| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
06/14/18 10:32 am
Aww, thank you, Narya :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For Halloween Horrors

Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2015 15:22 · For: Haru

I had no idea this would be a ghost story, but it was lovely. *shivers*



Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: November 02, 2013 0:32 · For: Dark of the Moon

What a great birthday present!  Good Halloween story. I was fascinated by the notion of the bones appearing slowly over time.  Hallie's story of devotion to her son, so sad. 



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 21:03 · For: Dark of the Moon

As always, your writing is a masterclass. The old woman's voice is very strong, I could hear her speak- you always do that- your characters speak in a distinct voice. Perfect Hallowe'en tale but a sad and cruel one without closure in a sense because the injustice has gone unpunished. So all the more emotional and haunting for it. Wonderful.



Author's Response: Thank you. Tennyson's poem is a monolog by the old woman, and her 'voice' is memorable, to say the least.


Name: Alpha Ori (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 20:53 · For: Dark of the Moon
That was great, I loved it. And this...

"So, of course, you chose the Dead Days and a brewing storm to drag me out here. I commend your planning."

It really sets the mood for this brilliant little tit-bit.

Author's Response: Thank you. The Dead Days are my own invention, but I sure have gotten a lot of mileage out of them.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: October 31, 2013 20:28 · For: Dark of the Moon
A very suitable tale for Halloween!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had an excellent source to base it on.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2013 13:43 · For: The Houseless
I liked this... It wasn't unexpected, but touching still.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2012 17:39 · For: The Houseless
As always, really enjoyed it :) I'd never read one of your ghost stories before but I've been so careful about reading everything chronologically (except Not Fade Away, which I couldn't wait to re-read...) and it felt wrong to miss one out. I wish I'd read them earlier; I've missed a treat! Which ghost story did you use as a basis for the plot?

Author's Response: This ghost story is based on an urban legend that's usually called 'the vanishing hitchhiker', where someone picks up a young girl at the roadside, takes her home only to have her disappear after he learns the truth, and then finds some visible proof of the encounter on her grave. It wasn't written by any particular author, and there are different forms of it. Here's one set to song in the 'dead teenager' genre: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PT_zNICXUqs There's also a local Chicago ghost legend called 'Resurrection Mary' about a wild-looking young woman who would jump onto the running boards of cars passing Resurrection Cemetery during the 1920s. Now THAT one is kind of creepy.


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: April 18, 2012 5:20 · For: The Houseless
OH WOW Jael--What a WONDERFUL story here and quite CAPTIVATING!! I REALLY REALLY ENJOYED THIS!!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: March 09, 2012 0:25 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
I love ghost stories, and this one is very nice. Very sad though, that the little girl was betrayed like so many children, by one she trusted. Glad that Thranduil had a chance to avenge her.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Alaeryel (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 21:29 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
This was so touching and heartbreaking. I could not keep from crying. It is so hard to hear about a child so innocent and helpless being murdered or dying. You wrote in such a way that was tasteful and loving. Excellent writing in my opinion!

Author's Response: Yes, the death of a child is always heartbreaking. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 26, 2012 8:58 · For: Under the Forest Eaves

Every time I read your work with Turon I get a shiver. There is something about it that reaches down and grabs my bones. It speaks to something ancient and archetypal, you write like Angela Carter at ehr finest and even surpassing her-there is this mixture of terrible sadness at the passing of the Elves and the rightness of Turon and Thranduil's refusla to pass, in any way, into the west. I love the use you make of the stag as a motif, the tapping into folk tales because I always feel you have this right- picking up more on the sense of the Hobbit where Thranduil is more the Faerie King than the Noldor. 



Author's Response: Thranduil's elves are wilder and more dangerous, more attuned to the earth. You have my wonderful beta-reader, Ignoble Bard, to thank for the stag motif. I'm so glad i took his suggestion, because it has proved to be most fertile. Thank you for taking time to comment! :)


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 25, 2012 20:39 · For: Under the Forest Eaves
This was really lovely :) I enjoyed reading :)

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Tinara (Signed) · Date: February 03, 2012 20:07 · For: Haru
I liked the story very much. It's great to see these little gap-fillers fitting into the larger story-line. As you mention in other stories many of the fallen warriors did not heed Mandos call and it's good to see them still caring about their homes and loved ones.
Well, and I think leaving was the one good decision Helegui took after Thranduil's return, he's just unsufferable!
Tinara

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it -- thank you!


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: January 30, 2012 1:02 · For: Haru
This is a very touching story. I am definitely saving it and thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!


Name: Mindirith (Signed) · Date: November 17, 2011 4:45 · For: Haru
Nice ghost story! I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: November 01, 2011 22:37 · For: Haru

Another wonderful Hallowe'en tale, Jael. LOve the idea of her haru appearing like this to warn her and then finding outhe has gone- it just reaches into all those folk tales and archetypes that you are so good at.



Author's Response: Thank you! This one was actually 'based upon a true story' told me by someone I met online. Her dead grandpa got her out of a tight situation. I'm glad you liked this.


Name: Alquien (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2011 19:34 · For: The Orc's Claw
This is such a wonderful fic for Halloween. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you -- I'm glad you liked it!


Name: Eruwadhiel (Signed) · Date: July 31, 2011 4:16 · For: The Orc's Claw
I love it! The Monkey's Paw is one of my favorite stories to have my students read in October.

Author's Response: Thank you! I had a lot of fun changing the fact to fit the world.


No results found.
You must login () to review.