| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7939
Word count: 23566406
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14011
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Caunedhiel
05/16/17 12:27 am
@ ziggy thank you :) hopefully i can
ziggy
05/15/17 11:58 pm
@Caunedhiel- you have to just keep writing through the blocks- even if you ditch it, you have to keep the habit. With all of us cheering you on!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
hopefully i get somewhere with my Evelyn story before it runs out for another couple of years!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
actually feeling inspired to write lately. what is wrong with me?! XD
Pink Siamese
05/13/17 02:59 am
@Alquien it's 10 years old, so...no worries, it's not like it's going anywhere :-)
Shout Archive



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2016 23:51 · For: ~ Dark Lands ~
Funny to hear New Cuivienen described as a place of peace, given the happenings in Magnificat!

I had forgotten Van accidentally killing the whore :-( does Elgalad know , at this point, what Van is capable of doing to him? Or does he truly think it doesn't matter, either because he is a Power too, or because of their love?

Author's Response: Funny to hear New Cuivienen described as a place of peace, given the happenings in Magnificat!

LOL! Yes, it was *supposed* to be - and it would be if it were not for the Noldor :D

Ebbingnight had an idea about the prostitute that was very much spot-on. It's Dana doing this; she does not want him to have any other women, and so she caused the woman's death. Van *might* have harmed her, but I honestly think he's too controlled without some-one 'lending a hand' so to speak.

Elgalad knows that in the long game, he has to die. :( Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2016 23:43 · For: ~ Dark Lands ~
It's a strange thought, that Van and Elgalad should need to get to know each other - but at this point I suppose most of their memories together are of a child and his guardian, so it makes sense that they need the bonding time.

It did occur to me whilst I was reading this chapter that I'd love to see some artwork of Van in a turban. Shame I'm so useless at drawing! And I'd forgotten that Van wrote The Garden of a Thousand Delights. Love it ;-)

Author's Response: Yes, at this point, they've not spent all that much time together after being apart since, well TA 1981 was when Nimrodel fled from Lothl


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 17, 2016 23:26 · For: ~ Dark Lands ~
I'm treating myself to a re-read, in the light of the reveal about Elgalad :-)

I love the peace at the beginning of this chapter - it's almost a sense of pastoral tranquility, after the epic finale to Dark Prince. And I really like the parallel you draw between Van and Glorfindel at the end, when Glorfindel points out that Legolas is as safe with him as Elgalad is with Van. They are as perilous as each other, in their different ways, and I think that plays out very clearly in your Magnificat arc.

Author's Response: I remember when I wrote this, ad thought it needed to start very peacefully, considering how it was going to end!

Yes, Glorfinel and Vanim


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 22, 2016 20:22 · For: ~ Dark God ~

This was glorious, magnificent and so heartbreakingly sad at the same time, pardon my french but DAMN this was great! Your work is addictive for sure, i have plowed through the last chapters at break neck speed and this story offered so many shocks and surprises and tense moments. I almost fell off my chair when i read about his sister, and the scene in Moria where he seems to be on Saurons side, oh my, i almost believed tha the had turned to "the dark side". The end was wonderful, but so bittersweet. I am going to read the rest of your work as well, you are so talented. Thanks for posting these great tales, the mark of true art is that it makes the reader or viewer think, and your work does that, it does make one think and contemplate the experience. So this is truly art!



Author's Response: Aww, you made me cry! I remember finishing this and feeling like a chewed rag; I was exhausted and sucked dry! It's such a thrill to know some-one reads it years later and likes it! Oh, yes - that Moria bit - for a while *I* wondered if he had turned to the 'dark side', too! I swear I was just hitting the keys for Vanimr


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: March 10, 2016 20:43 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.

I finally managed to read the last chapters of this, it was almost too exciting to read, like a tv series with just a few episodes left and you want to know what will happen and yet you dont because you fear it will be something bad. But it was magnificent as always. I really loved the way you portrayed the transformation of Vanimore into a power and i like the way you describe the valar too. They do somehow remind me of medieval church leaders, completely absorbed by their own righteousness and completely unable to see things from other angles than their own, and terribly achingly afraid of loosing power or face. I will keep reading your work, i use it as a reward to myself, today i managed to finish 12 pages of my current novel, so i deserve it :) Your stories are among the best i have ever read, thanks for posting them !



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Nuredhel! I am so thrilled to know that you enjoyed the last chapters :) I love it when any-one reads and comments on my older works, as they're all tied in


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: February 07, 2016 22:41 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.

This is addictive, i started reading and i didnt stop for over sixty chapters and was like "I have work tomorrow, got to go to bed, just one more chapter...." This is amazing, the dept of the emotions, the very layout of the story, the way it drags the reader in. Just stunning! You are able to create characters that has so many layers, that are beliveable and multi dimensional, that is quite rare. I have an idea for some fan art for this if it is okay, it has inspired me. I am going to read more tomorrow, so expect more reviews. I just hope i will be able to do some other stuff too beside reading your great story!



Author's Response: Oh, how very kind, Nuredhel :) I am so glad that you have found this interesting :) Thank you so much for letting me know; it made my day!


Name: Nuredhel (Signed) · Date: October 29, 2015 22:36 · For: ~ Dark Lands ~
Oh, this was magnificent!! I started Reading this and got utterly hooked! Amazing story, and i was rushing towards the end. A really good story does something to you, it inspires and creates images and by Eru, this most certainly did! I loved it, the characters, the atmosphere, the excitement and the creepy darkness. You describe feelings and people's reactions so well, this is better than many books i have read. I am quite in awe, you have gotten yourself a New fan for sure.

Author's Response: Oh, my gosh! A review on an old fic! I always think they will be spam!
Than you so very much. I am thrilled to know you enjoyed it, and it's very kind of you to say so. I love the characters too, so I am really pleased to know you did too. Thank you, Nuredhel. :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:16 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
''Meluion...'' Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:10 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
The King smiled and lifted a hand to the alabaster face gilded by morning light.

"Go well, then, with my love. And be careful."


I do enjoy your Thranduil. He is so warm and gentle with his son, and with Elgalad...so very unlike PJ's Thranduil in the Hobbit films :/ and of course there's all the wonderful, complex, angsty stuff with Bainalph still to be covered *sighs*

The palm of his hand was burned white, the facets of the jewels traced on it in silvery lines, flames danced over the patterns, white as ice.

Interesting that it burns Van and not Glorfindel; I never noticed that before.

Author's Response: I have always rather liked Thranduil, although I don't mind at all how he is portrayed, as long as the stories are good :) And PJ's Thranduil was certainly a stunner, of which I approve (there could be a whole film just about him really). But I do think he would have loved and been proud of his son. I know my 'other' Thranduil in the other series is different, but I like writing that too, as I can imagine him as being a basketful of angst, to be honest! Well, he is in this series, a bit, but not with legolas!

Yes, the Silmaril burns Van, but in fact, it's from where the Silmarils were 'hallowed' by Yavannah, and a'No mortal flesh, nor hands unclean, nor anything of evil will might touch them but it was scorched and withered.' This (in this AU) is why they burned Maglor and Maedhros. But as for Glorfindel, he'd already worn them - F


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 29, 2015 21:01 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
''For some reason I do believe that thou hast some sense of honor, Gorthaurion. Much as I wish there was no binding between us, there is. I will know how to find thee.'' He bowed formally. "And then it ends."

''Ah, Macalaur


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 27, 2015 1:03 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
The uneasy partnership of Van and Maglor working together makes for a fascinating dynamic. I also really liked Elgalad's little moment of jealousy, when he goes barging into Maglor's room unannounced. I wonder what he'd have done if he *had* found Van there!?

Author's Response: I do love Van and Maglor together, I have to say. They probably comprehend one another in a way that Elgalad can't (or cannot yet at this age). Yes, I wonder what he would have done, too!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 20:13 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
A fitting but brutal punishment. I guess that's Van all over.

His little wink at Maglor is a great touch...I do feel sorry for Maglor, though!

Author's Response: Van can be very brutal - at times he can be very like Sauron, though he would probably not admit that.

I spend my whole life feeling sorry for Maglor :(


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:57 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
Ah, the game's afoot ;-) I forgot Maglor gains a canine friend! Love it.

Author's Response: Aww, I put the dog in because it would remind him of Huan :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:51 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
I enjoy reading Van giddy with freedom, although the contrast with the brutality of his time in Angband is stark and upsetting. And Maglor... *shakes head* will he never learn?!

Author's Response: And Maglor... *shakes head* will he never learn?!

Lol, dear Maglot - entrenched stubbornness.

I think Van was really a bit off the rails for a while, although he tried to keep himself under control. He wasn't being entirely logical going north, that is for sure, although he *had* to, so he was meant to, but if he had really had his head on straight he would have gone back to Mordor regardless.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:40 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
You describe the mixture of sorrow and joy in Sauron's defeat beautifully - and Elgalad's despair when he thinks Van is dead is gut wrenching. I'm glad you don't let him think that for too long ;-)

Author's Response: When I was writing this it had to feel - to every-one, I think - that Sauron was *really* gone forever, even though we know he's not.
No I couldn't let Elgalad feel that for ages; I thought it would be like when we see a bright flash that drowns out everything, and only after do we start to get our sight back. Initially it would have been like that to Elgalad - before he could sense Vanim


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:32 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
I do love that moment of connection with Legolas - and the nod to the film :-)

Author's Response: I had to have that bit - with the M


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 19:18 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
And now the pieces start to fall into place :-) this is such a satisfying read! And it's fun to re-read it knowing Magnificat...I like looking for the nods to things you will write later.

Author's Response: And now the pieces start to fall into place

At last - she says, who can't remember what she wrote d;-) I know it does take time. I am glad it's okay to read, not just a long bore!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 18:56 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
I love Maglor's encounter with Cob :-) it's like two different worlds staring at one another for the briefest of instants - something like us seeing a ghost, I imagine. And Maglor clenching his fist as he looks up at the evening star is a great touch.

Author's Response: Wow, I forget I wrote that part with Cob, sometimes. I had to have Maglor cross through the Shire as it was a direct route from where he was on the coast of Lindon, but I never dreamed of writing a Hobbit! I am glad you enjoyed it Narya. (I keep thinking all these reviews popping up are spambots, lol. I am glad they're not).


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 9:00 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
*Shivers* I love your descriptions of the Barrow-downs. It reminds me of old Anglo-Saxon poetry. And it's interesting to see the perspective of those who stayed in Imladris through the Quest - although the flashback to Glorfindel'sdeath is heartbreaking.

What's your take on Tom Bombadil? What do you think he is? It was always something my family and I would get into heated discussions about :-)

Author's Response: I am so glad you like the Barrow Downs description - I could imagine such a place clearly as I live near the Berkshire Downs.

Hmm Tom Bombadil; honestly, many different ideas have come into my head as to whom he is, and I am still unsure.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 8:47 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
I love the image of Glorfindel and Tindomion dropping out of the window to go sneaking around Bree :-D and also, the man telling them to p*** off...I nearly died!

The contrast between that escapade and the elegiac sadness at the end of the chapter is so striking. A lovely chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you, Narya, I am so glad you enjoyed it :)


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 26, 2015 8:31 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
Your logic makes more sense than Tolkien's as to why Glorfindel didn't go on the Quest - he could totally have stormed the Dark Tower! ;) and I'm guessing Istelion is one of the few in Imladris who 'can ride openly against the Nine'?

Also, why doesn't Arwen like him? Is it his bloodline?

Author's Response: I could never see why Glofindel wasn't on the quest unless he would be more of a danger than an asset. I could imagine Sauron having this tracking device like in 'Aliens' that shows when something is within range, and Glorfindel's presence would appear as a 'Ping!Ping!Ping!' on the radar, lol.

Yes, Glorfindel can ride openly against the Nine. Ziggy wrote Tind


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 22:17 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
Oh, Elgalad :-( the fact that Malthador would do that to him just when Elgalad had decided to speak up for him and mitigate his punishment is awful - yet Malthador never comes across as a mad villain. There's a twisted logic to it which makes it all the more upsetting.

Author's Response: I don't think Malthador is mad, though he is twisted. He has a lot of problems, which does not in the least excuse his actions but I think makes them logical from his own point of view, anyway


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 22:03 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
I never realised the Elves make their bow strings with hair from their head! I suppose it makes sense though; it would make their weapon even more a part of them.

"I will not eat thee"... LOL :-)

Author's Response: I think that it says when the Fellowship are being given their gifts in L


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 21:53 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
Elgalad's slow decline as the wounds take their toll is so very sad.

I love your descriptions of the spider attack...they're creepy enough to get my skin crawling, but there's also a strange kind of beauty to it, like arty gothic horror.

Author's Response: there's also a strange kind of beauty to it, like arty gothic horror.

Oooh! Thank you. Gosh, I hate spiders, but somehow ones big enough to stick with a sword are less nerve-wracking to me than ones you get in the house


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2015 21:44 · For: Dark Prince ~ The Darkness Has Its Own Light.
Poor Elgalad, thinking that Van would have been ashamed of him if he had been a healer or a scribe! :-(

Author's Response: Yes :( I suppose that's logical to him, though -- Vanim


No results found.
You must login () to review.