| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The Condensed Silmarillion. (Which is not so short any more.) by cheekybeak General Audiences
The Silm you read when you are not really reading the Silm. Everything you always wanted to know......but missing all the...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Heaven's Reward Fallacy by mangacrack Explicit
In which Fingon struggles with life and never seems to get it right.
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
Not only the Three survive Sauron's fall, and not all darkness is vanquished. Sequel to Sons of Thunder. Warnings: loads...
Path of Honor-Part II: Far From Home by IdrilsSecret Explicit
To avoid the scandal that is still following Rumil in Lothlorien, he is sent on a mission to Mirkwood. He must negotiate...
Our love was raw and young by mangacrack Explicit
AU. Maedhros cheats, Caranthir eavesdrops and Maglor is a political mastermind.
Not so Valiant not so Wise by Fadesintothewest Explicit
*EDITED (2015)*An unlikely secret night of passion threatens the relationship between Fingon and Turgon. One possible scenario...

Site Info

Members: 469
Series: 79
Stories: 1564
Chapters: 7982
Word count: 23749817
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14179
Reviewers: 216
Newest Member: merwinem
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 10
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/23/17 10:45 pm
Thank you and happy Friday :) I am going to buy a cheap laptop soon so I can write properly
Encairion
06/21/17 01:54 am
Hi Spiced, good to hear from you :) I am sorry things been weighing you down, and work piling up. I hope a chance to relax and do what you love comes soon :hugs:
ziggy
06/21/17 01:25 am
Lovely to hear you are getting back, Spiced!
Alquien
06/20/17 06:16 am
Hope you are feeling better now Spiced. ((hugs))
Spiced Wine
06/19/17 07:18 pm
I hope you're all okay my loves. Such appalling things going on the last few weeks :( I am overwhelmed by that and a work backlog, but trying to get that done to write again. Hugs to all
Ysilme
06/11/17 01:37 pm
Have a great trip and a great time, Naledi!
Naledi
06/11/17 09:19 am
Thanks! Maybe I'll be inspired - who knows?
ziggy
06/10/17 01:39 pm
Have a lovely time, Naledi- how lovely. hope you are inspired to write something for all of us!!xx
Spiced Wine
06/09/17 10:25 pm
Wonderful! Your are so lucky, Naledi. Have a lovely time. Have a great weekend everyone!
Naledi
06/09/17 07:20 pm
Happy Friday, everyone! I'm off on holiday to Pembrokeshire for a week but I hope I'll have internet access.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Les Morts Dansant

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 03, 2012 11:45 · For: What Cierre Did Next

Oh you TEASE!!!!!!



Author's Response: It's only a drabble - I think I showed as much in 100 words as was possible.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2012 4:55 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Hurray!

Oh good- I was getting worried that he would be leftto wander miserably until the end of the world. Thank you for this really unexpected and fablous story. I love Cierre and her assumption that Gimli is her equivalanet, and the twins' fascination with her- I am quite sure they will find some quality time with her!

I think too the style is right for this chapter- not too much detail but a kind of wandering search, with a touch of distance and despiar. I'm glad too that you did not dwell on the litany of deaths of the mortal characters- I always find that just too damn sad. 

There are LOTS of stories you coud write now! How the drwo settle in Valinor, the deveoping relationships, Ungoliant's return (that was a nice touch) so I am looking forward to more!



Author's Response: Thank you very much! Gimli and Cierre's relationship parallels that in my other story 'The Dark Companion' where they become really close friends; I took it that they'd tend to relate to each other pretty much the same way even though the circumstances are different (in 'The Dark Companion' Aragorn has the same relationship with Cierre that Laelryne does in this one). The twins may well spend quality time with Cierre; she'd certainly be willing (in 'The Dark Companion' there are hints of an Elrohir/Cierre romance, as something happens to Elladan that removes him from the picture). I've worked out all the stuff about the Drow settling in Valinor, and what they do there, but the way the story developed there was no room for it here. I may well cover it in a sequel. Of course Ungoliant in the Forgotten Realms would be a prequel; it was over 7,000 years ago by the calendar of Arda and over 15,000 years ago by the calendar of the Realms that Ungoliant, in the guise of Araushnee (later Lolth), arrived in the Realms and wormed her way into the Seldarine.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 25, 2012 23:03 · For: Les Morts Dansant

EPILOGUE??!!! No. There are two things you don't understand, Speakers. One is that I dont do wait. I am dreadfully impatient  and cannot understand any kind of derferred gratification - so now please and TWo: really?? EPilogie? How can you leave it here? This is beautifully constructed, everything set up, characters laid out, plot constructed with FUTURES!!!!! and bam. You just close it down? This is a crime. You really must write more thna just an epilogue- unless there is a sequel. You are too good to waste your time in otehr fandoms. Come home to ME!



Author's Response: The Epilogue is up now so you can find out how it ends.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 23:11 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Oh WHAT!!!!!

 

How can you do this? You'd better explain yourself pretty quick mister! How can you do this. ALL of them.



Author's Response: Well, there was something of a hint in the Terry Pratchett quote at the beginning of the first chapter "They did the job they didn


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:59 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Wow- this is a truly awesome lesson in battle. The strategy, as before, is flawless, the description of the fights is perfection, with great characterisation as well as action- and linking the two is a skilled piece of work, so I beging to KNOw the characters through their actions. And I think you have set up a really wonderful piece of perfectly plotted misunderstanding. I am so glad I stuck with this and read it. Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response: Thank you! Battle scenes are my speciality - I was a wargamer for many years and I'm Curiouswombat's consultant for fight scenes/battle scenes.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 22:30 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Ah- this has got much easier as you said. The battle scenes are great- very succinct but with enough detail to be very fully imagined and I have to say, you do justice to the characters as well- and these are monir characters who appear 'off stage' so there's nothing to hang them off but your own writing. I'm a fan!

Love the way you strategise this skirmish and the knowledge of armour etc. It all adds to the credilbilty.

 

But Lothirile!!!! Don't do this! I like her broken nose. Makes her real and strong and I 'm not sure Eomer will be in his right mind. (Sorry about dreadful typos - my reviews are ALWAYS full of them)



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 24, 2012 7:52 · For: Les Morts Dansant

Well, I started reading htis when I was off sick but admit I was a bit confused by the drwo etc- having not read or come across this before. But the Rohirrim parts are so beautifully written that I have ocme back to it, and am very glad I did. There are some fabulous touches and beuatiful writing, I love character and you certainly give such deoth to your characters, and Lothiriel is gorgeous from Eomer's pov. Eomer is perhaps the most fully developed ME character and I have a soft spot for him. So will keep reading and hope that my addled brain gets clear enought o follow it. Having three strands is proably a bit too much for me right bnow- not quite over the virus so forgive me for mot commneting on everything. Oh- the Haradrom- very cold, ruthless and remind me of htose awful rwandan troops etc- the matter of war is very very well written.



Author's Response: Thank you! The three strands go down to two in Chapter Two.


Name: Spiced Wine (Signed) · Date: November 16, 2011 19:13 · For: Les Morts Dansant
Hi Speaker-to-cutomers. I was just talking to Curiouswombat on Live Journal, and when she said you posted here, I thought I should take my own advice about reviewing and comment on this, as I read it a few days ago.
I have read some of the Forgotten Realms books, but not enough to be completely knowledgeable about it, although I think a crossover between the two does work very well.
But anyway, this is very well written, and unique, and I will continue to follow.

Author's Response: Thank you! I won't be writing any more of this story before November 25th; I have commitments to other stories to fulfil and I've deliberately distanced myself from the Lord of the Rings for the moment. However on the 25th 'Lord of the Rings: War in the North' is released in the UK, I have it on pre-order, and it will no doubt drag me back to Middle Earth.


No results found.
You must login () to review.