| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

A Faerie Slashy Advent Calendar by Naledi Mature
A round-robin advent calendar. Elrohir is pursued by orcs to the eaves of Mirkwood. What happens next is anyone's guess.
Beast by Nuredhel Mature
Bard Bowman is working as a police investigator, when the serial killer he is chasing proves to have a very long history...
Child of Dying Embers by arafinwean Mature
"We are not the same, child of Melian, you were born of love and trust and I? I was born of hate and envy."She is not supposed...
Change by arafinwean Mature
Fingon takes Maedhros from Thangorodrim, but the journey isn't pleasant, nor is all forgiven.Maedhros is released from Thangorodrim...
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Ossė's Gift by elfscribe Mature
On a sea voyage from Umbar, Erestor becomes enmeshed in intrigue while fighting his secret feelings for his irritating and...
Senses Over Time by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
A Gift fic for Cheekybeak based on the characters in her story Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls. Set in that same timeframe, as...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1597
Chapters: 8198
Word count: 24671864
Authors: 137
Reviews: 14888
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 13
Members: cheekybeak

Shoutbox

Narya
12/12/17 11:12 pm
Oh, ziggy, btw, are you happy with Friday or is Saturday easier for you? I can do either.
Narya
12/12/17 03:27 pm
Great pair of chapters, ziggy and cheeky! I'm so excited to see what happens next.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 02:12 pm
Ok Ziggy Thursday it is for me!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 10:28 am
I managed it :-) and even got the next chapter up early! Not my best, but it was a busy day. That's my excuse.
ziggy
12/12/17 07:26 am
@Cheekybeak- Haha! Serves you right for the last curved ball:D Nelya- yes, fine. You do Thursday, I'll find it easier doing Friday anyway.
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/12/17 01:14 am
Ziggy do you have Thursday too? If not I can do Thursday instead of Friday if someone else wants to pick up Friday? Let me know!
cheekybeak
12/12/17 01:05 am
Oh, seriously, Ziggy?? What are you doing to me?! How do I follow that???
cheekybeak
12/12/17 12:58 am
Me!
ziggy
12/12/17 12:16 am
OK- sorry ! Who's next?
ziggy
12/11/17 10:41 pm
I am onto the next chapter but got home very late- apologies. Scribbling away as we speak (sort of)
Shout Archive


Reviews For In Ages Past.

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 20:44 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh that's a shame," Galadriel said with a straight face. "I am sure he would have taken you up on it if you been as enthusiastic as you were last night!"

Oh! Glorfindel thought, if he had only known that!


Haha...I'd love to read more about the antics this lot got up to in the First Age...

Oh, I forgot to mention in the chapter it came up in, but Elrond and his plumbing did make me smile.

Author's Response:

I think Glorfindel was too young for Fingolfin to be honest, at least back then. But, you know, if they met again in Valinor...he might be in with a shot. 

Elrond loves his plumbing! It will show in every story he gets a mention in!! 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 20:38 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
*Snickers* I love drunk Galadriel. And poor Elrond - "It is not seemly" - you're fighting a losing battle there!

Author's Response:

Oh I love this scene! Three completely tipsy, very respected elves dancing around a fountain waving swords and chasing Elrond through his own corridors. No matter how many times I imagine it it's still funny. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 20:32 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
It had elaborate silk prints of the city and people he knew and he loved looking at the pictures

I love that detail - silk prints of the old days.

And also the image of Galadriel making rice pudding...brilliant!

Author's Response:

Glorfindel is so sad in this chapter. So very sad and lost. He misses home and all those he loved so much. 

But rice pudding fixes everything....right?! 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 20:18 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

"You see! See why we cannot! You would not wish to be bound to ME for eternity would you!"

"Well," he said pensively, "It would not be so bad but I can quite see why you wouldn't.......what with Maglor and all."


Aww. I love that Glorfindel always seems slightly put out that he wasn't the love of Erestor's life. And I love the sheer outrage at Laws and Customs!

Author's Response:

Glorfindel has a thing for Erestor. A secret, silent thing he keeps hidden from everyone. Even Erestor doesn't really know about it. It's going to come to a head at some point. I have the story in my head. It's All caught up with Erestor going looking for Maglor. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 20:14 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
I'm having a re-read :)

Life was tedious.
It stretched ahead of him, eon after eon of boredom and mediocrity.
Erestor sighed and dropped his pencil on the table in despair. He was so, so, sick of this. Perhaps he should finally stop procrastinating, put his fears aside and go searching for Maglor.


Yes, Erestor, yes, you should!

It's funny though, I never think too much about how bored Elves must get sometimes, with all that time stretching before them...

Anyway there are other important people still alive. What about me?"

*snorts* I love your Elrond. He's so vain!

oh! Look at his hair!"

Heh - nice little nod to Trichomania. Naughty Elrond!

And then of course you pack in the emotional wallop at the end. Fabulous stuff.

Author's Response:

I have to admit this is one of my favourite stories. It was fun to revisit it today with these new reviews :-) 

Poor Elrond. I think he has this major inferiority complex and to hide it he overcompensates sometimes. But yeah...nod to Trichmania. We all know Elrond has a major Glorfindel hair fetish!! 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 13:46 · For: A Song for My Beloved
I couldn't resist reading this one next - after reading how it all went wrong, I had to console myself with how beautiful the beginning is. It's achingly sad because we all know what happens, but it's uplifting too - the misunderstandings, the growing realisation and the final scene where they both admit their love. I did well up a little at the end. "It has always been you" - and always will be.

Author's Response:

I know, This really underlines what a fool Erestor was in the other story. Because he loved Maglor so deeply. And Maglor adored him. This story underlines exactly what it was he threw away. And why, I guess, he is still pining and has never moved on. And poor Maglor watching him run—how hurt must he have been? 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 13:22 · For: The Maedhros Incident
Oh no, Erestor, why???? :( if only he'd stayed...

Author's Response:

If Erestor could live this all over again he would. He has regretted it ever since. I wonder how many times he has replayed this in his mind. 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2017 10:50 · For: A Song for My Beloved

Aw. I should've looked at your list of stories earlier. I'd have found this lovely, lovely piece of Erestor and Maglor far, far sooner!!!

It's so beautiful I could cry.



Author's Response:

What a bonus to get a review on this story! Poor Erestor and Maglor....they end in tears, of course, in one of my other stories and so begins a long and tumultuous hating of each other....at least pretending to hate each other..... Until Erestor grows up and realises it was all so silly. But by then Maglor is gone. It is a sad story, theirs. 

So Glad you liked this!!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2015 1:30 · For: A Song for My Beloved

Oh, this was the sweetest thing ever!  Gosh, I am in love with it, and this pair!  This story was just great, there was humor (Glorfindel is ridiculously vain even back then!) and a nice little suspense bit (someone s always misunderstanding!), and then that lovely ending!  :happy sighs:



Author's Response: Oh I am glad You found this one It is actually one of my favourites. I was thinking before I wrote it just why did Maglor and Erestor get together in the first place. They are so different and Erestor is so mild mannered and quiet. So it turns out that is what actually attracted Maglor, Erestors quiet supportive ordinariness amongst the chaos. Glorfindel and Erestor are both quite young here and yes, Glorfindel is very very vain. It is not tempered by any wisdom yet. He is still secretly wishing for Erestor. Actually I realised when I was replying to your other review and talking about the other story about these guys, Stranger in a Strange Land, how much Young Erestor in this reminds me of Elladan. No wonder Glorfindel fell head over heels for Elladan. I hadn't actually realised that similarity before!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 14:37 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Glorfindil had a headache, not just a headache but his head was being crushed by a small Dragon he was sure if it........or was it a Balrog?? Whatever it was it most definitely hurt.

Oh goodness, the great and glorious Glorfindel has a hangover!

I'm sorry I missed this...I'm really excited to see how it wraps up.

She sat herself down in a chair in the corner of the room, arranged her dress just so, looked up at him and smiled. How on earth was she managing to look so good?

And of course Galadriel looks just perfect the morning after. Of course.

"Oh that's a shame," Galadriel said with a straight face. "I am sure he would have taken you up on it if you been as enthusiastic as you were last night!"

Oh! Glorfindel thought, if he had only known that!


Argh! A Fingolfin/Glorfindel bunny is in my head now! Curse you, sparking off all these ideas :P

I am really, really liking your Galadriel; she seems to know just what to say and do for everyone. And it's good to know that she shares the disdain for robes :D handing over the recipes was a great touch - I bet her recipe for apple crumble is phenomenal.

Well at least he should be thankful Elrond had left the Fingon obsession at the ribbons and hadn't decided to become focused on carrying a harp with him at all times.

But *obviously* you need a harp for a rescue mission!

I'm so pleased to see Glorfindel reconciling himself to his new life - and it was fun to see Erestor's playful, provocative side too. Of course his love for Maglor makes sense of his closeness to Elrond, too!

Loved it, as usual.

Author's Response: Fingolfin/Glorfindel......I can totally see that! I wonder how that could come about?! Glad you like Galadriel, she was a bit of a fix it person here. She even got over her need to wind up Elrond to be nice enough to suggest he looked like Fingon! Or did she just do that so she could see the ribbons? Personally I don't think Elrond looks remotely like Fingon! Galadriel is about to appear in the new story but she is not quite as composed as here. She gets a bit of a telling off. It is in the next chapter.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2015 18:37 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Ah- lovely ending with a happy Glorfindel! So much to love- Elrond pracning aobut with ribbons in his hair, Galadriel the Fairy Godmother, erestor as Fingolfin - and apple crumlbe the favourite recipe of Gondolin!

(And Finrod asking a LOT about Turgon)

 

A happy mad little fic- you are the best at those.



Author's Response: Yeah this was kind of crazy. A heavily Silm influenced chapter this one. I think Glorfindel's distress at his new abode became a welcome excuse for Galadriel and Erestor to indulge themselves with some nostalgia for the old days. I even managed to lever some Maedhros in there for you. P.s. Of course Finrod had to ask about Turgon! For him what else is there! I also took the chance to indulge in my head canon that Galadriel is badly affected by Finrod's loss and never really gets over it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:51 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Brilliant - the three of them drunk and playing in a fountain! Love it, and also yay for references to Gildor, and to Maglor/Erestor. One day... *sighs*

Author's Response: Yip one day! The resolution to Erestor and Maglors story is steadily forming in my mind , its not good news for Glorfindel though.......but moving on....... The fountain scene was so much fun to write. Poor Elrond, they must have been a rather startling sight staggering after him. I think maybe one day I am actually going to have to write Gildor into one of the stories. They are ALWAYS talking about him but we have never met him.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:46 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh, I love your Galadriel! She's great! :-D I'm glad somebody knows what to do for Glorfindel.

Author's Response: Glad you like her. I have had heaps of people tell me during the earlier stories that because the male elves are so ridiculously stupid maybe the females are the ones with all the commonsense so I made Galadriel very sensible and matter of fact.........until she starts drinking.........as you saw in the next chapter!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2015 9:38 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh my this chapter had me laughing out loud. What a hoot! There are too many gems in here. Here's one that made me snort: "Glorfindel's comments had completely thrown him. Did he really look like Turgon? He would rather look like one of his more.....exciting relatives"
Oh poor Elrond, Turgon is the dud isn't he!

I love the Gil-Galad bit. Of course who in their right mind would want to take up the mantle of the High King! Such fun reading!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes poor Elrond, stuck looking like the worlds most boring elf. What bad luck. The sexiness must have skipped a generation. The twins got it all. As for Gil-Galad, I wonder what he thinks of being dumped with the job of High King. I hope they are paying him well to be their fall guy. Galadriel of course is much too intelligent to be suckered in to doing the worlds most dangerous job.


Name: Riraito (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2015 22:40 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh my, this is pure gold. So many details (and Gil-Galad son of plot hole).

I always love your stories. This must be one of the best ones yet, drunk Galadriel, Glorfindel and Erestor playing Helcaraxe in a fountain. Don't let them kill Elrond though, that would be a bummer.

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you like it. Yes Gil-Galad, shows up out of nowhere and nobody asks any questions! Now we know why........ Saving their own skins. Don't worry, Elrond is quite safe, he will live to do some more plumbing. He is a fast runner and the other three are completely sozzled. They won't catch him!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2015 22:00 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Your usual compeltely bonkers story!! Love it so much :)



Author's Response: Well you see I introduced Galadriel to bring a bit of sanity and common sense to proceedings, but then she started drinking so that didn't last very long!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:20 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh dear. I imagine such drastic changes would have an impact!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:20 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh dear. I imagine such drastic changes would have an impact!

Author's Response: Yeah, things change after hundreds of years.......even for the slow changing elves. I don't imagine it was particularly easy just dropping in centuries after he left!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:16 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Lol, Laws and Customs! Of course it is ridiculous!!! Well done Glorfindel

Author's Response: Totally ridiculous. Glorfindel has found himself reborn into a bunch of puritans. How disappointing for the poor guy!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:09 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Poor Erestor. I too would be distraught, dumbfounded, in disbelief!!! Looking forward to see how these two resolve the dilemma!

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews! Yes, poor Erestor. I think I would be rather speechless also if I ended up in his position! Perhaps Cirdan should have warned them rather than going for the dramatic entrance.

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews! Yes, poor Erestor. I think I would be rather speechless also if I ended up in his position! Perhaps Cirdan should have warned them rather than going for the dramatic entrance.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2015 23:25 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Ahaha, Elrond and the plumbing system strike again! Love Glorfindel's confusion at the taps, and his disdain for the new fashions in clothes and foods manages to be both amusing and sad, which helps the story transition into the poignancy of the end of the chapter. Very nice indeed :-)

Author's Response: Elrond loves his plumbing. State of the art you know. I bet Thranduil has nothing like it. Poor Glorfindel, being reborn is not working out that well so far.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2015 23:20 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
I'm sorry I'm so late with my review! This is lovely; I'm so happy that Erestor threw off the prudish attitude and did something spontaneous :-)

Author's Response: It was hard, but he did it! How could anyone resist Glorfindel tho!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2015 20:53 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Poor Glorfindel. And Poor erestor even more- having to fit in, as he says, with all these prudish youngsters. I like the fact that Glorfindel keeps thinking that elrond looks like Turgon and that hurts- of course he has to look like someone in his rather illustrious line! (Hate Turgon though- boring old stick in the mud)



Author's Response: I know poor Turgon is boring. I find I have a soft spot for him, being the boring rule abiding one in a family full of fantastic people must be hard! I am rather anti Elrond. He is a boring, stuck in the mud himself... So I couldn't have him looking like someone amazing i.e. Fingolfin or Fingon, Turgon seemed kind of appropriate! Anyway I think I already said somewhere earlier that wild, exciting Elrohir looked like Fingolfin so Elrond is stuck with boring.


Name: Keiliss (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2015 4:35 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

At last, a likely reaction to seeing an old friend returned from the dead --- disbelief, shock, spots before the eyes, an urgent need to sit down. Yes, I like this :D Poor Erestor - life is no longer sad and boring.

Best line: All the important people are dead LOL! That is a very second age view, yes.

And I loved him thinking of the stranger as The Glorfindel.

I read your stuff all out of order and on my phone and forget to comment when I get on here and need to go start from the beginning again.



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I can't imagine what it would be like to see someone show up out of nowhere who you thought was dead. I know elves are kind of expecting rebirth at some stage but I don't think they expected any reborn person to show up in Arda, so poor Erestor, his mind went into overdrive. He did need something to happen to put an end to his continual napping though. ....and yes, a bit of a generation gap there, all Erestor's important people ARE dead. But Elrond has a different set people HE thinks are important....( including himself of course!) Initially Erestor thought it was A Glorfindel but not HIS Glorfindel...an impostor Glorfindel of course...... Hence he calls him The Glorfindel......in his mind........ Why he thinks Elrond and Cirdan would play a trick on him like that I don't know!!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2015 22:22 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Ah- lovely. 

 

Love this bit!

"He ran out of messenger hawks. He only had sparrows and they are rather flighty." Elrond explained patiently. He spun on his heels and headed out the door.




Author's Response: I think messenger sparrows would be rather unreliable. No wonder the message only arrived in the nick of time! Elrond is turning out to be a bit of a self orientated idiot in this...not sure how it happened. Maybe he is still learning how to run a kingdom? Glad you liked it!


No results found.
You must login () to review.