| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

Consign Me Not to Darkness by lotrfan General Audiences
Finrod accompanies Beren to retrieve a Silmaril and is captured, along with his companions. His encounter with Sauron in...
~ Magnificat of the Damned. Book IV: Anvil ~ by Spiced Wine Mature
From Angmar to the Dagor Dagorath. The final story in the Magnificat of the Damned series. The Doom and destiny of the...
Where the Shadows Lie by ziggy General Audiences
The One Ring has been destroyed and Sauron banished to the Dark with Morgoth. But not all the Rings were destroyed with the...
Let the Memories Be Good by lotrfan General Audiences
Legolas and Gimli must come to terms with Aragorn's aging, as well as Gimli's own. Set after events of LOTR. Written for...
The Bear Incident by Himring General Audiences
During the Years of the Trees: Celegorm and Fingon escape into the mountains, on a dare. Maedhros finds out and follows...
Days of a Valinorean healer by Nuredhel Teen
Being a healer in Valinor brings a whole new set of challenges for Elrond, some really great ones and some not so great...
The song of tomorrow by Nuredhel Explicit
The past reaches out towards the future...A living mystery is being delivered to the king of Mirkwood as a gift and a strange...

Site Info

Members: 475
Series: 83
Stories: 1667
Chapters: 8518
Word count: 25900316
Authors: 137
Reviews: 15899
Reviewers: 219
Newest Member: ainisarie
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 53
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 4
Members:

Shoutbox

Spiced Wine
08/18/18 12:21 pm
Hope you can have a bit of a rest, Narya! :)
Narya
08/17/18 10:49 pm
Happy Friday :) :) :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Happy Friday, everyone :)
Spiced Wine
08/17/18 07:22 pm
Never mind, Fades, I can’t do it either
Fadesintothewest
08/17/18 09:02 am
I wish I had the tech skills to administer the site :-(
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 07:28 pm
LOL. I am very sure I am not, but thank you :)
ziggy
08/15/18 06:55 pm
Spiced- just realised that my reply to your lovely review reads oddly- I mean that YOU are the Queen of Epics!!
Spiced Wine
08/15/18 10:47 am
Thank you, Alquien :) Unless we have to move to a new server, money is not a problem :)
Alquien
08/15/18 04:50 am
Just now playing catch up here but anyway, count me in for a donation. I love this archive!
Spiced Wine
08/14/18 12:21 pm
I think it’s important to keep these Tolkien specific archives going, especially with so many dying.
Shout Archive



Name: Narya (Signed) · Date: September 09, 2017 15:04 · For: Misunderstandings
A gorgeous piece exploring cultural difference. I am really enjoying this 'verse. (How many are there now, and what order should I read them all in? I'm probably jumping around somewhat at the moment...)

Author's Response:

Order: gosh, well there are a lot of stories in this as they are all my teitho stories. I would say go back to A different path, that's just after lost in translation. Then Masters of Fate, the Brocthers you already read, then Hands of the King, misunderstandings, Rain Dancing, What you were meant to be, Time waits for no Man, growing pains, the price he pays, Kings and Princes, A Last Conversation and Homecoming. 

 

Also Darkness in your Heart and Fire Dancing on our souls fit in there somewhere but they are both LONG stories! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 07, 2017 12:39 · For: Kings and Princes
The price of the sea-longing is high for poor Legolas. He has tried to resist it, but its making his life a misery.
Losing his love of home realising much has changed there, when in reality he has changed.
He's trying so hard to find a niche somewhere, so he can stay close to Aragorn, and he can't seem to find anything to enjoy anymore, hence wanting to just spend time with Aragorn doing anything that reminds him of the good old days.
Loved this! :)

Author's Response:

Yes, you have it in a nutshell. The sealonging has disrupted Legolas' sense of home. And home is so important to him, so entwined within his fea and identity that he has been left adrift. Anchorless and oarless. 

The loss of "home" is the cruelest thing about the sealonging for him I think. 

And he does, as you say, grasp desperatly for secure comforting moments from the past to get him through. 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 05, 2017 6:47 · For: Misunderstandings
Wow! So many misunderstandings.
I love the way you've written Legolas's naivety, when dealing with Aragorn, Aragorn's feelings, and expressions.
Men must seem quite alien and perplexing to him. I had to laugh a little at how they were misconstruing each other it was so sweet and innocent.
I think one of my favourite parts was when Aragorn told Legolas not to change. A wonderful sign of Aragorn's love for Leggi.
Loved it! :)

Author's Response:

This is set early after the war of the ring and my Legolas has had little contact with Men before then. This is kind of a window into how Aragorn confuses him. Little bits of language, mannerisms, behaviours, seem alien and incomprehensible to him. (And visa versa as we saw in the last story, Aragorn also finds Legolas confusing sometimes) They don't have an easy friendship these two, in my stories, but still they preservere with each other and it does get better as the years go on. Eventually Legolas will be able to read Aragorn better than this! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 04, 2017 7:51 · For: A Different Path
I think Legolas really surprised Aragorn, showing his vulnerable side.
Something I don't think Aragorn thought he had and forgetting too that not all Elves are alike.
I did feel sorry for Legolas when he kept referring to Aragorn's brother's as better than him. Poor thing.
So Aragorn learnt a few lessons in this chapter and a few things about Elves he did not expect.
Great stuff Cheekybeak! :D

Author's Response:

Ah, yes, this is the first one. Aragorn doesn't know Legolas at all here. He had a lot to learn about the Silvan. Most of all that he can't assume he will behave exactly like the Noldor. So this is where they started off with their communication...hopefully it improves throughout the other stories! 



Name: Gabriel (Signed) · Date: June 03, 2017 5:56 · For: A Last Conversation
Out of all the Men of Middle-earth, Aragorn is my favourite. I was trying to figure out why, and came to the conclusion that he has had a lot to overcome, is valiant, kind and generous, not that other Men aren't, but I think the most significant thing that makes him a great character is his upbringing. Living in Imladris and having Elrond as a step father and mentor.
He understands Elves like no other man who has ever lived, even Turin, and we all know what Turin did to repay the Elves for their kindness.
And so, here's Aragorn, tired and worn from life, coming to terms with death and the grief of it and wanting to spend what little time he has left with family and friends. Understanding Legolas as best a man can an Elf without being one and not wanting to spend this time he has wallowing in anguish over what has been, and will be, what he cannot change. He just wants Legolas's company, plain and simple.
So beautifully done Cheekybeak!
Aragorn's acceptance, {what else can he do}, and Legolas's denial.
So very sad and you've done this in a way so sweet and simple yet complex.
Oh, there's so much more I'd like to say, but am afraid I'll repeat myself.
Loved It :)

Author's Response:

Oh I am glad you liked this! Good to meet an Aragorn sympathiser. (He was my favourite in the movies) This is actually the fourth in a series of conversations between these two which show the development of their friendship. The other stories are "A different Path, "Misunderstandings" and "Kings and Princes" You might enjoy them, in that order, ...and they do add more background to this scene. It also has a sequel. "Homecomings" I won't say much more about that...it would only be a spoiler! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2017 16:09 · For: A Last Conversation

"I want to ride with you on the Pelennor, the wind in our hair as we evade your guards; I want to run across the fields of Rohan, evil snapping at our heels as we search for our friends. You, Gimli and I, the Three Hunters. I want that, Aragorn."

 

That is what I want too, CB- I want that, not this terible, heart-wrenching goodbye that is the end of the fellowsip- I can't bar it. You hae me bwawling my heart out over this and I only read it beciase it;s you. I NEVER read end of the fellowship- too sad. I have read this before I think- must hve been on Teitho and thought it excellent written but miserable and tragic.

I miss him already. I miss him with all my heart, but I have been missing him for years now. Not the Legolas who sits before me, tired, weary and exhausted from years of resisting the call of the sea. Oh no, it is the bright, mischievious Legolas I miss. The Legolas who ran ahead of us across the snow as if he had not a care in the world, laughing at us as he went; the Legolas who arrived in Imladris all those years ago, wide-eyed, young and naive. . . That flighty, volatile, mercurial Legolas with his sense of fun. 

 

 

 

I lost that Legolas years ago.

 

 

 

And so now I let my friend go. I give him room to leave and find that old Legolas again, somewhere over the sea. 

 

 

 

I give him the greatest gift I have to give.

 

 

 

 I walk away.

 

So unfair to make me cry like this. It is the best of the Eof the F stories ever though so I suppose I forgive you.



Author's Response:

I am glad you forgive me, and thanks for reading it when you usually wouldn't. It is sad ........ But it's not the end. Not for my characters anyway. I know you have read the story of their reunion, (which I wrote because I just have never been able to bear the thought of them separated forever.) Go read it again to cheer yourself up, it's called "Homecoming" Same characters and knowing what happens in that story makes this one easier to bear. :-) 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: May 28, 2017 21:47 · For: A Last Conversation

Yay! Finally Aragorn is doing the right thing!

Yes, I know I'm supposed to be sad, but I'm just too glad Aragorn is finally setting Legolas free to sail! Beautifully written though :)



Author's Response:

Ha, ha, I should have known you would react like this! Yes Aragorn is stepping up to the plate and doing the right thing.......but Legolas doesn't think it is! :-( 



Name: Nash (Signed) · Date: April 02, 2017 23:01 · For: A Different Path
A BRILLIANT story! I love it! You Legolas is a charmer!

Author's Response:

Thanks :-) I am glad you liked it. He IS a charmer isn't he. Sweet, unpredictable, entertaining, and very confusing for Aragorn! 



Name: mangacrack (Signed) · Date: March 21, 2017 22:30 · For: A Different Path

I love the age difference between Legolas and the mentioned Sons of Elrond. In other fics they get treated pretty much the same, but age and training can make a lot of difference in maturity. Seeing Legolas with such insecurities is a nice change.



Author's Response:

Yes, I always see Legolas as young...(elf wise) and much younger than the Sons of Elrond. In canon he was untraveled....he kept saying he had never been places or didn't know places...I think he was pretty sheltered within Mirkwood. My Legolas, in all these early Fellowship stories, is young and naive and often confused by mortals and the Noldor. The quest makes him grow up quite a bit! 



Name: KimicThranduilion (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2017 21:54 · For: A Different Path
I really enjoyed this. I love the way you write Legolas so wild and mercurial I just love to read him that way - wild and truly silvan. Love it! I also find it quite interesting to see a POV of where Aragorn and Legolas are not best bus some buddies and Aragorn has to puzzle him out. A refreshing change. Great one shot.

Author's Response:

My Legolas and Aragorn have a challenging friendship. It isn't an easy one, the whole way along. In all the stories they have some conflict...and yet they are still the deepest of friends despite that. They are friends even though they don't see eye to eye and often misunderstand each other. They really have to work hard at it. Personally I think it makes the friendship all the greater! 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 21:09 · For: A Different Path

Yes - that feels right!



Author's Response:

Ok then! Will have to think about its content :-)



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 20:12 · For: A Different Path

Yes - it does work well with the other one.  But I think that it feels as if, were you to put them together, it would be better with a middle chapter...



Author's Response:

Oh, interesting!! 

I hadn't thought of that, but yes! Hmm......I wonder when I should place it? At the end of the quest maybe. 



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2017 17:31 · For: A Different Path

I have been missing for too long - mainly family stuff.  But I am so pleased to have found time to sit quietly and read this - it has done me as much good as the trees did Legolas!



Author's Response:

Hey! So good to see you. :-) Hope things have settled down. 

Glad you liked this. Poor Aragorn, suddenly confronted with such a confusing kind of elf. This should be paired with a one shot I wrote about a month ago, which is after the quest and Aragorn does much better then. I kind of think I need to fuse them together into one story with two chapters....but am undecided, so for now they remain as two separate stories! 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 21:08 · For: A Different Path

Very sweet one-shot. I like the mercurial way Legolas drops his anger and the ending with Gimli also relenting. Nice ot have a good Aragorn pov as well



Author's Response:

Thanks. The first glimpse of understanding between Gimli and Legolas here...of course it will be short lived—for now....

Poor old Aragorn, trying to get his head round a silvan like Legolas after all the haughty Noldor he grew up with!  



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 10:14 · For: A Different Path

Ah - yes, of course regions so far apart would have very different accents. I have a vivid memory of asking directions from someone in Newcastle, and neither of us understanding the other! Your logic makes perfect sense.

Funnily enough, I always imagine Legolas's accent to be Welsh, too.



Author's Response:

It must be true then! If you and I both think so. 

I also had times in the UK when I ended up saying the same thing over and over, just louder and louder, to someone and they just could not understand me.....and yet we both spoke English. Of course Aragorn had floated through and around Gondor at one time or another but we will ignore that...for the purposes of this story he spoke to Legolas in his posh Sindarin accent. Maybe he knew Legolas wouldn't have a hope of understanding the Gondorian Sindarin! 

 



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 9:33 · For: A Different Path

I really enjoyed this, although it would have been even better if Legolas had punched Aragorn :D

One question, though - I thought the people of Minas Tirith spoke a form of Sindarin, so wouldn't Boromir have understood it?



Author's Response:

 

He couldn't understand the Imladris accent.....I imagine Aragorns Sindarin sounded like someone who went to Eton, (very posh) Legolas' was less refined......hmm...maybe he was more like a Welshman, (love the sing song welsh accent).....and Boromir?? His Sindarin made him sound like a Brummie, or a Geordie, or something equally incomprehensible. None of them could understand HIM. He probably spoke in the Sindarin equivalent of rhyming slang. 

 

Legolas got close to punching Aragorn....he really did. Closest yet I reckon. :-)



Name: jules (Signed) · Date: March 17, 2017 8:35 · For: A Different Path
you have a great perspective on elves - we think Legolas is old, yet he is young by elven reckoning, and acting his age! And Gimli seems to realise he (Gimli) is not acting his age! Really enjoyed this, thank you!

Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, Legolas, even though he is way older in years, is much younger developmentally and emotionally than Aragorn. He really is just a young man here....and he misses home.

And Gimli had a bit of a wake up call. But it doesn't last of course, still at least they all got one evenings break from the elven/dwarven bickering. :-)  



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 15:22 · For: Kings and Princes

A bitter-sweet moment, the love they have and the sacrifice Legolas made to be faithful to Aragorn. Lovely.



Author's Response:

I usually write these two at odds, with Aragorn making a complete mess of things and Legolas being stubborn. I had a sudden compulsion to show them when their communication worked.....because Aragorn does know what he is doing with Legolas—most of the time—it's just that would be boring to write. :-) And to point out their friendship is not a one way thing. They both benefit, and they both need each other. Glad you liked it.



Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: February 11, 2017 9:35 · For: Kings and Princes

I love the roundabout way Legolas alerts Aragorn to his state of mind. Very wood-Elven! 



Author's Response:

Yeah, my Legolas has problems asking for help or showing weakness. He had to find some way to communicate to Aragorn which would mean Aragorn came to him, not the other way round. I didn't know he was an artist until I wrote this. Now it makes sense that he is! 



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:33 · For: Misunderstandings

“he begins but the wind chooses that very moment to ruffle my hair and whisper in my ear of things it has seen. It has come from the forest and brings with it the smell of pine for me to revel in. I am lost in it.”

It’s things like this that are just so perfect.  Legolas is such a Wood-elf in the way you write him in these stories.  I am enchanted.

And it’s not that I couldn’t feel how much of one he was in your other works, I could, but I think maybe because we are seeing him often from the eyes of those who do not know him well that his differences to other Elves stands out more.  It’s really well done!

 

This story did end on a note of melancholy, but in truth, I find it right that it did so.  You’ve written Aragorn’s friendship Legolas as a beautiful thing (though they speak a different language half the time, and that is something I find so interesting because I don’t think I’ve ever seen this written before, but it makes so much sense that these miscommunications would be between them at times), but Legolas’ worry about Aragorn’s health, the way it is always at the back of his mind, and that quiet end to their conversation was full of the shadow of sorrow that would pass over them one day, and it made their relationship all the deeper to remember that it endured this coming fate as well.



Author's Response:

Oh so pleased he feels Wood-elfy! That's what I want to get across. That he is different from other Elves....very different from the Noldor Twins for example and this is part of what causes Aragorn problems. Aragorn thinks he knows elves. He grew up with them and believes he understands them well. But he grew up with Noldor elves and can be guilty of making assumptions about Legolas based on that and getting things oh so very wrong! 

I do write Legolas and Aragorns relationship as a difficult one in all these stories. It is not simple for them to be close for a myriad of reasons on both sides. I think what makes their depth of friendship so special is the fact they cherish it despite that. They persevere with each other even though it can be difficult. There is something there that is worth them fighting for.

Glad the melancholy worked! You picked up on exactly what I wanted there!



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 10, 2016 5:03 · For: Masters of Fate

“The Fellowship turn as a man to see him, to see what he laughs at for why would he possibly be laughing here? He tosses his head, golden hair glowing in the dark, unconcerned at the scrutiny and grins at me.”

Legolas is so freaking beautiful.  I just love that he is the Fellowship’s light, and the way they depend upon him to lift their spirits.  It’s really beautiful.

 

But I love that he is more than that too, that there is darkness he broods over and insecurities.  Gosh, I have really fallen in love with the way we wrote in here!  It’s just so freaking good.



Author's Response:

Oh that is so exactly how I see him. The Fellowships light. I think that is such a big reason why Elrond chose him and so important for the others! But yes, there is more to him than just that. I didn't want him to be one dimensional ... He comes into this with a back story and his own issues bought from his dark woods. His strangth is being able to overcome those dark places within him and still shine his light regardless. 

 

Of course also the ring is here in this story and magnifying both Legolas' prejudice and defensiveness and also Aragorn's own insecurities. Just subtly, subtly working away at their weaknesses. But Legolas pushes through! 



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: September 21, 2016 20:27 · For: Misunderstandings
Ooh, this was wonderful! I loved Legolas consoling Aragorn by telling him 'he'd probably bounce'. Typical Legolas. So funny. I'd say he's a little cock-sure with his whole attitude here, but knowing elves, he's probably right.

I know just what Aragorn's thinking though...Legolas slips one of these times and he's left lying broken, bleeding on the stone. -sniff- Horrible. I'm glad they made up so well, :] ...and that you posted it. It was lovely.

Author's Response: Well hello there! This was the first ever story I wrote with my non-slash Legolas so I was finding my way with my characterisation of him here. He IS supremely confident about his ability to balance on high places, but that's because he can! Elven....Silvan....He is never going to fall and to him that is just something so inate....so inbuilt...that he cannot understand why anyone would question it. For poor Aragorn however, simply watching his friend somewhere so precarious makes him uneasy. Even though he knows on one level Legolas is safe. Still his brain rebels at the sight. This was a bad day for them. I imagine normally they get on much better. My theory is the wind sent Legolas a bit crazy, and suddenly Aragorn's steadiness became harder for him to understand!!


Name: Naledi (Signed) · Date: April 07, 2016 16:25 · For: Masters of Fate

I thought I'd already reviewed this - obviously not! I'm really enjoying these glimpses of Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli (well, less of Aragorn - you know my feelings about him! - but still, I enjoy your version of how he relates to Legolas).

I like how mercurial Legolas appears here. Almost like a sulky teenager at one point, because Gandalf has failed to consult him, then his mood switching to merry in a blink. 

I liked how he sent Aragorn to tell Gandalf to think more like an Elf. And really, Gandalf should have known better. I've always been angry on Legolas's behalf on how his worth and contribution seems to be ignored. Gandalf just seems to use him as a walking, talking telescope at times!

Ooh, getting  all hot under the collar. I'd better go for a walk to calm down!



Author's Response: Oh I like that! A walking, talking telescope.......that's exactly how it was! I can't avoid writing Aragorn in these I have discovered, much as I would sometimes like to.....so I am trying to point out his imperfections instead........because, you know, he annoys me just as much as you. I think part of Legolas' moodiness in this one is the Ring, whispering to him outside Moria about how little the others think of him and his people. Just for once he listened to it, but the lighthearted Legolas is never far away.


Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 20:56 · For: Masters of Fate

Re drabbles - I have written, literally a couple of hudred over the past 5 or 6 years - usually in sets of 5 or 6 at a time to make a short story - and so I have just posted the set I was reminded of when thinking of Legolas's similarities to Boromir...



Name: curiouswombat (Signed) · Date: April 01, 2016 16:29 · For: Masters of Fate

They do both carry that burden of ancestorswith one dimensional reputations, don't they?

I  think Legolas has, also, a number of things in common with Boromir, too.

Which reminds me - I have an awful lot of drabble sets that I haven't posted here...



Author's Response: Yeah they do.....when you think about it. I guess the difference is, because of elves longevity, while there are generations between Aragorn and Isildur so Isildur is no more than just a name to him, for Legolas, Oropher is very real. Even though he didn't meet him he has heard stories from people who actually did. The connection is a much more emotional one. I am intrigued to think Legolas might have things in common with Boromir too....haven't thought of that! ........... Ooh, what Drabble sets??


No results found.
You must login () to review.