| Login | Lost Password | Help | Rules | | |

Most Recent

The trails of Nan Elmoth by Chiara Cadrich Mature
Proud and solitary, Aredhel rides freely in the deep forests of Beleriand. She believes she escaped the destiny intended...
Freedom by mangacrack General Audiences
"Do you have any clue where we are?" Elladan asked his brother and looked around. There must be some clues where they ended...
Shadows Of The Past by Starfox General Audiences
After a disastrous incident in the mountains Elrond's past experience allows him to help Thranduil and Legolas cope with...
A Dawn Of Many Colors by Pink Siamese Mature
How many books out of worlds and worlds out of books? This is the story of Janet Lambert, a thirtysomething college student...
Fire Dancing Upon Our Souls by cheekybeak Teen
Sequel to "The Hands of the King" AND "Darkness in Your Heart" Misunderstanding and heartache cause antagonism between Legolas...
Summer Heat by Glorfindel Explicit
A modern day, elves who never sailed, detective story in the style of film noir. Erestor was the most evil...
Melpomaen the Elfling by Glorfindel Explicit
Melpomaen is a reborn elfling. He has two fathers because Saruman cursed one of them to fall pregnant to the next elf they...

Site Info

Members: 468
Series: 78
Stories: 1561
Chapters: 7939
Word count: 23566406
Authors: 134
Reviews: 14011
Reviewers: 215
Newest Member: paradis artificiels
Beta-reader: 29
Recommendations: 52
Recommenders: 13
Challenges: 14
Challengers: 9
 

Who's Online

Guests: 3
Members:

Shoutbox

Caunedhiel
05/21/17 02:18 pm
Lost my 1 year old cat oreo this weekend! been out looking for him, posted to facebook, rang the vets but nothing has been seen of him since friday :( very worried its so unusual for him
Naledi
05/20/17 04:57 pm
Yes the bit I did was near Ludlow - around the Knighton and Kington sections. I love Ludlow, too!
ziggy
05/20/17 10:01 am
Naledi- where abouts on Offa's dyke? I've walked a bit of that- near Ludlow. Love Ludlow!!! Great restaurants too. I'll go with you next time:)
Naledi
05/19/17 11:53 pm
Thanks, Cheeky. As you've seen, I found it. I'm not long back from a few days walking a section of Offa's Dyke. So tired!
cheekybeak
05/18/17 10:25 am
Hi Naledi! This time "Fire" really is updated.
Caunedhiel
05/16/17 12:27 am
@ ziggy thank you :) hopefully i can
ziggy
05/15/17 11:58 pm
@Caunedhiel- you have to just keep writing through the blocks- even if you ditch it, you have to keep the habit. With all of us cheering you on!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
hopefully i get somewhere with my Evelyn story before it runs out for another couple of years!!
Caunedhiel
05/15/17 10:01 pm
actually feeling inspired to write lately. what is wrong with me?! XD
Pink Siamese
05/13/17 02:59 am
@Alquien it's 10 years old, so...no worries, it's not like it's going anywhere :-)
Shout Archive



Name: Caunedhiel (Signed) · Date: May 18, 2017 0:36 · For: Full brothers in blood
Ohh i love this so much. i wasnt even planning on reading tonight but i started on this and i couldnt put it down! please tell me there is a sequel? i need to know what happens. thanks so much for the wonderful story xx

Author's Response:

Hi!

I am very happy you liked this story! I'd love to know what you liked and which parts are you favorite!

I have plenty of ideas for many sequels. I don't know when I will start writing again, but I like this story and Mirfin is one of my favorite characters, so I think I will come back to him at some point. My ideas for sequels involve Mirfin having a kid and Fëanor being 100% not okay with his nephew being raised in Angband, Epic Embroidery, Gil-Galad as Mirfin's son (I mean why not, that would explain why no one knows whose kid he is), Melkor showing up again and Eöl being creepy.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: October 30, 2016 10:14 · For: Fight or flight

Those were days of stones and bones; a time when the elves knew little of the shining veins of earth; a time when it took little to fill their eyes with wonder.

 

A WONDERFUL opening line! And your writing just goes on in that gorgeous vein of rich imagery and poetry

 

 a voice, slow and deep and deliberate; it came from the deeper shadows under the trees, from an elf-shaped creature that moved with the softness of a wolf. The warm light of Eöl’s fire shone only on the bone-whiteness of a mask carved in ivory, crowned with snowy hair like Thingol’s.

 

I want to steal this! JUst beautifully written Kalendeer. And I love this linking to your longer fic - but this is on its own a great piece of writing.



Author's Response:

Well that's Mirfin for you, he's sexy and dangerous and a sorcerer (even if that's easy to forget since he doesn't do any sorcery past the first chapter of Full brothers in blood XD). I love his silver mask but the ivory mask is so wild and creepy, there's a Morrowind feel to it <3 (also the white hair; I think the Mulaks and Gashans have white hair because Thingol's hair turned to white when he married Melian, so it's something of a "royalty thing" in pre-noldorin ME).



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 4:11 · For: Fight or flight

Nooooo!  Eol what are you doing!  Gosh that was the perfect way to lure him in!  But somehow it feels all the more tragic that he choose this when I do believe he was tortured once he got there (like, I am sure they didn't spar the whip if he failed to ever lived up to their high demands).  Unless this story is not cannon compliant and Eol's fate is a lot different as one of Mirfin's people?  I am curious why Mirfin picked out Eol?  Was he on the look out for Elves to lure away or was it something about Eol especially that caught his interest?



Author's Response:

Well as someone who was not born in Angband like Mirfin was, Eöl probably had a hard time here; the title Simug, however, means "smith", and Eöl was recruited to be "quality" rather than a slave. The thing is that I got the impression that the early Sindar did not work metal themselves and bought their weapons from the dwarves, Eöl being a notable exception of this... so where did he learn? Did he invent everything himself? In my opinion, Eöl ranked as beta, so he lived well in Angband, but he is also someone who likes solitude and values freedom (but fails to secure it for himself everytime he tries, he just emprison himself). At some point I guess he just walked away while he was out searching for ore lol. It was because he had few markings of his captivity that he could return to Menegroth so easily, thought Melian and Thingol were probably suspicious. Escaping if you are a beta before Melkor's return is actually very easy, especially since there are commercial relations with the Avari, who trade food for manufactured goods.

Mirfin was on the look out for elves, but not just any elves. Mairon wouldn't send out one of his Mulaks just for a petty razzia (he does send uruks, but not Mirfin). Mirfin would be sent out to select elves to be shaped into beta for his own people; Eöl definitly caught his interest since he was obviously as backward as all those Sindar (they don't write, they don't work metal, while the Tatyarsh are already working with Iron), but he was trying to invent a forge on his own... so definitly beta material, perhaps even alpha material. He could definitly picture a future Gashan here.



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: October 28, 2016 4:10 · For: Fight or flight

Nooooo!  Eol what are you doing!  Gosh that was the perfect way to lure him in!  But somehow it feels all the more tragic that he choose this when I do believe he was tortured once he got there (like, I am sure they didn't spar the whip if he failed to ever lived up to their high demands).  Unless this story is not cannon compliant and Eol's fate is a lot different as one of Mirfin's people?  I am curious why Mirfin picked out Eol?  Was he on the look out for Elves to lure away or was it something about Eol especially that caught his interest?



Name: Encairion (Signed) · Date: September 11, 2016 22:25 · For: Full brothers in blood

I read this entire story in one sitting (and tracked down the rest of it on AO3 too!).  It was fantastic!  Very addictive :)  The world building you did here is just wow!

You did such a realistic job showing how Mirfin went from a normal Elf child to a killer.  His character is very well done.  I think what I liked the most about him is that he is completely brainwashed (or maybe socialized is a better word?) into both Angbad’s religion as well as its brutal culture, to the point that he sees it all as completely normal, but at the same time he is not monstrous.  He is still human.  He is still capable of love and caring for his people.  He is not very in tune with his emotions but they are there (and I am so glad he met Feanor and have loved watching their journey together because Mirfin has become more and more aware the ‘soft’ parts of himself that he hadn’t allowed himself to really experience in a long time).

I also really like his complicated feelings over Finwe, and the way Miriel is such a presence through the story.  I also like how Feanor and Mirfin have a love of languages that they share :)

Sauron, and the entire world he’s pretty much been the architect of, is SO well done!  I really like the twist where we learn that Morogth hadn’t always been evil, but that he went mad in his imprisonment (which I can see because it lasted 3 Ages), and I like how Sauron is battling himself now o not become the monster he will one day be.  He’d not a good person right now either.  Melkor wasn’t poisoned when Sauron was helping Fluithin steal Elven children and in-doctorate them when their minds were young and tender.  He’s very much not a good person.  But he was once more then a spirit of hate and malice that he is in the Third Age.  I just really love how you wrote him!

And Feanor.  Where to start?  To be honest, I was really hesitant to read this story because I don’t tend to like stories where Feanor is captured by Morgoth.  I just get really distressed while reading them, and so I was fearful.  I was worried for the first few chapters that I wouldn’t be able to handle this story (and this has nothing to do with the writing, it is written beautifully, it’s that I personally have trouble dealing with Feanor as a prison in Angbad), but I am so glad I kept reading because there was hope in the end!!!!  That’s something that I need in a scenario like that.  I need hope that one day Feanor will be free and united with his sons.

I have two favorite scenes with him.  The first is when Morgoth almost rapes him.  That scene….was so powerful and so life altering for Feanor.  He was so human; he was terrified and vunrable.  And Morgoth saw this and suddenly saw Feanor was human too and it was almost like Feanor’s worth decreased when Morgoth tossed him aside because he wasn’t perfection, and that, that really hurt but really moved me because it was like this fear he’d had since childhood came true.  Someone saw he wasn’t perfect, and they threw him away.  I think Feanor had striven to be perfect for so long because that’s what he thought he had to be and what everyone told him he must be (in their own way, probably without meaning it to come across that way, but it did).  And so while it should have been a relief that Morogth’s attention withdrew from him, the way Morogth tossed him away like a broken doll, like some piece of trash, even though it meant Feanor would not be raped, still hurt because even though Morogth shouldn’t have had the power to degrade Feanor’s worth, it felt like in that moment he did, and somehow because he no longer wanted Feanor Feanor ‘s worth was cheapened. 

Not that I think Feanor’s worth was cheapened, but that Feanor in the story felt like he was having to struggle with these thoughts, and it felt like Sauron thought the same, it felt, in those moments after Morogth tossed him aside, like everyone knew Morgoth now thought Feanor nothing really special and so they would all think so too –or like, Feanor thought they would?

Sorry.  I feel like I made no sense trying to articulate this.  It was a really powerful scene, and it left me feeling so sad, I was almost crying.

The second scene that I loved the most was in the last chapter when Feanor re-decorates their quarters.  His blue hair.  That paintbrush with the orange paint sticking out of his hair.  That smile.  That laugh.  That hope.  So much hope.  Gods, that scene was like drinking sunshine.  It was so incredibly beautiful, and I was damn near crying tears of happiness!  I will never get over that scene.  Never.

 

I will tell you know though, that I won’t be able to handle it if that hope does not bear fruit.  I won’t be able to handle it if things go down in the First Age with the war like they did in cannon.  I just can’t.  It would kill me.  So please warn me if the sequel is going to trample my hope and Feanor’s dreams because I love this story and your writing is brilliant and this is a masterpiece, but for my own heart I won’t be able to handle reading this all turn into despair.



Author's Response:

I think Fëanor must exist somewhere, you know, because I was just starring at my Sultry in September fic and feeling highly depressed. I just started a new job and have very little time to write, but I managed to find 4 hours to write efficiently this week end. There was some very nice Fëanor-stuff in the 4000 words I wrote. And then I accidentaly deleted all of that and can't get it back (I tried, but it is hopeless), and I can't write this evening because I need to get up early tomorrow. So I was just there raging when I got a mail that I had a review, and here it is: a nice review about sad Fëanor (the part that I actually lost ah ah) and happy Fëanor (the part I was hoping to write but now I am 4000 words late for ah ah ah).

So yay I think Fëanor told you that I needed this review right now, and it makes me so happy!

"And Feanor.  Where to start?  To be honest, I was really hesitant to read this story because I don’t tend to like stories where Feanor is captured by Morgoth.  I just get really distressed while reading them, and so I was fearful.  I was worried for the first few chapters that I wouldn’t be able to handle this story (and this has nothing to do with the writing, it is written beautifully, it’s that I personally have trouble dealing with Feanor as a prison in Angbad), but I am so glad I kept reading because there was hope in the end!!!!  That’s something that I need in a scenario like that.  I need hope that one day Feanor will be free and united with his sons."

Well Fëanor's stay in Angband is not going to be happy, but I won't be 100% unhappiness either. I try to keep myself from spoiling too much but right now, the planned ending is supposed to be happy for Fëanor (well, as happy as he can be considering the mess that his life is). It can change, though, but I am not really into 100% sad endings.

"I have two favorite scenes with him.  The first is when Morgoth almost rapes him.  That scene….was so powerful and so life altering for Feanor.  He was so human; he was terrified and vunrable.  And Morgoth saw this and suddenly saw Feanor was human too and it was almost like Feanor’s worth decreased when Morgoth tossed him aside because he wasn’t perfection, and that, that really hurt but really moved me because it was like this fear he’d had since childhood came true.  Someone saw he wasn’t perfect, and they threw him away.  I think Feanor had striven to be perfect for so long because that’s what he thought he had to be and what everyone told him he must be (in their own way, probably without meaning it to come across that way, but it did).  And so while it should have been a relief that Morogth’s attention withdrew from him, the way Morogth tossed him away like a broken doll, like some piece of trash, even though it meant Feanor would not be raped, still hurt because even though Morogth shouldn’t have had the power to degrade Feanor’s worth, it felt like in that moment he did, and somehow because he no longer wanted Feanor Feanor ‘s worth was cheapened." 

I think you really got what happened to him and why Morgoth behaves the way he does. Melkor desired Fëanor when he was perfection, his idea of the Flame, something exceptionnal. This is why the description of Fëanor in that scene is really "un-fëanorian": honestly he looks like a sad person with the flue and a silly necklace. That is way too normal for the Fëanor Melkor wanted. He would have liked Fëanor to attack him or fight back, but beg? No. And this Fëanor has been fed with LACE all his life and believes in what he was taught. He can be very brave but rape is something that is impossible to resist for him.

There is, of course, the problem of Fëanor's self worth. He started to doubt before he arrived in Angband. I think Fëanor hasn't crafted anything of value since the Silmarils, he messed things up in Tirion so hard that he was exiled, the march north was a disaster, Alqualondë an accident, and at this point I don't think he even knew why he burnt the ships. He saw his royal guards (most of whom were loyal supporters and friends) die around him and he couldn't fight back. He tries to craft something and fail. There is already all this doubts, and there come Melkor who decides that he is not worth it, and Sauron who can ask him anything but doesn't because... he's not worth it? I think Sauron was even more damaging than Melkor because he is a fellow apprentice of Aulë.

And then there is Mirfin. Let us not forget the damages Mirfin did. Sure, Mirfin did not see his treatment of Fëanor, but he treated him (and he kept doing that until the point when Fëanor becomes a Gashan) like a child. He spoke to him like he was a child, kept lecturing him, kept him isolated, used violence and pain, used guilt and belittled everything he did. Fëanor is not entirely falling for that and in some of Mirfin's chapters he is just pretending, but I think this was very damaging.

"Not that I think Feanor’s worth was cheapened, but that Feanor in the story felt like he was having to struggle with these thoughts, and it felt like Sauron thought the same, it felt, in those moments after Morogth tossed him aside, like everyone knew Morgoth now thought Feanor nothing really special and so they would all think so too –or like, Feanor thought they would?"

There is one thing that I would have loved to put somewhere, but unfortunatly this is the kind of things Mairon would tell only to the Voiceless. I think I will have to bring her at some point for Mairon's sake; this Maia really is the plot saver lol.

Mairon's feelings toward Fëanor were of absolute hate at this point. He was left alone for thousands of years, creating a perfect society for Melkor, elves to worship him, writing and law and technics. He was very proud of himself (and in some way, he is very much a student of Aulë and did what his master did with the dwarves). Mairon may not be very emotional but in his own way he loves his people and is proud of them.

And then Melkor arrives and Fëanor overshadows everything. Mairon made huge technological progresses all by himself, he created art, but Melkor just... doesn't like it. Melkor likes what Fëanor creates. He wants Fëanor. He sacrifices thousands of troops like they are nothing just to get that one Fëanor, who is stronger, healthier and more threatening than Mairon's own elves.

Just think for a moment: Mirfin was Mairon's favorite. He is intelligent, brave, devoted and a good fighter. He has been trained for war and strategy all his life... and gets wrecked in combat by Fëanor in three days. Mirfin was taught Valarin by Mairon himself. He is trained in Song of Power for the sake of war. Yet Fëanor managed to beat him despite being exhausted and clearly mad. There is a very good reason for Mairon not to punish Mirfin for his failure: this is the moment when Mairon understands that his elves will never compete. Mirfin was the treasure Mairon hoped to present to Melkor, but Melkor has another son of Finwë and Miriel that is just better at everything he does.

Mairon had his doubts, but because of the way Melkor used Fëanor, he decided never to show his alphas or beta to him. Melkor is threat to his people. He will never appreciate them for what they are and he will never see Mirfin as anything else that some uninteresting, less flamboyant version of Fëanor.

The fact that Mirfin knows and feels this too, but still wants to help and protect Fëanor is very telling about him and the nobility of his character, I think.

"Sorry.  I feel like I made no sense trying to articulate this.  It was a really powerful scene, and it left me feeling so sad, I was almost crying."

It was honestly hard to write and because there is 0 attempt at using this scene as a kink, I think it was triggering. I am usually not triggering by noncon when it is obviously supposed to be kinky; in this setting, well, it wasn't.

"The second scene that I loved the most was in the last chapter when Feanor re-decorates their quarters.  His blue hair.  That paintbrush with the orange paint sticking out of his hair.  That smile.  That laugh.  That hope.  So much hope.  Gods, that scene was like drinking sunshine.  It was so incredibly beautiful, and I was damn near crying tears of happiness!  I will never get over that scene.  Never."

I love this scene very much! I wanted it to be silly, and important because it is silly. I know it clearly isn't showing but I thought about Frodo for this. At this end of LOTR, Frodo is unable to remember happyness, grass or water, or what the sky is supposed to look like. I think this is what despair looks like. Despair is when you cannot remember what you miss, what used to make you happy.

So here is Fëanor, stranded in the middle of Angband with no way to get out, just like Frodo is stranded in Mordor with a goal that seems unreachable. He's been hit so many times he considered killing himself for good and allowed himself to be treated like a child, but now he has an opportunity to decides to do things. He can decide to stop changing and hold on who he still is. He can decide to do whatever he wants with his body, and he WILL keep the blue hair because it feels empowering for him, even if it's really unambitious compared to what he used to do. The blue is the proof that his body belongs to him and him alone. He is a Gashan, if he wants to dress in pink and wear orange make up he will do so because he can.

"I will tell you know though, that I won’t be able to handle it if that hope does not bear fruit.  I won’t be able to handle it if things go down in the First Age with the war like they did in cannon.  I just can’t.  It would kill me.  So please warn me if the sequel is going to trample my hope and Feanor’s dreams because I love this story and your writing is brilliant and this is a masterpiece, but for my own heart I won’t be able to handle reading this all turn into despair."

Fortunatly for Fëanor, Mirfin made the "right" choice by chosing to change. They will never be lovers but they do behave like a loving couple, I think, and Mirfin will do everything to take care of his brother. Unfortunatly for Mirfin, it means he will be more vulnerable. His position will not be so secure anymore now that he is challenging order.

In some ways, Mirfin is a lot like your Fingolfin (which is, actually, what I was aiming for). He is reliable. He wants to be the steady one who will protect less steady members of his family. But at the same time, he is relying on Fluithin a lot; he has a thirst for affection that he didn't know was here.

The sequel is going to be... I think it will trample your heart a bit (eerrrr more like a lot), but there will always be hope. It will be a bit different because Fëanor will probably not be a narrator, but Fingolfin will get his own POV, Mirfin gets a LOT of bittersweet things happening to him. Eöl will probably be a main character as well and will have his own POV. Plus Fëanor will do some epic magic with embroidery, because hey, that's a thing in the family and he isn't called Therindion for nothing.

Some guidelines to survive book 2 with your heart whole:

  1. Mirfin will always be there for his little brother (and Mirfin may be weak compared to basically everyone else in the House of Finwë, he's still epic)
  2. Fëanor will always be an overpowered powerhouse and he's a bouncing ball so when exhausted, just leave him to sleep a bit and he will come back.
  3. Fëanor will burn you, your house, your family and your cat if you dare hurt his big brother. And this is going to show. Don't touch Mirfin. Ever. Fëanor has very dangerous magic ribbons in case you try to hurt Mirfin.
  4. Morgoth and Melkor are two different persons and Melkor is actually not evil. Melkor is the mightiest of the Valar and can do stuff that no one thought possible. Melkor is a walking Deus ex Machina and he loves Arda. 
  5. Mirfin belongs to the House of Finwë. He fucking belongs there in a way that was supposed to be 100% perfect. And one day it will be 100% perfect and someone will manage to fix this whole mess.

 

Thank you for the comment! I hope the Xmas fic will please you as much as this one did :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 23:46 · For: Full brothers in blood

Fluithin is a very very powerful character - there is something almost Gormenghastly about her and that is meant as a compliment (have you read Gormenghast? If so, you'll understnad and if not, you should). She's a strange mixture of poignant maternalism and knidness, and a rather 'Misery' -like obsessive. Scary and sad at the same time. It's really interesting how Feanaro is becoming normalised by Angband- a little StockholmSyndrome-esque. Absolutely credible and compelling.



Author's Response:

Hi!

I wanted a very "horror movie" feel for Fluithin. I mean, she was Melkor's girlfriend at some point in the Legendarium, and she's still living in Angband, so she cannot just be a nice mother, can she? I feel like she is a strong addition to my ever growing cohort of OCs, and I really like her!

I think Fëanaro is, indeed, developpement a Stockholm Syndrome, at least with Mirfin, though there are also "healthier" reasons for their relationship to develop (the same can be said with Mirfin who would have a Lima Syndrome). They were both very fond of their mother, even if they lost her pretty quickly and idealize her a lot, and they both like/are talented in linguistics. I felt it was important for them to have genuine hobbies together, because blood ties (especially for two persons who never met before) just aren't enough for them to grow close.

Thank you for all the reviews you sent me yesterday, they make me so happy!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 23:00 · For: Full brothers in blood

Ths is such a great story- I do hope you have time to write quickly -I have no idea where this is going, a few possibilites but it FEELS like it;s a long one and will twist and turn and be utterly original and enthralling as their relatonship develops..



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review - again! I have three other chapters finished and the last one (for the first book) half done, just waiting for me to finish Sultry in September. I will post chapter 8, chapter 9 and 10 are available on A03 (I don't want to post everything at once, kinda feels like spaming ^^").

I am so happy you like Fëanor and Mirfin! They are very fun together, I love writing them and their sad, sorry life XD



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:47 · For: Full brothers in blood

Wow- this is blowing my mind!! The philosophical nuances of this are really fascinating and thought provoking. Tolkien must be spinning in his grave:) Wonderful ideas, deeply intriguing and very well written. I love the completel sanity of Mairon, his intellectualism and cool objectivity.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I was a bit worried about this chapter since it's a lot of talking and not much happening, but the difference Melkor/Morgoth and Mairon/Sauron is very important for the plot, so I don't really know how to get rid of the huge blocks of monologue. I am happy you liked this and liked Mairon!



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: August 28, 2016 22:26 · For: Full brothers in blood

This is just so interesting, Kalendeer. Fascinating ideas and I love this hugely different perspective, eg the Holy Tongue. Nicely eastern gives this a very contemporary sort of edge where the Good/Bad dogmas are so apart hat no one can see another pov at times.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review ! Yep Mirfin definitly thinks he is the good guy but... well he isn't. I mean a good guy doesn't tie his brother to the wall and try to pet his head like a dog. You understood very well Mirfin's problem, though: he can't think differently because he never knew anything else!



Name: Arasa17 (Signed) · Date: June 08, 2016 4:01 · For: Little father

Oo, this was so well written.) I loved the 'he, who slept sprawled all over the bed, curled against me, a hand on my belly, even when the flatness betrayed no child.' So sweet.



Author's Response:

Thank you!



Name: Urloth (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2016 3:34 · For: Full brothers in blood

Oh... ohh I love stories like these that play with what happened before Aman and then bring that forward.



Author's Response:

Thank you for you review ! I hope you'll like the next chapter :)



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 15, 2016 13:46 · For: Full brothers in blood

I find this hard, the cruelty is so intense and your wonderful writing spares your reader nothing. I appreciate the honesty in that. No dressing up of the torture, nothing gratuitous, just pain and indignity. We are n't used to seeing Feanor so helpless either . I had thought Mairon wanted his knowledge for the Rings eventually but he doesn't even need that. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this review !!!

At first I wanted Mairon to do some "plundering", but I changed my mind while writing it because it was harsher for Fëanor. If Mairon doesn't ask anything of him, then he loses all value; if he has no value, then he is deprived of all agency and truly defenceless. Mairon probably thinks he'll be able to get the knowledge anyway later, he just wants to prove that he's the boss, he doesn't need tricks or negocations to win because he's *that* much stronger.

 



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2016 9:20 · For: Full brothers in blood

Regarding Fëanor's first battle, it's actually canon but weirdly written. The Silm gives the impression that Fëanor just charged toward Angband from Losgar, but unless he has divine horses of hell, it's highly unlikely since Angband isn't remotly near Losgar. There's actually a huge waterfall and a chain of mountains on the map between Losgar and Angband !The battle must also have happened several weeks after Losgar since Fëanor had the time to learn northern sindarin (unfortunatly, I learnt that particular fact after I wrote that Fëanor and Mirfin had not language in common, which is false since both speak northern sindarin, so I didn't include this part in the fic).

 

This battle is the battle under the star, and it was a huuuuuuuuge victory for the Noldor until Fëanor got trashed, right at the end of it. Celergorm especially seems to have led brillant charges. The battle must have lasted for days ; I think it happened between lake Mithrim and Angband, which is already quite a territory. So basically the first battle and the balrog battle is the same one :)

 

 

OOOh- I  never knew that!!! I'm not a huge student of the Silm as there is so little about the Wood-elves but have got more into it through Maedhros and Fingon. (Ho hum) But this is fascinating. So do you think then that they had been there for some time, fought battles, Feanor gets 'killed' and after a while Maedhros is captured in an attempt to parley? But he is going to be in NAgband for some time and Feanor has promised anyhting...although it;s not clear how long he IS in Angband I suppose? Looking forward to your very scholarly fics even more now!



Author's Response:

I think the first battle of Fëanor (the battle under the start) laster for days or weeks (much like the battles front WW1 which would actually last for days). Most of the battles of the Silmarillion are actually many little battles put together: they are more like several offensives, some usually targeting Fingolfin and his sons, others Finrod and his brothers, others the sons of Fëanor. The sons of Fëanor usually react by "losing" the first battle (Maglor's cavalry withdraws), then destroying the orcs by encircling them as they advance on their lands, then they take back lost lands.

Regarding the battle under the stars, I don't know if we have a detailed text about it somewhere. We know Fëanor was at lake Mithrim in Hithlum when he was attacked. The orcs crossed the mountain separating his followers from Angband. The battle may have started here if scouts had been sent to guard the mountains passes but we don't know if some were there. The orcs got trashed by the Noldor, who crossed the mountains instead and started to push toward Angband. Other orcs were besieging the Falas (hundreds of miles south !) and started to go north, hoping to get Fëanor by the rear, but Celegorm  destroyed them in the Fen of Serech (which means the noldorin army at this point was split in two ; I like to think, Celegorm being a renowed hunter, that he led the scouts and light cavalry). That's at least two "battles" in one. Then Fëanor, with high morals because the battle has been going amazingly well for days, get carried on toward Angband.

The thing is that Fëanor never fought at all before Alqualondë, and never fought an actual ennemy before the Battle under the stars. The Noldor may have met small parties of orcs but not a full army from Angband. The Valar were supposed to have wrecked Melkor's strongholds during the War for the sake of the Elves, so he can believe that there's no maiar here (and if Melkor has maiar, why did he send them to lead his armies? Fëanor can't know Melkor's style is to sacrifice the orcs first, then send the Balrogs). He thinks the battle is won, that Melkor is all but vanquished, he gets carried on, tries his luck and his luck fail.

I like this more detailled version because Fëanor looks like less of a hot-head, and more like a commander who is learning the job the hard way (so hard that he actually dies learning ah ah) and made an honest mistake at the end. What I still can't understand though is why the Balrogs didn't stand their ground against the sons of Fëanor. Were they already wounded/tired from their fight with Fëanor? Was Melkor really scared of losing them?

And yep Fëanor got "killed", stayed in limbo for some time (Fairëliantë's spinning takes some time), then Maedhros is captured and Fëanor meets with Morgoth. We'll see in the next chapter what Fëanor is asked to do to protect his son, and since we know Maedhros ends up hanging from the mountain, it obviously didn't end well.



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2016 19:50 · For: Full brothers in blood

Wow. This is Tolkien as he never understood himself- the darkest side. Melkor as mightiest of the Gods, Sauron/Mairon as the teacher of these elves and this fascinating and very very vcreepy Fairëliantë is absolutely the most brilliant character- complex and deep, her loyalties -intriguing. She advises Feanor, has served Irme, cares for, tortures, spins a web... is she Ungoliant? Of course- with her many arms and eyes. 

 

Oh- my lovely Nelyo is here, and it is his love for his son that will bind and break Feanor. Brilliant.



Author's Response:

Hi again!

I'm so glad you like Fairëliantë! She's an absolute bitch. I hope she creeps everyone, because I find her pretty horryfing. She's not Ungoliant but she's not any better.

Mairon and Melkor, though, have their good sides. Sometimes. Mairon has more of them than Melkor at this point. If you like Mairon you will see plenty of him, he's one of the main characters :)

And yep, I think I could summarize the fic with the sentences "Fëanor breaks again and again and again" and "Mirfin tries".



Name: ziggy (Signed) · Date: May 07, 2016 19:23 · For: Full brothers in blood

Well. I have to say that I am absolutely intrigued! There is so much thought about the context/ development of the world of Angand, the way the Balrogs act (and I love your descripions o f them- they are huge, impressive and I love the scale you evoke). I really like the armour and the idea of First Singer etc. Really interesting.

 

I am interested that, since you have gone away from canon so much and had Feanor survive an inital battle (I think) and not just go charging off after Melkor after burning the ships, it will be really interesting to see what you do next.



Author's Response:

Hi ! Thank you so much for you review *_*

Regarding Fëanor's first battle, it's actually canon but weirdly written. The Silm gives the impression that Fëanor just charged toward Angband from Losgar, but unless he has divine horses of hell, it's highly unlikely since Angband isn't remotly near Losgar. There's actually a huge waterfall and a chain of mountains on the map between Losgar and Angband !The battle must also have happened several weeks after Losgar since Fëanor had the time to learn northern sindarin (unfortunatly, I learnt that particular fact after I wrote that Fëanor and Mirfin had not language in common, which is false since both speak northern sindarin, so I didn't include this part in the fic).

This battle is the battle under the star, and it was a huuuuuuuuge victory for the Noldor until Fëanor got trashed, right at the end of it. Celergorm especially seems to have led brillant charges. The battle must have lasted for days ; I think it happened between lake Mithrim and Angband, which is already quite a territory. So basically the first battle and the balrog battle is the same one :)

I don't consider the story as very-AUy since, as you said, we don't know anything about Angband, and Fëanor's death was faked by Fairëliantë. I consider the Silmarillion as a text written by Pengholodh then translated by Bilbo from a copy owned by Elrond, so some events in the Silmarillion are written as people think they happened (here : Fëanor dies) rather than how they happened (here : It was a fake to ensure that Fëanor's son get the worst dying words ever from their father). The most AUy fact is the existence of Mirfin. I admit I have no troubles thinking Finwë would say nothing about him if no one asks, but we know his sons were interested in Middle Earth, so of course they asked... and I don't like the idea that Finwë lied about it.



No results found.
You must login () to review.