It's heartbreaking that writing is still such a struggle, but a real sign of the strength of his love that he would allow his father and Elrohir to write such personal words so that he can assure Maewen of his love. And those few words that he struggles to write alone...*sniffle*

I'm happy that Maewen and Erynion are finding a way back into their relationship as well. I'd love to see more of this universe!



Author's Response:

I know, he's not entirely whole....and the writing issue is not going to go away sadly. It is what it is. As you say, those words he struggled SO hard to write to her on his own, just do he could tell her he loved her...no wonder she cherishes them. But Thranduil has accepted it. I think that's important to Legolas who was worried about how it would work as a prince. Thranduil has just said, You need a writer? I'll do it. (Of course!) 

Glad you liked the ending. I have had this ending held in my head the whole time, no matter how grim things got, no matter how many rocks Legolas was buried under, it was always going to end like this :-)

The first two chapters of the sequel are already written. Already angsty. Tension between Legolas and Maewen, Maewen and Erynion, Legolas and Erynion, Legolas and his Mother......and this time there will be no Aragorn or Gimli to stroll in and sort everything out. The elves are going to have to sort it all out themselves!!

But I have to finish the story about Legolas' mothers desertion before I publish this new one. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2017 21:12 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

Two new chapters! When did that happen?

This was gorgeous - from the emotion of Legolas and Maewen's farewell, to Legolas the wild Silvan and finally that lovely, swoony talk between Legolas and Elrohir. Of course Elrohir needs a Silvan - it's so obvious that only a Silvan is going to understand Elrohir's need to be close to Elladan as well as a lover. Now Elrohir has got that in the open, I have hope they will be able to work out this relationship.



Author's Response:

Glad you liked this chapter. It's one of my favourites. I knew you'd like the lovely dovey Legolas and Elrohir bit. Yes, a Silvan is perfect for Elrohir. All this time people have been worried if Noldor Elrohir could "share" his love with Legolas and it turns out he already knows all about the problems of doing that. His closeness with his brother already causes him problems with pursuing romantic love.

surprise! I knew that all along. 

It IS going to work, this multifaceted relationship. It really is.



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2017 3:54 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls
Ahhh! So bittersweet to see this end but what a lovely end!
I love the idea of Thranduil writing for his son--the time and care and openness between them.
But oh my heart for dear Elrohir again-Maewen is right--it just cost him to write those letters but it is also a testament to the openness of Legolas to share this with him and a testament to the determination of Elrohir to make this work.
And Erynion is making his way back to Maewen as well. So this five sided relationship is working.

I was so happy to think of a healed Greenwood with a healed Legolas. It makes sense to me that he truly gets himself back together (even the traumatic inability to write improving here) in his home. The place that has nurtured him his whole life and that is finally whole itself.
Beautiful story and beautiful ending. I will miss these boys dreadfully.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked that touch of Thranduil. As you say it demonstrates an openness between father and son but also, and perhaps more importantly it shows an acceptance from Thranduil of his son's disability. Legolas was worried....about his position in Ithilien, what his inability to write would mean to him as a prince, and here is Thranduil saying, if you need a writer I'll do it. He sees his son no differently. He will make this work. 

And Elrohir, oh yes those letters were hard for him to write. And I don't think Legolas expected it of him. More likely Elrohir found Legolas, missing Maewen, frustrated he could not write to her in Thranduil's absense and he stepped into the breach. Elrohir has given Maewen a gift here, and I hope the knowledge of that goes some way to alleviating his guilt. He has enabled her this moment in time, to return to her healed homeland with a Legolas who is not burdened by the sea. It is something in "Darkness" we saw Maewen bitterly resented and regretted being stolen from her. How precious will this time be! I hope Elrohir can see with this he is enhancing Legolas and Maewens relationship, not disrupting it. 

Legolas' writing continues to improve from here but it remains problematic for him as you will see in the Valinor story. It is perhaps good enough for family, but not really for formal correspondence. He will always need help with that and at times he will resent that. 

 

Thanks SO much for all your lovely, thought provoking reviews, which have at times changed and moulded the story into something slightly different! They will be back, these two.....three.....(actually as you say, 5) There is more story to tell. 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 25, 2017 4:50 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls
Oh my heart! That last line.
Oh my poor dear Elrohir you HAVE needed a Silvan!
Poor Elrohir's bewilderment at everyone's joy at the flighty, bouncy Legolas was adorable. And sad--because he really hasn't had a chance to see that side of him--the council of Elrond was not a carefree time and Legolas has been through much sorrow and hardship when they met the twins for the trip to the Stone of Erech--he's never had a chance to really see carefree Legolas. The Legolas he grew to know had the sea-longing.
He hadn't seen this brilliant beguiling creature and he still fell in love with him, even with that dimmed.
It is unutterably sad that Elrohir has had such a hard time because of his bond with his brother. It was breathtaking to see how lightly Legolas took it and how he accepted Elladan's presence and was cheeky about it too.
I had worried about the three way relationship with Maewen (four way with Erynion, if he comes back int it) but truly it is a FIVE way because of Elrohir. And somehow that makes me think it truly has a chance to work because Elrohir understands being pulled in two directions, just in a different way than by a second lover. But it fits. It makes sense and of anyone can understand and accept it, it will be Legolas.
Gimli's utter glee at Elrohir's expense was amusing--he knows exactly what Legolas is.
I knew from the description of the wild ride and acorn tossing that Legolas was back to himself--Gimli complains because that's just how their friendship goes--he wouldn't be Gimli if he didn't fuss about all that.
This was such a hopeful uplifting chapter but still with a cautionary warning being sounded--things will not go well if Elrohir isn't upfront about his concerns and issues. Legolas is right to chide him on that and I think Elrohir, with all else on his mind, has missed that very clear warning from Legolas.
But oh that last line. Perfect.

Author's Response:

Poor Elrohir indeed! 

Yes, he has never seen the Legolas Aragorn and Gimli know. The lighthearted flighty Silvan he is at heart. By the time the twins showed up, if you remember in"The Hands of the King" Legolas was injured and all of them crushed by the weight of Galadriel's prophesy. Gimli and Aragorn at loggerheads. Elrohir simply had no chance to get to know this Legolas. And as you say, even despite that he fell in love with him. Imagine what joy he has ahead of him discovering the real Legolas in the renewed Greenwood. 

Of course Gimli's grumbling here was simply the pattern of their friendship. Gimli is expected to grumble. It is a strange form of showing affection and Legolas interprets it completely differently to Elrohir watching on the sidelines. What a happy day this must have been for Gimli, riding with his friend, re-capturing some of their old dynamic. 

And now finally you get to see why this WILL work. Because Elrohir is not such a stranger to a shared love after all. He has suffered because his Noldor lovers could not accept his closeness to his brother....and given a choice he was completely unable to leave Elladan behind for anyone, no matter how special. If he did, as he says, he would no longer be Elrohir but simply a shadow of himself. As he says to Aragorn, having to share Legolas is more like Elrohir than anyone has known ..........except Elladan, who must struggle similarly. (If you think back in the story Elladan has shown less resistance to this love affair with Legolas than any of the others. He has—in fact—been quite encouraging. Because he KNOWS Elrohir can do this. He has seen this could be an answer for him.) 

They are so entwined, these twins, it must be very hard for a lover to cope with their closeness. But Legolas has another life, another love, and now he has matured he can easily accept Elladan's importance. As he says, there will be times he finds it harder than others, but he is never going to see Elrohir as something "less" because of his interedependence with his brother.

so a happy ending. But there's always a warning! Elrohir is an introspective worrier, and Legolas is relatively open comparatively. This WILL be a problem if Elrohir is not careful. His fears can easily come between them, even if those fears are not real. Especially if they are not real and he doesn't know that because he hasn't bothered to open up about them! 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: September 13, 2017 23:38 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls
Poor Legolas has to deal with a lot. It must be really frightening to not be able to write suddenly.

Elrohir was great in this. He kept his calm and he kept Legolas calm. I liked this scene. After all the years he kept insulting and disparaging Legolas I think this is the first time that it looks like this can work. He is loving AND supportive and really likeable here.

Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you liked Elrohir here! He did so well. He must have been upset himself at this discovery. He loves Legolas, and finding out someone he loves is damaged and struggling would be upsetting, and yet he doesn't show it. He gives Legolas exactly what he needs, calmness, surety, and most of all acceptance. Nothing has changed, Legolas is still Legolas and Elrohir still loves him. 



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2017 1:50 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls
It's good that Aragorn and Legolas talked. Both had wrong impressions and it has to be a great relief for them to clear things up.

Elrohir is right to give Legolas a piece of his mind. Legolas did give no thoughts to his feelings. It's time that he starts to think about the others too, before he acts.

Author's Response:

Elrohir is SO right. Legolas really needs to hear this. And they all need to stop being so cautious, tip toeing around him and start having higher expectations. And letting Legolas know when he is thoughtless. He is not a child, and he has just asked Elrohir not to treat him as one. Now he needs to start modifying his behaviour.

But yes—clearing things up with Aragorn....that will help them both immensely.



Name: Starfox (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2017 1:45 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls
"I do. I may not be you but I watch you, and I know you and I love you. But perhaps you should ask yourself, Legolas, how difficult things have been for me, for Elrohir, for Elessar. Ask yourself that when you feel the world is against you."

Maewen is right in this. Legolas often forgets what the others feel and sometimes involuntaty hurts them.

The way he treats Elrohir here is thoughtless, too. Elrohir is right: It could have waited until the next morning. Why wake Aragorn needlessly and why worry Elrohir with pulling this disappearing act?

Author's Response:

Yes, at the moment especially, Legolas needs to remember to think of others. He is always a very spontaneous, distractible kind of person even when he is well. He needs to learn to stop sometimes and think of the consequences to those around him. Some of that is due to his injuries....but some of it is just the way he is. A part of his personality he needs to work on! 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 22:34 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls
So he has agraphia!! Likely due to hypoxic brain injury I'm thinking. Even an Elvish constitution is going to be affected by so long without oxygen to the brain. And it makes sense now with his scattered words and inability to make himself clear to others in previous chapters.
Elrohir is so good here. He's calm, supportive, reassuring.
This is just beautiful. Exactly what Legolas needs to hear.

his lips brush against my hair.
"Hush," he repeats, "You are still Legolas to me."

He is so tender yet firm--just what works with Legolas. His love just radiates.

I like that Aragorn has seen this, likely the result of a stroke, before. It makes it less unique. I think Glorfindel will be a great resource although I doubt it will be reversible.

The conversation with Erynion was good. Erynion understands him in his own unique Silvan way. I agree with him--if Legolas' thoughts and ideas are sound there is no reason he cannot lead. It would be no different than if he were illiterate. At least he can read over the scribes work and now nothing has been altered or misinterpreted.

And Erynion is right about Maewen also. This us a conversation he and Maewen need to have and a decision they need to make. Legolas can give them his approval but he can't coerce them or make them get back together, it's up to them. I think Erynion will weigh the options and realize this new Legolas is even more of a handful than before. Maewen will need both Gimli and Elrohir to help her with him. And Legolas will need time alone with Elrohir if he is determined to keep the sea longing under control. So Maewen will need someone herself and that will be Erynion.

I'm glad Legolas has come to realize how much everyone is doing for him and what a supportive network he has. I'm especially glad to see he is singling Elrohir out and admitting how much Elrohir gives him and wants to give back. It makes me feel better about their future together because it has been so one sided and at times hurtful on Legolas' part. I know he's damaged and not thinking clearly. But the love is staring him in the face and it's good to see him acknowledge it. It also means he's getting better!

Author's Response:

Yes it's a stroke Aragorn has seen. I thought...surely they would have seen stroke damage occasionally. Not that they understood it. And of course Elladan would not see it amongst the elves. 

Its not reversible of course. Not completely. There is a difference between this and the fea damage Elladan references. That is emotional, due to the trauma of Elladan interfering in the trip back from that "between" world, (because Legolas and Aragorn were existing solely as fea there). This Agraphia is physical. Damage to the brain due to lack of oxygen. And brain tissue is irreparable....even in an elf. Once lost its lost forever. 

But as an elf Legolas has an increased ability to heal and what he CAN do is create new pathways so his brain can work around this more easily than a Man. He has already done that with the aphasia that is definitely lessening. But he will never write as easily as he did before. He will have to accomodate that.

But as Erynion says, it's no indication to abdicate his leadership. As he can still speak and read it's the content of his thoughts that count more than the ability to express them on paper. More of a threat to him being a leader is his lack of emotional control. But again, as Erynion Points out, its early days. 

Elrohir was once again a shining star. He said all the right things, kept calm and reassuring. He must have been upset by this. It must have ripped at his heart seeing those jumbled words on paper and Legolas' pain. But you couldn't tell. He showed the calm confident face to Legolas that Legolas seriously needed to see. "It's ok, You're still you." 

 

Erynion and Legolas both had good points in their conversation at the end. No matter what Legolas wants he cannot impose his will upon Erynion and Maewen. Their relationship is their business. But Erynion cannot keep making decisions solely on keeping Maewen safe. That's for her to decide. By doing so he is robbing her of some of her autonomy. And belittling her. He needs to think...what do I want? Can I do this? And let Maewen decide for herself what's right for her or not. 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 22:01 · For: Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls

Such a lovely, happy start, but I was worried about Legolas being unable to write in the last chapter, and it was heartbreaking to see him struggle with it. So there was more damage to Legolas's brain than was apparent at first - a kind of writing aphasia.

I think it would be a good idea to seek out Glorfindel's advice, as he's the only person who can have an inkling of what Legolas is giong through. I hope he can help. And I hope Thranduil will be understanding, as well. I seem to remember Legolas feeling his father had lost the better son, so I'm sure he must hesitate to reveal how damaged he is.

I'm glad Legolas had that conversation with Erynion. Legolas may be confused still, but he's right to tell Erynion not to make decisions for Maewen. She needs a say in this as well.



Author's Response:

As you see You were right to worry. A writing aphasia is exactly what it is. It's called Agraphia. And Legolas is kind of aphasic as well.....If you look closely at all the Legolas centric chapters he has often described being unable to find the words to express his feelings. As if he reaches for them but they are not there. It's just...no one has realised it was a problem. 

Glorfindel really needs to meet up with Legolas somehow. Even if he hasn't experienced this, (because is it caused by the trip back from death or is it due to the time he was left without oxygen? Which wouldn't apply to Glorfindel.) Either way, Glorfindel is most likely of anyone to understand Legolas' experience. I am surprised they havent thought of using him before. 

Thranduil will be supportive.  It yes....deep down Legolas believes he is a poor substitute for his brother and this will add to that. Thranduil has some serious reassurance to do! 

As for Erynion, they are both right here. Erynion by protecting Maewen is restricting her, and Legolas cannot expect to control their relationship just because he wants them together. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 15:04 · For: Misunderstandings
A gorgeous piece exploring cultural difference. I am really enjoying this 'verse. (How many are there now, and what order should I read them all in? I'm probably jumping around somewhat at the moment...)

Author's Response:

Order: gosh, well there are a lot of stories in this as they are all my teitho stories. I would say go back to A different path, that's just after lost in translation. Then Masters of Fate, the Brocthers you already read, then Hands of the King, misunderstandings, Rain Dancing, What you were meant to be, Time waits for no Man, growing pains, the price he pays, Kings and Princes, A Last Conversation and Homecoming. 

 

Also Darkness in your Heart and Fire Dancing on our souls fit in there somewhere but they are both LONG stories! 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:58 · For: Sacrifice
I am in a generous mood today, and so I pick up a stone from the forest floor. It is round and smooth and cool in my hand. It has stories to tell me and briefly I am distracted into listening until the harsh words of my friends draw me away. It is a shame, I would have liked to have heard its tales of those who have passed here before

This is a really lovely detail, a glimpse into how Legolas sees the world - and yes, you're right, book-Aragorn does seem to forget what might be best for his friends at this point. It's interesting to see fanfic authors exploring this.

Author's Response:

It's a sore point to me, Aragorn's neglect of Legolas and Gimli as soon as the twins show up. The story "Hands of the King" is all about that. Chronologically it comes right before this one and explains why Gimli is so very, very angry here. 

Glad you liked the stone description. Legolas's ended work differently to ours and so his world is completely different. He sees so much more. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:36 · For: Lost In Translation
Ahh, lovely way to end - Legolas taking Gimli's hand when at the beginning he failed to understand what that meant. Another wonderful tale :)

Author's Response:

This last chapter was actually written as a one shot for teitho and then...when I had done it I realised it actually fit perfectly here. The original story ended with the Glorfindel coming right scene. I think this is better. It leads straight into the "Brothers" one shot you read and then on to "Hands of the King" which is .....I think.....my favourite of all the stories I have ever written. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:26 · For: Lost In Translation
He does not, after all know your father as I know him and as you do.

Now this is interesting. I wonder what history there is between Gandalf and Thranduil? (See, this is what happens when we have such a huge and beautiful sandbox to play in - there are so many stories to explore, and not enough time to write them all!)

I also love Gandalf giving Elrond a telling off. Great touch. Also, I really liked Erestor's little comment at the end - you know how much I love Erestor, quietly observing and understanding everyone.

Author's Response:

Yes, all those little hints at untold stories along the way....but I have multitudes of stories in my head to be written and I never get to the end of them!

and yes, Erester. Different verse...same Erester, quietly quietly observing and making his pithy comments. He was inordinately pleased at Glorfindel's comeuppance here. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 14:17 · For: Lost In Translation
This is great :) the constant misunderstandings and ensuing chaos remind me of some of Shakespeare's plots. Such fun; I wish I could come up with stories like this!

Glorfindel really isn't at his best here, is he? Is this set in a different 'verse to your other works?

Author's Response:

Ah yes, this one is a different verse. I seem to have ended up with a multitude of them now....sorry :-( This verse started of as a non-slash one... but yeah, that hasn't worked. It's now slash as well. Legolas and Elrohir just couldn't stay away from each other. 

Bear with Glorfindel....he starts off an arse but comes good in the end! 



No results found.
You must login () to review.