| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7982
Word count: 23749817
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14179
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/23/17 10:45 pm
Thank you and happy Friday :) I am going to buy a cheap laptop soon so I can write properly
Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Darkness

Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2017 6:47 · For: Misunderstandings
Wow! So many misunderstandings.
I love the way you've written Legolas's naivety, when dealing with Aragorn, Aragorn's feelings, and expressions.
Men must seem quite alien and perplexing to him. I had to laugh a little at how they were misconstruing each other it was so sweet and innocent.
I think one of my favourite parts was when Aragorn told Legolas not to change. A wonderful sign of Aragorn's love for Leggi.
Loved it! :)

Author's Response:

This is set early after the war of the ring and my Legolas has had little contact with Men before then. This is kind of a window into how Aragorn confuses him. Little bits of language, mannerisms, behaviours, seem alien and incomprehensible to him. (And visa versa as we saw in the last story, Aragorn also finds Legolas confusing sometimes) They don't have an easy friendship these two, in my stories, but still they preservere with each other and it does get better as the years go on. Eventually Legolas will be able to read Aragorn better than this! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 23:04 · For: The Hands of the King

I really like this theme of home that you have going through this. It binds the work together very nicely. And Elrohir is coming out of this quite well too. Love the way you write Aragorn in this.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It was central, the searching for a home, having a home and losing it. All tied up with Aragorn and Legolas. Legolas loses his place in the world just as Aragorn finds his. I am glad you like Aragorn. Didn't want him to be too difficult to sympathise with....even though he did rather make a mess of things! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 22:59 · For: The Hands of the King

This is a lovely chapter- the image of Legolas lost in the sea is superb. And Aragorn is so convincingly tired. Again, Eladan to the rescue- I almost want him to end up with Legolas!!



Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you thought Aragorn's tiredness was convincing. I gave him such a hard time but I do think he has some relevant excuses. His life is hell at the moment. You want Legolas with Elladan??? Ah well I remember I wanted your Legolas to be with Elladan. I wanted that SO badly.........and I never got it, not really. :-( 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 22:45 · For: The Hands of the King

LOvely chapter! LOve Elladan in this and his careless waving away of Legolas' questions.



Author's Response:

Oh poor,you. I didn't mean you to have to trawl all the way through this story just to read one chapter of subtle slash in the new one! I could have given you a synopsis :-) I am glad you like this Elladan. He is quite soft and gentle at this point. And a master manipulator of Legolas. Has him eating out of his hand by the end. 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 22:40 · For: The Hands of the King

I love this chapter- had lost sight if it for how prolific you are in writing and I can't keep up and go to work and do my own writing! Don't know how you do it.  

 

Poor old Aragorn- between us we give him such a hard time over this- but quite right too! I love how you have Gimli holding onto Legolas.



Author's Response:

I write quickly. And in short bursts, and on my phone when I am waiting for things. 

Poor Aragorn, yes. I give him a really,hard time in this story. This chapter was probably his lowest ebb.

Gimli though, Gimli is determined he will drag that elf through the war alive if it is the last thing he does. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2016 6:23 · For: The Hands of the King

First: I am so ecstatic that you decided to write it!

.but you will also have to put up with the female lover. She is part of the deal I am afraid. :-) 

 

Oh, it’s not that I have a problem with het.  I can enjoy if it I find both characters interesting (same for slash, really).  It was only that I felt so much UST with Elrohir that I was longing to see it fulfilled :)



Author's Response:

It will be interesting to see how you feel when she enters the picture then.....presuming you haven't read the other story and so she is completley new to you.

Of course I didn't even like her until half way through the last story...but you weren't meant to. And she will be different in This one, (hopefully) You can already see from what Legolas says about her letter to him and their parting she was quite an immature selfish little thing before. :-) 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2016 4:18 · For: The Hands of the King

Quick first note: something happened to the formatting on this chapter, there are no spaces between the paragraphs.  Just a heads up :)

Oh I want to stab the Valar’s eyes out!  I hate the sea-longing, hate it, hate it, hate it!  It is so terribly unfair, why don’t it just leave them alone! :weeps:

“"Enough, Elrohir! You are better than this and Legolas does not deserve it. He is a fine warrior, perhaps even your equal and definitely your better with the bow. He has been loyal to a fault and he is my friend. I am sick of hearing this from you!  “

Thank you Aragon!  Really, enough was enough!  I get Elrohir was feeling resentful over not being picked, but he has to let that go!  (This is in no way a criticism of your writing of the twins, while I personally wanted Elorhir to let it go, that he didn’t was a true testament to his character because I could totally see him nursing that resentment all these months for sure!)

I am glad he is more understanding of Legolas’ sea-longing though!

“Yet he still followed. He still stepped through that door behind me. He could have turned back and saved himself, so could have Legolas who sits in my tent nearby, a gaping hole torn in his soul where his home used to be. All because he followed me.  
At times it feels as though my life is cursed. . . Or I am. The people I care for are doomed by their love of me. Halbarad, Legolas, even Arwen. She too will die because she loves me. I am at the centre of all their misery.  “

Oh, wow.  This gave me all kind of Aragon feels!  Now you have me feeling all sympathetic with him, and I have completely forgiven him everything!

I have felt so alone, so grief-stricken, so incapable of what is being asked of me. A curse upon all those that know me. And now he comes, a blazing light across my life, the wings under my spirit, an unjudgemental love to keep my whole. 
"I do not deserve you, Legolas." It is all I can say, all I can force my bewildered mind to enunciate, and it is oh so true. “

 

Awwww!  What a beautiful ending for these two :D  It felt just perfect.  And I liked that you tied that search for home up in the ending along with their strong and enduring friendship.  This was a sweet chapter :)  Now though you have me wondering what passed between Leoglas and Elrohir that night, course Gimili was there, but still!!!!  These two have barely interacted yet you’ve got me craving for from them so I do hope one day you end up writing something with them :)



Author's Response:

Aargh!! I can't believe it did that to the paragraphs AGAIN!!! I fixed it once before. Sigh...thanks for telling me...will go and do it all over again!

I am glad you felt some Aragorn sympathy. I have been quite hard on him throughout this story....and some of it he did deserve....but he has a hard road and was struggling, I think, throughout this. Legolas shines through with his pure unconditional and forgiving love and it makes such a difference to Aragorn's state of mind. I really wanted, after a story of trouble between them, to focus on the strength of their friendship.

I do kind of like writing Aragorn/Legolas conflict in this non slash world. People are almost as upset about that as they are about grumpy twins! 

Glad you liked Aragorn's lecture to Elrohir! Poor Elrohir :-( But he did come through as far as the sea-longing goes.....now why did he do that? I am only just finding out!

You bringing this Elrohir/Legolas thing up has caused me to think on it some more...I had shelved it in the too hard basket. But I have actually written a bit today....and I am pleased with how it is shaping up. It starts at the Black Gate, so shortly after this ends, and I am going to try and make it a sequel to "Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" both at the same time. So you will find out what happens between Elrohir and Legolas maybe sooner than you think.......but you will also have to put up with the female lover. She is part of the deal I am afraid. :-) 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2016 5:14 · For: The Hands of the King

There really is a ton of UST between Elrohir and Legolas!  I felt it from the first!  And I keep thinking about the way he’s thought more about Elrohir than he as his love….I didn’t even know he had a love back home until he mentioned not wishing to leave her, and that….says a lot….but I have read the story of them so I will try to withhold any more opinions :) 

 

But I feel you about fanfiction.net and wanting to stay away from slash hate.  The first story I ever wrote was over there and it was het.  As you can imagine, when I tried to add just the hint of a slash relationship (it wasn’t even the main pairing!) there was outrage galore.  Ugh.  That was the last story I posted over there.  (In the Tolkien fandom.  I’ve noticed it’s not so bad in other fandoms).



Author's Response:

Yeah they are drowning in the UST. You have got me thinking about them again and I think I am going to have to write it, them having some kind of liaison. It will wreck havoc with what Legolas already has going on though. His love back home...well they think it is a forever thing but Legolas has issues which are not apparent so far in these fellowship stories, (apart from Brothers) because while on the quest he is not being confronted by them. And his girl, well she is fairly young....they both are by Elven standards, and at this stage her love is quite a selfish, self absorbed one, as the young can be. 

They do have a rough road to hoe after the War. The changes wrought in Legolas by the war cause big problems. They deal with it all in "Darkness" plus a whole lot of Aragorn/Legolas conflict. I think I can see a way for me to work an Elrohir incident in and still have it be believable

 

funnily enough I have had more grief and anger from readers about writing stern, moody Sons of Elrond than slash so far! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:42 · For: The Hands of the King

“ Do I turn back now? Is that why Galadriel sent her message? Is that what she wished me to do? It frustrates me, that message, and I wish she had never sent it. Better that I did not know what loomed ahead of me. Better to go blindly towards whatever fate might hold. “

Yes, I think Galadriel’s message was pretty useless, all it did was cause Legolas grief :(  Surely if she had looked into their hearts when the Fellowship arrived in Lothlorien she would have seen Leoglas was never going to abandon Aragorn.

“Even a Noldo one. I have not realised how isolated I have become. How much my fea yearns for the brush of others. Lately it has been like living my life behind glass. I can see my friends but not touch them, and slowly my light dims. “

I really love this element in the story.  Legolas’ isolation and the differences between Mortals and Elves.  I’d never thought before about how deeply Elves feel each other’s souls and are able to communicate through them.

 

And Ah I am glad to see Legolas and Elladan connecting!  And it’s interesting to see you carried on the idea of Elladan suffering from the sea longing, only this time Legolas finds out so soon!  I wonder how that will affect things?



Author's Response:

I am glad you like the Elven fea aspect of the story. I see them having a whole other layer of communication, this spirit level that underlies the more surface communication we usually think of. Some of them have more power obviously,Galadriel for instance, so she can actually read and manipulate thoughts. Legolas cannot do that but he can sense feelings. And feel the presence of others. So having no elves around him at all, well it must be as disabling as us losing a sense...like being blind or deaf. 

It does make him feel very lonely without that connection so even though he is very anti the twins he cannot resist reaching out to Elladan's fea when he feels it. 

I don't know what it is, I just always picture Elladan with the sea longing. So here he is saddled with it here once again! Kind of helpful for Legolas at this point though, I have to say. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:29 · For: The Hands of the King

Ach!  I want to hit Aragorn over the head!  And I agree with Legolas.  It isn’t that he doesn’t understand the sacrifices of war, it’s that Aragorn didn’t even think of him when he made his choice :(

 

I am seriously wondering if you have any plans for Elrohir/Legolas :wink wink:  I cannot help thinking about Ziggy’s work and wondering if there is more to Elrohir’s dislike than meets the eye :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, It's funny you ask that!

so this is in my non-slash universe, and had a huge following on FFnet when I published it there. Legolas in this universe has a girl waiting for him in Mirkwood who we see in Darkness in Your Heart. BUT that being said, I got to this point and thought exactly the same as you.....oh gosh, the UST between Legolas and Elrohir just sizzles! I was so tempted to take this story off into a whole different direction. But then I had all these non slash readers reading it, the most I had ever had.....so I wondered about just writing a bit of Legolas/Elrohir slash in to it just for this site. But in the end I didn't. :-( 

I AM thinking, however, about writing a story that comes later where that Legolas/Elrohir tension does turn into something that threatens his other het relationship. Still thinking on it. It would have to be a faerie only story, would upset the FFnet people too much I think! 

As for Aragorn, yes, that's it in a nutshell. Legolas isn't hurt by Aragorn's choice, in fact he would never have him change his decisions simply to try and save Legolas. It is the complete lack of any thought towards him at all that hurts.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:06 · For: The Hands of the King

Ohhhhh!  I want to see what will happen next!  I love this tension between the sons of Elrond and first Leoglas and now Gimil because Gimil is going to have his elf’s back!  Gosh though the twins are coming off as complete asses (at least Elrohir) but that is exactly, exactly, how I think they’d act/come across!  This is such a great portrayal of them, and I really love how Gimil compared them to what he’d once thought Elves were: arrogant and superior.  It really contrasted them with how close Legolas and Gimil have grown :)



Author's Response:

You have no idea how much flack I recieved when I posted this on FFnet about the depiction of the twins! Apparently they were too grumpy, and too mean, and too uncaring!! But, like you, that's how I think they would have seemed. And in the books they don't have any nice chummy relationship with Legolas. They barely acknowledge him and only interact with Aragorn. As for Elrohir....yip, he has issues. He is burning with resentment about not having been chosen for the quest and he is not good at hiding it!

 

glad you caught the contrast between the way Gimli sees Legolas and the way he sees the twins!!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 22:05 · For: The Hands of the King

I am wondering if there is more going on with Legolas than meets the eye.  He seemed to have gotten really rowed up about the Palantir.  Is it just the Kinslaying behind this or something else?   I am sure he would have been fed tales of the Feanorions’ barbarity from the time he was a child by his father, but I had thought he had started to look at his own prejudice against the Noldor in Imladris?  Of course he is injured and hasn’t slept, so it could also be just that too.

I really love how Gimili has Legolas’ back :) 

 

I also agree with this interpretation of Aragorn: his neglect once the Dunidain and sons of Elrond come.  Of course he’s under a lot of pressure too, but I do think he didn’t repay Legolas’ friendship well at all when he took the Paths of the Dead…and yet what other course was there?  And of course Legolas was going to follow.  It’s a tricky situation and I don’t entirely blame Aragorn since he had a lot of tough choices to make, but I do wish he’d show more worry for Leoglas!



Author's Response:

Now this is why I love your reviews so much! Because you catch all the little things! 

Yes there IS something going on with Legolas re the palantir....more than just his Feanorian issues. He has started to examine his Noldor prejudice, as you said....but something that ingrained is very hard to shake. Even if you are consciously trying. So despite his best efforts it continues to rear its ugly head far into the future from here, especially in times of stress. It is his default position and then he has to deliberatly try to see past that. This is one thing about Legolas that drives Aragorn to distraction and causes them problems down the line. His Noldor issues.

That being said....there IS definitely something more at play here! 

Glad you like Aragorn here. I am trying to get a fine balance because he IS exhausted, and faced with such a mess to try and lead through. But still....even despite that, he drops the ball as far as Legolas is concerned. Note Legolas seems to understand this more than Gimli. I decided Legolas had more insight into the pressures of leading in a bleak and hopeless situation than Gimli, who had possibly never been in that position before. 

 



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: October 27, 2016 18:24 · For: First In, Best Dressed.
Hee... saw this on Teitho. I laughed through the whole thing! Classic, cheekybeak. I loved it.

''He tried to change the subject, but the dress was hard to ignore.''

I was giggling through the whole thing like a stupid school girl... You know, if nothing else, writing like this leaves the world a lighter place. :)


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2016 15:18 · For: The Hands of the King

"Ah, we are here!" He exclaims as if that is a truly ground-breaking discovery. "Well, this place looks intimidating. What do you wait for Aragorn? If I am forced to ride in with you like an imbecile the least you can give me is a grand entrance." 

Oh my lord.  This is so good :)

“ and Legolas dances around them as if he has lost his mind. “

OMG.  I keep laughing!

 

Ah, I like the way this chapter ended.  It was a nice moment between Aragon and Legolas, they really have built a deep friendship, and we can see it clearly now :)



Author's Response:

Glad you saw that! That moment between Aragorn and Legolas. The friendship underlying everything already between them is important, especially with what lies ahead in this story. This story appears to be about Gimli and Legolas, I know, because of their perspectives that I am using, but if you look at the title you can see it is actually about Aragorn! 

 

Drugged Legolas was so fun to write! He really is totally uncontrollable like that! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2016 15:17 · For: The Hands of the King

I have been enjoying this story immensely, and needed to stop myself and leave a review!  (Sorry I didn’t leave more before, I’ve just been tearing through :D)

"Aragorn, the elf has gone mad!" It is such a relief to see him turn, his face as shocked as mine when he notices the elf careening wildly across the grass.”

:snorts:  Poor GImil, but this imagine is priceless!  Gods, I feel so bad for Legolas though, he’s going to be sooooo embarrassed when the drugs wear off!

“Legolas is changeable at the best of times, changeable and unpredictable. Just when you think you understand him he surprises. Just when you believe you know what he will do he does the opposite”

I really like how this concept of Leoglas has come through so strongly in the story.  I like how Gimili and Aragorn had such trouble understanding him at times, and yet he is the exact same way when trying to understand them.  And I like how much he’s missing his own kind.  I think that is a concept of the Fellowship that it not explored enough, and I love that you are doing it.  Legolas has probably never been away from Elves for more than the time for traveling in the wilds his whole life, and now here he is, alone with Mortals for months, with no Elven company (and the same for Gimil with Dwarves).  It is completely understandable that they are missing their own people.

 

I am really curious to see if Leoglas is still in this state when the sons of Elrond arrive!  Oh gods, that could be such a disaster!  And poor Legolas having to wake up from the drug after what he’s sure to view as complete humiliation, and with the sons of Elrond seeing him like this as well!



Author's Response:

Oh, I am excited you are reading this story! It will be interesting to see what you think. You picked up on exactly what I wanted people to in the midst of the chaos....the isolation they are all feeling. Legolas and Gimli especially since none of their people are there. This Legolas—as you say—is inexperianced with mortals and so lonely, especially with the absense of Elven company. Gimli likewise, I see him as more well travelled but Dwarves stick together. I doubt he has ever been anywhere without a single dwarf alongside him. Even Aragorn, who is among his own people is lonely....the other two have this strong knowledge of family waiting for them, a home to retreat to in their mind when the going gets rough. Aragorn doesn't have that really. No "proper" home at all. 

As for the Sons of Elrond....oh yes Legolas would have been mortified if he was still under the influence when they arrived. I couldn't do that to him. I had to sober him up before then. (There is more than enough trouble between him and the sons of Elrond anyway!!) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 14:08 · For: The Hands of the King

So Elrohir isn't completely without compassion where Legolas is concerned. That's good to know. I also like your explanation for why Legolas and Gimli weren't included in the council meetings - it's always made me cross that Legolas was treated as a mere foot soldier after the Dunedain and the twins turned up. At least your version has him treated with a little more respect!



Author's Response:

No, Elrohir is not completely devoid of feeling. When it pertains to something elven the Elves stick together. Do you remember Legolas talking in "Darkness" about how he and the twins went together to the Dead marshes to pay respects to the elven dead there, which is just after this. They can work together when they need to. But Elrohir and Legolas do not gel well still, and maybe never will. If this was a slash story there would be all this UST between them, and firewroks! 

I get annoyed with Legolas and Gimli being omitted from the council at this point also.....so came up with another explanation! And Aragorn is slowly learning how to be a better friend to a wood elf. He is guilty of assessing all elves as if they were Noldor. He assumes he knows them all because he was bought up with the Noldor. It doesn't work when dealing with Silvans.

and also results in him completely overlooking his brother's Sindar side, as you pointed out earlier. I don't think he makes the same mistake with Arwen....but perhaps he does and she has to train it out of him! Thanks for all your reviews for this little story :-)



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 0:49 · For: Sacrifice

 “The lead up to this is in "Hands of the King" I hate constantly refering you to other stories...it seems very self promoting which I don't like, but the stories in this series have ended up so entangled with each other. Hands of the King has the background to Gimli and Aragorns animosity here....and lots of Gimli/Legolas. And also more of the Twins, especially Elladan.”

I know what you mean, so don’t worry!  I feel the same way about my own verse.  I really really tried to write the Revolutionary and the Usurper as a stand-alone, but it was impossible lol so I ended up having to keep referencing back to Vengeance to readers who had never read it, and I felt like it sounded like I was trying to push them into reading it, when only I was trying to explain that, um, actually the reason I didn’t write this or that part was because I’d already written it lol

I am glad you like the twins. I have had quite a lot of push back about them from FFnet readers who do not like their darkness. It is canon to me though. Tolkien writes them as very serious warriors and they have little interaction with Legolas throughout Return of the King....They are indeed focused on Aragorn.”

It really is cannon, you are right.  And I don’t get why people wouldn’t like them dark?  Like, it makes them way more interesting!  I get bored when they are portrayed like Elven versions of the Weasley twins lol

I am heavily influenced by Ziggy too as far as the twins are concerned. I have to admit that! “

Oh, I am exactly the same!  Her writing of them rocked my world, and really did shape the way I write them too, so we are together in the Ziggy-inspiration boat :grins:

 

P.S. I am really looking forward to that hinted Legolas/Boromir story!



Author's Response:

I think some people are stuck with the twins having to be light-hearted pranksters...which is a fanfiction creation and something I hate so they are reading the wrong author if they want to find that kind of twin!!

Glad you understand the endless story recommendations...takes the heat off a bit!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 11, 2016 0:49 · For: Time Waits For No Man

My god, I am tearing up over this.  It is just so beautiful.   It is full of the shadow of the coming mourning and yet joy as well.  Have I told you yet that I adore the way you are writing their friendship?  I have never been really into Aragon and Legolas’ friendship before; it was always just a thing, but not one I was really moved one way or the other about.  Not until now.  You write it perfectly.  



Author's Response:

Oh you are such a great reviewer because you always get what I wanted the reader to get. Sorrow and joy, that's exactly the feelings I wanted to convey, because I see this friendship as a real tangle of both emotions, all of the time. 

So glad you like the friendship, it's something else I have got a lot of grief about...don't get me wrong, there are plenty of readers who love it, but the ones who don't are quite outspoken. I know it is not your standard Aragorn/Legolas friendship, because they have conflict...quite a bit of conflict and misunderstanding along the way because of their differences. But they still strive to maintain what they have and that's what counts. 

But there are some readers who think anything other than picture perfect skipping through the tulips friendship is a sacrilege. 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 6:06 · For: Rain Dancing

This was so sweet!!!



Author's Response:

I found I got stuck in a "write Aragorn, Eldarion and Legolas together" mode for awhile...actually to be honest I am still there. Have a story I will be posting here next week about the three of them....and another for next month, plus "Coming of Age" is about them too. I like the way Legolas and Aragorn use Eldarion as a conduit through which they can communicate more easily. He links them, they both love him, and that love helps them reach each other when they are having problems themselves. It all goes back to the fact their friendship can be challenging. When Legolas is at a loss as to how to deal with Aragorn he retreats to Aragorn's small son, (he loves the parts of Aragorn he sees in Eldarion, an Aragorn that is difficult to find now) and Aragorn loves the care Legolas gives his son....so an instant link and reminder of how much they actually care for each other! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:59 · For: Never Give Flowers to a Wood-Elf. —The Slash Version.

"Ah, I did not wish to point out the obvious illiteracy of one of your subjects, perhaps you should do something about that Aragorn. Education plans of some sort."

OMG. Legolas!

“"I do not want to hear of what atrocities you have been involved in Aragorn!" Legolas cried, "Just get these away from me. I cannot bear to see them. You promised me this person would leave me alone!"”

I can’t.  I am dying!

 

And the ending!  This was hilarious from start to finish.  Thank you for the laughter!



Author's Response:

This one was really fun to write. Poor Aragorn, left so sexually confused at the end of it. Elrond really dropped the ball there, with his sex education!! 

Thanks for all these glorious reviews! Can't tell you how much it made my day. SO GOOD! 

Am home today on my own so will be reading your updates. I have been saving them until I could get some alone time to concentrate....went away for the weekend for my small boy's birthday so obviously that wasn't happening then! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:42 · For: First In, Best Dressed.

"Under Elrond's instructions of course. You were the great Dunedain tracker. I had to let you go first, especially after the mess you made of Amon Hen. You had just lost the ring bearer. I needed to try and build up your confidence. You didn't really think I could not have tracked the hobbits just as well, if not better than you?" 

OMG this!  I am dying.  Their banter is priceless!

 

Sneaky Arwen!



Author's Response:

Yeah, I quite liked that dig from Legolas.....and the idea that the whole quest Legolas was under strict instruction not to shine too brightly and to let Aragorn do his thing....bolster his confidence along the way! It makes me laugh!! 

As for Arwen....gosh Aragorn is obviously such an idiot agreeing to these challenges...what is a woman to do?! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:33 · For: Misunderstandings

“he begins but the wind chooses that very moment to ruffle my hair and whisper in my ear of things it has seen. It has come from the forest and brings with it the smell of pine for me to revel in. I am lost in it.”

It’s things like this that are just so perfect.  Legolas is such a Wood-elf in the way you write him in these stories.  I am enchanted.

And it’s not that I couldn’t feel how much of one he was in your other works, I could, but I think maybe because we are seeing him often from the eyes of those who do not know him well that his differences to other Elves stands out more.  It’s really well done!

 

This story did end on a note of melancholy, but in truth, I find it right that it did so.  You’ve written Aragorn’s friendship Legolas as a beautiful thing (though they speak a different language half the time, and that is something I find so interesting because I don’t think I’ve ever seen this written before, but it makes so much sense that these miscommunications would be between them at times), but Legolas’ worry about Aragorn’s health, the way it is always at the back of his mind, and that quiet end to their conversation was full of the shadow of sorrow that would pass over them one day, and it made their relationship all the deeper to remember that it endured this coming fate as well.



Author's Response:

Oh so pleased he feels Wood-elfy! That's what I want to get across. That he is different from other Elves....very different from the Noldor Twins for example and this is part of what causes Aragorn problems. Aragorn thinks he knows elves. He grew up with them and believes he understands them well. But he grew up with Noldor elves and can be guilty of making assumptions about Legolas based on that and getting things oh so very wrong! 

I do write Legolas and Aragorns relationship as a difficult one in all these stories. It is not simple for them to be close for a myriad of reasons on both sides. I think what makes their depth of friendship so special is the fact they cherish it despite that. They persevere with each other even though it can be difficult. There is something there that is worth them fighting for.

Glad the melancholy worked! You picked up on exactly what I wanted there!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:17 · For: Sacrifice

Awww!  I love Gimil and Legolas' friendship!  Gimili is awesome in this :)

I don't know what to do with those twins though!  They are dark and focused on Aragorn like when Ziggy writes them (and this is something I like because they are so complicated and real, I think you are doing a marvelous job writing them, though I'd love to pry open their brains and see what was going on inside!).

Anther great piece to this series!



Author's Response:

 Glad you liked this! 

The lead up to this is in "Hands of the King" I hate constantly refering you to other stories...it seems very self promoting which I don't like, but the stories in this series have ended up so entangled with each other. Hands of the King has the background to Gimli and Aragorns animosity here....and lots of Gimli/Legolas. And also more of the Twins, especially Elladan.

I am glad you like the twins. I have had quite a lot of push back about them from FFnet readers who do not like their darkness. It is canon to me though. Tolkien writes them as very serious warriors and they have little interaction with Legolas throughout Return of the King....They are indeed focused on Aragorn.

I am heavily influenced by Ziggy too as far as the twins are concerned. I have to admit that! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:03 · For: Masters of Fate

“The Fellowship turn as a man to see him, to see what he laughs at for why would he possibly be laughing here? He tosses his head, golden hair glowing in the dark, unconcerned at the scrutiny and grins at me.”

Legolas is so freaking beautiful.  I just love that he is the Fellowship’s light, and the way they depend upon him to lift their spirits.  It’s really beautiful.

 

But I love that he is more than that too, that there is darkness he broods over and insecurities.  Gosh, I have really fallen in love with the way we wrote in here!  It’s just so freaking good.



Author's Response:

Oh that is so exactly how I see him. The Fellowships light. I think that is such a big reason why Elrond chose him and so important for the others! But yes, there is more to him than just that. I didn't want him to be one dimensional ... He comes into this with a back story and his own issues bought from his dark woods. His strangth is being able to overcome those dark places within him and still shine his light regardless. 

 

Of course also the ring is here in this story and magnifying both Legolas' prejudice and defensiveness and also Aragorn's own insecurities. Just subtly, subtly working away at their weaknesses. But Legolas pushes through! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 4:51 · For: Lost In Translation

This was beautiful.  This whole chapter from start to finish was just perfect.  My god I think this story is the best I’ve ever read of yours, and you know how much I enjoy your work!  I just really really love this one!



Author's Response:

I am so glad you liked this story because it really is one of my own favourites in this non slash universe. "When The World Stops Making Sense" is the best I think. (For me personally)

This chapter was actually written awhile later as a one shot but someone suggested to me it fitted very well with Legolas and Gimli in Imladris and I think they were right....it is a perfect ending with their friendship finally beginning after the nightmare start they had! 



No results found.
You must login () to review.