| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The McDannagh Banshee by Nuredhel Teen
Rory is a guide working at a famous old castle, it is renowned for its colourful past. He isnt superstitious, that is...until...
I'll be Yours if You'll be Mine by NelyafinweFeanorion Teen
Modern setting AU. Maedhros/Fingon. Maedhros owns a bookstore. Fingon is in grad school. Expect appearances from varied members...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...
Drabbles for Tolkien Weekly by Ysilme Teen
Drabbles for tolkien weekly, a prompt-based drabble community on livejournal.
Winter's Cold by Starfox General Audiences
Returning from a hunting trip, Legolas comes across an animal in need and makes a serious mistake.
The Ways of Paradox by Narya Teen
How do you pass the time when you know you're facing eternity? Maglor agrees to appear in a student production of The...
Angels and crooks by Nuredhel General Audiences
Bard and Thran has gotten used to their new life but they do still have their jobs and my oh my does that make things interesting...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 86
Stories: 1683
Chapters: 8589
Word count: 26190000
Authors: 137
Reviews: 16110
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Narya
10/21/18 12:08 am
She does sound like a force of nature.
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 10:32 pm
Oh, bless her, she sounds like an amazing person.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:24 pm
until the end, still driving herself, living independently, going to choir practice and her church groups. It was sad to lose her, of course, but TBH it sounds like a good way to go.
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:23 pm
my MIL's birthday, so we're spending most of the day with her. I'm also just back from the funeral of a member of our choir where we sang. She had a stroke at 92 but hat been fit and activ
Ysilme
10/20/18 01:21 pm
I hope your brother arrives safe and sound, Spiced, and you have a lovely time together! I'm busy catching up with housework before going back up the ladder for painting, and tomorrow it's m
Spiced Wine
10/20/18 12:13 pm
That sounds lovely :) Yes, same with my family, now, Narya, all over the place here and abroad
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
I'm going to try and get out in the country for a nice walk - maybe Ingleton or Aysgarth, to see the waterfalls.
Narya
10/19/18 10:36 pm
Sounds lovely, Spiced. I miss my family like crazy, we're all scattered to the four winds these days. Hope he gets here safe.
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:04 pm
My brother’s over from Spain for a couple of days so I’ll be seeing him. If he ever gets here! Flight delayed by storms in Spain!
Spiced Wine
10/19/18 10:03 pm
I hope you’re able to relax, Narya, after a busy week.
Shout Archive


Reviews For Halloween Horrors

Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2015 15:22 · For: Haru

I had no idea this would be a ghost story, but it was lovely. *shivers*



Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 0:32 · For: Dark of the Moon

What a great birthday present!  Good Halloween story. I was fascinated by the notion of the bones appearing slowly over time.  Hallie's story of devotion to her son, so sad. 



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 21:03 · For: Dark of the Moon

As always, your writing is a masterclass. The old woman's voice is very strong, I could hear her speak- you always do that- your characters speak in a distinct voice. Perfect Hallowe'en tale but a sad and cruel one without closure in a sense because the injustice has gone unpunished. So all the more emotional and haunting for it. Wonderful.



Author's Response: Thank you. Tennyson's poem is a monolog by the old woman, and her 'voice' is memorable, to say the least.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 20:53 · For: Dark of the Moon
That was great, I loved it. And this...

"So, of course, you chose the Dead Days and a brewing storm to drag me out here. I commend your planning."

It really sets the mood for this brilliant little tit-bit.

Author's Response: Thank you. The Dead Days are my own invention, but I sure have gotten a lot of mileage out of them.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 20:28 · For: Dark of the Moon
A very suitable tale for Halloween!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had an excellent source to base it on.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2013 13:43 · For: The Houseless
I liked this... It wasn't unexpected, but touching still.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 17:39 · For: The Houseless
As always, really enjoyed it :) I'd never read one of your ghost stories before but I've been so careful about reading everything chronologically (except Not Fade Away, which I couldn't wait to re-read...) and it felt wrong to miss one out. I wish I'd read them earlier; I've missed a treat! Which ghost story did you use as a basis for the plot?

Author's Response: This ghost story is based on an urban legend that's usually called 'the vanishing hitchhiker', where someone picks up a young girl at the roadside, takes her home only to have her disappear after he learns the truth, and then finds some visible proof of the encounter on her grave. It wasn't written by any particular author, and there are different forms of it. Here's one set to song in the 'dead teenager' genre: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PT_zNICXUqs There's also a local Chicago ghost legend called 'Resurrection Mary' about a wild-looking young woman who would jump onto the running boards of cars passing Resurrection Cemetery during the 1920s. Now THAT one is kind of creepy.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2012 5:20 · For: The Houseless
OH WOW Jael--What a WONDERFUL story here and quite CAPTIVATING!! I REALLY REALLY ENJOYED THIS!!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2012 0:25 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
I love ghost stories, and this one is very nice. Very sad though, that the little girl was betrayed like so many children, by one she trusted. Glad that Thranduil had a chance to avenge her.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 21:29 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
This was so touching and heartbreaking. I could not keep from crying. It is so hard to hear about a child so innocent and helpless being murdered or dying. You wrote in such a way that was tasteful and loving. Excellent writing in my opinion!

Author's Response: Yes, the death of a child is always heartbreaking. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 8:58 · For: Under the Forest Eaves

Every time I read your work with Turon I get a shiver. There is something about it that reaches down and grabs my bones. It speaks to something ancient and archetypal, you write like Angela Carter at ehr finest and even surpassing her-there is this mixture of terrible sadness at the passing of the Elves and the rightness of Turon and Thranduil's refusla to pass, in any way, into the west. I love the use you make of the stag as a motif, the tapping into folk tales because I always feel you have this right- picking up more on the sense of the Hobbit where Thranduil is more the Faerie King than the Noldor. 



Author's Response: Thranduil's elves are wilder and more dangerous, more attuned to the earth. You have my wonderful beta-reader, Ignoble Bard, to thank for the stag motif. I'm so glad i took his suggestion, because it has proved to be most fertile. Thank you for taking time to comment! :)


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 20:39 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
This was really lovely :) I enjoyed reading :)

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2012 20:07 · For: Haru
I liked the story very much. It's great to see these little gap-fillers fitting into the larger story-line. As you mention in other stories many of the fallen warriors did not heed Mandos call and it's good to see them still caring about their homes and loved ones.
Well, and I think leaving was the one good decision Helegui took after Thranduil's return, he's just unsufferable!
Tinara

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it -- thank you!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2012 1:02 · For: Haru
This is a very touching story. I am definitely saving it and thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2011 4:45 · For: Haru
Nice ghost story! I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2011 22:37 · For: Haru

Another wonderful Hallowe'en tale, Jael. LOve the idea of her haru appearing like this to warn her and then finding outhe has gone- it just reaches into all those folk tales and archetypes that you are so good at.



Author's Response: Thank you! This one was actually 'based upon a true story' told me by someone I met online. Her dead grandpa got her out of a tight situation. I'm glad you liked this.


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2011 19:34 · For: The Orc's Claw
This is such a wonderful fic for Halloween. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you -- I'm glad you liked it!


Name: Eruwadhiel (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2011 4:16 · For: The Orc's Claw
I love it! The Monkey's Paw is one of my favorite stories to have my students read in October.

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun changing the fact to fit the world.


No results found.
You must login () to review.