| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7939
Word count: 23566406
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14011
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 8
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Caunedhiel
05/16/17 12:27 am
@ ziggy thank you :) hopefully i can
ziggy
05/15/17 11:58 pm
@Caunedhiel- you have to just keep writing through the blocks- even if you ditch it, you have to keep the habit. With all of us cheering you on!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
hopefully i get somewhere with my Evelyn story before it runs out for another couple of years!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
actually feeling inspired to write lately. what is wrong with me?! XD
Pink Siamese
05/13/17 02:59 am
@Alquien it's 10 years old, so...no worries, it's not like it's going anywhere :-)
Shout Archive


Reviews For In Ages Past.

Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: February 21, 2017 10:50 · For: A Song for My Beloved

Aw. I should've looked at your list of stories earlier. I'd have found this lovely, lovely piece of Erestor and Maglor far, far sooner!!!

It's so beautiful I could cry.



Author's Response:

What a bonus to get a review on this story! Poor Erestor and Maglor....they end in tears, of course, in one of my other stories and so begins a long and tumultuous hating of each other....at least pretending to hate each other..... Until Erestor grows up and realises it was all so silly. But by then Maglor is gone. It is a sad story, theirs. 

So Glad you liked this!!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2015 1:30 · For: A Song for My Beloved

Oh, this was the sweetest thing ever!  Gosh, I am in love with it, and this pair!  This story was just great, there was humor (Glorfindel is ridiculously vain even back then!) and a nice little suspense bit (someone s always misunderstanding!), and then that lovely ending!  :happy sighs:



Author's Response: Oh I am glad You found this one It is actually one of my favourites. I was thinking before I wrote it just why did Maglor and Erestor get together in the first place. They are so different and Erestor is so mild mannered and quiet. So it turns out that is what actually attracted Maglor, Erestors quiet supportive ordinariness amongst the chaos. Glorfindel and Erestor are both quite young here and yes, Glorfindel is very very vain. It is not tempered by any wisdom yet. He is still secretly wishing for Erestor. Actually I realised when I was replying to your other review and talking about the other story about these guys, Stranger in a Strange Land, how much Young Erestor in this reminds me of Elladan. No wonder Glorfindel fell head over heels for Elladan. I hadn't actually realised that similarity before!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 05, 2015 14:37 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Glorfindil had a headache, not just a headache but his head was being crushed by a small Dragon he was sure if it........or was it a Balrog?? Whatever it was it most definitely hurt.

Oh goodness, the great and glorious Glorfindel has a hangover!

I'm sorry I missed this...I'm really excited to see how it wraps up.

She sat herself down in a chair in the corner of the room, arranged her dress just so, looked up at him and smiled. How on earth was she managing to look so good?

And of course Galadriel looks just perfect the morning after. Of course.

"Oh that's a shame," Galadriel said with a straight face. "I am sure he would have taken you up on it if you been as enthusiastic as you were last night!"

Oh! Glorfindel thought, if he had only known that!


Argh! A Fingolfin/Glorfindel bunny is in my head now! Curse you, sparking off all these ideas :P

I am really, really liking your Galadriel; she seems to know just what to say and do for everyone. And it's good to know that she shares the disdain for robes :D handing over the recipes was a great touch - I bet her recipe for apple crumble is phenomenal.

Well at least he should be thankful Elrond had left the Fingon obsession at the ribbons and hadn't decided to become focused on carrying a harp with him at all times.

But *obviously* you need a harp for a rescue mission!

I'm so pleased to see Glorfindel reconciling himself to his new life - and it was fun to see Erestor's playful, provocative side too. Of course his love for Maglor makes sense of his closeness to Elrond, too!

Loved it, as usual.

Author's Response: Fingolfin/Glorfindel......I can totally see that! I wonder how that could come about?! Glad you like Galadriel, she was a bit of a fix it person here. She even got over her need to wind up Elrond to be nice enough to suggest he looked like Fingon! Or did she just do that so she could see the ribbons? Personally I don't think Elrond looks remotely like Fingon! Galadriel is about to appear in the new story but she is not quite as composed as here. She gets a bit of a telling off. It is in the next chapter.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2015 18:37 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Ah- lovely ending with a happy Glorfindel! So much to love- Elrond pracning aobut with ribbons in his hair, Galadriel the Fairy Godmother, erestor as Fingolfin - and apple crumlbe the favourite recipe of Gondolin!

(And Finrod asking a LOT about Turgon)

 

A happy mad little fic- you are the best at those.



Author's Response: Yeah this was kind of crazy. A heavily Silm influenced chapter this one. I think Glorfindel's distress at his new abode became a welcome excuse for Galadriel and Erestor to indulge themselves with some nostalgia for the old days. I even managed to lever some Maedhros in there for you. P.s. Of course Finrod had to ask about Turgon! For him what else is there! I also took the chance to indulge in my head canon that Galadriel is badly affected by Finrod's loss and never really gets over it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:51 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Brilliant - the three of them drunk and playing in a fountain! Love it, and also yay for references to Gildor, and to Maglor/Erestor. One day... *sighs*

Author's Response: Yip one day! The resolution to Erestor and Maglors story is steadily forming in my mind , its not good news for Glorfindel though.......but moving on....... The fountain scene was so much fun to write. Poor Elrond, they must have been a rather startling sight staggering after him. I think maybe one day I am actually going to have to write Gildor into one of the stories. They are ALWAYS talking about him but we have never met him.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: August 15, 2015 13:46 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh, I love your Galadriel! She's great! :-D I'm glad somebody knows what to do for Glorfindel.

Author's Response: Glad you like her. I have had heaps of people tell me during the earlier stories that because the male elves are so ridiculously stupid maybe the females are the ones with all the commonsense so I made Galadriel very sensible and matter of fact.........until she starts drinking.........as you saw in the next chapter!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 07, 2015 9:38 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh my this chapter had me laughing out loud. What a hoot! There are too many gems in here. Here's one that made me snort: "Glorfindel's comments had completely thrown him. Did he really look like Turgon? He would rather look like one of his more.....exciting relatives"
Oh poor Elrond, Turgon is the dud isn't he!

I love the Gil-Galad bit. Of course who in their right mind would want to take up the mantle of the High King! Such fun reading!

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes poor Elrond, stuck looking like the worlds most boring elf. What bad luck. The sexiness must have skipped a generation. The twins got it all. As for Gil-Galad, I wonder what he thinks of being dumped with the job of High King. I hope they are paying him well to be their fall guy. Galadriel of course is much too intelligent to be suckered in to doing the worlds most dangerous job.


Name: Riraito (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2015 22:40 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh my, this is pure gold. So many details (and Gil-Galad son of plot hole).

I always love your stories. This must be one of the best ones yet, drunk Galadriel, Glorfindel and Erestor playing Helcaraxe in a fountain. Don't let them kill Elrond though, that would be a bummer.

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you like it. Yes Gil-Galad, shows up out of nowhere and nobody asks any questions! Now we know why........ Saving their own skins. Don't worry, Elrond is quite safe, he will live to do some more plumbing. He is a fast runner and the other three are completely sozzled. They won't catch him!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 06, 2015 22:00 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Your usual compeltely bonkers story!! Love it so much :)



Author's Response: Well you see I introduced Galadriel to bring a bit of sanity and common sense to proceedings, but then she started drinking so that didn't last very long!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:20 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh dear. I imagine such drastic changes would have an impact!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:20 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Oh dear. I imagine such drastic changes would have an impact!

Author's Response: Yeah, things change after hundreds of years.......even for the slow changing elves. I don't imagine it was particularly easy just dropping in centuries after he left!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:16 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Lol, Laws and Customs! Of course it is ridiculous!!! Well done Glorfindel

Author's Response: Totally ridiculous. Glorfindel has found himself reborn into a bunch of puritans. How disappointing for the poor guy!


Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: August 01, 2015 0:09 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Poor Erestor. I too would be distraught, dumbfounded, in disbelief!!! Looking forward to see how these two resolve the dilemma!

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews! Yes, poor Erestor. I think I would be rather speechless also if I ended up in his position! Perhaps Cirdan should have warned them rather than going for the dramatic entrance.

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews! Yes, poor Erestor. I think I would be rather speechless also if I ended up in his position! Perhaps Cirdan should have warned them rather than going for the dramatic entrance.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2015 23:25 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Ahaha, Elrond and the plumbing system strike again! Love Glorfindel's confusion at the taps, and his disdain for the new fashions in clothes and foods manages to be both amusing and sad, which helps the story transition into the poignancy of the end of the chapter. Very nice indeed :-)

Author's Response: Elrond loves his plumbing. State of the art you know. I bet Thranduil has nothing like it. Poor Glorfindel, being reborn is not working out that well so far.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 23, 2015 23:20 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
I'm sorry I'm so late with my review! This is lovely; I'm so happy that Erestor threw off the prudish attitude and did something spontaneous :-)

Author's Response: It was hard, but he did it! How could anyone resist Glorfindel tho!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 20, 2015 20:53 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Poor Glorfindel. And Poor erestor even more- having to fit in, as he says, with all these prudish youngsters. I like the fact that Glorfindel keeps thinking that elrond looks like Turgon and that hurts- of course he has to look like someone in his rather illustrious line! (Hate Turgon though- boring old stick in the mud)



Author's Response: I know poor Turgon is boring. I find I have a soft spot for him, being the boring rule abiding one in a family full of fantastic people must be hard! I am rather anti Elrond. He is a boring, stuck in the mud himself... So I couldn't have him looking like someone amazing i.e. Fingolfin or Fingon, Turgon seemed kind of appropriate! Anyway I think I already said somewhere earlier that wild, exciting Elrohir looked like Fingolfin so Elrond is stuck with boring.


Name: Keiliss (Signed) · Date: July 18, 2015 4:35 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

At last, a likely reaction to seeing an old friend returned from the dead --- disbelief, shock, spots before the eyes, an urgent need to sit down. Yes, I like this :D Poor Erestor - life is no longer sad and boring.

Best line: All the important people are dead LOL! That is a very second age view, yes.

And I loved him thinking of the stranger as The Glorfindel.

I read your stuff all out of order and on my phone and forget to comment when I get on here and need to go start from the beginning again.



Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I can't imagine what it would be like to see someone show up out of nowhere who you thought was dead. I know elves are kind of expecting rebirth at some stage but I don't think they expected any reborn person to show up in Arda, so poor Erestor, his mind went into overdrive. He did need something to happen to put an end to his continual napping though. ....and yes, a bit of a generation gap there, all Erestor's important people ARE dead. But Elrond has a different set people HE thinks are important....( including himself of course!) Initially Erestor thought it was A Glorfindel but not HIS Glorfindel...an impostor Glorfindel of course...... Hence he calls him The Glorfindel......in his mind........ Why he thinks Elrond and Cirdan would play a trick on him like that I don't know!!!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2015 22:22 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land

Ah- lovely. 

 

Love this bit!

"He ran out of messenger hawks. He only had sparrows and they are rather flighty." Elrond explained patiently. He spun on his heels and headed out the door.




Author's Response: I think messenger sparrows would be rather unreliable. No wonder the message only arrived in the nick of time! Elrond is turning out to be a bit of a self orientated idiot in this...not sure how it happened. Maybe he is still learning how to run a kingdom? Glad you liked it!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 17, 2015 21:25 · For: Stranger in a Strange Land
Perhaps he should finally stop procrastinating, put his fears aside and go searching for Maglor.

Yes! Yes, Erestor, you should! After you properly welcome your old friend back from the dead, of course.

All the important people are dead.

*Snorts*

It could not be!

A face almost as familiar as his own. A face long dead and lost to him. He turned to Elrond. Anger churning within him for how could they?

"What trickery is this? I do not find it funny!" He cried.

Elrond looked at him blankly.
"What do you mean?"

"Is it a mask? Some kind of magic? I never though you cruel Elrond."


Oh! Poor Erestor.

This is really lovely, cheeky - so moving to read of Erestor's disbelief and dawning hope, and Glorfindel's childlike joy at seeing him again. I love that, in between their reunion, you manage to thread in how difficult this is going to be for Glorfindel, like when he doesn't realise that Elrond will be grown up now.

Can't wait for more :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Yes poor Erestor, he couldn't believe his eyes and he had become so bored, retreating to his memories...I think he even thought he might be going slightly mad! You are right, it won't be easy for Glorfindel, not easy at all. More about that in the next chapter! I thought....what would it really be like to be faced with an adult who, as far as you were concerned, their father was still a child. Very dislocating I think. And Cirdan had obviously tried to prepare Glorfindel for that but there is knowing something and then KNOWING it. Poor guy.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2015 1:09 · For: A Song for My Beloved
*Squee!* you wrote it!! I'm so happy - this has made my week.

Uh oh...Erestor broke Maglor's harp...not good! On the plus side, I love Glorfindel here; he's like a caring older brother figure. And it's lovely seeing Maglor through Erestor's eyes; the understanding and respect that Erestor has for him is really touching.

Couldn't help laughing at Erestor not knowing what to say about Feanor...there are a lot of ways to describe Feanor, but I don't think likeable is one of them! I'm glad Maglor saw the funny side. Although not telling him about the harp could end badly...

Oh gosh, preening Glorfindel, much!? And Maedhros calling Fingon's singing 'caterwauling' is just hilarious.

"As if it is the Valar themselves singing the world alive"...so romantic!

I read the rest of it all the way to the end without pausing to comment. It was absolutely beautiful. Their uncertainty, Erestor's disbelief that there is anyone so wonderful, Maglor assuming that Erestor must have his own beloved...gorgeous. And the ending - "it has always been you" - I had a lump in my throat. Thank you so much for writing this; they really do belong together, and you capture them perfectly! :-)

Author's Response: I am SO glad you liked it! I had to do a bit of thinking....exactly what was it that made Maglor, stunning and magnificent as he was, interested in little self doubting Erestor. I decided Maglor was surrounded by magnificence and gloriousness, his Father, his brothers. He didn't need any more. It was Erestor's quiet shyness, calm and intelligence that he needed. His very ordinariness was what Maglor lacked. It is kind of about how loving someone can transform the way you see them. Maglor doesn't see Erestor as everyone else does. He cant understand why Erestor doesn't know straight away that it was him in the song but Erestor was never going to identify the wondrous person Maglor sees as being himself. It was quite bittersweet to write because I know it all ends far too soon in tears and they lose each other.......maybe forever! Glad you liked Glorfindel. He was totally vain in Trichomania when he lost his hair so I had to keep some of that shallow self centredness. He and Erestor are complicated. In one of the other stories Glorfindel admits to the fact that after Maglor disappeared from the scene when Erestor was all despairing and before Glorfindel found Elladan when he had no one the two of them kind of developed into a "friends with benefits" situation, and for Glorfindel at least it was probably more than that. But not for Erestor.....never anyone but Maglor for him. They were separated by Gondolin and then by death so that moment was lost and when Glorfindel shows up again they fell into "a sex for comfort and excitement when we are lonely thing" That will cause some problems now Glorfindel has found his Maglor in Elladan. I haven't decided how I will resolve that yet! Thanks for what was an absolutely awesome review!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2015 19:48 · For: A Song for My Beloved

Ah- you are relaly getting into writing lovely romantic pieces, my dear CB! This is just gorogeus. I love the silliness of Glorfindel yet he still manages to be glorious and the daft touches like these:

 

 Feanor was........Feanor was very......." 

 

Help, there must be something nice he could think of to say about Feanor! 

 

Glorfindel frowned, he did not like to be an afterthought for anyone, even one of the sons of Feanor. 



"Did I hear it? How could I not? That terrible wailing. Maedhros is right, in fact caterwauling is quite a kind description of it." He sighed, "It is such a shame I cannot find Maglor, did you hear him say I was absolutely gorgeous!"
As usual you make me smile and chuckle ad feel very soppy. And make me get back to writing about these fabulous characters which I have neglected of late -you inspire me.

Author's Response: Well this is the same Glorfindel who was in Trichomania traumatised by his hair loss, so he had to be a bit vain and self centered! I quite like him. Especially his excitement at the fact Maglor thought he looked good. Now you see exactly what Erestor destroyed when he ran away from Maedhros that day. No wonder he is still regretting it millennia later. I wonder if he could have saved Maglor from himself if they had kept it together and he stayed with him? I guess we will never know! I am terribly flattered for you to say I inspire you. It is you who inspired me to ever write a word in the first place.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 28, 2015 13:08 · For: Because He Killed Fingon

Oh.

You made me cry.

You used the humour and made me laugh and gigle and then you made me cry.

 

Brilliant.

 



Author's Response: I am glad it worked. I didn't plan this to be sad but when I got to the end of the story I found I couldn't write it as anything else. I was worried the contrast between the end and the rest of it would be too much but people say it works so that is a relief! Maedhros just wouldn't let me laugh at Fingon's death for one second more.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2015 19:29 · For: The Maedhros Incident

 He has his hands full with Turgon” explained Maglor. “I have heard he has become very odd. All of his people's builders have suddenly disappeared and he pretends to know nothing about it. 

 

Made me cackle reading that! Wonderful. I love the idea that Maglor has to stand behind Maedhros - loved it in the Condensed Silm,

 

and htis:

Maglor” Maedhros interrupted his brooding.” I am stuck on this clue…….Creature of Fire and Flame, 6 letters, ends with G.”

 

and I loved Erestor's ability to muse and consider, how much he loves Maglor UNTIL....Erestor hesitated. He did love Maglor, he wanted to be with him. He had such a lovely singing voice, no one would ever serenade him like Maglor did. He didn't want to lose him, perhaps he should stay. They could explain, tell Maedhros of the two of them. Yes, he decided. He would stay. He would stay for Maglor.

 

“MAGLOR!!!! God help me, you will wish you had never been born!”

 

 

Maedhros came round the corner.

Tall and Imposing. Had he always been that tall, Erestor wondered, how had he missed that? 

 

His eyes were ablaze with fury, his glorious hair whipped across his face like fire itself.

He was incandescent with rage, awash with his ire. His anger hit them like a force field.

 

 

 

 

And Erestor ran.



Author's Response: Yeah. Erestor stuffed up big time.. Poor guy. I didn't anticipate these guys being a "thing" until someone pointed out to me in one of my other stories they sounded like they had been and when I went and read it she was absolutely right......weird how that happened. But now you know why Maglor turns up so bitter and twisted in the Condensed Silm, guess he's not really over Erestor!! Maedhros is hopeless at crosswords. But he really thinks he should be good. Feanor would have been a crossword whiz I think. They just aren't Maedhros's thing but he tries.....if he couldn't work out that clue was a Balrog there is no hope for him really!


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2015 23:34 · For: The Maedhros Incident

A manual on what to pack for a reuse mission!  OMG.  And the harp and the javelin, and that you put Eöl in the rescuing and not kidnapper’s position, and just, yes!  This is so great!



Author's Response: Writing the first chapter of the sequel as we speak......will put it up this afternoon.....hopefully. Glorfindel is in a state.


Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: March 15, 2015 17:21 · For: The Maedhros Incident

Alright, alright, I won’t blame Maglor, you had to go and make me see his side of things again :)  But oh, how I still feel for Maedhros (FOREVER!!).  I could just weep over how he’s tried to put up this façade of having it all together, and tries to make everything believe he’s over Angband when he will never, ever, be over it :sobs:



Author's Response: I know, poor Maedhros, poor Maglor. The both of them are a total disaster area. If it helps I had this flash of a scene with Erestor packing for his great trip to find Maglor.....Glorfindel is there helping him of course. They are joined at the hip those two..........and he has this manual to help him pack. The manual you use for going on a rescue mission, The same one Fingon and E


No results found.
You must login () to review.