| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Istaril by Kalendeer Teen
She does not tell him that she will help with revenge, because she does not know yet if she should. But she tells him that...
Beware the Starless Midnight by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas arrives in Minas Tirith expecting a joyful reunion with his friends. Instead he finds tension, prejudice, and insurrection...
Laying the Foundation by lotrfan General Audiences
Elrond and Erestor bring the survivors of the defeat at Eregion to a new home, which will eventually become Imladris? Rivendell.
What Child Is This? by cheekybeak General Audiences
Legolas, Aragorn, a garden, a child, the future. 
A Feast of Ashes by Kalendeer General Audiences
In Barad Eithel, High King Fingolfin lives under the shadow of his half-brother, dead on the very spot where the fortress...
At the sign of the drunken goose by Chiara Cadrich General Audiences
Horor and humor tales from the Inn. New : a tale about Tolkien-fan associations.
Lonesome Rider by mangacrack Mature
In the Silmarillion Maglor is (allegedly) the sole survivor of his family.Here, it's someone else.

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1659
Chapters: 8482
Word count: 25720926
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15752
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 16
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:42 pm
I will go in and sit with her, it’ll take 4 hours and they said 1 or 2 people were welcome.
Spiced Wine
06/24/18 09:41 pm
My mother starts chemo Thursday. They’re not sure it’ll do any good, but any good thoughts appreciated.
Alquien
06/24/18 12:35 am
I know. But I'll have to wait till Monday to talk to my internet company. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 09:37 pm
I remember it doing that years ago
Alquien
06/23/18 04:25 pm
I've tried both Google and Firefox since yesterday but I still can't get on. The connection keeps timing out. :/
Spiced Wine
06/23/18 01:21 pm
I have not tried, I’m afraid, Alquien
Alquien
06/22/18 11:30 pm
Is it just me or is anyone else having trouble with live journal?
Spiced Wine
06/22/18 10:15 am
Happy Friday, everyone :)
lotrfan
06/20/18 07:49 pm
Have a great time Narya!!
Spiced Wine
06/20/18 07:21 pm
Have a great time, Narya; some lovely weather coming next week, I see!
Shout Archive


Reviews For Balar

Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2017 18:14 · For: Something Back

Gildor followed by Erestor came into the kitchen, saying over his shoulder, “...not even when I was growing up. It’s one of those stupid things you find if you dig deep enough in the Laws and Customs that Turgon tried to codify while we were in Nevrast. He had a whole list of things we probably shouldn’t do, but that doesn’t mean people don’t eat meat or that healers are all pacifists or…”

 

“Well, it’s what I got thrown at me anyhow when I turned her down. Under our law, intimacy equals marriage and eternity. No other option, so how could I possibly be seeing someone – casually? And a man at that. The whole conversation was embarrassing, I’m not used to being judged and found wanting by some little girl barely past her majority.”

 

“Yes well, other people’s customs are always confusing – hello Gil – and you know you’re fond of Fionel. Just not quite that fond. I hope you explained we aren’t all like swans.”

 

I just love that! Puts everything deeply in its place and establishes this lovely gossipy relationship.

 

I love this fic and am so pleased you have put it here (I am right that i head read it elsewhere? If not, well that's the test of a classi- that it FEELS as if you know it and recognise it- instnatly gets to that place in your imagination where your favourites reside)

There are so many wonderful details- like Gildor bypassing Gil but him not minding- TOO much! And the necklace, the description of Maedhros. It's so sad that this is perhaps the last thing he does of note.

 

 Then Gil was left on the beach with two ill at ease fishermen, a smelly, weather-beaten boat and a raucous flock of seagulls who as always put him in mind of the boys’ mother. haha!



Author's Response:

Hey there! I think this is on SWG, so you might have read it there? It's one of those fics where I put them in the same place and let them talk and see where it goes -- I didn't expect the beach, Elwing's twins, and a fishing boat, but whatever, they like to surprise me :D

I always kind of assumed Maglor would be the one to take the twins back (there was probably some early fanwork that made an impact on me), but it could only have been Maedhros, taking responsibiliy. I liked that he managed to be present even if he wasn't physically. 

Gildor and Erestor's 'thing' has always been more in my head than in the fics themselves, so this was their chance and they grabbed it. Thanks so much for liking them and for loving the fic!




Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: December 01, 2017 3:19 · For: Something Back
As always Keiliss, great little look into the everyday goings on on the island of Balar. I so enjoy these stories.

I like that you keep the story pretty tame and normal; the moments with Barawen in the kitchen, while she chops vegatables, the backwards and forwards banter between Gildor and Erestor with as little input as possible from Gil. He almost seems invisible sometimes. Then out of the blue punctuate the quiet and mundane with something momentous.

I love the fact that you keep Gil real. I think a character and probably the story too, is much more believable that way.

He is King of the Noldor and yet his life on Balar is at odds with the very title he bears. Except of course, when the situation dictates he don the otherwise invisible mantle. I like it!

I hope I made sense and didn't repeat myself.

Author's Response:

I don't know if you noticed at the end, but this was written as a birthday ficlet, so all I did in the beginning was pick a seting, put Gil in it and let him talk with people. At that stage I wasn't even clear where, if anywhere, it was all leading. For a ficlet, it would have been fine to leave it at the end of the first part, but then I realised what it had to be about --- I was having so much fun watching them talk I didn't even see the next stage coming, lol. 

And you made perfect sense :) At that point in history being King of the Noldor was just a title, the work he was doing as a war leader, taking the fight to the enemy was more important though he knew how to keep his dignity, Cirdan would have taught him that. And life on Balar was of necessity informal enough that he could have the luxury of friends and family around him too, and space to be a person before he was a king.

I'm starting to ramble *g*.  I'm glad you liked it, love - thank you very much@



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: November 28, 2017 6:32 · For: Something Back
I really like this. I've always wondered where Gildor fits into all this. I like him here--his banter with Gil and Erestor is entertaining.

Poor dear Maedhros. Bartering family heirlooms to get the boys to safety. They aren't the heirlooms he's most focused on so they are expendable, aren't they?

I've wondered about this time and written about Maglor and Maedhros sending the boys to Cirdan and Gil for safety at War of Wrath time. I like this perspective.

Author's Response:

I didn't write Gildor for years because I couldn't work him out, that was until he explained he's actually renegade royalty like his cousin Galadriel - sorry, Tanis. And then it all made sense :D Very glad you enjoyed him here. 

That piece Maedhros bartered for the boys' passage I suspect wasn't particularly valuable as such things go, the best would long since have been sold on, but maybe there was a sentimental value to it, a gift from a time before it all went horribly wrong --- at least I like to think that. Something that would still matter, but he thought this was worth it? My heart wanted Maglor to be the one to send them on the next leg of their journey, but it was always going to be Maedhros. 

Thanks very much for commenting, and special thanks for liking something you have already written about --- that's always such a compliment :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: November 12, 2017 6:24 · For: Brothers
Wow! How far from grace they have fallen!

So much of themselves are lost. I hardly recognize Maedhros aside from the reddish locks.

Even if it wasn't why they originally took the twins in the first place, it became about family. Having that little piece of family close, accessible and safe. They believed they were giving Elrond and Elros a better start in life. Righting the wrongs and not just of Sirion. It is just so very sad. And Maglor falling in love with them isn't going to make things any easier.

In some instances even some members of their family have become a dirty word to them. *Orodreths whelp* I would hope that any family would be important to them, especially since they have lost all of theirs.

I would really like to know why Elwing and her family have kept a silmaril from the Feanorions, when they know first hand that they will fight and kill any who get in the way of retrieving it? And why in all of Arda, did she choose a crystal over her boys?

So heartbreaking. But a great and interesting read. :)

Author's Response:

Taking the twins originally was purely a strategic move on their part, though of course time goes on and raising children takes on its own spirit, especially when those children are blood kindred.  And as the bulk of raising and educating them seems logically to fall to Maglor, it makes a lot of sense that they'd beome almost like his own. It was a hard decision.

Elwing -- oh, that is a long story I cover in all sorts of other fics, usually briefly, but what I've always believed is that she jumped out of pure terror when faced with the men who killed her parents and whose people left her brothers to starve. I don't think it had much to do with the jewel or not loving her sons - just a moment of mind-breaking fear. As to why she didn't hand it over tamely? She was very young, I doubt any of her advisors favoured it and she had been raised to see it as her heirloom. Also what I've read is that the people of Sirion regarded the Silmaril as a force of protection and goodness for them, so --- lots of reasons to try and buy time till her husband got home. And then time ran out.

Sorry, running on there, lol. Anyhow, thanks very much for reading :) And I'm sorry I'm only resonding now, seems efiction saw fit to turn off notifications in my preferences. 



Name: lotrfan (Signed) · Date: November 09, 2017 5:33 · For: Brothers
I really like this! Having just written and posted a fic about Maedhros and Maglor sending the twins away during the War of Wrath this really resonated with me.
I see Maedhros being the instigator too. He's rational and realistic about it. It is hard for both of them to give them up but I don't think Maglor willingly would have without Maedhros' influence.
Such a wrench for both of them--I see their time with the twins as their best time since before the Nirnaeth

Author's Response:

*I see their time with the twins as their best time since before the Nirnaeth* This, yes. Exactly. Some touch of warmth and family, a sense of normalcy in amongst all that darkness. I admit I don't write either Maedhros or Maglor often, but that was very much what spoke to me when I started this. The fact that you liked what I did here after having just written the same character mix and theme yourself is a great compliment - I know finding someone else's version soon after doesn't always work. I want to read your fic now - it is actually on my 'to read' list for SWG - but I'll leave it till tomorrow when I'm properly awake. 

Apologies for the late response too. Somehow 'notifications' got turned off in my preferences. I have no idea how, other than the fact that efiction sites always hate me, lol. Again, thank you :)



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 20, 2017 3:40 · For: Elwing's Balrog
Hi Keiliss! Wow! You've built such a wonderful story here.

I can't get enough of your Gil. I think I've fallen in love with him! So delectable.

His relationship with Elwing is so beautiful! It had me thinking of all these ideas for a fic. I just love how she seeks him out when she wants the honest truth. Not her Lords, not Rueth no one else but Gil. That must chafe! That a little Sindar Queen finds the company of a Noldor King more valuable than their own.

It's a lovely snapshot of her new life in Sirion. You seem to take seemingly ordinary situations and make them so interesting.

Elwing just finds him this solid strength at her back. And there's this power growing within her, who's going to tutor her on that subject? No one can! Gil seems to be the only one who has the sense and patience and wisdom to help her through it. Best man for the job!

He helps her understand herself, her fears, anything that is perplexing without glossing it over. And do I detect a little infatuation with him, for she notices his eyes are light blue and he sports dimples. I would think that anyone who didn't notice little things about someone else's features wouldn't be holding a little something for them. Maybe I'm just reading to much into it. I do that sometimes, get so engrossed in a story and/or the characters that I see things that aren't there, that maybe I'd like to be there. Lol.

Anyway Keiliss, great and meaningful story. I love all these little anecdotes on the day in the life of the little Queen. Looking forward to many more. :)

Author's Response:

Loved this review, thank you so much!! It's such an amazing feeling when someone reads a fic that came from the heart and really 'gets' it, all the little touches and subtext.  Her people are going to be unhappy with the amount of trust she puts in Gil as time passes, yes, and there are stories there too -- just they're notes in a folder still because there is a chain of ideas I want to follow that lead to a big story that I still need to find my way into.  I was thinking about trying the short pieces during NaNo next month.... So -- no Elwing for a while, though there are a bunch of Gil-centric fics I'll post over the next few weeks.

I think Gil sees her as almost a kid sister - they have stuff in common, like both being royal orphans, and he knows there's no one amongst her own people who see her as a young girl rather than a political pawn.  And I think she does have a tiny bit of a crush, yes. Well, she's 12, it's natural enough :D .Someone once suggested I should write an AU where Gil and Elwing marry and I admit I've been tempted - it would be interesting to see how huge a difference that one little change to the canon would make. But not any time soon, lol!

Hey, sometimes I also see things the writer didn't intend. I think it's a compliment - it means the characters felt real enough for speculation. In this case though, you noticed something I was aware of but hadn't focused on :)

 

 



Name: NelyafinweFeanorion (Signed) · Date: October 08, 2017 0:41 · For: The Tapestry
I really like this. Gil can be such a cipher sometimes but this POV of his really gives some insight and dimension to him.
I really like Idril and Tuor, two characters I usually am not drawn to--their instinct for each other and obvious bond is really well characterized.
Galadriel is fascinating here--hints of who she will become and definitely evidence of her intelligence, insight and influence.
There is a casual, homey , warm tone to this that I really liked.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the very kind words!  I sort of fell into writing Gil and he's become very 'present' for me,  easy to hear.  I love spending time with him.  I'm glad you like the result, and I do agree with you, he often seems rather like a cardboard cutout --- Tolkien didn't help there, by the time he got to the Second Age he was way more interested in what was going on in Numenor. 

Idril and Tuor are the ones that got away - First Age romances don't tend to have happy endings. They seem such a good team, heck, she even sailed with him when he finally left to search for the Undying Lands. As for Galadriel -- she writes herself, pretty much.  Love the whole idea of that tough, ambitious girl who crossed the Ice with her brothers looking for adventure and how life shaped her after that.

I wanted to make a serious atempt to put more of my fics on Faerie and couldn't work out where to start, but I love this (very incomplete) story arc set in Sirion and on Balar so it seemed a good place to start.  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: October 07, 2017 13:37 · For: The Tapestry
Really wonderful!

You write Gil galad's family get together's with such warmth and camaraderie it makes me wish I had been invited. But its not without its gossip either. Lol

Its also great to see Galadriel in a more active and fulfilling role than I'm used to reading. She does tend to get left out a bit, sadly.

I particularly loved how Idril and Tuor are so closely in tune with each other, they act almost as if they are of one mind. Beautiful!

I love how Elwing has taken quite a shine to Gil, it speaks volumes of his character but not so much in his relations with the people of Menegroth.

I've got to say, I'm really enjoying your stories Keiliss. A new and different look into the life, on a more personal and familial level of a King of the Noldor. Love it! :)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the kind words, I'm sorry I'm responding so late! I love writing First/Second Age Galadriel, she is sooo much more intereesting than the Third Age Lady of the Wood!  Less of a lady, more a politician and adenturer.  I'm glad you liked her here. I'm always happy when I get to go back and write something in this 'verse. The pieces aren't all connected up, there's huge gaps, but I love the people and how they connect with each other.  It was a very dark time, I like to think it drew people closer together.  Tuor and Idril make me smile --- they're the couple Tolkien quite forgot to give a tragic storyline to and I'm convinced they survived to settle safely in Valinor. 



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 29, 2017 20:04 · For: Season of Hope
This is so lovely - sad and hopeful. Your feral Elwing is beautifully written, and I love your Gil-galad too, gentle but every inch the warrior.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for liking them both, they're very dear to me. And thank you for a lovely review... sad and hopeful feels exactly right!



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: September 27, 2017 21:25 · For: Season of Hope

How unexpected to come to Faerie and find this at the top of the story list!  I loved it the first time I read it, and I love it still.  Even if I wish someone would lose Rûeth over the side ofa boat!



Author's Response:

Ha, yes, she deserves taking down a peg or three.  Thanks so much, it's such a compliment when someone rereads a fic. I have an odd mix posted on here so I thought I should try adding a few that kind of linked together, and the 'Balar' fics always make me happy.  



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: September 26, 2017 10:03 · For: Season of Hope
This was such a wonderful read, Keiliss!

Gil galad is one of my favorite characters, whether he's shown to be descended from Fingon or Angrod, I love him just the same.

I have always thought it would be interesting to explore the aftermath of the fall of Doriath, through Elwing's eyes and you made it quite an interesting read.

From what she witnessed, to the prejudices of those who took care of her in the aftermath, molding her young mind to fear the Noldor. It was sadly inevitable.

The way Gil galad treated her, 'Little Queen' gaining her trust in such a short time frame shows the kind of aptitude that made him such a great and wise King.

Loved it!

Author's Response:

Aww, thank you! Such a great review. I'm not sure what made me start writing Elwing, but she's now very dear to me - strange, fey, traumatised little person that she is... even the fic I wrote about her as an adult in Valinor has the edge of strangeness, because I don't think anyone who experienced real horror as a tiny child which was then fed by so-called caregivers would ever be like other people. 

Gil-galad is my all-time favourite to write. He shows up when I need him and never lets me down, lol. I am always thrilled to meet someone else who loves him. There's a couple of other fics in this rough arc that I'll be posting over the next few weeks, I hope you find something else to enjoy amongst them :)



No results found.
You must login () to review.