| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8480
Word count: 25716640
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15743
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 12
Members:

Shoutbox

Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Narya
06/20/18 06:15 pm
I look forwards to catching up with you and your stories when I come back <3
Narya
06/20/18 06:14 pm
Hey guys! Just to let you know I'm going camping for ten days; if you don't see me online, don't think I've abandoned you all, I just won't have internet ;)
Narya
06/15/18 08:15 pm
Thanks Spiced, you too :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 08:06 pm
Yes, it’s been very nice! Have a lovely weekend, Narya :)
Narya
06/15/18 07:49 pm
Happy Friday, Team Tolkien :) I hope you're all enjoying blue skies and sunshine like we are in the North of England :)
Spiced Wine
06/15/18 09:55 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Shout Archive


Reviews For The JaelVerse

Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: March 03, 2018 0:52 · For: A Man In Full
Just done a re-read and wanted to let you know how much I still love this story - I first read it about ten years ago on lotrff! I do love your Elves, and especially the joy and hope of the Not Fade Away 'verse.


Name: CassieHughes (Signed) · Date: January 25, 2017 12:22 · For: All That Is Gold
Such a wonderful story! I love how you portray these two here, you show their relationship as I have always thought it should be, loving and close with respect also on both sides. A great gap filler.


Name: Lifes Pilgrim (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2015 19:23 · For: We Three Kings
I really like this twist on the Christmas Story. Can't wait for the holidays now.


Name: Riraito (Signed) · Date: November 08, 2014 22:12 · For: King Stag
Whenever I read something as magical as this, I wonder how I could ever have lived without it.

It's one of those stories I always seem to come across way past midnight. But of course that makes it even better.

I think I actually laughed out loud when Thranduil fell from that tree. How did he even have a chance at completing the ritual if he couldn't even do that? Of course, he was too awesome to fail. Or at least that's what I like to tell myself.

I love your writing, really. You never know when you're going to read something funny. I've read some of your other work as well in the past, but I wasn't entirely comfortable reading slash yet back then so I didn't review. It's not like my reviews are usefull or anything, so I hope you don't mind! I'll be a good reader and review more C':

Author's Response: What a pleasure to find such a nice review! The answer to your question about Thranduil falling from the tree the first time he tried it is that he's a Sinda. It doesn't come naturally to him, and he has to have his mind altered by alcohol or what Darth Fingon calls 'flying mushroom pee' in order to do it. As for slash, I only write it if the story calls for it. I'd say 95% of my output is either het or gen -- mostly gen. Kind of like life itself. LOL


Name: QueenY (Anonymous) · Date: September 17, 2014 11:37 · For: Cophetua
That is just made possible with devised glasses which come with the capability or the basic sue of forming or wearing any product glasses at your own ease or suitability. Then these user just have to make sure that they wear the right replica chanel product with power inbuilt or put after the product has been ordered. So next time whenever you are ordering the online sunglasses get the help of such items as well as by that we will exactly getting the Bifocal chanel replica Reading Sunglasses products which are fitted with exact eye power you help you as well as further ease the process of reading or even viewing other object all around the hermes replica scene. The product with the right power that will get into that product thereby you may find appropriate or related high powers which all come with it. As a result get it to chance as well as then it will in point of fact find another relational product which is of high power as well as then you may carry along all the time. This are the product which all replica louis vuitton further tended to strive forward as well as you will Reading Glasses always get that louis vuitton replica product which will be as a result determined thought by which you can fill up the product dimensions as well as requirements is based on the customer demand all the time.

---


Name: Lifes Pilgrim (Signed) · Date: July 10, 2014 5:59 · For: The Call of Duty: Legolas At Erebor
Thouroughly enjoyed this. I really like how you seamlessly tied in your other stories into this one. I'm glad I've already read them.

Author's Response: Thank you! This was an early story in my progression of writing, so it was easy to include some of the other details in later stories, like the eye and the toad.


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2014 11:20 · For: Beruthiel, A Love Story

This was unexpected, adorable, and absolutely perfect. Reading this just made me happy! :D

Probably the best legomance so far <3



Name: Armariel (Signed) · Date: April 14, 2014 22:39 · For: Twenty-nine White Horses
I love it! Very cute, if a bit ouchy. Sweet but not too sweet. Simple and funny and delightful, just the sort of thing I like. I much enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Thank you! Thranduil's earlier incident with getting HIS teeth knocked out is referred to in another story, Return of the King. It was the most instructive dental trauma he ever had.


Name: kimberly04 (Signed) · Date: March 16, 2014 8:38 · For: To the Waters and the Wild
Great Story!!!


Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2014 20:50 · For: A Man In Full
brilliant story i can well imagine Thranduil and Galion in that time period. i enjoyed reading thanks for sharing x


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: December 09, 2013 18:46 · For: The Gift

Aww, so sad and yet so beautiful... *deep sigh*

I also liked that you added that poem by Yeats, I love that poem and it fits wonderfully well to this story...



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: September 08, 2013 23:25 · For: Cophetua

So beautiful, and unexpected... Loved reading this! 



Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: August 10, 2013 1:51 · For: All Lies and Jest
Interesting take on the laws and customs... I like it, it's very touching and thought-provoking. Nice read!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2013 16:12 · For: Twenty-nine White Horses
That was ADORABLE! I really had to smile at Thranduil's antics; I love it when he's portrayed as a nice dad ;)

Author's Response: Thank you. I make it my business to counter-act all those wicked, abusive Thranduil fics.


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: July 13, 2013 0:04 · For: Twenty-nine White Horses

This was great fun! It was acutally the second time I read it, but I can't remember if I reviewed it already elsewhere or if the story was one on my long "review-still-to-be-written" list. This time, I'm reading it together with some of the others, and am enjoying myself splendidly. Your Thranduil is as awesome as your Legolas, both delightfully characterised.

 

<i>You're never too old to get a gift for a lost tooth."</i>
:o))) Lovely line! And of course there must be something that could be done over lost teeth, as I also can't imagine gap-toothed elves running about, nor imagine them with Mithril dentures...



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: Quantumphysica (Signed) · Date: July 11, 2013 13:43 · For: The Houseless
I liked this... It wasn't unexpected, but touching still.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it.


Name: Winterwitch (Signed) · Date: July 07, 2013 0:07 · For: Elflings

Here by rec of randy from the Lizard council. This was great fun! A very believable glimpse into the lives of two youngsters full of mischief. Thranduil feels very real here, which isn't easy to do if one writes about the childhood of a known character IMHO. He's such a sweet boy without being too cute, just the right mixture, and with such a great friend. My favourite character might be the toad, though. I laughed so much reading about the interaction around it!



Author's Response: Thank you kindly! This is the earliest story in the JaelVerse, in terms of Tolkien chronology. The toad incident is referred to in Call of Duty, and the digging of the privy together is referred to in Nightfall, in a much sadder vein. I thought the toad was a hoot too, while I was writing him. What would you call him -- an Original Amphibious Character? LOL


Name: elfscribe (Signed) · Date: July 01, 2013 9:11 · For: Twenty-nine White Horses

A very good, and simple solution to the problem of losing teeth  (one I'd never considered before).  Great father-son dynamic.  enjoyed it.



Author's Response: Thank you! The dynamic between Legolas and Thranduil in the Verse! grew slowly over time, and it's one of the more pleasurable things to write.


Name: Merin (Signed) · Date: February 20, 2013 13:25 · For: Here's To the King!
Hello Jael,

this was the story that brought me to this website, so thank you! I wandered back to my ff.net account recently and checked out my 'favourite stories' section for nostalgia's sake. This story was prominent among them and I read it again with a big smile on my face. Then I went and read a few on your live journal and then I found your link to here... :)

Review I left on ff.net: 6/24/07 . chapter 1
lol that was truly hilarious, very light hearted I loved it!

I still appreciate it! Both Legolas and Thranduil are superb and Legolas's outraged reaction to the second verse of the song after his annoyed but more put-upon attitude to hearing the first was amazing. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! Getting a review these days is like an enjoyable blast from the past, especially with this one. And yes, there are a few more on Live Journal and here than on FFNet, for various reasons. *wink*


Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2012 23:10 · For: To Wrap An Elven Princeling
And here is part two:

(From Anne) Awww, I soooo feel for Thrandruil's pain and especially as he has to go through the festivities and all. So hard. And then the fire!!! And Smaug! Oh my gosh!

And again the sounds of the fire and the flapping wings and the horses makes it all wonderfully vivid!

And oh, I knew before I got there, since I just read the Hobbit that Girion was killed by Smaug. His son and wife escaped and the son was Bard the Bowman, right? How neat to weave this into the story and that the queen of Dale and Bard were rescued by Thrandruil!

Loved the kid's playing in Tooley's garden and was worried right away when there was mention of how Tomin (or Tamin?) not liking the man of his sister in law because he was a jerk. And trouble right ahead when that man (is it Otan or Athan - truly, I can't quite tell from just hearing it, lol) turns out to be just that - a jerk. And Legolas so brave! Oh oh oh... I don't want this Athan guy taking him away!

I was glad that Tamin went to Dale too and is finding Thrandruil to tell him what really has happened to his son.

I am always all over again in love with the elves and how they are with their horses. Like true companions and I was so pleased Thranduil' horse wasn't dead!

Hah, I was biting my nails through the whole part of Thranduil and Tamin riding back to the village and knowing Legolas wasn't at the cottage anymore and then discovering that Smaug was after the mithril shirt and the stupid Athan/Otan been thrown of his horse and leaving Legolas alone! Aaaah!

Hahaha, I loved how you read the part where Thranduil has him by the throat! That's awesome reading, Char!

OH! Ohhh! Now see, this is great! Now we know how Smaug got the mithril shirt and why it was small enough to fit Bilbo! How awesome! I love it!

And I knew it, I knew it! Tooley is going to be the new nanny for Legolas! Awwww, excellent! And the hated mithril coat was gone, so Legolas is very happy now, lol! I love how he thinks his Ada's arms are the only armor he needed, that made me awww.

Siiiggghhh, loved the ending. Well, this was fun! And while I have a bit of a problem with the spelling of some of the names witout reading, it was easy to listen, too.

Please let Jael (again not sure I'm spelling it right) know how much I loved the story.

(End of FB from Anne)

I had a lot of fun playing in this story, figuring out sound effects for the dragon's wings, etc., and loved every second of reading and re-reading as I've become more proficient with Elven pronouciation! Thanks for lending me your characterizations of our beloved characters, Jael!

Author's Response: What an awesome set of reviews! I'm utterly delighted to be able to read this. Thank you for doing the podcast and making it possible! By the way, check your PMs at Lizard Council. :) PS -- I'm dying to hear you pronounce 'nachuithron'.


Name: Tanis (Signed) · Date: October 03, 2012 23:04 · For: To Wrap An Elven Princeling
Hey Jael,

This is FB received from a non-Rings fandom friend who listened to the podcast for To Wrap an Elven Princeling.

(From Anne) Can you pass on my fb of the story to the author and tell her how much I loved the podcast?

Loving the story so far!

3000 years without the pleasure of the marriage bed??? Oh, yikes! No wonder Legolas' nurse maid (who's name I can't spell so I won't even try) is short tempered, lol! I love how you read her , with so much suppressed grumpyness as Legolas does not want to put on his armor, grins.

Awww, no one wants to look foolish, but protection is important. Somehow reminds me of the discussion we had here about wearing a bike helmet! :)

Awww, fifty years before having 'a maturity' is hard! :) Still, somehow neat to know you have all the time in the world to mature and live on. I love the scene where Thranduil (sp) helps his son dress into his armor under the tunic. Lovely father-son moment.

And right on from this domestic delight to the fighting! Oh oh oh! Again, greatly done with the sound effects of swords and horses and the underlying rain! Those nasty nasty Orcs, ick!

And oooh, the angst! Legolas lost in the river! Oh myyyyy!

The sorrow about not having children and having to wash out the blood from Tooley's (sp) clothes every month for year after year, touched me. What a joy it must have been for her to find Lil Legolas. Sigh. Happy he was found by nice people who care for him! So sad tho they can't keep him.

So sad for the elf king too, trying to find his only son. Siiigh.

Awwww, this was making me kind of sad too – that Legolas has never been cuddled and hugged by a mother type and can't remember his own mom. And that his nursemaid wasn't one for snuggling. And so bitter sweet for Tooley (I'm pretty sure that's not how it's spelled) to have this now, only to have it taken away from her again some day. Sigh.

No wonder she doesn't want to give him back, buuuut... ohhh, so so so the wrong thing to do!

Loved her braiding Legolas' hair, awwww – and into a real archer's fashion no less! Did I tell you I have a thing for Legola' hair? It looks so golden and soft and long and angelic.

Ha, I'm still in the second chapter – but already want her to be Legolas' new nursemaid and I hope hope hope this is where it's going! It would be so lovely to have that happen with her wanting a child and him needing a mommy in his life!

If only Thranduil will have mercy on her and not do something terrible in his anger and angst when he finds him! But I'm sure he will. He must see how she suffers and that she has a good heart and just couldn't resist to keep the elfling for a little while longer!

Ohhh, how awful to think the beloved elven princeling is dead! And very very happy that I know he is not!

(End friend's FB)

The video program I've been using to render the podcasts kept blowing up when I tried to render the entire hour and a half podcast, so it ended up in two parts. She sent FB on parts 3 & 4 as well. Will post that in a second post though, as this is getting longish.


Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2012 23:38 · For: The Rose in the Fisted Glove

Thank you, Jael.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 17, 2012 22:45 · For: The Rose in the Fisted Glove

Ah my dear Jael- I think I have unconsciously left you a small and humble tribute in something I have written. So deeply in my head is this fic I had all but forgotten but my own Galion tells me he has never forgotten this incident and he hopes very much to get a repeat. I hope you are not offended but see it as the compliment it is. 

If you are offended, I can change the references.

ziggy



Author's Response: LOL -- I'm not offended at all. In fact, it's rather implied in the later stories that Thranduil and Galion may resume this 'very manly' element to their friendship at some point after the death of Thranduil's queen. I thank you for the tribute!


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 04, 2012 12:16 · For: Strange Stars
What a perfect ending for a gorgeous tale. You've woven so many strands through this - Legolas's growing affection for Khorlai and his people as a whole, the friendships and relationships he develops with them as individuals, his exploration of his own sexuality, the positive influence his presence has on the court, and his own loyalty to Aragorn. As always, it's all handled beautifully. Phazan's return to his position was particularly touching, and I'm glad Huzun found happiness too.

So it turns out it was Legolas who shatters the myth that you're bound to the one you mate with. Interesting. I had been wondering what caused the Elvish position to shift from the views you write of in All Lies and Jest, where Thranduil will not permit remarriage, to Not Fade Away, where you mention some of the Elves (including Legolas) having several mortal spouses over the years. Perhaps this is where attitudes start changing? (Although I can't imagine Thranduil would be pleased if he found out what Legolas has been up to...)

Author's Response: About the eternal bond if you do the deed with someone -- this may not be canon, but my version of the elves believe it only counts with people of the opposite sex. So there's a very understated culture of 'taking care of business' and 'it's just guy stuff'. As for remarriage, Thranduil begins to allow it once Legolas has returned from the West, bringing Thranduil's re-hused wife back with him. With no conflict of interest (and a final break with the Valar) Thranduil authorizes second marriages 'for time'. I'm really glad you liked this.


Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: July 03, 2012 16:08 · For: Strange Stars
As always, you've written in some wonderful OCs to interact with the canon cast - Phazan is a sad and intriguing figure, and I'm keen to find out more about Zamin.

By the way, I love Legolas's choice of name :)

Author's Response: *snerk* Thank you. The name was a wonderfully passive-aggressive touch, I thought.


No results found.
You must login () to review.