| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Borderlands by Marchwriter General Audiences
Better, Nellas said to herself and the trees who listened, to remain apart from Men. Better so than to become entangled in...
Be All My Sins Remembered by Marchwriter Teen
Wisdom is hard bought — more often by bitter experience than any sort of grace. While hunting in the wilderlands of Beleriand...
The Magnificent Faerie Advent Calendar 2018 by cheekybeak Teen
It’s that time again. What is in store for us when Aragorn drags half of Minas Tirith to Imladris for Yule? 
Oasis by Marchwriter Mature
On the verge of perishing in the desert after a fruitless search, a determined Elrohir locates a caravan of Easterlings...
West of the Dark East of the Sun by Marchwriter Teen
Determined to clear Ithilien of the enemy, Faramir is forced to decide the fate of a stranger trespassing in Gondor's realm.
The World breaks Everyone by mangacrack Explicit
Strength isn’t just about how much you can handle before you break. It’s also about how much you must handle...
Negotiations by arafinwean General Audiences
Haleth looks at Caranthir and wonders what he's lost.Or the first meeting between the two. Written for the Starter Prompt...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 88
Stories: 1696
Chapters: 8654
Word count: 26366549
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16273
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 30
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 19
Members:

Shoutbox

Naledi
12/11/18 09:13 pm
Lol! I love how our confusion has carried over to the Shout Box!
ziggy
12/10/18 09:48 pm
whoah- have we missed out Gabriel??? Chapter 10?
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/10/18 12:34 am
Thanks!'
ziggy
12/09/18 10:01 pm
Ok- thanks Nelya- happy birthday to your Dad!
Narya
12/09/18 08:58 am
Chapter 9 is up :) yep, Nelya, pretty sure that's right!
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/09/18 06:52 am
Ziggy I think narya posts ch 9 next then Gabriel with 10 and then you with 11 and Naledi with 12. Then cheeky 13, Narya 14, me 15 (not written yet!)
ziggy
12/08/18 09:40 pm
I'm sooooo confused- whose turn is it??
NelyafinweFeanorion
12/08/18 04:06 pm
chapter 8. is up! Happy weekend to everyone!
arafinwean
12/08/18 10:03 am
Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend so far! :D
Narya
12/08/18 09:46 am
Happy weekend!
Shout Archive


Reviews For The Dragonverse

Name: Fadesintothewest (Signed) · Date: April 03, 2015 8:29 · For: The King of the Forest
Oh I am so excited to start reading this. I have a habit of dropping on and off from reading as work deadlines approach.

You know I've always imagined Thranduil to bear this heavy burden, heavies of the elves in my mind, with nor ring to protect him. I think its why so many of us in the fandom are compelled to him, and why this is lovely. Of course an elf is going to be shaped by the onslaught of shadow. I like that raw, emotional, and human quality you lend him here, yet there is also something quite eerie. Looking forward to it!

Author's Response:

Thank you! :o) I'm so happy the way I imagine his character came out so clear to you.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 11, 2015 14:24 · For: The King of the Forest
This was a good ending with Thranduil finding his balance in life. Hopefully Celeborn will teach him at some time how to use the tree to call upon Galadriel and himself when Thranduil is in need.

The mental journey that Thranduil has taken here has strengthened him to withstand the attacks from Dol Gondur in the future. It will not be that long before the One Ring is brought to Imraldris and the last of the wars begin. A lovely tale.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm happy that you found it enjoyable.

I didn't think that the tree might also work in this way, but it's a good idea. I would rather hope Thranduil has learned his lesson and will seek help much sooner, if he ever needs it again, and perhaps generally find more possibilities to be just himself and not only the King! :o) I yet have to think about what will happen with Thranduil in the coming years, and with Celeborn. I see this encounter as the one which has laid the foundations for their later dealings with the Greenwood, after the Ring War; and the Battle under the Trees will be doubtlessly an interesting tale to tell.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 07, 2015 1:12 · For: Midwinter in Eryn Galen
Oh, I would love a tour of Thranduil's hall. I have been through the caves in Kentucky and the description you have given here makes everything very beautiful and so handy for defense as well as for feasting and more formal activities.

I cringed with Estel when he was so shy asking Legolas to be his First Night partner. This aspect of a young Estel is appealing and it shows the brothership that will grow and prosper between the two has its start here.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I really would love such a tour myself. I haven't been in deep caves myself yet, but have seen documentaries and read descriptions of what it might be like. I'm particularly happy that you felt the first glimpses of that later brotherhood between Aragorn and Legolas.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: March 06, 2015 14:44 · For: The King of the Forest
I love this chapter. My brain has finally awoken and figured out what you were writing after the last chapter, but I had been reading so much BoFA lately that did not approach the depth of your story that I just wasn't getting it at first

Thranduil, or indeed anyone, needs a mentor or a sounding board when things seem dark and uncaring. Because he feels that being the king precludes him from seeking a confessor if you want to call them that, Thranduil was falling into a dark hole. Having Celeborn answer his plea really seems to be what Thranduil needs at this time.

Author's Response:

I'm glad it worked out for you now! :o) And thanks for taking the time to read and review. My Thranduil indeed needs somebody to confide in and to give him comfort; I think everybody needs that now and then, no matter in which situation or position they are.



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2015 15:14 · For: The King of the Forest
I admit I have been confused by this story. I thought at first that you were talking about the return from the war that killed Oropher, then realized that you were talking about the Battle of the Five Armies. Of course, most of the writings by Tolkien are about the dwarves and Bilbo but I didn't think the elves had taken no worse a loss there than even what they were losing in the fight to the south. So now it appears that Thranduil may be affected by some outside evil or foresight of what will come.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and leaving me your thoughts! I hope you enjoyed reading it despite the initial confusion. I have to admit this quite surprised me, though ;o) - I don't know how I could have made it more clear when the story is taking place. There is the summary, the source I'm mentioning, and the two quotes the story starts with.

Thranduil is not affected by foresigth or some unknown outside evil, but by the very palpable darkness that permeates the former Greenwood, coming from Dol Guldur. Adding to that, there is a not inconsiderable battle fatigue, caused by the most recent battle at the Erebor, but of course also by the past events of his life - the continous fight against the darkness - which he has no ring of power to use against, the War of the Last Alliance where he lost his father and part of his people, and, of course, also the numerous battles and fightings that must have happened throughout all his life. He is older than Elrond, after all, and has very likely seen it all. The figth against the Dragon in the way I'm referring to is very much my headcanon, of course, as is the fact that he is so deeply affected at the time of this story by all the losses he is responsible for. There is a reason to that, too, which will be revealed in the next chapter.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 19, 2015 1:58 · For: The King of the Forest

As always, a smashing insight and beatuifully told- great visuals and texture.



Author's Response:

Thank you! *beams*



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 18, 2015 18:11 · For: The King of the Forest
A very dark and almost sad beginning. I love the way that Thranduil appears in the clearing almost as if he has stepped out of smoke. He is definitely not feeling the joy that should have come from the death of Smaug. Anxious to see where you are going with this next.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing. I like that image of Thranduil stepping out of smoke! :o)
I'm afraid things are going to get a lot darker yet for Thranduil until they get better. This is not a happy story, but a hopeful one, at least - I couldn't bear not to give him that!

 



Name: Mirkwood (Signed) · Date: February 22, 2014 9:01 · For: The Wrath of Dragon fire
Nice, easy and enjoyable...Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and taking the time to review! :o)



Name: rikwen96 (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2014 15:47 · For: The Wrath of Dragon fire
Wonderful story Winterwitch. Loved the meeting between Gildor and Thranduil and the development of their friendship that you have portrayed here. The description of war and battle is very realistic without being overly gory. Your writing got me involved with Gildor trying to reach his friend in battle and being constantly turned away by battling orcs. I almost cried when I read the part about Gildor carefully kissing the healing burns of Thranduil - accepting the scarring and damage with love and affection. This was good and I hope to see you write more of these stories.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, and for your kind review! *beams* I'm happy to see those things important to me worked for you as well. I'm also glad the battle scene worked; I felt totally out of my depth there.



Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: February 16, 2014 13:40 · For: The Wrath of Dragon fire
I enjoyed that, Winterwitch. It is the first story I have read about Thranduil's scarring in the film.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :o) (It also blows my mind how fast you were - I didn't manage more than two stories from the exchange yet since yesterday morning, and they have less word count combined... *faints*)

That scene with Thranduil intrigued me extremely in the film, mainly because I asked myself what this was supposed to be, as it made no sense him still having an injury of this "newness" for lack of a better worth, even if it had happened sometime in the third age. And  even if he had - that "disguising" thing didn't make any sense as well. So I decided it must be a memory he either shows to the movie watcher or just for himself. A plotbunny resulted, inspired by this scene but otherwise rooted in book canon, and it happened to fit perfectly to the request of my recipient.

There is a bunch of fic or art out there related to the scars and/or the blind eye and even more, which I found when I searched for the disguising question, but mostly movie canon and often also drawing in non-Tolkien lore, likge generic fantasy magic in elves explainting that film scene. I rather wanted to try a more canon-based version.



No results found.
You must login () to review.