| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Circle of Faith by Linda Hoyland General Audiences
A request from Ambassador Tahir has unexpected consequences for Aragorn.
Even the Birds Are Chained to the Sky by cheekybeak Teen
The story of Legolas, Elrohir and Maewen in Valinor. A Silvan child runs free and safe in Valinor but how free is he? A mother...
Before the Spring by red_lasbelin Teen
A new season, a festival, and a night under the stars with Gildor and Erestor.
Water's Edge by Keiliss Teen
... and then there was the time Glorfindel went for an unplanned midwinter swim in the Bruinen
We Wll Be Who We Are by lotrfan General Audiences
The Army of Valinor has come to Beleriand. Maedhros and Maglor feel they must join in this battle against Morgoth but are...
Jeli in Valinor by Glorfindel Explicit
King Oropher and Lord Cirdan have sailed to Valinor and are reunited with their daughter, Jeli, who died over a thousand...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 80
Stories: 1585
Chapters: 8128
Word count: 24413374
Authors: 136
Reviews: 14664
Reviewers: 218
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 6
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
10/21/17 09:44 pm
Have a wonderful time, Narya :)
Narya
10/21/17 11:46 am
Hello fellow Tolkien-lovers. I'm heading stateside for a couple of weeks so probably won't be online much. Take care, all - may the muses be generous!
Spiced Wine
10/20/17 04:40 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
with all my lovely elves created there. *g* But it looks as I really should give it a go soon, and keep a lookout for the new one. :)
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:18 pm
Interesting news about the new game. I've bought Shadow of Mordor some time ago, but never really played it so far; I'm not playing often and when I do, I'm still stuck at Skyrim
Ysilme
10/19/17 01:17 pm
Belated Happy Birthday, Cheekybeak!
ziggy
10/18/17 01:11 am
Happy Birthday Cheekybeak- hope you liked your gift:)
Narya
10/16/17 07:36 pm
Belated happy birthday, cheeky!
Naledi
10/16/17 02:30 pm
Belated happy birthday, Cheeky! I'm glad you had a good day :)
cheekybeak
10/16/17 09:54 am
Thanks Alquien. I had a great day!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Halloween Horrors

Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2015 15:22 · For: Haru

I had no idea this would be a ghost story, but it was lovely. *shivers*



Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 0:32 · For: Dark of the Moon

What a great birthday present!  Good Halloween story. I was fascinated by the notion of the bones appearing slowly over time.  Hallie's story of devotion to her son, so sad. 



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 21:03 · For: Dark of the Moon

As always, your writing is a masterclass. The old woman's voice is very strong, I could hear her speak- you always do that- your characters speak in a distinct voice. Perfect Hallowe'en tale but a sad and cruel one without closure in a sense because the injustice has gone unpunished. So all the more emotional and haunting for it. Wonderful.



Author's Response: Thank you. Tennyson's poem is a monolog by the old woman, and her 'voice' is memorable, to say the least.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 20:53 · For: Dark of the Moon
That was great, I loved it. And this...

"So, of course, you chose the Dead Days and a brewing storm to drag me out here. I commend your planning."

It really sets the mood for this brilliant little tit-bit.

Author's Response: Thank you. The Dead Days are my own invention, but I sure have gotten a lot of mileage out of them.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 20:28 · For: Dark of the Moon
A very suitable tale for Halloween!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had an excellent source to base it on.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2013 13:43 · For: The Houseless
I liked this... It wasn't unexpected, but touching still.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 17:39 · For: The Houseless
As always, really enjoyed it :) I'd never read one of your ghost stories before but I've been so careful about reading everything chronologically (except Not Fade Away, which I couldn't wait to re-read...) and it felt wrong to miss one out. I wish I'd read them earlier; I've missed a treat! Which ghost story did you use as a basis for the plot?

Author's Response: This ghost story is based on an urban legend that's usually called 'the vanishing hitchhiker', where someone picks up a young girl at the roadside, takes her home only to have her disappear after he learns the truth, and then finds some visible proof of the encounter on her grave. It wasn't written by any particular author, and there are different forms of it. Here's one set to song in the 'dead teenager' genre: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PT_zNICXUqs There's also a local Chicago ghost legend called 'Resurrection Mary' about a wild-looking young woman who would jump onto the running boards of cars passing Resurrection Cemetery during the 1920s. Now THAT one is kind of creepy.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2012 5:20 · For: The Houseless
OH WOW Jael--What a WONDERFUL story here and quite CAPTIVATING!! I REALLY REALLY ENJOYED THIS!!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2012 0:25 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
I love ghost stories, and this one is very nice. Very sad though, that the little girl was betrayed like so many children, by one she trusted. Glad that Thranduil had a chance to avenge her.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 21:29 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
This was so touching and heartbreaking. I could not keep from crying. It is so hard to hear about a child so innocent and helpless being murdered or dying. You wrote in such a way that was tasteful and loving. Excellent writing in my opinion!

Author's Response: Yes, the death of a child is always heartbreaking. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 8:58 · For: Under the Forest Eaves

Every time I read your work with Turon I get a shiver. There is something about it that reaches down and grabs my bones. It speaks to something ancient and archetypal, you write like Angela Carter at ehr finest and even surpassing her-there is this mixture of terrible sadness at the passing of the Elves and the rightness of Turon and Thranduil's refusla to pass, in any way, into the west. I love the use you make of the stag as a motif, the tapping into folk tales because I always feel you have this right- picking up more on the sense of the Hobbit where Thranduil is more the Faerie King than the Noldor. 



Author's Response: Thranduil's elves are wilder and more dangerous, more attuned to the earth. You have my wonderful beta-reader, Ignoble Bard, to thank for the stag motif. I'm so glad i took his suggestion, because it has proved to be most fertile. Thank you for taking time to comment! :)


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 20:39 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
This was really lovely :) I enjoyed reading :)

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2012 20:07 · For: Haru
I liked the story very much. It's great to see these little gap-fillers fitting into the larger story-line. As you mention in other stories many of the fallen warriors did not heed Mandos call and it's good to see them still caring about their homes and loved ones.
Well, and I think leaving was the one good decision Helegui took after Thranduil's return, he's just unsufferable!
Tinara

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it -- thank you!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2012 1:02 · For: Haru
This is a very touching story. I am definitely saving it and thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2011 4:45 · For: Haru
Nice ghost story! I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2011 22:37 · For: Haru

Another wonderful Hallowe'en tale, Jael. LOve the idea of her haru appearing like this to warn her and then finding outhe has gone- it just reaches into all those folk tales and archetypes that you are so good at.



Author's Response: Thank you! This one was actually 'based upon a true story' told me by someone I met online. Her dead grandpa got her out of a tight situation. I'm glad you liked this.


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2011 19:34 · For: The Orc's Claw
This is such a wonderful fic for Halloween. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you -- I'm glad you liked it!


Name: Eruwadhiel (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2011 4:16 · For: The Orc's Claw
I love it! The Monkey's Paw is one of my favorite stories to have my students read in October.

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun changing the fact to fit the world.


No results found.
You must login () to review.