| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Reflections in Imladris by Starfox General Audiences
Companion Piece to Musings In The Night. Legolas arrives in Imladris.
The Black Arrow by ziggy General Audiences
Thranduil strikes a bargain with his fiery neighbour. Smaug is dead and Esgaroth is devastated. Legolas fights to sav his...
Forever is never that far away by mangacrack Teen
"It won't stop," Elrohir says one day, surrounded by a band of dead Orcs. "Why it won't stop?"
Holding up the Sky by mangacrack General Audiences
[Maedhros & Aragorn] The meeting of two wary souls, comforting each other.
The Lost Princess by Alpanu Teen
Your life path had been difficult. You do not have a family nor a place you could call "home". You consider yourself to be...
The Trespasser by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A herb mistress has a fateful encounter with a stranger.
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 463
Series: 78
Stories: 1549
Chapters: 7888
Word count: 23423549
Authors: 134
Reviews: 13825
Reviewers: 212
Newest Member: Mithrial
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Ysilme
03/30/17 01:32 am
I suppose they'd have a heart attack if I told them I'm writing fanfic in English these days. *g*
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:31 am
experience like you, Alpha, but with English: two English teachers told me I should try to get a job where I wouldn't need foreign languages as they judged me too little giftd in languages.
Ysilme
03/30/17 01:29 am
My father was a maths teacher, too, which wasn't always easy for me, *g* - my classmates considered it as uncool in a major way to be daugther of a maths teacher. And I made a similar
ziggy
03/28/17 11:13 pm
Wow- Naledi- you were Maths!! I am an English teacher and so agree. I am so careful - don't always get it right but try to make sure every interaction is positive.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:10 pm
I was a maths teacher too! A really soul-destroying job sometimes, because many children arrived at school already afraid of the subject.
Naledi
03/28/17 12:08 pm
It is sad how a bad teacher can make a child's time at school a misery. When I was teaching I was very conscious that even the most casual, throwaway comment could wound.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:08 am
Love to meet him today and tell him I studied astronomy. Twit.
Alpha Ori
03/28/17 01:07 am
I still remember my maths teacher. Pasty faced and smelled of onions. I was traumatised, especially when he told my parents the only thing I was good at was sports.
Spiced Wine
03/24/17 02:30 pm
Most of my teachers were lovely - there were just a couple that were not nice.
ziggy
03/22/17 11:06 pm
I hate hearing about teachers who ruined a child's interest or confidence or curiosity- as a teacher myself, it actually hurts to think how someone has done that. It doesn't happen much now.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Les Morts Dansant

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2012 11:45 · For: What Cierre Did Next

Oh you TEASE!!!!!!



Author's Response: It's only a drabble - I think I showed as much in 100 words as was possible.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 4:55 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Hurray!

Oh good- I was getting worried that he would be leftto wander miserably until the end of the world. Thank you for this really unexpected and fablous story. I love Cierre and her assumption that Gimli is her equivalanet, and the twins' fascination with her- I am quite sure they will find some quality time with her!

I think too the style is right for this chapter- not too much detail but a kind of wandering search, with a touch of distance and despiar. I'm glad too that you did not dwell on the litany of deaths of the mortal characters- I always find that just too damn sad. 

There are LOTS of stories you coud write now! How the drwo settle in Valinor, the deveoping relationships, Ungoliant's return (that was a nice touch) so I am looking forward to more!



Author's Response: Thank you very much! Gimli and Cierre's relationship parallels that in my other story 'The Dark Companion' where they become really close friends; I took it that they'd tend to relate to each other pretty much the same way even though the circumstances are different (in 'The Dark Companion' Aragorn has the same relationship with Cierre that Laelryne does in this one). The twins may well spend quality time with Cierre; she'd certainly be willing (in 'The Dark Companion' there are hints of an Elrohir/Cierre romance, as something happens to Elladan that removes him from the picture). I've worked out all the stuff about the Drow settling in Valinor, and what they do there, but the way the story developed there was no room for it here. I may well cover it in a sequel. Of course Ungoliant in the Forgotten Realms would be a prequel; it was over 7,000 years ago by the calendar of Arda and over 15,000 years ago by the calendar of the Realms that Ungoliant, in the guise of Araushnee (later Lolth), arrived in the Realms and wormed her way into the Seldarine.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 23:03 · For: Les Morts Dansant

EPILOGUE??!!! No. There are two things you don't understand, Speakers. One is that I dont do wait. I am dreadfully impatient  and cannot understand any kind of derferred gratification - so now please and TWo: really?? EPilogie? How can you leave it here? This is beautifully constructed, everything set up, characters laid out, plot constructed with FUTURES!!!!! and bam. You just close it down? This is a crime. You really must write more thna just an epilogue- unless there is a sequel. You are too good to waste your time in otehr fandoms. Come home to ME!



Author's Response: The Epilogue is up now so you can find out how it ends.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 23:11 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Oh WHAT!!!!!

 

How can you do this? You'd better explain yourself pretty quick mister! How can you do this. ALL of them.



Author's Response: Well, there was something of a hint in the Terry Pratchett quote at the beginning of the first chapter "They did the job they didn


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:59 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Wow- this is a truly awesome lesson in battle. The strategy, as before, is flawless, the description of the fights is perfection, with great characterisation as well as action- and linking the two is a skilled piece of work, so I beging to KNOw the characters through their actions. And I think you have set up a really wonderful piece of perfectly plotted misunderstanding. I am so glad I stuck with this and read it. Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you! Battle scenes are my speciality - I was a wargamer for many years and I'm Curiouswombat's consultant for fight scenes/battle scenes.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:30 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Ah- this has got much easier as you said. The battle scenes are great- very succinct but with enough detail to be very fully imagined and I have to say, you do justice to the characters as well- and these are monir characters who appear 'off stage' so there's nothing to hang them off but your own writing. I'm a fan!

Love the way you strategise this skirmish and the knowledge of armour etc. It all adds to the credilbilty.

 

But Lothirile!!!! Don't do this! I like her broken nose. Makes her real and strong and I 'm not sure Eomer will be in his right mind. (Sorry about dreadful typos - my reviews are ALWAYS full of them)



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 7:52 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Well, I started reading htis when I was off sick but admit I was a bit confused by the drwo etc- having not read or come across this before. But the Rohirrim parts are so beautifully written that I have ocme back to it, and am very glad I did. There are some fabulous touches and beuatiful writing, I love character and you certainly give such deoth to your characters, and Lothiriel is gorgeous from Eomer's pov. Eomer is perhaps the most fully developed ME character and I have a soft spot for him. So will keep reading and hope that my addled brain gets clear enought o follow it. Having three strands is proably a bit too much for me right bnow- not quite over the virus so forgive me for mot commneting on everything. Oh- the Haradrom- very cold, ruthless and remind me of htose awful rwandan troops etc- the matter of war is very very well written.



Author's Response: Thank you! The three strands go down to two in Chapter Two.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2011 19:13 · For: Les Morts Dansant
Hi Speaker-to-cutomers. I was just talking to Curiouswombat on Live Journal, and when she said you posted here, I thought I should take my own advice about reviewing and comment on this, as I read it a few days ago.
I have read some of the Forgotten Realms books, but not enough to be completely knowledgeable about it, although I think a crossover between the two does work very well.
But anyway, this is very well written, and unique, and I will continue to follow.

Author's Response: Thank you! I won't be writing any more of this story before November 25th; I have commitments to other stories to fulfil and I've deliberately distanced myself from the Lord of the Rings for the moment. However on the 25th 'Lord of the Rings: War in the North' is released in the UK, I have it on pre-order, and it will no doubt drag me back to Middle Earth.


No results found.
You must login () to review.